Date: 16/8/2018 20:16
0

Air Venturi MP-5 Oil, Metalophilic, 4oz. reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

5.0 (35 reviews)
2 star1 star
Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

By Thomas from USA on 2011-07-04 10:56:01

Things I liked: I like the consistency. No offensive odor. Applies evenly with no streaking.

Things I would have changed: Nothing.

What others should know: Good product to have on hand.

The most helpful critical review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:3.0

Value for money:5.0

By Matt from USA on 2011-12-09 10:18:17

Things I liked: It really helped me my gun hasn't rusted

Things I would have changed: Stronger cap it opened up during shipping

What others should know: Hard to get off your hands

Sort by:
  • 12 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2018-03-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Flows well and seems to require very little product to get the job done.

    Things I would have changed: Change the lid to a basic screw cap, and maybe include a needle type dropper lid for actual application.

    What others should know: I use the Brownells needle oilers (https://www.pyramydair.com/s/a/Brownells_Needle_Oiler_Bottles_3pk/7423) for applying this to my airguns. The spout on the lid is useful for filling these bottles, but dispenses too rapidly for me.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Maurice from USA on 2017-12-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I have only used it once so far on my Beeman Silver Kodiak X2 as I have only had the X2 for 3.5 weeks. I did not even shoot it until I had the MP-5 Oil to clean the barrel first, I do not know what they put in the barrel's for shipping but it took over a hour before I could get a clean patch through the barrels. This oil work line no gun oil I have ever used

    What others should know: Use this exactly as your guns manual tell you to do.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Chevota from USA on 2017-12-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I've used this stuff for decades, originally when it was Beeman MP5 which I still have some and it seems identical, if anyone was wondering. I'm unaware of any magic rust preventative that actually works w/o some major drawback, like a coat of grease or cosmoline, and what I want is something that doesn't leave an oily mess that I don't want to touch. Wax is great at that but wax is a pita, it doesn't penetrate, doesn't lube or clean very well. This seems to work pretty well for what I want. It has great penetrating ability to seep into places, like past a screw head and down into the threads, into seams etc so you know it's getting everything. It cleans the metal of whatever and finger prints, and of course it's not leaving anything behind that could cause damage like some cleaners do. It's also a great bore cleaner. I use a drop on a cleaning patch and it cleans and protects all in one. It doesn't seem to bother wood but I wouldn't want to push my luck on a nice stock. Says ok for

    Things I would have changed: seals but I can't imagine it doesn't hurt regular O-rings a little bit. You can smell it but it isn't very strong and it's not a bad smell. Once you're done and it's more or less dry the gun doesn't smell of it. Not sure about the claimed dry layer it leaves behind, I mean there is one but I can tell you is that if you touch the metal again you should wipe those prints off, preferably with more MP5. If I leave the gun out/exposed in a room it will start to rust after many months, and anywhere I touched will be obvious much sooner. MP5 doesn't completely dry up but there is virtualy no smell or oily residue which is great to protect metal that you do want to touch, like a gun you actually use or display. For example motor oil is better but then you don't want to touch it, it's a dust magnet and cleaning it off is a hassle. MP5 doesn't attract much if any dust so display guns look better longer. The price is outstanding, probably cheaper than WD40. Don't put it in the transfer port of a

    What others should know: springer because it has petroleum distillates, and considering how "light" they seem, and how thin the oil is, I'd imagine it would diesel violently and might even break something. You can clean the bore with it no problem, any dieseling there would be minimal, if at all, but I've never noticed any b/c the solvents dry so quickly. It is a lube but like any very thin oil it's not a very good one imo so I'd lube parts that need it with grease or thicker oil, then use this stuff for cleaning/protecting the exterior. So for a general use cleaner/protectant that looks good and doesn't leave much if anything on your hands when you do want to touch it, I think this is the stuff. Just re-apply as needed which is super easy. To check for protection, especially stored guns, I just wipe them using a couple drops of MP5 on a white cloth or paper towel, and if I see the brownish dust of rust I know I waited too long. Fyi dessicant is outstanding for gun storage and it's cheap.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Chris from USA on 2017-04-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Amount of oil, it works as advertised and seems to cling to metal very readily. Lubes nicely, also prevents rust and works wonders for cleaning barrels combined with a felt pellet. Doesn't make a big mess if you use a dropper bottle, but you need to be careful with the bottle itself, and make sure you close it so it doesn't spill. You don't want to lose a drop of this stuff!

    Things I would have changed: Include an eyedropper or needle-bottle with this, as it's the best way to apply this oil to cleaning pellets and small spots on your gun. Other than that, not a thing, it's perfect.

    What others should know: This works just as well as the Beeman branded MP5 oil, and I'm pretty sure it's the same oil. Just get this stuff, it's fantastic and works great for any metal. It's pretty good for cleaning too.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Frank from USA on 2016-12-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: First time using this oil. I notice it is thin viscosity. It does flow into joints freely.

    Things I would have changed: No need for change.

    What others should know: We shall see over time the results of using this oil.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Stephen from USA on 2016-07-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Good price

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By StridinSpider from USA on 2016-03-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Does not leak or smell bad.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Great stuff. Get some.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By David from USA on 2015-12-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Easy applicator to apply. Cleaned the barrel extremely well. Highly recommended.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing at this time.

    What others should know: I used three corded twine, slipped small patches of cotton squares, in between the spiraling twine , 1 inch apart, five total, on a 6 foot long twine. Gave me five times the cleaning power as I pulled the cleaning patches towards the barrel and back through the breach in a back and forth motion. After five cleanings, I put 25 patches ,though the gun. I would put oil on every other patch, that way I would have a clean patch and an oily patch doing its job simultaneously.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Randall from USA on 2015-08-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Great stuff a little goes a long way. Multiple uses from bores to rust preventative. I keep spare parts lubed with it till I actually get around to using them. Has a pleasant smell compared to some other products. Well packaged never leaks out of container.

    Things I would have changed: nothing

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By CJLomax from USA on 2014-06-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Leaves my guns shiny when I put them away. No more dog paws and fingerprints. Works with synthetic stocks, scopes and bands too. Great for a good barrel or air reservoir shine.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Get a good clean cloth that you can use to apply and only use that for the application.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mark from USA on 2014-05-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Used this product on all my firearms for a good 20 years when the product was marketed under the Beeman name. A very good protectant Oil, and Preservative. Seems to have a slightly less solvent smell of the old Beeman MP-5, there might've been a slight chemical makeup change over the years? Seems to coat, and penetrate as well as the old version.

    Things I would have changed: While Pyramid Air Shipped in a timely fashion, and packed well, I did note the caps on the two bottles of MP-5 I bought from them were very loose. Luckily, no product spilled enroute. (Check those bottles folks before you ship folks!) My order with Pyramid Air went well, no other complaints otherwise.

    What others should know: MP-5 IMO is an exceptional product. I never relied on this product for so much as a lubricant for pivot points, actions, etc, but as a protectant as a finishing protecting wipe on all guns, barrels (in and out), etc. This is one product all firearm owners should have in tier arsenal of Gun Care Products!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Raymond from USA on 2014-01-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Safe for pellet gun rifle bores

    What others should know: Don't use it in the spring chamber

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jose from USA on 2013-10-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This is a very high quiality oil,this oil does dry leaving a clear coating,is good for the inside and the autside of the bore of all my air guns.My air guns look like new.

    Things I would have changed: NADA

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Philip from New Zealand on 2013-09-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This is great oil for the outside of my air guns and also inside the barrel. Made them look like new. If you enjoy looking after your guns get some!! Price excellent value for money!!

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: As above.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ernest from USA on 2013-08-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Really absorbs into the metal making it much more resistant to sweat and moisture.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Hemn Mahmmod from Albania on 2013-05-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I really really like this powerful & protector of rifles, After shooting more than 3 or 4 hundred pellets you need a couple or three drops of this to put on the nylon brush & passed almost 20 times through the barrel from the muzzle you will get the pure cleaned barrel with this magical oil, you need only three small patches to get the proper cleaned barrel, this is great & fantastic oil, try this & see what is the result, your rifle won't be able to live without this if you are an air-gunner or have firearms, the price is very good.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing at all.

    What others should know: Deal with Pyramyd air you will not regret.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By George from USA on 2013-04-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I use it on most mechanical parts of my Trail NP especially the bore. Also on the external metal exposed to the elements.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Do not use in the compression chamber.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ernest from USA on 2012-07-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Everything

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Perfect

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gumbo from USA on 2012-07-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The bottle does not leak, even when carried in my range bag. I really like the price! I like its rust preventive abilities. I love its bore cleaning abilities.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: This is the only product I use to clean the bore of all my pellet guns. It is also the only cleaner I use on the bore of my Benchrest Anschutz.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Lily from USA on 2012-07-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Alot bigger bottle than i thought it was going to be, Price,

    Things I would have changed: N/A

    What others should know: When you get a new gun rub the metal parts with this so you can prevent rust, this is also great for cleaning the marauder

     
  • 12 Next
Navigation