Date: 19/8/2018 18:55
0

Athlon Optics 6-24x50 Argos BTR Tactical Rifle Scope, FFP Ill. APMR Reticle, 0.1 MIL, 30mm Tube reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

5.0 (7 reviews)
3 star2 star1 star
Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

By Jim from USA on 2017-11-25 15:08:34

Things I liked: The Best!! First Focal Plane!! No change in POI as you zoom!!

The most helpful critical review

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:4.0

Value for money:5.0

By Zachary from USA on 2018-01-02 19:24:57

Things I liked: This scope has excellent build quality, optics, and clarity. The magnification ring and parallax adjustment have just the right amount of firmness. The turrets could have been a little more resistant to turning, especially since they don't lock, but they too feel nice and sturdy. The reticle and lighting are outstanding.

Things I would have changed: This scope has a very wide depth of field, meaning that it doesn't snap into focus. An object at 25 yards and 35 yards can both be in crisp focus. This is great for a hunter, but not so good for field target (which is why I purchased the scope). The turrets are very sturdy, but the clicking is about the same quality as Hawke/UTG - good but not great.

What others should know: As long as you don't intend to use this scope for field target, you should be very pleased with the excellent build quality, optics, reticle, and clarity. It is an excellent value for the money! I'm really bummed that this scope isn't optimal for field target use.

Sort by:
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By bob from USA on 2018-06-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Features. Basically a clone of the Vortex Viper HST at 1/3 the price. First focal plane is nice but I would not say any better than 2nd focal plane just different. Includes caps - My SWFA did not which added another 20.00 Glass is clear even at 24x turrets can be locked (read the manual) Turrets can be set to zero

    Things I would have changed: Its a great do all scope. About the only thing I would change is the weight. Its heavy at 29 oz.

    What others should know: One of the better air gun scopes. Nice reticle with windage marks. Its better than a Hawke Sidewinder and as good as a SWFA variable which cost more. I own a SWFA too. I put it on a 17 WSM 3300 fps rifle and put up some .25" groups at 100 yards. Other than being on the heavy side (no worse than hawk sidewinder) I think this is the best bang for the buck optic for a PCP airgun.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Perry from USA on 2018-06-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Love the first focal plain feature, scope track great, awesome mill dot reticle. Bought this for my FX Crown, sorry guys if you sold it I would have gotten it from Pyramid Air. This is my third Athlon FFP scope from Pyramid Air, this one on my FX one on a Rem. 7mm08 and one on my 6.5 Creedmoore. these are great scopes shoot my two rifle out to 500yds. with great results. Just plane great scopes, will buy again for my other guns.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: once zeroed you can put the turrets back to zero.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2018-04-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: My first FFP scope. Very well built. I got the Mil/Mil version with the APMR reticle. The turrets have easy but positive clicks. The focus wheel has the right amount of tension. The magnification ring is pretty stiff though, hopefully it will loosen up through use. The IR reticle is nice. The flip up covers are pretty decent and fit well. The glass is super nice and clear. Excellent performance and value!

    Things I would have changed: I would prefer the reticle knob to be top center instead of offset, in that I cannot mount my particular scope cam with it this way. But the Side-Shot fits just fine. And the magnification ring to not be so tight.

    What others should know: FFP is the way to go!!!

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Zachary from USA on 2018-01-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: This scope has excellent build quality, optics, and clarity. The magnification ring and parallax adjustment have just the right amount of firmness. The turrets could have been a little more resistant to turning, especially since they don't lock, but they too feel nice and sturdy. The reticle and lighting are outstanding.

    Things I would have changed: This scope has a very wide depth of field, meaning that it doesn't snap into focus. An object at 25 yards and 35 yards can both be in crisp focus. This is great for a hunter, but not so good for field target (which is why I purchased the scope). The turrets are very sturdy, but the clicking is about the same quality as Hawke/UTG - good but not great.

    What others should know: As long as you don't intend to use this scope for field target, you should be very pleased with the excellent build quality, optics, reticle, and clarity. It is an excellent value for the money! I'm really bummed that this scope isn't optimal for field target use.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By dave from USA on 2018-01-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: FFP scopes allow you to use any magnification while keeping the holdover the same. very clear glass. reticle is thin and the "Christmas Tree" style reticle helps with hold over when shooting distances in the wind.

    Things I would have changed: Locking turrets but it's not a deal breaker. The yardage turret is counter to the the rotation of SFP scopes i have but again, that's not a deal breaker.

    What others should know: no rings. be sure to get high 30mm. mediums may work if the top of the breech is 5mm above the shroud/barrel. when calculating your holdover, Chairgun is not much help.You will need to determine your zero, then with the scope on max power (remember, your magnification will not affect your holdover with a FFP scope), place your targets every 10 yards or so beyond the zero and use the same aim point. Watch for the POI to match the holdover hashmark. now you can make a holdover chart.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jim from USA on 2017-11-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: The Best!! First Focal Plane!! No change in POI as you zoom!!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Victor from USA on 2017-10-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Super optics ...very fine reticle and the glass gathers light better than any scope I've ever owned. And, it has held its 'Zero' ...spot on!

    Things I would have changed: Would be nice if the range markings on the parallax adjustment knob were accurate. Mine seems to be skewed about 10 yards on the plus side. This is a very minor thing to point out on a super nicely glassed scope in this price range.

    What others should know: Love the FFP design ...very pleased so far ...and the Athlon Warranty Statement is a big plus.

     
Navigation