Date: 13/12/2018 0:15
0

Benjamin & Sheridan. Customer Reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (178 reviews)
Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

By ryn0909 from USA on 2007-09-24 13:42:34

Things I liked: Fits both .177 and .22 cal rifles. Pretty easy to install for the mechanically inclined

Things I would have changed: Nothing

What others should know: Clean the air chamber (where the piston slides in and out ) thoroughly, make sure there are no nics or burrs. Apply a thin coat of grease to all parts (rubber and metal) during assembly.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:2.0

By Richard from USA on 2016-09-26 00:39:42

Things I liked: The tool worked great.

Things I would have changed: I can't recommend this kit. The pump piston cup was the wrong one for my old 317. Pyramid sent another. The Teflon check valve button is junk. The split washer that replaces the lead washer is useless. When you are attempting to insert the "loaded" valve assembly into the valve body the split washer expands due to the beveled cut on the nut's face. The split washer catches on the lip of the valve body preventing the nut from contacting the threads. I tried for hours and finally gave up. I was going to cut out a lead washer but decided to try a well greased "O" ring. The valve body went in place on the first attempt. However, the Teflon check valve leaked and it would lose the entire charge. My old original check valve looked ok so I reinstalled it. It is now holding a charge. I pumped it three times and let it sit for two days... it was still charged. There is a kit on eBay that has the original type check valve and lead washers. I would recommend buying one of those kits instead.

Sort by:
  • 123 ... 89 Next
  • Showitems
  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Kyall from USA on 2018-11-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It's nice that there is still some help out there on older items that have personal meaning, even if not significant financial value.

    Things I would have changed: The diagram is almost illegible, and as such is almost worthless. The part that is a replacement for the original check valve seal is made of a hard teflon and it cracked when I put it into the chamber. The tool that is used to take the parts out of the pressure barrel is the best thing about this kit... I paid for the shipment to be within four days and it was twice that many days getting here....not a big deal but still a failure to make good on a promise. I was told that my money would be refunded but won't know if that happened until I get my next card statement. I am not happy to make this report, as I do not mean to harm anyone.....but I do hope that it will inspire the supplier to raise their game.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Delbert from USA on 2018-11-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I loved this rebuild kit! Very user friendly for this type of gun.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: The new check valve spring was a pleasant surprise. The O-ring for the back of the exhaust valve speeded up the install on my opinion.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Gordon on 2018-11-09
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Everything fit

    Things I would have changed: Better directions/instructions that are legible

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Roger from USA on 2018-10-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Kit was awesome!

    Things I would have changed: The instructions included are copies of copies, HARD to READ! Make us some digital ones that people can download and use please. An 1/8" nut driver should be an option for the bolt lug removal. No stores locally had one, but a buddy had an old camera tool kit that saved the day.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James from USA on 2018-08-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: a nice kit with everything you need to repair your old Sheridan air rifle

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jody from USA on 2018-08-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is a great kit that got my 1993 benjamin shooting again. I would add to the other reviews that I have read that you just need to take your time. This job will take a little time to complete right. All the pieces were included and if you are somewhat handy it is an easy build. And if you are looking at repairing an old benjamin this kit will do it. But once again, my advice is to take your time amd make sure everything is cleaned and lightly greased inside the gun.

    Things I would have changed: I would include better instructions.

    What others should know: Make sure this kit fits the airgun you are trying to fix.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gary from USA on 2018-08-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very happy with the product. How often do the tools come with the parts. Great price too.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Kelly from USA on 2018-07-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Nice to buy tool with seals

    Things I would have changed: Would put both types or seals in seal kit

    What others should know: Make sure you have seal without hole in it had 2 guns both had holes in seal had to call back to get correct seal on both they quickly corrected problem but lost a week getting them back together

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gary from USA on 2018-06-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: good price

    Things I would have changed: put in a good o ring seal the kit has a split o ring hard to put back together had to use different seal

    What others should know: pain in but to put back together

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Rex from USA on 2018-06-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Fair price, considering it includes a high quality removal/installation tool.

    Things I would have changed: Check what type of piston seal you have before you order it. It comes with a solid seal, but mine had a seal with a hole in the middle. I was able to machine an adapter. The tool could use a plastic sleeve to center it in the striker bore, not a big deal. The instruction text was very good, but, the illustration was almost unrecognizable. I realize we're working with a low volume part for a 45 year old rifle, so, overall all, not bad at all.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Joe from USA on 2018-06-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This kit is very efficient and works perfectly. My Silverstreak shoots like the day it was made.

    Things I would have changed: The text in the instructions might be hard for some to read do to it being copied from a copy too often, but is accurate and labels every part accurately.

    What others should know: If you do not want to use the nylon piece for the check valve, you can peel the old rubber off the original, flip it and then re-seat it. Do this only if the rubber is still good and not cracked. This will give new life to the old part that isn't made any longer. Given this was the main issue with my rifle, it fixed it from having to inconsistently pumping 20 or so times to a solid 5 pumps. The new check valve spring makes a big big difference as well.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Stanley from USA on 2018-06-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This kit comes with the tool if purchased separately the tool along could cost 50.00 so this is a great value.

    Things I would have changed: My biggest gripe is i think the tool could be a little longer with some sort of handle on the end , with reinstalling the valve it comes up short.

    What others should know: Take your time it is NOT a five minute job. I took my Sheridan Silver Streak(1975 model) apart at least 20 times or more because of something not going together right. I took apart so much that i stripped out the brass jam nut . Luckily i was able to find one on Ebay. So the last disassembly it finally worked. It has been stored with 2 pumps and now holds air indefinitely . Got my kit on Ebay and it included both springs plus the tool , but at twice the price of this one.Recently rebuilt a Daisy 881 and it only took maybe 45 minutes from start to finish , worked the first time. These Sheridans take patience . It was worth it bringing back a 40 year old wood and metal airgun to life , they don't make them like that any more.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Todd from USA on 2018-06-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Everything I needed to bring the old blue streak back to service. First time repairing a soldered valve and it went together very well. Three pellets touching at 25 yds. Makes great pressure. Very pleased.

    Things I would have changed: N.A.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Anthony from USA on 2018-05-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: To finally be able to rebuild my old classic. I had to use a drill and file to grind back side of the valve stem so that it fit into the spring inside the pressure chamber. The rubber cup for the pump didn't fit but I was able to heat the old one in boiling water and then stretch it over a socket and now it seals and pumps fine. My brother and I each own a Benjamin 312 and I got both working. I will try to attach pics of the guns and original paperwork that came with them. Both shooting at 11-12FPE. With 8 pumps.

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Gary from USA on 2018-04-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Comes with a valve tool.

    Things I would have changed: The white check valve is worthless, it is not machined properly both in dimension and quality. I received the white one, not the one pictured. If you receive the white nylon valve you need to check the factory valve and install it if possible. If you need to use the white valve and it does not function properly removing it is difficult. The only way I found to remove it is to install the main valve for back pressure then put a few ounces of oil in the compression tube and swiftly pull down the pump handle. Bumping the stock or pushing it out from the inlet side will not happen. You will know if the valve is bad because it will not fall into place, you will need to press it in and if you find this to be the case DON NOT press it in. The valve will restrict the inlet putting back pressure on the pump handle and not allowing the compression stroke to be completed.

    What others should know: Review the diagram closely, you will see the position of each part other than the check valve. If using the factory valve (recommended if possible) look at the marking on both sides of the valve and you will see which side was against the spring and which was against the seat. Take precautions while cleaning the valve seats, use plastic tools if possible but be patient, the worst thing you can do is damage a seat. You may find the main valve seat washer/seal has fused itself to the valve and deteriorated. If this is the case carefully remove the material without scratching the seat itself. You have a step-down system from the main valve to check valve and will need different size dowels to reach the seat. You can get wood dowels from a box store and glue some 1500 wet dry sandpaper to the end to clean it. I also recommend polishing the shaft on the exhaust valve but only polish the area exposed when the valve is pushed open by the hammer. The key to this job is patience, don't try to hurry.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Steven on 2018-03-31
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This is a nice kit , plus the tool is included.

    Things I would have changed: The only issue that I found is the small o-ring for the slide bolt is to large.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Donald from USA on 2018-03-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Kit contained all the parts needed to repair gun.

    Things I would have changed: an alignment sleeve to keep tool centered to make it easier to start threads.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Douglas from USA on 2018-03-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The kit replacement parts installed and worked fine. I installed the kit on a sheriden blue streak 1964

    Things I would have changed: Nothing Except for orientation of check valve

    What others should know: I used a half inch drill chuck off my hand drill as a handle on the supplied tool for installing the lock nut, worked great. Find the first thread by turning the tool backwards until you feel the thread leads line up (little click) then begin tightening. Make sure all old remaining seal pieces are cleaned out. I used a shotgun cleaning swab to clean the piston end and the breach end. Lubed with air tool oil and o'ring grease.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By john from USA on 2018-02-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: worked well for my 1979 sheridan

    Things I would have changed: would like to see a kit without the tool, have more guns to work on but only need 1 tool.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Lawrence from USA on 2018-01-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The assistance provided from the sales dept to speak to tech "Stacey" made all the difference when ordering the correct parts and the knowledge that she shared made this a perfect match for what was needed to repair this older model air rifle - she is to be commended for all of her knowledge and kind assistance.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: Always ask and discuss what is needed to repair with Pyramyd Air's tech department when there are any questions or concerns before you order as they are also able to guide you toward installation as well.

     
  • 123 ... 89 Next
Navigation