Date: 25/11/2020 22:16
0

Customer Reviews for Benjamin & Sheridan

Average Customer Review

4.5 (211 reviews)
Benjamin & Sheridan
Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

By ryn0909 from USA on 2007-09-24 13:42:34

Things I liked: Fits both .177 and .22 cal rifles. Pretty easy to install for the mechanically inclined

Things I would have changed: Nothing

What others should know: Clean the air chamber (where the piston slides in and out ) thoroughly, make sure there are no nics or burrs. Apply a thin coat of grease to all parts (rubber and metal) during assembly.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:2.0

By Brad from USA on 2020-07-06 10:10:34

Things I liked: They had the parts for my gun.

Things I would have changed: Your response to my several calls was very poor and only occurred hours after I called you. I cannot sit around and wait for you to respond when you feel like doing so. I live in the Central Time Zone and my home phone is: 515-992-3042. ----- I am home until about 8:30AM and after 6:30 PM

What others should know: My order WAS NOT filled properly! The end cap on the piston was the wrong one for my gun --- hints: NO RESPONSE from you. See comment above on my unsuccessful attempts to actually talk to someone who can help me.

Sort by:
  • 123 ... 1011 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ron from USA on 2020-08-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: All the part you need are there.

    Things I would have changed: Reprint your installation instructions and diagram, they are deteriorating from so many copies of copies.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Karl from USA on 2020-08-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: All parts are included for serving basic resealing. The valve body servicing tool is well made and works well. Some of the parts in the kit are near or exact replacement parts and others will have be substituted for those in your rifle.

    Things I would have changed: The instructions for installing the kit are general in nature, but there are videos of how to service Sheridan Model C's as well as a detailed PDF of rebuild instructions on the internet. The included schematic is largely useless as it is a copy of a copy of a copy, ad infinitum. To be of use, it needs to be redrafted. The provided split Teflon valve body retaining nut seal damages very easily and I was not able to install successfully. Either a lead seal or o-ring should be provided instead of this part. A valve body tool alignment fixture would be of great help during re-installation. OD of the fixture would be the ID of the air tube and the ID of the OD of the valve body installation tool.

    What others should know: Purchased this kit to service a C model Sheridan Blue Streak that was made in 1976. The original bronze intake valve utilized an elastomer seal that fits in the ring surrounding the inlet valve seat. The original bronze inlet valve is replaced with a Delrin inlet valve in this kit and no inlet valve seal is provided. The replacement Delrin inlet valve is inserted with the rounded end against the seat and the flat end against the spring. Used a 10 inch long, 3/8 inch diameter wooden dowel with 400 grit wet and dry sand paper glued to end of it to polish the intake valve seat. Replaced all original parts with those from rebuild kit with exception of the bolt o-ring and split Teflon seal that goes between valve body and valve body retainer nut. Could not get the included split Teflon seal to properly seat. Ended up using a nitrile o-ring. Size of o-ring is 1/2 inch ID, 5/8 inch OD, and 1/16" sectional diameter.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Eric from USA on 2020-07-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Number 30 on one kit I ordered defective, used old one working so far.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Floyd from USA on 2020-07-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great kit. Everything I needed to rebuild my Benjamin.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Tough to get the nut started and back in.

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Brad from USA on 2020-07-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: They had the parts for my gun.

    Things I would have changed: Your response to my several calls was very poor and only occurred hours after I called you. I cannot sit around and wait for you to respond when you feel like doing so. I live in the Central Time Zone and my home phone is: 515-992-3042. ----- I am home until about 8:30AM and after 6:30 PM

    What others should know: My order WAS NOT filled properly! The end cap on the piston was the wrong one for my gun --- hints: NO RESPONSE from you. See comment above on my unsuccessful attempts to actually talk to someone who can help me.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ian from USA on 2020-06-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Excellent quality, and the right tool for the job. And includes some instructions.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing really.

    What others should know: The intake seal was just slightly oversized for my gun and would not take more then one pump. I reduced the diameter just slightly and it works fine. Also the intake valve is rounded on one side, and flat on the other, the rounded part goes in first, and the flat end goes against the intake spring. This was not covered in the instructions.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Larry from Canada on 2020-02-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The kit did the job for me.

    Things I would have changed: I would like a lower total cost for Canadian customers. With all the shipping, taxes, duties and brokerage fees, the $27 kit ballooned to $69.88 US which is $95.24 CND. That is not a level playing field for Canadian customers.

    What others should know: I have a 1993 Benjamin Sheridan 397P made in Racine, Wi. I was able to repair the air gun with this kit. It has been several weeks since the repair and it is holding air for many days and has lots of power. I was not able to use the bolt o-ring (part 19) or the PTFE split washer (part 27). The o-ring diameter was too big for my air gun. The PTFE split washer would expand under pressure because it is split and could not be inserted past the threads for the retaining nut (part 29). Put it together without the washer and to my pleasant surprise, it worked!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gordon from Canada on 2020-02-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Kit worked well and got the repair completed. Instruction sheet was a bit difficult, not very clear(fuzzy) but better than nothing.

    Things I would have changed: Instructions made more clear

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Philip from USA on 2020-02-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Your staff were helpful and quick in responding to my order. Although not all parts did not apply to my Benjamin rebuild, they did provide guidance and an additional part to remedy my problem.

    Things I would have changed: The diagram of the parts and instructions were reproductions of many copies and unledgible to read. Please review this issue and create a new form for the kit.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Sal from USA on 2020-01-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Kit worked like it should, split washer is a bit fiddly though, I ended up using a spare O ring from another rebuild kit that I had in my parts box...the tool is very well made and fit perfectly.

    Things I would have changed: Replace the split washer with an O ring or lead seal...

    What others should know: Just make sure everything is super clean before you install the new parts, run the nut in and out in the gun to get a feel for it and to make sure it engages the threads without any issues BE CAREFUL NOT TO CROSS THREAD THE NUT!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kenneth from USA on 2019-12-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is a great deal every thing you need and the tool included

    Things I would have changed: It is good await is

    What others should know: Not a job for Everyone

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Daniel from USA on 2019-11-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Parts fit as expected

    Things I would have changed: Instructions were hard to read, print very faded. Possibly add tool to remove bolt

    What others should know: Gun now works great good kit with tool

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Jack from USA on 2019-11-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The valve tool.

    Things I would have changed: All the rebuilding components, or offer the valve tool as a separate item to be purchased because it was the only item usable for $27.95.

    What others should know: I have the Sheridan Blur Streak that's between 1978 to 1982 vintage. The rifle would pump up, but would leak the air out quickly. So I bought this rebuild kit. The valve tool is absolutely necessary to remove the internal components and is good, however, the rebuilding parts are not. For example, the tip of the exhaust valve doesn't fit into the exhaust valve spring causing the exhaust valve to be off center. The check valve spring was actually weaker than my original. The Teflon check valve wouldn't even seal. I decided to reinstall all the original parts. What I did differently was carefully remove the rubber disc from the check valve since I noticed they were 2 separate parts and flipped it over. After reassembling the rifle, I performed the following tests using 8 strokes for each shot. Fired immediately: 592.5 fps. 5 minute wait: 580.2 fps. 10 minute wait: 584.1 fps. 30 minute wait: 588.3 fps. 1 hour & 15 minute wait: 581.1. 1 stroke 21 day wait: Blew Styrofoam peanut off table.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jeffrey from USA on 2019-07-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Ease of ordering, packaging, o-rings, tool, cup, check valve spring.

    Things I would have changed: Check walve did not seal on initial install, had to remove and polish it. Split ring would not go into the valve, eventually it was crushed, replaced with a nylon one. valve stem doesn't seat well on the spring.

    What others should know: This kit is close to what I needed. polishing the check valve with lapping paper solved that issue. The split ring is a joke. The valve stem is great, the place where the spring contacts it is not sized correctly, some needle nose pliers solved that problem. O-Rings were perfect. My gun would not hold at all prior to repair. It was really dirty inside as well. This kit eventually brought it back to excellent condition. Shoots 3/4" groups at 45 feet with my daughter shooting it, I can't see 3/4" at 45 feet. It takes some smithing experience to install this, but it was worth it.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2019-07-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I liked that the kit included the tool needed to remove the soldered valve body from the barrel.

    Things I would have changed: I was happy with the way it came

    What others should know: I found this rifle stowed away in a garage and it wouldn't hold pressure. I was going to dump it in the trash when, after some research, found this rebuild kit from Pyramid Air and some informative rebuild videos on youtube. I don't think the rifle had been fired more than a very few times because I also found the original box of pellets that was almost full. The rubber piston head had turned to hard plastic and chipped. I took a chance and just replaced the piston head and reassembled the rifle. It holds pressure great and fires great. I will try to buy just the piston head and keep it with the parts I didn't use and save it for a later rebuild, if necessary.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Chet from USA on 2019-07-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Service and quality of products

    Things I would have changed: Nothing except FedEx lost everything but the packing slip..Pyramid air replaced it all.quickly with no problem!!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Martin from USA on 2019-07-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Products were exact fit and perfect for this Sherman air rifle model 5691G.

    Things I would have changed: Delivery time was long, but maybe I was just impatient to get them.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Matthew from USA on 2019-06-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: fixed my old Sheridan to perfect working order! I had forgotten how much joy the old pump gun brings to casual plinking, also makes a good inexpensive trainer for the kids.

    Things I would have changed: Instructions that are more clear. The instructions included appeared to be a photocopy of a photocopy of the 25 generation, very difficult to decipher. It is a good thing I already had a pretty good understanding of what needed to be done or the repair may not have been successful. Pulled one star in the overall rating for the borderline illegible instructions.

    What others should know: The teflon chamber seal I received in the kit had an angled split in it sort of like a gas engine piston ring, which I assumed was normal, however trying to install it proved impossible. Every time I tried to insert it against the spring tension, it would spread out and block insertion. I had to 'recondition' and reuse the lead seal, which did work perfectly, even passing an overnight leak-down test with 8 pumps. Well worth the money to get my old pumper working again!

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Steven from USA on 2019-06-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Came in on time

    Things I would have changed: Received with broken nylon washer it had a slice in it

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mark from USA on 2019-05-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Ease of ordering and tracking. Inventory well stocked of items.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Nope

     
  • 123 ... 1011 Next
Navigation