Date: 15/8/2018 14:23
0

Benjamin & Sheridan Repair Kit, Fits Some Pre-1995 Multi-Pump Guns w/Soldered Valve reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (171 reviews)
Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

By ryn0909 from USA on 2007-09-24 13:42:34

Things I liked: Fits both .177 and .22 cal rifles. Pretty easy to install for the mechanically inclined

Things I would have changed: Nothing

What others should know: Clean the air chamber (where the piston slides in and out ) thoroughly, make sure there are no nics or burrs. Apply a thin coat of grease to all parts (rubber and metal) during assembly.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:2.0

By Richard from USA on 2016-09-26 00:39:42

Things I liked: The tool worked great.

Things I would have changed: I can't recommend this kit. The pump piston cup was the wrong one for my old 317. Pyramid sent another. The Teflon check valve button is junk. The split washer that replaces the lead washer is useless. When you are attempting to insert the "loaded" valve assembly into the valve body the split washer expands due to the beveled cut on the nut's face. The split washer catches on the lip of the valve body preventing the nut from contacting the threads. I tried for hours and finally gave up. I was going to cut out a lead washer but decided to try a well greased "O" ring. The valve body went in place on the first attempt. However, the Teflon check valve leaked and it would lose the entire charge. My old original check valve looked ok so I reinstalled it. It is now holding a charge. I pumped it three times and let it sit for two days... it was still charged. There is a kit on eBay that has the original type check valve and lead washers. I would recommend buying one of those kits instead.

Sort by:
  • 123 ... 89 Next
  • Showitems
  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Kelly from USA on 2018-07-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Nice to buy tool with seals

    Things I would have changed: Would put both types or seals in seal kit

    What others should know: Make sure you have seal without hole in it had 2 guns both had holes in seal had to call back to get correct seal on both they quickly corrected problem but lost a week getting them back together

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gary from USA on 2018-06-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: good price

    Things I would have changed: put in a good o ring seal the kit has a split o ring hard to put back together had to use different seal

    What others should know: pain in but to put back together

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Rex from USA on 2018-06-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Fair price, considering it includes a high quality removal/installation tool.

    Things I would have changed: Check what type of piston seal you have before you order it. It comes with a solid seal, but mine had a seal with a hole in the middle. I was able to machine an adapter. The tool could use a plastic sleeve to center it in the striker bore, not a big deal. The instruction text was very good, but, the illustration was almost unrecognizable. I realize we're working with a low volume part for a 45 year old rifle, so, overall all, not bad at all.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Joe from USA on 2018-06-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This kit is very efficient and works perfectly. My Silverstreak shoots like the day it was made.

    Things I would have changed: The text in the instructions might be hard for some to read do to it being copied from a copy too often, but is accurate and labels every part accurately.

    What others should know: If you do not want to use the nylon piece for the check valve, you can peel the old rubber off the original, flip it and then re-seat it. Do this only if the rubber is still good and not cracked. This will give new life to the old part that isn't made any longer. Given this was the main issue with my rifle, it fixed it from having to inconsistently pumping 20 or so times to a solid 5 pumps. The new check valve spring makes a big big difference as well.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Stanley from USA on 2018-06-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This kit comes with the tool if purchased separately the tool along could cost 50.00 so this is a great value.

    Things I would have changed: My biggest gripe is i think the tool could be a little longer with some sort of handle on the end , with reinstalling the valve it comes up short.

    What others should know: Take your time it is NOT a five minute job. I took my Sheridan Silver Streak(1975 model) apart at least 20 times or more because of something not going together right. I took apart so much that i stripped out the brass jam nut . Luckily i was able to find one on Ebay. So the last disassembly it finally worked. It has been stored with 2 pumps and now holds air indefinitely . Got my kit on Ebay and it included both springs plus the tool , but at twice the price of this one.Recently rebuilt a Daisy 881 and it only took maybe 45 minutes from start to finish , worked the first time. These Sheridans take patience . It was worth it bringing back a 40 year old wood and metal airgun to life , they don't make them like that any more.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Todd from USA on 2018-06-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Everything I needed to bring the old blue streak back to service. First time repairing a soldered valve and it went together very well. Three pellets touching at 25 yds. Makes great pressure. Very pleased.

    Things I would have changed: N.A.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Anthony from USA on 2018-05-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: To finally be able to rebuild my old classic. I had to use a drill and file to grind back side of the valve stem so that it fit into the spring inside the pressure chamber. The rubber cup for the pump didn't fit but I was able to heat the old one in boiling water and then stretch it over a socket and now it seals and pumps fine. My brother and I each own a Benjamin 312 and I got both working. I will try to attach pics of the guns and original paperwork that came with them. Both shooting at 11-12FPE. With 8 pumps.

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Gary from USA on 2018-04-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Comes with a valve tool.

    Things I would have changed: The white check valve is worthless, it is not machined properly both in dimension and quality. I received the white one, not the one pictured. If you receive the white nylon valve you need to check the factory valve and install it if possible. If you need to use the white valve and it does not function properly removing it is difficult. The only way I found to remove it is to install the main valve for back pressure then put a few ounces of oil in the compression tube and swiftly pull down the pump handle. Bumping the stock or pushing it out from the inlet side will not happen. You will know if the valve is bad because it will not fall into place, you will need to press it in and if you find this to be the case DON NOT press it in. The valve will restrict the inlet putting back pressure on the pump handle and not allowing the compression stroke to be completed.

    What others should know: Review the diagram closely, you will see the position of each part other than the check valve. If using the factory valve (recommended if possible) look at the marking on both sides of the valve and you will see which side was against the spring and which was against the seat. Take precautions while cleaning the valve seats, use plastic tools if possible but be patient, the worst thing you can do is damage a seat. You may find the main valve seat washer/seal has fused itself to the valve and deteriorated. If this is the case carefully remove the material without scratching the seat itself. You have a step-down system from the main valve to check valve and will need different size dowels to reach the seat. You can get wood dowels from a box store and glue some 1500 wet dry sandpaper to the end to clean it. I also recommend polishing the shaft on the exhaust valve but only polish the area exposed when the valve is pushed open by the hammer. The key to this job is patience, don't try to hurry.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Steven on 2018-03-31
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This is a nice kit , plus the tool is included.

    Things I would have changed: The only issue that I found is the small o-ring for the slide bolt is to large.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Donald from USA on 2018-03-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Kit contained all the parts needed to repair gun.

    Things I would have changed: an alignment sleeve to keep tool centered to make it easier to start threads.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Douglas from USA on 2018-03-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The kit replacement parts installed and worked fine. I installed the kit on a sheriden blue streak 1964

    Things I would have changed: Nothing Except for orientation of check valve

    What others should know: I used a half inch drill chuck off my hand drill as a handle on the supplied tool for installing the lock nut, worked great. Find the first thread by turning the tool backwards until you feel the thread leads line up (little click) then begin tightening. Make sure all old remaining seal pieces are cleaned out. I used a shotgun cleaning swab to clean the piston end and the breach end. Lubed with air tool oil and o'ring grease.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By john from USA on 2018-02-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: worked well for my 1979 sheridan

    Things I would have changed: would like to see a kit without the tool, have more guns to work on but only need 1 tool.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Lawrence from USA on 2018-01-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The assistance provided from the sales dept to speak to tech "Stacey" made all the difference when ordering the correct parts and the knowledge that she shared made this a perfect match for what was needed to repair this older model air rifle - she is to be commended for all of her knowledge and kind assistance.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: Always ask and discuss what is needed to repair with Pyramyd Air's tech department when there are any questions or concerns before you order as they are also able to guide you toward installation as well.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Maurice from USA on 2018-01-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Tool worked with no problems. Replacement parts worked perfectly.

    Things I would have changed: None

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Phil from USA on 2017-04-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Most parts will fit both the Benjamin and the Sheridon pump guns. I was able to repair 2 guns one kit.Most parts will fit both the Benjamin and the Sheridon pump guns. I was able to repair 2 guns one kit. I really like he exploded drawing of gun and where the parts go in the kit.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing all good.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Christopher from USA on 2017-03-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Worked perfectly on a 1967 Sheridan Blue Streak. The kit worked and brought an old Sheridan back to life for another generation of shooters!

    Things I would have changed: I would have liked to see lead replacement seals in the kit but that's not a huge deal.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Alejandro from USA on 2017-01-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Well, the kit is excellent, the parts are the correct ones (despite the change in materials in some of them)

    Things I would have changed: My rifle is a 1973 Benjamin T342, and the piston cap included didn't fit, i send a inquiry but haven't had a response yet

    What others should know: If you are looking for a repair/rebuild/disassembly kit for a Benjamin.. this is it, the tool alone is a must if you want to disassembly the rifle, the valve and the coil are brand new

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Cameron from USA on 2017-01-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Took me a while to figure it all out. Taking it all apart was quite a challenge. Luckily I had all the tools, including a bench vice to assist. All the parts were correct. Directions were pretty good, but had to use some common sense. Had a few questions, called, Stacey was very polite and helpful. Put it back together, "IT DID NOT WORK"! Thought about it for a few days, took it apart again, reset everything, added a small rubber seal I was not sure about, "NOW IT WORKS LIKE "NEW"! Now I can go back to 'shootin them squirrels' for another 25 years, thanks Pyramyd Air!

    Things I would have changed: 1.Crisper exploded view (although I assume that is all they have.) Go the the website and download their .pdf and zoom in and print it. 2. Add a warning that this is no job for someone with little skill or short on tools. 3. Include a small tube of lubricant for the rubber parts. (Sure charge for it, but useful). 4. Have a tech to a short take-apart video, that would be extremely helpful.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Paul from USA on 2016-12-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Glad that the rebuild kit is available with the wrench. Good tip on wrapping duct tape around the wrench when reassembling the parts. Gun works fine now. Good set of instructions included with parts. Great help from customer service with my questions.

    Things I would have changed: Had a question on which way one of the parts went in, not addressed in the instructions. Found out that it doesn't matter.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By charles from USA on 2016-11-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Clear instructions, quality parts, great tool. Very helpful tech department.

    What others should know: My 1956 to 1958 production Blue Streak has the molded pump cup - this replacement cup won't fit. I found a replacement pump rod assembly following the guidance of your tech department.

     
  • 123 ... 89 Next
Navigation