Date: 16/12/2018 6:45
0

Birchwood Casey Aluminum. Customer Reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

5.0 (13 reviews)
3 star2 star1 star
Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

By Robert from USA on 2009-06-13 18:51:51

Things I liked: Convenient, clean and inexpensive for use in small jobs and repairs. Efficient and effective.

Things I would have changed: Nothing.

What others should know: White metals have varying compositions and this product's effect is somewhat unpredictable regarding color and durability. Experimentation is about the only way to determine outcome. It made the polished white metal trigger on a TX200 a beautiful, smooth raven black, which promptly wiped off clean like a bad paint job. White triggers are not all bad.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:4.0

Value for money:4.0

By Richard from USA on 2010-07-11 22:23:39

Things I liked: It works as advertised, specifically for small scratches and touch-up work. I did try it on some large pieces and one piece came out very good, but the other did not.

Things I would have changed: It would be nice if they would come up with an inexpensive way to do larger pieces with a consistent outcome, but this product does work as advertised.

Sort by:
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Fred from USA on 2017-05-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Product really works well on aluminum parts on my TX200. Nice black color matches the original finish.

    Things I would have changed: None.

    What others should know: Make sure to de-grease the area to be treated, and rough up the surface a little with steel wool before treatment. Wear rubber gloves, since this product contains acid.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Lefty from USA on 2014-03-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Seems to produce a nice low sheen black on aluminum, alloys and steel.

    Things I would have changed: Fit the bottle cap with some kind of applicator

    What others should know: Does give varied results if the metal is not totally scuffed and clean of oil. If it doesn't turn out well its easy to clean up the piece and give it another try. The components of this product are acids that are chemically reacting with the surface of the metal to change the color. So the depth of the color into the surface and its darkness are a function of how well the reaction goes. That's why the prep is so important to get good results.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2013-12-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Works as advertised.

    Things I would have changed: None.

    What others should know: I used this to finish alterations I made to an AirForce Condor. It produced a less than perfect finish, but better than nothing by quite a bit. I didn't get extreme in following instructions, so I'm sure I could have had better results with a little effort. For nicks and scratches, it works fine.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By fidel from Canada on 2013-09-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: It does what's supposed to do. I applied on my Remington 552 BDL, which has an aluminum receiver, and now it looks like new. All the white spots are gone....

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Make sure to eliminate any oil residues. Softly rub with steel wool the damaged area before applying the product

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Themanfromgeorgetown from USA on 2012-10-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Works

    Things I would have changed: none

    What others should know: clean your gun first !

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By nonewjerseymike from USA on 2012-07-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Easy touchup for aluminum based air guns,easy on cov ers well,keep adding until you get thhe right hue.

    Things I would have changed: Larger size bottles,thats all

    What others should know: Just apply and use a water soaked cloth to darken by taking off and redabbning to taste

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Unknown Infidel from USA on 2012-07-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: makes a good black finish, but it does bubble, smoke and smell like rotten eggs as it works. Might need to touch up a larger piece several times and oil your piece after it's blued or it turns ashy grey and rusty brown.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Unknown Infidel from USA on 2012-06-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Applied this to my discovery which was looking a bit raggedy. It got my metal all nice and black and beautiful again. Very easy to apply. Simply get some on a cotton rag and wipe it on. Let it set then wipe with wet rag.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Donald from USA on 2012-01-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Had a ding or to on my scope!! applied with Q-tip looked new again. waited until dry tryed buffing and it didnt wipe off!! Great product

    Things I would have changed: Adding a brush inside the cap

    What others should know: A little go's along way!!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Cristian from USA on 2011-06-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Works like wonder, not only for guns but for anything needing a lasting black finish. Specially nicks and chips, has done wonders for my guns and cameras. Works fast, gives an excellent finish, hardly noticeable, I used to resort to paint and it never had the same finish.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing, value for money ratio is OK

    What others should know: Anyone who like me likes to have guns looking new this is the right product. Not for large areas but for small areas, scratches and nicks is excellent

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Richard from USA on 2010-07-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: It works as advertised, specifically for small scratches and touch-up work. I did try it on some large pieces and one piece came out very good, but the other did not.

    Things I would have changed: It would be nice if they would come up with an inexpensive way to do larger pieces with a consistent outcome, but this product does work as advertised.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By AxelR from USA on 2009-11-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Easy to handle, value

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Preatty good to take small dings, scratches on black aluminum. I tried to blacken a muzzle break but the color did not get uniform. I think is too much area to cover also the area were very smooth.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2009-06-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Convenient, clean and inexpensive for use in small jobs and repairs. Efficient and effective.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: White metals have varying compositions and this product's effect is somewhat unpredictable regarding color and durability. Experimentation is about the only way to determine outcome. It made the polished white metal trigger on a TX200 a beautiful, smooth raven black, which promptly wiped off clean like a bad paint job. White triggers are not all bad.

     
Navigation