Date: 17/6/2019 22:7
0

Brownells 1-3/8" Square. Customer Reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.0 (13 reviews)
4 star
Pre-order

Out of Stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

By TrueSniper08 from USA on 2008-08-17 21:31:04

Things I liked: Real heavy duty makes bores very clean

Things I would have changed: a little too thick for a .177 bore need a little force to push it though the bore which is not good

What others should know: if u are buying these for a .177 just cut the patches into triangles or small strips will work to makes them a whole lot easier to work with but for $2.50 you get a 100 patches what more could you ask for.

The most helpful critical review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

By Jeff from USA on 2010-05-11 09:49:57

Things I liked: I liked the fact they are pre-cut to a size that will fit in my .22 or .177 Marauder.

Things I would have changed: The edge fringe.

What others should know: While the patches are just simple patches, they are not just thin cotton patches. They are a bit thicker, loosely woven material. Thus, there is a horrible, string, fringe around each patch. So you will have small stings that have come off in the barrel and clinging to the outside. I would not purchase these again. I have to clean off each patch of all the individual stings. Once this is done, then I can use them. I am going to purchase just plain cotton material and cut squares myself. Too much of a hassle just to clean a barrel.

Sort by:
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By unionrdr from USA on 2018-08-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: These are my go-to patches for wiping down the outside of my rifles with Rem-Oil. Boy, do they pick up finger dirt, thin, dusty rust, all the crud typically found on air rifles, etc. Even vintage air rifles I've won on the auctions clean up pretty well with these and some Rem-Oil! And with a .22 Brownell's jag, they fit my .25 caliber bores quite snugly to clean them, such as my Trail NPXL725 & Crosman/Remington 725VTR. The color and weave remind me of burlap. But they sure pick up the dirt!

    Things I would have changed: Good question? They're already pretty darn good!

    What others should know: Just pull off the loose threads before using one. I don't like the thought of a loose thread getting, " into the works".

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Raymond from USA on 2016-09-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: For the price you get 100 of these square patches.

    Things I would have changed: As mentioned the fibers start to unweave easily (fray) and may get stuck in your barrel.

    What others should know: If they tighten up the weave and eliminate the fraying we would have a winner here.

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Nitro1527 from USA on 2016-08-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Great size patches for cleaning your Airgun barrel! The cotton flannel material is very absorbent and soft, so it won't hurt your airgun's rifling...

    Things I would have changed: Because of the very open weave of the cotton flannel, the cut edges produce loose fibers that may be difficult to remove from your barrel!

    What others should know: Something should attempted to try and alleviate the lint produced from the patch edges...singe with a flame? Not sure...

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Peter from USA on 2015-12-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: You do get a quantity of them for the money. Heavy duty and absorbent but too heavy for a .177 barrel. I need to cut them into quarters and then use a jag rather than a loop.

    Things I would have changed: I know from reading others comments that the main issue is the fibers coming off. I guess there is really nothing that can be done about.

    What others should know: The only way I can use them is to quarter them and use a jag. Using a loop would take too much force and I am not going to do that. I would not purchase these again but since there are 100 to a pack and they need to be quartered I'm in the possession of 400 patches. Way more than I will ever need.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Paul from USA on 2015-02-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Sure beats cutting cloth yourself. LOL. I like the texture of them, there is a softer side and a rougher side, good for alternating as you clean.

    Things I would have changed: the edges tend to lose strings, not a big deal, but you could lose a string or so in a baffled rifle.

    What others should know: These are a little tough to pull through a .177. you have to put the patch through your loop closer to the corner.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Dr. Swa from USA on 2015-01-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Low price, cleans well.

    Things I would have changed: Would be nice if it did not fray so easily, but not a show stopper

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kentucky Airgunner from USA on 2014-07-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Good quality cleaning patches. Heavy-duty and good size for .22 cal and .25 cal bores.

    What others should know: At this price point, you will be hard pressed to find patches of this quality anywhere else.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2013-12-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: Heavy fabric with thick nap.

    Things I would have changed: None.

    What others should know: Heavy and absorbent. Right size for airgun calibers.

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Marc from USA on 2010-08-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: Nice and soft, I guess.

    Things I would have changed: The patches are rough cut and fraying. Ends up leaving loose fibers everywhere, including inside the barrel. I would have thought that a bore cleaning product would be made out of something that doesn't leave behind loose debris.

    What others should know: I have to cut each of these 1 3/8" patches into quarters to fit in my .177 barrel. At least that means I've actually got 400 patches. But if you're going to be cutting fabric anyway, why not just save the $ and use old T-shirts?

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Jeff from USA on 2010-05-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: I liked the fact they are pre-cut to a size that will fit in my .22 or .177 Marauder.

    Things I would have changed: The edge fringe.

    What others should know: While the patches are just simple patches, they are not just thin cotton patches. They are a bit thicker, loosely woven material. Thus, there is a horrible, string, fringe around each patch. So you will have small stings that have come off in the barrel and clinging to the outside. I would not purchase these again. I have to clean off each patch of all the individual stings. Once this is done, then I can use them. I am going to purchase just plain cotton material and cut squares myself. Too much of a hassle just to clean a barrel.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jeremy from USA on 2010-01-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Things I liked: Does the job... It's a cotton patch, what can u really say.

    Things I would have changed: Have to cut them in 1/3 strips to make them fit in a .177 barrel.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Austin from USA on 2008-12-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Nice, soft, and perfect sized! Perfect for my tight barrel bores and I don't have to worry about it scratching them.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: Buy alot of these because you will end up using them all up before you know it.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By TrueSniper08 from USA on 2008-08-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: Real heavy duty makes bores very clean

    Things I would have changed: a little too thick for a .177 bore need a little force to push it though the bore which is not good

    What others should know: if u are buying these for a .177 just cut the patches into triangles or small strips will work to makes them a whole lot easier to work with but for $2.50 you get a 100 patches what more could you ask for.

     
Navigation