Date: 19/10/2019 19:24
0

Mantis 4-12x40 AO. S0030. Customer Reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.0 (13 reviews)
4 star
Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

By Dave from USA on 2016-07-13 10:49:49

Things I liked: The price was good. It has performed well. I put this on my first PCP the Maximus and am loving the match up. The clearity is good. The tracking of the turrets is positive and am able to make fine adjustments. When I bought this there was no reviews and I could not find any information on the web other than I believe that Air Vanturi imports them. I am pleased that I did pick this scope. The only thing that one could want more of is field of view, but for the money this is good. Would love to have bumper sticker with the logo (the mantis over the scope) to put on the truck.

Things I would have changed: For the price. Nothing.

What others should know: I would like to know were the mil dots are true at. So that I may use some of the apps like Chairgun to help with longer shots and incline.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

By Andrew from USA on 2019-08-24 17:59:53

Things I liked: I like the reticle and the turrets. It seemed quite nice at first.

Things I would have changed: The quality, even at the expense of price.

What others should know: I got this scope at part of a bundle. It seemed fine until today. Today, whilst shooting my rather new Diana 350 Magnum, the view was blocked by something inside the scope. I suspect the erector tube is messed up. Upon further inspection I noticed it rattled as well. I think I am done with the Mantis line of optics. I will be contacting Pyramid as soo as possible for warranty coverage.

Sort by:
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Andrew from USA on 2019-08-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I like the reticle and the turrets. It seemed quite nice at first.

    Things I would have changed: The quality, even at the expense of price.

    What others should know: I got this scope at part of a bundle. It seemed fine until today. Today, whilst shooting my rather new Diana 350 Magnum, the view was blocked by something inside the scope. I suspect the erector tube is messed up. Upon further inspection I noticed it rattled as well. I think I am done with the Mantis line of optics. I will be contacting Pyramid as soo as possible for warranty coverage.

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Kenneth from USA on 2019-08-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: looks

    Things I would have changed: everything

    What others should know: got this on a package deal with my flashpup but couldnt get it close to zero and ive been shooting for 38 years wish i could send it back but havent tried yet hoping maybe i just got a dud

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Orlando from USA on 2019-05-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Sharon on 2018-10-27
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Seems well made, looks good, clear optics

    Things I would have changed: Turrets just dont work right, adjustments are random

    What others should know: Look at a Bushnell or Nikon, even a Hawke scope, buy once and it will last a lifetime.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Don from USA on 2018-08-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Purchased this scope as part of a bundle deal with the Umarex Gauntlet. Has been excellent choice. Clear and accurate...

    Things I would have changed: nothing

    What others should know: would highly recommend.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2018-05-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: Holds zero well, great FOV, love that AO goes down to 5 yards, perfect for pesting, glass seems clear & nice.

    Things I would have changed: Clicks on scope adjustment a little mushy, glare is bad on this had to purchase sun shade

    What others should know: Works great on my Benjamin Maximus either off hand or from my bench and a bipod... cannot speak on durability never tried on my magnum springer.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Gregory from USA on 2018-04-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: so far so good. But you know what would really make this a better way for we valued customers would be for we loyal customers to receive something for giving you feedback freely? Give us something for our time helping you and responding to your survey! You're welcome, Greg

    Things I would have changed: no more free info from your customers

    What others should know: we should be given points for our time here.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2018-02-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Good clear optics at a reasonable choice. Ordered three and all hold zero on springers.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Good basic scope.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Steven from USA on 2017-06-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Purchased from PA. Mounted this on my Beeman R9 and have to say it has held zero for 1500 shots so far. Very easy to zero. I use the Mantis 1" scope mounts and they are very sturdy. I only paper punch at 45" in my backyard range but have shot it out to 35 yards, at times. If Mantis scopes are ever manufactured with increased magnification, i.e., 4-16-44MM or 4-16-50MM I will the be the first in line to buy one!

    Things I would have changed: None really.

    What others should know: The reticle is not etched. Mil-dots are very easy to use for holdover.

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Kenneth from USA on 2016-10-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Picture is clear and there is no distortion around the edges. This scope is built very solidly and looks very high-quality on the outside.

    Things I would have changed: The turret adjustments simply didn't work on this scope! I spent 45 minutes adjusting the turrets and could not get within 4 inches of the bulls eye at 10 yards. The turret adjustment knob simply stopped turning and would not adjust any lower. The windage adjustment didn't work either! Another issue is that the reticle lines are far too thick, but that's a design problem. I prefer thin lines over the thick ones on the Mantis.

    What others should know: I am replacing it with a Hawke scope with the same specs (4-12x40 AO). It's a little bit more expensive, but I believe it will be worth it. I have not had any problems with my Hawke scope on my Marauder Pistol. Though the Hawke scopes cost more, I believe the quality control may be better. I regret giving the Mantis scope a try.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jesus from USA on 2016-10-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Good image,easy to focus.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: There were not much reviews on this scope but I took the chance because it looks fine and was at a good price.Beside I wanted more magnification than the usual scope (3-9x).I placed in a Benjamin Trail NP2 substituting a Barksa that after 1500 shots lost focus at 9-12x magnification.After a close look it is identical to the hammer 4-12x40 I put in my Hatsan 1000s vortex.May be is made by the same manufacturer.The good thing is that this Hammer scope is the only one that had resisted the recoil of this gun for > 5000 shots.If this Mantis works like this, will be amazing.I had shot around 100 times with it and is working fine. Will see if stay the same after 1000 more shots.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dave from USA on 2016-07-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.54 ratings

    Things I liked: The price was good. It has performed well. I put this on my first PCP the Maximus and am loving the match up. The clearity is good. The tracking of the turrets is positive and am able to make fine adjustments. When I bought this there was no reviews and I could not find any information on the web other than I believe that Air Vanturi imports them. I am pleased that I did pick this scope. The only thing that one could want more of is field of view, but for the money this is good. Would love to have bumper sticker with the logo (the mantis over the scope) to put on the truck.

    Things I would have changed: For the price. Nothing.

    What others should know: I would like to know were the mil dots are true at. So that I may use some of the apps like Chairgun to help with longer shots and incline.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Arthur from USA on 2016-07-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.663 ratings

    Things I liked: Very clear and sharp glass with no distortion edge to edge. Clicks move point of impact with no lag or over correction. This scope is very light compared to most of the Chinese scopes. The zoom ring and the AO focus ring both work smoothly with a decent tension. Range finding seems to be fairly consistent but the yardages on the AO ring don't match with my eyes, no big deal. Reticle is just about the ideal size and focuses sharp and clear.

    Things I would have changed: For this amount of money....I wouldn't change anything!!

    What others should know: I have this scope mounted on a springer and will have to shoot it for awhile to see if it holds-up to the recoil. I mounted the scope in BKL 2 piece mounts with no issues. There is a very limited amount of elevation and windage travel, I had to add shims to the mounts to correct for barrel "droop". I will get another one of these scopes and mount it on a pistol. So far, it appears to be an excellent scope for the money spent!

Navigation