Date: 19/11/2018 19:53
0

Plano Vertical Rifle. 1301-02. Customer Reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (60 reviews)
Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

By JetChopperDude from USA on 2012-10-09 07:31:18

Things I liked: I was attracted to the 'vertical installation', versus the normal flat cases I've seen. This design of suspension, seems to make more sense, as it totally removes pressure points on items while stored or transported cases. I have a Benjamin Marauder, Leapers 4-16x44 scope, plus 80mm SIDEWHEEL) Additionally, the rigidity and affordability. I bought 3 cases (one for my Marauder, one for my Gamo Whisper, and one for my son's powder-burner). My son was PLEASANTLY surprised when I gave it to him.

Things I would have changed: Nothing I would specifically change, as I just made allowances for the differences. First, some people commented about the securing straps being a little short. Well..., maybe, but if you just give that a little attention..., during removal-installation of your weapon..., it just isn't that big of an issue. I was aware of it, and as far as evaluating the overall concept of the case..., it is a minimal issue.

What others should know: YES, and I think some of the Marauder owners (using a scope), should know this. You'll have to shave down the FORWARD support pad. With my scope-sidewheel setup (through trial and error), I probably removed 3/4" from the bottom. This totally removes the little recess (allows for strap clearance), plus a little more past that, allowing the rifle to rest down lower, for extra scope clearance. To maintain a parallel and angled configuration..., I used my bandsaw, to keep things neat-tidy. Probably took me a total of 15-minutes. Otherwise, a sharp serrated bread knife will probably suffice. Not a big deal, really. Additionally, with the way I have my scope mounted, I had to move the REAR support pad, AND STOCK forward, maybe 7-8". The rear strap settles into the notch of tme Mrod stock. Otherwise, situating the weapon to the normal installation point, would cause the lid to hit the rear end of my scope. Now, with the shaved forepad modification, and moving everything forward, I can close the lid. IF YOU HAVE A 100mm side wheel installed, YOU MIGHT HAVE PROBLEMS! Even now, I probably have minimal clearance for my 80mm sidewheel, as it's at the same level as the elevation knob. Maybe conversing with P.A. before ordering may give you some insight. For myself, GREAT CHOICE. With the Gamo and same scope set-up? NO SWEAT! Assembled the case, put in the gun..., shut the lid..., and I'm done. With PA's return policy, you can't lose. They're GREAT!!

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:3.0

By Evan from USA on 2018-09-24 09:11:35

Things I liked: The top-opening case is great. I bought it after seeing one at the range and liking the accessibility when the case is open.

Things I would have changed: Unfortunately it doesn't work with my rifle (Daystate Air Wolf) and scope (Hawke 8-32x56 on medium Sportsmatch rings) even after removing the parallax ring. It would be great if the rifle and scope were short enough for the top to close.

Sort by:
  • 123 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By sam from USA on 2018-09-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Easy to customize

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Large Scopes needs a little custom cutting on bottems of foam

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Evan from USA on 2018-09-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The top-opening case is great. I bought it after seeing one at the range and liking the accessibility when the case is open.

    Things I would have changed: Unfortunately it doesn't work with my rifle (Daystate Air Wolf) and scope (Hawke 8-32x56 on medium Sportsmatch rings) even after removing the parallax ring. It would be great if the rifle and scope were short enough for the top to close.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2018-03-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Fits my rifle & scope well.

    Things I would have changed: None

    What others should know: Great case for the money.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Sean from USA on 2017-09-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Protects better than soft cases. This case "floats" the gun in a secure environment. Nothing can hit my barrel or scope.

    Things I would have changed: The area under the carry handle dips down to provide a space for the carry handle to fold down. This coincides with the tallest point of my CP 4-16x56mm scope with AO sidewheel. I had to trim the foam in order to lower and otherwise reposition the gun (Gamo Whisper Fusion Mach1), to fit in the case.

    What others should know: Despite the original lack of clearance mentioned above, I was able to place foam cutouts below the gun to hold as many as 4 pellet tins on the floor of the case. I really like this case, but it takes some adjusting if you really do have a large scope that requires such a case.

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Robert from USA on 2017-03-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The idea of a vertical case for a rifle.

    Things I would have changed: A cheaply made case The padding or lack of is a joke. I bought it for a scoped rifle but lid hit scope and couldn't close it.

    What others should know: I have had good luck on other items purchased from pyramid so I'll keep using them.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By jacob from USA on 2017-02-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: It keeps you rifle up right. It hold your rifle securely with the velcro straps. Has room for storing your ammo and clips and accessories under the rifle. Very easy to carry.

    Things I would have changed: Like to see a foam lined bottom

    What others should know: You can keep your pellets, tools and most of your shooting needs all in one case would highly recommend this case

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James from USA on 2016-11-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: The case is very sturdy and exactly what I needed.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: This is a case that carries a very expensive and accurate rifle. You must take good care of it. By the way: I did not get a warren-tee card with the rifle to remit. I guess that Air Arms will keep track of my purchases and guarantees.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Rick from USA on 2016-05-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Things I liked: Your air rifle sits in an upright position. Fit, finish, and function are excellent for the price.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By William from USA on 2015-12-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: Seems to be well built.

    Things I would have changed: make it a little slimmer.

    What others should know: great case would buy another if I needed one.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By randall from USA on 2015-12-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: Everything fits just right

    Things I would have changed: None

    What others should know: No

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By TejanoViejo from USA on 2015-12-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Things I liked: Highly recommended as being an "Excellent Bang for the Buck" which offers good basic protection under normal, careful handling conditions.

    Things I would have changed: Does not impress me as being "Heavy Duty" Rugged - would have preferred a heavier gauged material <even at a slight increase in pricing> as well as additional foam insert in lid above the scope area.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By dale from USA on 2015-11-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: I have two of these cases and they are perfect for my rifles. I modified the butt stock foam to allow me to store two magazines for the mrod and I still have room to also store my sort bipod.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: I had to modify the fore stock foam to allow for the 50mm objective and 1" rings but there are instructions included to explain how so it wasn't any big deal just wanted to share.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jeffrey from USA on 2015-08-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I purchased one of these rifle cases to handle my Marlin 336w 30-30 with a scope. The gun fit perfect. The overall build of the case is good. The protection offered the gun is excellent. The gun does not move at all once fitted into the foam forms and strapped down. I liked this case so much, I bought another one for my 8mm Mauser.

    Things I would have changed: I do not see anything that needs changing.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Franklin from USA on 2015-07-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Things I liked: Cheap

    Things I would have changed: Make the area where the rifle scope would be located a bit higher. Competitive scopes are much higher than hunting scopes. The case indicates it will accept a Plano 3500 inside the case, under the rifle. It is marked so, but the case will go in the case along with the rifle.

    What others should know: Now a good value at all.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By SP4449 from USA on 2015-07-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: Very secure case.

    Things I would have changed: I wish the hinge was on the other side.

    What others should know: This is the best case I have. The gun is much better protected than in any of the flat cases I have used.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Rich from USA on 2015-01-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Holds gun in upright position. Fits all of my benji airguns with scopes.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Good case, I have two.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Samurai1949 from USA on 2014-11-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings

    Things I liked: When I purchased my Hatsan 125 Vortex I decided to include the 20/$20 to site in the scope. The case is very sturdy and well built. The case itself (minus the form inserts) should last a long time.

    Things I would have changed: I would change the form inserts that seem to be losing their form after a few uses. Also the velcro on the butt end is way too short while the piece on the barrel end is way too long. In light of the more than adequate interior spaceI would also include a foam insert or two for ammo or accessory storage.

    What others should know: I haven't compared other cases for scoped rifles in this category but the price point on this case seems right. Because of the overall exterior and build quality the above observations can be easily fixed by the owner. Overall I'm pleased with this purchase and may purchase an additional one for my Gamo Whiper Pro.

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Joe from USA on 2014-11-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: Finally a case that will cradle your gun like the eggs box that cradles eggs. Excellent method to keep a gun from banging against the inside of the case and rubbing against the foam of the case during movements.

    Things I would have changed: The foam in the fore-end needs to be stiffer so that the gun doesn't bang against the side of the case. There needs to be a stiff foam between the trigger and foam in fore-end to provide more support so that the gun doesn't bang against the side of the case.

    What others should know: I inserted foam between the gun's trigger and foam in fore-end to provide more support so that the gun doesn't bang against the side of the case.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Vernon from USA on 2014-10-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: The longest [and tallest] rifle I own is a Hatsan 125 - to which I have added a "dropper-rail," and a Leapers 4-16x50mm AO scope. This rifle fit perfectly in this rifle case. The quality of this rifle case is typical of the quality that Plano produces [tackle boxes and such] and I'm delighted with this purchase.

    Things I would have changed: Not a thing. I did make a change which was just minor [See Below]

    What others should know: There are two blocks of foam inside the case. One is at the rear of the rifle and one is by the for-end of the rifle. I did remove the small piece that protrudes at the bottome of these blocks; which lowered this Hatsan 125 [w/50mm scope], allowing the lid to close perfectly. I'm gonna buy another one, now that I've seen how it fits my rifles. Thanks for selling these cases PA. You're still my "GoTo" place for everything 'airgun' and will continue to be so.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Scrambler82 from USA on 2014-06-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Fitment was great; held the gun upright with supports for front and rear. Locking is good and solid. Case material is good and when closed the case is feels rugged and secure.

    Things I would have changed: Different gun supports in the case. Internal compartments for some equipment, i.e. pellet carrying, patches and quick cleaning equipment. More room on the top li for a high mounted scope.

    What others should know: Well made, rugged with plenty of room inside for single gun low scope mount. if you plan on a high mounted scope, like a 50mm, you should try the fit before buying.

     
  • 123 Next
Navigation