Date: 10/4/2020 0:6
0

Customer Reviews for UTG 4-16x40 AO

Average Customer Review

4.5 (34 reviews)
UTG 4-16x40 AO
Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

By Ryan from USA on 2013-07-14 00:45:07

Things I liked: Everything especially all the different colors works great on my talon p

Things I would have changed: Nothing

What others should know: Awesome scope good price can't go wrong

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:3.0

By Rick from USA on 2017-02-28 18:24:48

Things I liked: Loved it at first, clear shot sight

What others should know: Will not hold zero, shifts every two or three shots

Sort by:
  • 12 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James from USA on 2020-03-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Super clear glass.

    Things I would have changed: Make the rings that come in the package high-profile. The ones provided will not clear my Hatsan Flash magazine.

    What others should know: Having great luck with the utg line that takes a screw in sun shade. I have had two accushot fail on me and decided to give the brand another try. I stay away from the accushot line and so far I'm having great luck with the four units I'm currently using.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By CALIN from USA on 2019-12-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: This is my favorite low cost scope...and, like many others here, I've tried dozens of them! This scope has held up to years of use on my Diana 34 as well as performing a completely different duty on my M1 Garand. The UTG Hunter is one of the few scopes that can be used on a Garand these days, because the scope is offset on its rings/mount to the side of the upper ejection/loading port and it must be mounted 90 degrees off (with elevation knob serving windage duty and vice-versa). The other scope I have that works well on my two scoped Garand rifles is a Luepold Mk4 MR/T 2.5-8. Sure, its 1/2 mil illuminated milling reticle and image quality are far superior to the Hunter, but it costs over 10x as much too! Both scopes get the job done.

    Things I would have changed: Though it's really a pipe dream in any parallax adjustment system under $1000, the Hunter AO system could be better at not affecting POI. The reticle shifts a liitle as the AO adjuster is rotated through its range. However, my Hunter is still one of the best I've tested in anything near this price range and I only must re-zero my scope if I adjust the AO beyond my usual 10 to 50 yard air gunning range. The Hunter is also a bit heavy, but perhaps the benefit of its heavy construction is its reliability on scope-abusing springers! At least it's not a 30mm scope exhibiting an even greater weight penalty.

    What others should know: The illumination works great for my 22 cal Diana 34 night pester. Though red and green colors would probably suffice, my red/green color vision deficiency might be the reason that I prefer one of the violet colors the scope offers. Once set to the color I prefer, I'm always careful to only long press a button to power it down so it will always remember my setting on its next power-up. I use a head lamp and the illuminated reticle to shoot pests out of the trees next to our house, which they keep trying to remodel to their preferences and needs. For best clarity, I never use more than 10x power (the mil dot reticle is calibrated at 10x too) so there's no need to buy the larger and more expensive 50mm objective Hunter. (With a 40mm objective, the resulting 4mm optical exit pupil at 10 power is already plenty large for most post-30 year old human eyes.) A 2nd focal plane mil dot reticle like this one allows you to do neat ballistics tricks at lower power too.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ricardo from USA on 2019-09-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It is perfect for the Ruger 1022.

    Things I would have changed: For the Ruger 1022, the rings should be the Low Profile in my opinion, instead of the High Profile that came together.

    What others should know: The screws of the UTG Pro Ruger 1022 Picatinny rail are perfect, since I read complains about screws too long or bad quality.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By fred on 2019-08-04
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Good, sharp mil-dot reticle. Fairly bright scope, adjustable objective, locking turrets for elevation and windage and I think the turrets can be adjusted to align markings once the scope is zeroed in to the rifle.

    Things I would have changed: I would have liked the adjustment for the objective lens to be on the side of the scope next to the windage and elevation turrets but this scope does give you a lot for the money.

    What others should know: The reticle does illuminate in any color you want. Buyers should not panic if their reticle doesn't light up after inserting the battery. The first battery I installed was dead but the package does include 2 batteries. The second one worked fine.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Henry from USA on 2019-04-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Purchased this scope for my AA TX200 HC. To be honest, I was a little concerned that I was underspending, given it is a ~$700 rifle. 'Turns out I was mostly right. My biggest complaint is that the eye relief on the scope is way too tight. If your eye is not in exactly the right spot, there's occlusion, unfortunately. I'd also say that it's really not a 16x magnification, given the level of blurring at anything above 6x. All the above said, I wouldn't say it's a bad scope, and it will endure the punishment of a springer, so that's all to it's credit. In the end, I returned it for a better one. Your mileage may vary. :-)

    Things I would have changed: While I initially considered the illuminated reticle a bit of "gilding the lily," in true fact, I have found uses for it since, e.g., when having to account for pellet drop at longer distances, and needing to spot the mildots lower in the reticle against a black target. Now I know. :-)

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Chris from USA on 2017-11-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Inexpensive with decent features. I hunt at night a good bit and the IR is essential. Works well. I love that it will shut itself off if I forget! Retical is a bit thick but certainly useable.

    Things I would have changed: Its a $100 scope. No complaints.

    What others should know: I've had this scope on a hatsan 95 in .22 and a tiger impact .22. Did well. Its new home will be a marauder .25 once it arrives from pyramid.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Matthew from USA on 2017-11-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Nice glass and quality built scope. Holds great for my Benjamin 25 Cal nitro. Been nailing center on target.

    Things I would have changed: Little on the heavy side.

    What others should know: Great for the money.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By marc from USA on 2017-08-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.02 ratings

    Things I liked: I like the scope but the thin yardage sleeve came off of the front.when your focusing the scope and your turning the front lens the sleeve slides off an I can't get it to reattach. Anybody out there that can help. It's threaded but won't screw back on. Please email me if you have an answer. Love the scope but that's aggravating [email protected]

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Rick from USA on 2017-02-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Loved it at first, clear shot sight

    What others should know: Will not hold zero, shifts every two or three shots

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By David from USA on 2017-02-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I replaced a fixed 4X scope that came as a combo on a new airgun I purchased, with this scope after watching a number of reviews on the airgun. I was amazed how quickly I was able to get it sighted in, only 6 shots and it was dead on at 45 feet. Very easy to adjust, very substantially made and the red or green illuminated reticle is great, day or night. Also the reticle is completely visible when not illuminated. Very sharp and clear even at high power magnification.

    Things I would have changed: Would liked to have scope come with mounts that fit either 11mm dovetail or Weaver rail.

    What others should know: If you want an airgun scope with variable power and illuminated reicle, you can't go wrong with this one.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Steven from USA on 2016-10-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Probably one of the best scopes for a spring air rifle. Rugged and acceptable optics for the price.

    Things I would have changed: Do away with illuminated reticle and use the money saved for better glass.

    What others should know: This scope replaced a Leupold scope. Although the Leupold has much better glass it could not hold up to a springer. The UTG line holds up much better.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Steven from USA on 2016-10-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Rugged scope. Good choice for spring air rifles. Great price.

    Things I would have changed: Better optics. Rings supplied are a little too high for most applications.

    What others should know: Illuminated reticle has a lot of bleed over.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Tim from USA on 2016-10-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Nice scope for the cost. Had a problem with the first one I ordered...the AO distance ring separated from the lens. Returned to Pyramyd Air who quickly replaced the faulty scope with a new one...no questions asked. Great customer service. My shooting is at 20-40 meter targets...not hunting. Scope is easy to adjust for distance (AO) and magnification...and stays set until you change it. Prior scope I used tended to "creep" down on the magnification setting when shooting multiple shots. I like the locking rings on the adjustment knobs to secure a "zero" setting, not necessary to remove screw-on covers to adjust. Haven't used the illuminated reticle extensively, but like the ability to change the intensity of the color, as well as change it to 36 different colors for those who may be red/green color blind. Did not use the Weaver Rings supplied with the scope. I was able to use the rings from my prior 1" tube scope with no problem. I would definitely recommend this scope.

    Things I would have changed: Because of the overall scope length...14+ inches...the front flip lens cover would not operate correctly. It would hit my back open sight when I tried to flip it open even though the scope is set on the rail as far back as possible. The open sight is welded to the barrel, so removing it is not an option. Would like the choice of a flip type lens cover, or a bikini style lens cover. Was able to purchase a bikini style cover to replace the included flip up type lens covers.

    What others should know: Scope is fairly long at over 14 inches, so be sure your rifle can handle a scope that long without interfering with the open sights, or be prepared to use a high mount configuration. Customer service was very helpful in assisting me to select the best scope for my needs ($$ versus features). Great company to work with on any questions. Their customer service sets them far ahead of other companies I have dealt with.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Smaug from USA on 2016-09-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Adjustable Objective and reasonably high magnification and brightness at a fair price. Holds zero well, clear optics, includes flip-up scope caps. Illuminated reticle seems like a gimmick at first, but if you're shooting at a brown field target in the dim woods, after all the orange paint has been shot off of it, it really comes into its own.

    Things I would have changed: Make it lighter, make the clicks more consistent. The front cap being flip-up is not useful, since the front element of the scope rotates for focus. UTG can save a few cents by making the front cap fixed. Two colors on the illuminated reticle is superfluous. Red only would be fine, and would be less drain on the battery, since green LEDs draw more current than red. Eye relief is a little short, compared to the high-end, high-dollar scopes like Burris and Leupold.

    What others should know: If you're looking for a reasonably bright 16x scope for around a hundred bucks, there aren't a lot of options, and some of them might not hold zero. Airgunners usually shoot at small targets, so high magnification is needed. 12X is the minimum. This scope is nice and bright at 12X, and bright enough outdoors in daylight at 16X. At dusk and 16X it starts to seem kind of dim, but dialing magnification down to 10 or 12 brightens it up again. I also have the UTG 3-12, and this one is the better buy. Sometimes, 12X just isn't quite enough to take advantage of the accuracy of a nice air rifle. If you have a really heavy rifle that you don't want to make too much heavier, or a really light rifle that you'd like to keep light, this might not be a good choice, but for anything in the middle, it is just brilliant.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Shelly from USA on 2016-05-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: leapers scopes can handle the recoil of magnum springers and stay on target better than other scopes ive tried.

    Things I would have changed: This scope was designed for a hunting rifle. It should come with dovetail mounts and bikini covers.I have no use for the illumination it only adds weight to an already heavy scope.

    What others should know: the reticle appears thick in daylight but thin at twilight.Its a good thing.U.T.G. leapers are the best choice for brake barrel air rifles.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Jayv21 from USA on 2015-12-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Love this scope. Very easy to use. Crystal clear lens. Love the rubber flip up covers. For a high powered air rifle, the mil dots work great.

    Things I would have changed: Maybe a built-in side Laser.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Terry from USA on 2015-10-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Everything operates smoothly. Adjustable objective. Lockable and rezeroable E&W adjustments. Clear optics. Great price.

    Things I would have changed: Not sure I really need a lighted reticle but the ez-tap controls are nice.

    What others should know: The K4 Weaver I had on my Winchester model 70 .243 got bumped and broke the rear lens retaining ring. I needed a replacement. I have a retina problem in my shooting eye and the only way I can see my targets is with a higher power scope. I was very happy with the 4-16X50 UTG I put on my Recluse and their scopes are built for both center fire and air guns, I thought I would try one on the .243. It has been a great scope for my eyes and this gun. Works perfectly and holds zero. At this price, unbeatable.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Richard from USA on 2015-08-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Clarity of the glass. Easily adjusted objective. Good vision at all magnifications.

    What others should know: Used the Leapers Accushot high rings due to dovetail on my Benjamin Discovery. Works very well.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By grteenbomb from USA on 2015-05-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Great scope For the $$$ LOVE the adjustment knobs Bought it to replace a 4 power sports view . ON my FWB 124 .177 cal . Came Factory Zeroed Very easy to adjust . I am buying another one for my RWS 34 To replace the 3 - 9 power H---- brand scope that is on there now

    Things I would have changed: Nothing as I like big scopes

    What others should know: ITS a BIG LONG scope 14 plus inches and 17 with the optional Sun Shade . with the sun shade on it was too long for my break barrel Om my FWB 124 I found I needed a droop mount when I test fired it at 30 yards and found I was hitting 18 3/4 inches low . Did not even try to adjust it till I got a new RWS Mount

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Randall from USA on 2015-01-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This scope has some changes as compared to their older scopes. The mil-dot reticle is thinner, and the adjustment turrets are lockable, and they don't require caps. There is an interesting assortment of colors available to illuminate the reticle. I've been using it on my Beeman R-9 and it holds its zero and otherwise works as it should. I've experienced no problems, and consider it a bargain at its low cost. No sun shade comes with this scope.

    What others should know: Although the scope comes with a pair of heavy duty Weaver rings, if you're mounting to dovetails, you'll need high rings for clearance.

     
  • 12 Next
Navigation