Date: 29/5/2020 4:21
0

Customer Reviews for Beeman QB78 Deluxe

Average Customer Review

4.5 (46 reviews)

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Dan from USA on 2016-09-30 11:46:51

Things I liked: This is a great air rifle. Easy to load, hits hard, fairly economical in terms of CO2 consumption, has a good trigger and the fit and finish are excellent. The finish on the stock is silky smooth. It is very comfortable, feels light but substantial, has very good sights, and is very accurate at 10 meters. I have not used it beyond that distance. The length of pull, at 14.4 inches is about perfect for me. The stock, while right handed, is very comfortable for a left handed shooter.

Things I would have changed: I would prefer that the stock be a little wider under the barrel where it is held while shooting.

What others should know: Loading the CO2 cartridges is a little tricky and is not well explained in the instructions. The first one goes in nozzle first then the second one goes in with the nozzle pointing out. When the cap is screwed in, it pierces the second cartridge and backing out the cap a small amount released the gas. The first cartridge is pierced the first time the trigger is squeezed. Once gas has been released, the cap cannot be turned by hand. My recommendation- before inserting cartridges, clean and lightly lube the threads then turn the cap all the way down. This will straighten the threads which do bind a bit and you can see where bottom is. Remove the cap, install the cartridges, ,then turn the cap all the way back down. When you back it off, it will suddenly seem to lock up. That means the gas has been released. Do not squeeze the trigger to release the gas from the first cartridge until you are sure the second cartridge is pierced.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:2.0

By Mark from USA on 2018-03-04 10:37:27

Things I liked: I liked the Beeman name and was looking for a single shot .22 CO2 rifle.

Things I would have changed: The bolt is difficult to close. I have to use too much force to close it. The gun's accuracy is poor.

What others should know: One of the gas seals broke 8 months after I bought it.

Sort by:
  • 123 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Timothy from USA on 2020-03-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The gun is very nice looking. I have shot 350 rounds through it. This gun is super accurate. At 10 yards 10 shots 1/8 inch group. cant believe its that accurate. I love this rifle. At 70 Deg. I get 70 good accurate shots per 2 co2 cartridge's. This is one fine rifle. would definitely recommend this this rifle to everyone looking for a very reliable accurate target and rodent killing rifle.

    Things I would have changed: NOTHING.

    What others should know: The Quality of this rifle is extremely fine.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By John from USA on 2020-03-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Overall appearance, quality stock, adjustable trigger after adjusting and greasing it and no recoil for consistent shooting. Accuracy to nickel size groups at 40' from a rest using the right pellet and scope. I got the 22 caliber.

    Things I would have changed: The bolt operation is much easier if you shove a 2" long piece of 3/8" rubber fuel line over it. The CO2 tube cover cap has many threads and it takes many twists and a long time to seat. Will likely braze a nut on the cap's end and use a 1/4" drive speeder wrench to open and close. Needs a pressure release as after about 30 shots per cylinder, pressure falls off and shots hit low. One must close the bolt and pull the trigger a dozen times to release pressure enough to open the cover cap. The enclosed owners manual was in a foreign language. Found an English manual on the Beeman web that is good.

    What others should know: Once loading a cylinder or two, be prepared to shoot as many shots to use up the CO2. Adjust the trigger to your preference. Use a scope with AO adjustment with the correct eye relief if you want to shoot short range with high power. Use RWS Hobby wadcutter/flat nose pellets in 11.9 grain for good groups. The Crosman Premier in 14.3 grain in both round nose and hollow point only give 1" or worse groups at 40', but these work quite well in my Benjamin 392. I read where some want to replace seals but mine is still OK after 500 shots.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Bud from USA on 2019-11-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I own more than a dozen airguns and this is the least expensive of them all. And yet, it is, by far, my favorite. It is the most accurate of my lot, has the best trigger (under 2 lbs.), and a gorgeous wooden stock with perfect fit and finish. The bluing deep and exquisite! I just can't get over how much I love this little rifle. An added bonus is not having to struggle with a 30-40 pound barrel break. What a treat!

    Things I would have changed: Not a darned thing!

    What others should know: These beautiful rifles are perfect for the younger or older of us who may not have the upper body strength required to continually rack that spring or piston which can get old in a hurry. What an incredible value!

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Derek from USA on 2019-11-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Good value cool looking gun.

    Things I would have changed: QUALITY control....!!

    What others should know: First off i would consider taking apart your gun and looking down the bore especially if it shoots far to the left like mine did because mine gun out of the box came pre-BENT to the left and down like a straw elbow!!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Anthony from USA on 2019-10-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: closest thing out there to a vintage Crossman rifle from the '60s. Well made with a sturdy barrel and adjustable trigger. Can operate with one or two C02 cartridges.

    Things I would have changed: The rear sight could adjust lower ( shoots a little high ) front sight is a little large. Nice wooden stock, but it is heavy.

    What others should know: I haven't put enough rounds through it yet with various pellets and the barrel is not broken in and settled down yet. That is why I rated accuracy at 4 stars, it will probably go up to 5 stars later. I'll try a scope soon. You can't go wrong for the money. I bought the .22 for more wallop[. I liked it so much I bought a second one .

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Tony from USA on 2019-08-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Perfect for a beginners training rifle. Nice stock and metal finish, including machining and bluing. Sights are above average and work great considering the price point of this air rifle. Lots of modifications available to increase velocity and knock down power. The built in scope mount works flawlessly. The sound of the pellets traveling downrange is backyard friendly. Always check your local ordinances before shooting in city limits.

    Things I would have changed: Increase the length and mass of the bolt handle to help facilitate the loading cycle. There are beefier aftermarket bolt handles available at an additional cost.

    What others should know: The first unit arrived with an air leak in the pressure tube. Pyramid immediately issued an RGA and shipped a new unit upon receipt of the defective unit back at their facility. It took about two weeks to complete the return and receive the replacement unit.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Timothy from USA on 2019-06-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Outstanding workmanship, all steel receiver grooved for scope mount, a trigger pull thats a work of art, totally adjustable sights and excellent accuracy

    Things I would have changed: Include a plastic wrench keyed to the end cap on the Co2 loading tube. It would make it easier but not too much of a problem as is

    What others should know: If you're a shooter your going to like it got mine in 22

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Clarke from USA on 2019-06-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accuracy, Affordable to shoot, Quiet

    Things I would have changed: Trigger, Gas Release

    What others should know: Overall this is a great value - I get about 60 shots per CO2 charge, so about $1 plus your pellets (about 2 to 5 cents each typically) so about 6 cents per shot or less.. Accuracy is very good with the right pellets - typically at 25 yards they will be within a 1/2" group, often touching. The trigger..well that is not so great. The first one I bought for my neighbor, had a great trigger - smooth and crisp. This one I recently bought had a "4 stage" trigger - and it felt like pulling through a gravel pit. However, it can be fixed in about an hour (if you are slow like me). See the 9:50 video from Tech Force for how to access. Once I filed off the burrs and polished with 600 grit, added a bit of Poly Axle grease, it shoots very smooth and I'm happy again!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Steven from USA on 2019-05-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Quality of the gun is nice so many air guns today are synthetic stocks and this one being real wood and full metal was a major positive. Blueing is nice overall the gun is very nice looking I added a 3-9x50 scope and it looks great. The performance out of the box is also another positive about the gun I bought the .22 version and it shoots very accurately with the scope. Two 12 gram co2 cartridges gives me about 35-45 straight shots with 14 grain .22 pellets. After that it drops off significantly due to low co2 but thats standard with co2 guns. Overall its well worth the $99 that I payed. it compares to my more expensive sig sauer mcx and in some ways is better I actually prefer to shoot this QB78 Deluxe over the Mcx because of the bolt action and smoother trigger pull plus its more efficient on co2 the Mcx uses 90gram which is expensive. I also have found it to be a bit more accurate at further ranges but that might just be the pellets since this is .22 and mcx is .177

    Things I would have changed: Not much the gun is great. I would however have added a safe gas release like a bleeder screw because the only way iv found to release the remaining co2 is to dry fire it until its empty which puts wear and tear on the bolt action. You cannot just unscrew the the cap it locks onto the gun with any amount of pressure from the co2 which is for safety reasons.

    What others should know: If your on the fence about purchasing this Id highly recommend it. It is a very nice quality airgun and the .22 version packs a punch and is very accurate. And for $99 dollars you wont find anything better then this on the market as far as bolt action .22 co2 guns go. Also there are many mods you can do to this airgun on the cheap like longer bolt handle and repeater kits also FPS upgrades and different types of stocks.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Chyanne from USA on 2019-03-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I bought this rifle from Pyramyd Air as an "around the yard" pest rifle, figuring I'd replace it with a good PCP later. But this rifle totally fits my needs! First of all the rifle came in 3 days, no damage and looking nice. I wanted a rifle that was wood and metal, single shot. .22 caliber was a must and I wanted to be able to mount a scope. The adjustable trigger I had to have. This gun has all that and a level of quality way higher than the price. It feels solid when you shoulder it, and the barrel is solid like an actual rifle barrel. I notice that my rifle shoots wild the first 5-8 shots on a fresh set of powerlets, then settles down into shooting dime sized groups until the pressure drops, at 25 yards with a cheap 4X15 Tasco scope. This $120 rig has dropped countless pest birds out at 80, 90 yards and sometimes further. My largest kill weighed around 40 pounds, a raccoon shot behind the eye at about 30 yards. For a slower pellet this gun has plenty of power! It's my go to gun!

    Things I would have changed: The length of pull was big for me, and I'm 6" tall and female. Some guys might even have trouble, I'm a tall lady but I still had to cut the stock to fit me. Not really too big of an issue, but the length of pull is a little long!!

    What others should know: It took me about 2000 shots to break in the barrel, but after 14,000 pellets this gun is still shooting great and showing no signs of quitting any time soon! I really like the CO2 power plant, they're a great choice for us ladies or teenagers who maybe get tired from a breakbarrel. But you may need to shorten the length of pull. Otherwise a fantastic piece! Buy one!! I know I want another one in .177!

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Peter on 2019-01-02
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The stock has a nice finish and the gun has a nice overall feel and weight. I like the bolt action and the rifle is pretty high end considering the price.

    Things I would have changed: The bolt is a bit loose out of the box, but it doesn't seem to effect the operation of the rifle.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Richard from USA on 2018-11-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.343 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Everything about it. It's solidly built, has the right feel and weight, and it's accurate.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: The were something "teething" pains. The stock was loose on the gun. No biggie, but shouldn't be on a new rifle. And the bolt was almost impossible to work at first, till I liberally oiled it with Pellgunoil. One finger will work the bolt now.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Stephen from USA on 2018-09-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Solid Wooden stock that looks quite nice. All Metal, no plastic parts found yet. Metal Finish is even and nice. Rifle has Heft, it feels solid, and out of the box it just felt good. Sights are nice, and have clear sight picture.

    Things I would have changed: Cheek riser is fine for using the iron sights, but a bit low for scope use. Bolt handle is a tad short, could be an inch longer with larger knob. I would like about 1-2 inches longer stock for length of pull.

    What others should know: Its a $99 rifle, so I half hearted expected it to feel like a $99 rifle. I was wrong, it feels solid, and doesn't feel cheap in any way at all. Out of the box I am very impressed with the overall package. Sadly still not feeling well so won't be able to shoot it for a day or 2. But if it shoots as good as it feels, I am sure it will serve my back yard safari quite well for quite a while. So far no regrets for this entry level air rifle. It fits my needs very well.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mike from USA on 2018-08-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.52 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: A great value at this price point. Accurate as my guns costing 3 times more. Quality workmanship and can be easily modified with accessories found online. Hardwood stock and blued metal. Minimal plastic. Ready for a scope as is. Shoots at 700fps or better for up to 45 or more shots. 65 shots per fill average.

    Things I would have changed: I would have one more barrel band and elevate the receiver at the scope rail. You have to use high rise scope mounts to have enough room to load a pellet.

    What others should know: Out of the box this rifle is easy to operate, accurate, and powerful. The best entry level CO2 rifle on the market.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By mark from USA on 2018-08-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: While the qb 78 doesn't have the best trigger it is still an accurate and economical rifle. It is great for plinking. My qb 78 seems to prefer Superdomes, barracudas, and baracuda hunter extremes. Best hundred bucks ive ever spent!

    Things I would have changed: Some extra o-rings would be nice

    What others should know: I enjoy mine and shoot it more than any of my other rifles. I bought mine from pyramid air.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Karen from USA on 2018-08-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Lightweight. Easy to load. Love the bolt action- much easier for women and kids. Nice looking, too.

    What others should know: Fantastic little rifle. Great value for the money.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Calvin from USA on 2018-08-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very well made. Accurate.

    Things I would have changed: Make the bolt handle bigger, especially on the Deluxe model. Shouldn't have to pay for a new bolt handle and take the gun apart on something as trivial as that.

    What others should know: Put a scope on it. You'll enjoy it much more than with iron sights only.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Airgun Papa from USA on 2018-08-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: The basics are here for a really fine air rifle but as it is from China it must be worked over to reach its potential. I have worked over 5 of these and found each to be different in its original factory quality. The worst one was rusting and dirty inside and had failed within a week of beginning its use. The best was clean, but had improper seal material that failed within a few months of service. All of them needed new American made seals in short order as the Chinese seals were junk. But outwardly, fit, finish and materials, they all were very nice and provided a good basis for building a really good rifle. This product is much like the Ruger 1022 semi auto rimfire in that there are many, many aftermarket options to build up the rifle of your liking. This rifle in its factory original condition is a good foundation at a reasonable price to begin the project and Pyramyd Air has the best pricing I have found.

    Things I would have changed: There are aftermarket performance kits that allow an increase in velocity by over 100 fps. These kits are not all that elaborate; mostly new proper seals but also a new breech bolt that channels the air from the valve more effectively into the breech to push the pellet with more energy out of the barrel. I do not think it would increase costs that much to incorporate this improved design into the original product. Even if it did, it should still be more economical to replace the original bolt with the new design for improved performance. In .22 caliber, the original factory velocity for a 14.3 gr. pellet was 550 fps. After the conversion velocity averaged 665 fps with the same pellet. .177 caliber rifles with the improved design gave velocities of 755 fps.

    What others should know: These rifles in my opinion need to be completely rebuilt within to provide reliable service even if not upgrading its performance due to the seal quality of the original product. If you are limited in your mechanical skills or knowledge to work on your own airguns, expect to pay about $150.00 to have the improvements made that will produce a basic design, top notch rifle with peak performance. If you have the knowledge and skills, the basic performance kit with shipping will cost you about $50.00. Do an internet search to find where these upgrades are available as Pyramyd does not sell them. If you simply want to buy one of these to leave as it is, I would encourage you to save your money or put it into another product.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kenneth from USA on 2018-07-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: First impression was good. Nice metal and wooden stock. Receiver was loose right from the box, as was the rear sight. I had to disassemble the rear sight to tighten the mounting screws. The open sights were plastic, mostly junk, and not enough adjustment to zero the rifle. This was a disappointment as I wanted to use open sights. I mounted a 4X scope and the accuracy was great but loading is not easy with the scope in the way, and the rifle is much more bulky with a scope. Mine was not an out-of-the-box shooter but ultimately a good shooter and worth the money.

    Things I would have changed: Install a decent set of open sights and better quality alignment of the sights during manufacturing.

    What others should know: Velocity is low but adequate. I shot 5 different pellets in testing and all grouped very well.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Eddie from USA on 2018-05-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I'd read the reviews regarding this particular Air Rifle...even watched the you-tube video with Mr. Archer...Archer Air Guns...everyone who have ever rated this rifle as one of the best they've ever owned was correct for it's category...mines is .22 caliber...I liked the overall rifle.

    Things I would have changed: Maybe make a rotary magazine repeating version and gun swivels for rifle slings...and a model already tuned for more fps for those whom are not airgun-smith savvy...and a .25 caliber version with not much increase in price...other than that nothing...

    What others should know: Nothing

     
  • 123 Next
Navigation