Date: 19/12/2018 5:48
0

Beeman QB78 Deluxe. QB78D. Customer Reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (35 reviews)

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Dan from USA on 2016-09-30 11:46:51

Things I liked: This is a great air rifle. Easy to load, hits hard, fairly economical in terms of CO2 consumption, has a good trigger and the fit and finish are excellent. The finish on the stock is silky smooth. It is very comfortable, feels light but substantial, has very good sights, and is very accurate at 10 meters. I have not used it beyond that distance. The length of pull, at 14.4 inches is about perfect for me. The stock, while right handed, is very comfortable for a left handed shooter.

Things I would have changed: I would prefer that the stock be a little wider under the barrel where it is held while shooting.

What others should know: Loading the CO2 cartridges is a little tricky and is not well explained in the instructions. The first one goes in nozzle first then the second one goes in with the nozzle pointing out. When the cap is screwed in, it pierces the second cartridge and backing out the cap a small amount released the gas. The first cartridge is pierced the first time the trigger is squeezed. Once gas has been released, the cap cannot be turned by hand. My recommendation- before inserting cartridges, clean and lightly lube the threads then turn the cap all the way down. This will straighten the threads which do bind a bit and you can see where bottom is. Remove the cap, install the cartridges, ,then turn the cap all the way back down. When you back it off, it will suddenly seem to lock up. That means the gas has been released. Do not squeeze the trigger to release the gas from the first cartridge until you are sure the second cartridge is pierced.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:2.0

By Mark from USA on 2018-03-04 10:37:27

Things I liked: I liked the Beeman name and was looking for a single shot .22 CO2 rifle.

Things I would have changed: The bolt is difficult to close. I have to use too much force to close it. The gun's accuracy is poor.

What others should know: One of the gas seals broke 8 months after I bought it.

Sort by:
  • 12 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Richard from USA on 2018-11-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Everything about it. It's solidly built, has the right feel and weight, and it's accurate.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: The were something "teething" pains. The stock was loose on the gun. No biggie, but shouldn't be on a new rifle. And the bolt was almost impossible to work at first, till I liberally oiled it with Pellgunoil. One finger will work the bolt now.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Stephen from USA on 2018-09-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Solid Wooden stock that looks quite nice. All Metal, no plastic parts found yet. Metal Finish is even and nice. Rifle has Heft, it feels solid, and out of the box it just felt good. Sights are nice, and have clear sight picture.

    Things I would have changed: Cheek riser is fine for using the iron sights, but a bit low for scope use. Bolt handle is a tad short, could be an inch longer with larger knob. I would like about 1-2 inches longer stock for length of pull.

    What others should know: Its a $99 rifle, so I half hearted expected it to feel like a $99 rifle. I was wrong, it feels solid, and doesn't feel cheap in any way at all. Out of the box I am very impressed with the overall package. Sadly still not feeling well so won't be able to shoot it for a day or 2. But if it shoots as good as it feels, I am sure it will serve my back yard safari quite well for quite a while. So far no regrets for this entry level air rifle. It fits my needs very well.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mike from USA on 2018-08-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.52 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: A great value at this price point. Accurate as my guns costing 3 times more. Quality workmanship and can be easily modified with accessories found online. Hardwood stock and blued metal. Minimal plastic. Ready for a scope as is. Shoots at 700fps or better for up to 45 or more shots. 65 shots per fill average.

    Things I would have changed: I would have one more barrel band and elevate the receiver at the scope rail. You have to use high rise scope mounts to have enough room to load a pellet.

    What others should know: Out of the box this rifle is easy to operate, accurate, and powerful. The best entry level CO2 rifle on the market.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By mark from USA on 2018-08-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: While the qb 78 doesn't have the best trigger it is still an accurate and economical rifle. It is great for plinking. My qb 78 seems to prefer Superdomes, barracudas, and baracuda hunter extremes. Best hundred bucks ive ever spent!

    Things I would have changed: Some extra o-rings would be nice

    What others should know: I enjoy mine and shoot it more than any of my other rifles. I bought mine from pyramid air.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Karen from USA on 2018-08-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Lightweight. Easy to load. Love the bolt action- much easier for women and kids. Nice looking, too.

    What others should know: Fantastic little rifle. Great value for the money.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Calvin from USA on 2018-08-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very well made. Accurate.

    Things I would have changed: Make the bolt handle bigger, especially on the Deluxe model. Shouldn't have to pay for a new bolt handle and take the gun apart on something as trivial as that.

    What others should know: Put a scope on it. You'll enjoy it much more than with iron sights only.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Airgun Papa from USA on 2018-08-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The basics are here for a really fine air rifle but as it is from China it must be worked over to reach its potential. I have worked over 5 of these and found each to be different in its original factory quality. The worst one was rusting and dirty inside and had failed within a week of beginning its use. The best was clean, but had improper seal material that failed within a few months of service. All of them needed new American made seals in short order as the Chinese seals were junk. But outwardly, fit, finish and materials, they all were very nice and provided a good basis for building a really good rifle. This product is much like the Ruger 1022 semi auto rimfire in that there are many, many aftermarket options to build up the rifle of your liking. This rifle in its factory original condition is a good foundation at a reasonable price to begin the project and Pyramyd Air has the best pricing I have found.

    Things I would have changed: There are aftermarket performance kits that allow an increase in velocity by over 100 fps. These kits are not all that elaborate; mostly new proper seals but also a new breech bolt that channels the air from the valve more effectively into the breech to push the pellet with more energy out of the barrel. I do not think it would increase costs that much to incorporate this improved design into the original product. Even if it did, it should still be more economical to replace the original bolt with the new design for improved performance. In .22 caliber, the original factory velocity for a 14.3 gr. pellet was 550 fps. After the conversion velocity averaged 665 fps with the same pellet. .177 caliber rifles with the improved design gave velocities of 755 fps.

    What others should know: These rifles in my opinion need to be completely rebuilt within to provide reliable service even if not upgrading its performance due to the seal quality of the original product. If you are limited in your mechanical skills or knowledge to work on your own airguns, expect to pay about $150.00 to have the improvements made that will produce a basic design, top notch rifle with peak performance. If you have the knowledge and skills, the basic performance kit with shipping will cost you about $50.00. Do an internet search to find where these upgrades are available as Pyramyd does not sell them. If you simply want to buy one of these to leave as it is, I would encourage you to save your money or put it into another product.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kenneth from USA on 2018-07-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: First impression was good. Nice metal and wooden stock. Receiver was loose right from the box, as was the rear sight. I had to disassemble the rear sight to tighten the mounting screws. The open sights were plastic, mostly junk, and not enough adjustment to zero the rifle. This was a disappointment as I wanted to use open sights. I mounted a 4X scope and the accuracy was great but loading is not easy with the scope in the way, and the rifle is much more bulky with a scope. Mine was not an out-of-the-box shooter but ultimately a good shooter and worth the money.

    Things I would have changed: Install a decent set of open sights and better quality alignment of the sights during manufacturing.

    What others should know: Velocity is low but adequate. I shot 5 different pellets in testing and all grouped very well.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Eddie from USA on 2018-05-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I'd read the reviews regarding this particular Air Rifle...even watched the you-tube video with Mr. Archer...Archer Air Guns...everyone who have ever rated this rifle as one of the best they've ever owned was correct for it's category...mines is .22 caliber...I liked the overall rifle.

    Things I would have changed: Maybe make a rotary magazine repeating version and gun swivels for rifle slings...and a model already tuned for more fps for those whom are not airgun-smith savvy...and a .25 caliber version with not much increase in price...other than that nothing...

    What others should know: Nothing

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dustin from USA on 2018-04-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.663 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Not having to pump any I get about 80 shots Co2 is cheap & im hitting dimes at 20yrds!

    Things I would have changed: It needs a rotary mag but that might make the price higher?

    What others should know: Co2 is a refrigerator gas its best to use on warm day's & to wait between shots to let the gun to warm up?

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By MICHAEL from USA on 2018-04-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.343 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Looks great. Feels great and very accurate.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Paul from USA on 2018-03-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.343 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very solid build. This gun is very accurate and powerful. I have a range indoors, but this gun needs to stretch it's legs. Can't wait for warmer weather. It's a fantastic performer. You do not have to use two c02 cartridges. Put active one in first then empty one. Same power, less shots. I get about 35 shots doing this. This is great when you can't use all the c02 from two cartridges in one session.

    Things I would have changed: The bolt is a bit stiff. Maybe with more use it will get smoother, but not a huge deal.

    What others should know: Gun is pretty heavy so it's not for younger shooters.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By John from USA on 2018-03-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: the stock and gold look really good had a problem with the first one and tony from customer service sent me out another one free shipping both ways i use for hunting good power not loud

    Things I would have changed: nothing

    What others should know: check out pyramyd air they have great deals and returns are easy

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Mark from USA on 2018-03-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I liked the Beeman name and was looking for a single shot .22 CO2 rifle.

    Things I would have changed: The bolt is difficult to close. I have to use too much force to close it. The gun's accuracy is poor.

    What others should know: One of the gas seals broke 8 months after I bought it.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Pedro from USA on 2018-02-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Super nice rifle for the price...!!!

    Things I would have changed: Shipping costs...

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By John from USA on 2018-02-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Easy to work on and tinker with and you will to get optimum value. Good solid rifle and good fit. Easy to use.

    Things I would have changed: A few things but for the price you get your moneys worth

    What others should know: Dont be afraid to download some tune tips and dig in. This is an easy gun to work on and with a little TLC it will be a joy to shoot.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Terry from USA on 2018-02-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This gun in .22 cal has a nice heft and an excellent build quality, but when you consider the $100 cost, it's a steal. I am surprised by the excellent metal finish and nice wood stock. It's a good shooter and is quite accurate even with iron sights, but I'll probably scope it later. This is a keeper for sure. I may buy another to mod.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing right now....

    What others should know: Shoots the cheaper Crosman Premier 14.3 grain pellets quite well.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Rebecca from USA on 2018-01-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Everythang it waz accurate straight out of the box love it lots better than my crossman co2

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Al from USA on 2018-01-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Outstanding value. Amazingly well made for a mere $100. Fun, fun, fun. Buy it! You will be glad you did.

    Things I would have changed: A metal Breech would be nice, but for the money you are not going to find a better CO2 rifle.

    What others should know: I have been shooting this rifle with open sights at 25 meters. Accuracy is limited to my abilities. Easy, fun, and pretty. (Bear in mind that I think ARs are elegant. Too many years down range.). Great rifle for when you don't feel like cranking on a break barrel, or hauling out all that PCP mess.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By James from USA on 2017-12-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Nice c02 shooter.Looks good performs good.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing I can think of.

    What others should know: Good overall rifle for the $.

     
  • 12 Next
Navigation