Date: 16/8/2018 9:58
0

Beeman QB78 Deluxe CO2 Air Rifle reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (29 reviews)

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Dan from USA on 2016-09-30 11:46:51

Things I liked: This is a great air rifle. Easy to load, hits hard, fairly economical in terms of CO2 consumption, has a good trigger and the fit and finish are excellent. The finish on the stock is silky smooth. It is very comfortable, feels light but substantial, has very good sights, and is very accurate at 10 meters. I have not used it beyond that distance. The length of pull, at 14.4 inches is about perfect for me. The stock, while right handed, is very comfortable for a left handed shooter.

Things I would have changed: I would prefer that the stock be a little wider under the barrel where it is held while shooting.

What others should know: Loading the CO2 cartridges is a little tricky and is not well explained in the instructions. The first one goes in nozzle first then the second one goes in with the nozzle pointing out. When the cap is screwed in, it pierces the second cartridge and backing out the cap a small amount released the gas. The first cartridge is pierced the first time the trigger is squeezed. Once gas has been released, the cap cannot be turned by hand. My recommendation- before inserting cartridges, clean and lightly lube the threads then turn the cap all the way down. This will straighten the threads which do bind a bit and you can see where bottom is. Remove the cap, install the cartridges, ,then turn the cap all the way back down. When you back it off, it will suddenly seem to lock up. That means the gas has been released. Do not squeeze the trigger to release the gas from the first cartridge until you are sure the second cartridge is pierced.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:2.0

By Mark from USA on 2018-03-04 10:37:27

Things I liked: I liked the Beeman name and was looking for a single shot .22 CO2 rifle.

Things I would have changed: The bolt is difficult to close. I have to use too much force to close it. The gun's accuracy is poor.

What others should know: One of the gas seals broke 8 months after I bought it.

Sort by:
  • 12 Next
  • Showitems
  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Airgun Papa from USA on 2018-08-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The basics are here for a really fine air rifle but as it is from China it must be worked over to reach its potential. I have worked over 5 of these and found each to be different in its original factory quality. The worst one was rusting and dirty inside and had failed within a week of beginning its use. The best was clean, but had improper seal material that failed within a few months of service. All of them needed new American made seals in short order as the Chinese seals were junk. But outwardly, fit, finish and materials, they all were very nice and provided a good basis for building a really good rifle. This product is much like the Ruger 1022 semi auto rimfire in that there are many, many aftermarket options to build up the rifle of your liking. This rifle in its factory original condition is a good foundation at a reasonable price to begin the project and Pyramyd Air has the best pricing I have found.

    Things I would have changed: There are aftermarket performance kits that allow an increase in velocity by over 100 fps. These kits are not all that elaborate; mostly new proper seals but also a new breech bolt that channels the air from the valve more effectively into the breech to push the pellet with more energy out of the barrel. I do not think it would increase costs that much to incorporate this improved design into the original product. Even if it did, it should still be more economical to replace the original bolt with the new design for improved performance. In .22 caliber, the original factory velocity for a 14.3 gr. pellet was 550 fps. After the conversion velocity averaged 665 fps with the same pellet. .177 caliber rifles with the improved design gave velocities of 755 fps.

    What others should know: These rifles in my opinion need to be completely rebuilt within to provide reliable service even if not upgrading its performance due to the seal quality of the original product. If you are limited in your mechanical skills or knowledge to work on your own airguns, expect to pay about $150.00 to have the improvements made that will produce a basic design, top notch rifle with peak performance. If you have the knowledge and skills, the basic performance kit with shipping will cost you about $50.00. Do an internet search to find where these upgrades are available as Pyramyd does not sell them. If you simply want to buy one of these to leave as it is, I would encourage you to save your money or put it into another product.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kenneth from USA on 2018-07-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: First impression was good. Nice metal and wooden stock. Receiver was loose right from the box, as was the rear sight. I had to disassemble the rear sight to tighten the mounting screws. The open sights were plastic, mostly junk, and not enough adjustment to zero the rifle. This was a disappointment as I wanted to use open sights. I mounted a 4X scope and the accuracy was great but loading is not easy with the scope in the way, and the rifle is much more bulky with a scope. Mine was not an out-of-the-box shooter but ultimately a good shooter and worth the money.

    Things I would have changed: Install a decent set of open sights and better quality alignment of the sights during manufacturing.

    What others should know: Velocity is low but adequate. I shot 5 different pellets in testing and all grouped very well.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Eddie from USA on 2018-05-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I'd read the reviews regarding this particular Air Rifle...even watched the you-tube video with Mr. Archer...Archer Air Guns...everyone who have ever rated this rifle as one of the best they've ever owned was correct for it's category...mines is .22 caliber...I liked the overall rifle.

    Things I would have changed: Maybe make a rotary magazine repeating version and gun swivels for rifle slings...and a model already tuned for more fps for those whom are not airgun-smith savvy...and a .25 caliber version with not much increase in price...other than that nothing...

    What others should know: Nothing

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dustin from USA on 2018-04-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Not having to pump any I get about 80 shots Co2 is cheap & im hitting dimes at 20yrds!

    Things I would have changed: It needs a rotary mag but that might make the price higher?

    What others should know: Co2 is a refrigerator gas its best to use on warm day's & to wait between shots to let the gun to warm up?

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By MICHAEL from USA on 2018-04-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Looks great. Feels great and very accurate.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Paul from USA on 2018-03-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very solid build. This gun is very accurate and powerful. I have a range indoors, but this gun needs to stretch it's legs. Can't wait for warmer weather. It's a fantastic performer. You do not have to use two c02 cartridges. Put active one in first then empty one. Same power, less shots. I get about 35 shots doing this. This is great when you can't use all the c02 from two cartridges in one session.

    Things I would have changed: The bolt is a bit stiff. Maybe with more use it will get smoother, but not a huge deal.

    What others should know: Gun is pretty heavy so it's not for younger shooters.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By John from USA on 2018-03-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: the stock and gold look really good had a problem with the first one and tony from customer service sent me out another one free shipping both ways i use for hunting good power not loud

    Things I would have changed: nothing

    What others should know: check out pyramyd air they have great deals and returns are easy

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Mark from USA on 2018-03-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I liked the Beeman name and was looking for a single shot .22 CO2 rifle.

    Things I would have changed: The bolt is difficult to close. I have to use too much force to close it. The gun's accuracy is poor.

    What others should know: One of the gas seals broke 8 months after I bought it.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Pedro from USA on 2018-02-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Super nice rifle for the price...!!!

    Things I would have changed: Shipping costs...

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By John from USA on 2018-02-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Easy to work on and tinker with and you will to get optimum value. Good solid rifle and good fit. Easy to use.

    Things I would have changed: A few things but for the price you get your moneys worth

    What others should know: Dont be afraid to download some tune tips and dig in. This is an easy gun to work on and with a little TLC it will be a joy to shoot.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Terry from USA on 2018-02-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This gun in .22 cal has a nice heft and an excellent build quality, but when you consider the $100 cost, it's a steal. I am surprised by the excellent metal finish and nice wood stock. It's a good shooter and is quite accurate even with iron sights, but I'll probably scope it later. This is a keeper for sure. I may buy another to mod.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing right now....

    What others should know: Shoots the cheaper Crosman Premier 14.3 grain pellets quite well.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Rebecca from USA on 2018-01-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Everythang it waz accurate straight out of the box love it lots better than my crossman co2

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Al from USA on 2018-01-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Outstanding value. Amazingly well made for a mere $100. Fun, fun, fun. Buy it! You will be glad you did.

    Things I would have changed: A metal Breech would be nice, but for the money you are not going to find a better CO2 rifle.

    What others should know: I have been shooting this rifle with open sights at 25 meters. Accuracy is limited to my abilities. Easy, fun, and pretty. (Bear in mind that I think ARs are elegant. Too many years down range.). Great rifle for when you don't feel like cranking on a break barrel, or hauling out all that PCP mess.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By James from USA on 2017-12-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Nice c02 shooter.Looks good performs good.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing I can think of.

    What others should know: Good overall rifle for the $.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Mike from USA on 2017-10-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Very good figuring on stock, solid build quality and very good value for the money.

    Things I would have changed: Not much. Responds well to cleaning up of trigger components and bolt action.

    What others should know: Not a rifle for cold weather use,but otherwise a Very nice unit. I have airguns costing Much more (Air Arms,Diana,Walther LGU..ect.) and am Very Happy with this handy,accurate little rifle.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mike from USA on 2017-10-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: First off,the stock I received was Fantastic! The figuring was as good or Better than any $500 German/English rifle I own! This gun is Very solid and we'll built and an Amazing value for the money. The barrel band is metal and overall,the bluing and metal finish is Very good at the price.

    Things I would have changed: The only thing I can possibly think of is that I was the manufacturer,I would charge more for the product. This is a steal of a deal.

    What others should know: Out of the box,the trigger and safety were crunchy and stiff. I spent some time cleaning and polishing, which was not an issue for me as l enjoy tinkering. Cleaned up the barrel with JB Bore Paste followed with Ballistol. I am now getting 3/8 to 1/2 inch 5 shot groups at 25 yds with JSB 18.1's (.22 of course). This rifle responds very well to mods as I did some work to the valve, transfer port and bolt. I actually emulated the mods available from Archer Airguns..the extended bolt probe,ect. However,if You perfer,these items can simply be purchased. I like to work on things ...and I'm into saving money. ( Cheapskate) I went from an ave.543 fps to 688 with 18.1 JSB's.! Finally,I polished the stock with Howards Restore a Shine polishing compound and topped the whole thing off with a Simmons 4-12x40 Pro- Air scope and an original Beeman muzzle brake. A 5 star package All Day Long! Nice addition along side the Pro- Sport,LGU,Diana 54/75 ect.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Patrick from USA on 2017-08-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: The gun arrived double boxed and undamaged when it was suppose to. The overall look of the gun is fantastic, looks nicer than my Walther that costs twice as much. I'm getting about 80 or so shots per fill, although the first 10 or so shoot left and the last 20 or so start going right. I'm sure it's a variation in the pressure. With a graticled scope NBD. I ove the trigger on this thing also.

    Things I would have changed: Like someone said the safety is awful, and not a lot of fun to put back in after removing the stock either. The POI can shift early and late but almost all PCP guns do that. I will probably get the upgrade to increase fps.

    What others should know: If you already have a springer, and you're intrigued by the pre-charged technology, this gun represents a great starting point. To be frank, I have no idea how they can sell these so cheap. Also, they are the 10-22s of the airgun world with endless upgrades and options. It's actually has a similar cult following like the 10-22.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By chris from USA on 2017-07-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Solid rifle. Good trigger pull out of the box. Normally you get what you pay for, but this gun is an exception to that rule, you get more than what you pay for.

    Things I would have changed: For it being a deluxe model the finish on the stock is not nearly as nice as the pic advertised. But for the money i can definatly live with it and cant really complain.

    What others should know: If youre on the fence about picking one up do it. My younger kids had trouble cocking/pumping the other rifles and this one makes it a lot more enjoyable for them. Plus lots of aftermarket parts, forums, blogs, etc.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Donald from USA on 2017-03-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: I love the feel of a real wood stock and not the crappy toy-like plastic stocks on a lot of guns now. The open sights are very accurate for 10 meter shooting. And like a Ruger 10/22 rifle there are a lot of upgrades and custom parts for this gun.

    Things I would have changed: Flatten out the dove tail on the receiver top so rings of all brands of 11mm rings will fit without filing.

    What others should know: This gun is a keeper, however Beeman has just come out with their PCP Chief for $200 that will be a real keeper as well. I use pointed pellets because they are easier to load in the breech.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Bill from USA on 2017-03-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This rifle is not what I expected. It's much nicer. Beautiful stock. Robust bolt / breach assembly. Smooth action. Dual CO2 Cartridges for extended shooting. And, incredible accuracy.

    Things I would have changed: Not sure about the open sights. Lowered them down all the way, but it still shoots a little high. Groups are very tight.

    What others should know: The 22 version is easier for me to load using the larger pellets. Mounted a big tube type dot sight behind the breach. Adjustment nobs protruding on the right side made working the bolt somewhat cumbersome. A small dot sight with allen wrench adjustments was a perfect fit.

     
  • 12 Next
Navigation