Date: 20/10/2017 20:37
0

Beeman Sweet 17 Bundle (Beeman P17 Air Pistol) reviews - page 1

Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Mike from USA on 2013-02-20 19:11:05

Things I liked: The Beeman P17 is one of the most accurate, easy to shoot, air pistols I have used at any price. The trigger pull is crisp and light and the included pellets group well in this gun. The grip has a nice feel to it, and overall, the pistol balances very well. It gives a low report when fired indoors and is a very consistent shooter.

Things I would have changed: Loading the pellet into the barrel is a little tight and may be difficult for someone with limited finger dexterity.

What others should know: The P17 is similar in design to the Beeman P3 Pneumatic Pistol at a quarter of the price. The hammer shown is not functional; it actually releases the the top half of the pistol which is the single stroke pumping mechanism.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:2.0

Accuracy:4.0

By David from USA on 2015-11-21 19:14:44

Things I liked: Great trigger. Very good accuracy. Good feel in your hand. Love the fiber optic sights. When it's shooting as designed it's a great fun gun.

Things I would have changed: Put just a little more champher in the end of the barrel to aid loading pellets. Increase the reliability.

What others should know: I have had my gun for about 3 weeks and have put about 200+ shots through it. I wanted something I could use at the range at our once a month 25 YD Bullseye fun match ( OK choice ) and our once a month Silhouette match ( not a good choice ) As stated in many reviews loading can be a challenge especially when trying to shoot 5 little metal critters off a stand in 2.5 min. At todays meet ( Silhouette ) my gun mal-functioned ! THE TRIGGER PULLED BUT WOULD NOT FIRE THE PELLET ! Either the gun is jammed or there is a safety built in to prevent opening the top so the pellet can be removed. I ended up transporting home a CHARGED gun with a pellet in the chamber. NOT GOOD ! It has been 8 hours and I thought the air charge may have bled off, NO JOY ! I will contact Pyramyd Air on monday and discuss returning this gun and upgrading to a better one. I read MANY reviews , pro and con and decided to "roll the dice" I got a bad one. I can't live with a gun that forces you into unsafe conditions.

Sort by:
  • Showitems
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Robin from USA on 2017-04-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like the bundle for one, the weight and grip and that the safety engages when you open it to load it.

    Things I would have changed: I would have a little more fine tuned adjustment on the sight and make it a little easier to load bb's/pelets,

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Moe from USA on 2017-04-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is a great little plinker , what I liked most was the trigger it surprised me the first time I fired it . It is as nice as some found on much more expensive guns . This gun is quiet and accurate and at a price point that anyone could afford . The grips are ambidextrous so you lefties can shoot it as well . What else can I say but if your looking for a great little plinker that is accurate and quiet you need to check this one out you will not be disappointed ...

    Things I would have changed: It's a little tough to load , if you have big fingers they could have given you a bit more room . But with a little practice it gets easier .

    What others should know: Buy this one you won't want to put it down , so quiet you can shoot it indoors

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Thomas from USA on 2017-02-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like the weight and feel of this pistol and especially the trigger....light & crisp & predictable.....Makes my other air pistols trigger pulls, feel clunky in comparison....I also appreciate the auto engagement of the safety during the cocking procedure..... The accuracy is hard to beat....very good groupings at 10+ meters.....

    Things I would have changed: Well this is a bear for cocking.....will definitely build muscle mass....not sure on how one would make this any easier..... A strange anomaly has started to manifest with my Beeman....often, it will not shut tight when completing the cocking sequence.... leaving an 1/16th to 1/8" gap back at the hammer.... This does not have to do with how much muscle I use....I can slam it shut or close it more slowly and the same thing happens.....but not every time....I am paying attention to how I cock this gun as it may be due to operator error.... In any event, I either have to re-cock the pistol to get it to close securely, or move the top slide a bit to the to the left and manually seat the hammer.....I may have to reluctantly return this for warranty...... If this had not occurred, I would give this 5 stars all the way.....

    What others should know: I ordered this over a Holiday weekend (which I was unaware of, being retired)....there was also major winter storms wreaking havoc back East.... So communication was slow to be returned and phone calls went unanswered or non responded to......Once PyramydAir did ship and supply tracking info all went as it should.....I am still waiting for one item to be shipped (pellets) that came with the package, as it was stated it was still on back-order when I last checked order status .....I ordered this Kit nearly a month ago, so a lesson in patience.... Would I do business with PyramydAir again.....a moderated yes (I would have appreciated an email informing one item was out of stock, instead of me discovering it when checking my order).....would I recommend them to friends.... yes.....They have a top rated selection of Air Guns and informative reviews....Next purchase I will consider using their 10 for $10.00 pre-shipment service....

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kevin from USA on 2016-09-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I've had it about a week and I'm really impressed, especially for the price... It is a bit tough to cock... As long as you do your part, it's very accurate... I've been shooting it at 10 and 20 yards and have been surprised at it's accuracy... I haven't measured it's trigger pull but it's on par with a lot of centerfire pistols... I consider it good practice for my 'real' pistols... I haven't had any issues loading the pellets in the chamber... I downgraded it one star due to the difficulty of cocking, although I'm hoping it will smooth out over time... I would highly recommend this pistol for plinking and practice...

    Things I would have changed: I wish it was a bit easier to cock... Keeping the same velocity, of course... I wish the grip frame had a bit more texture, it's a little smooth...

    What others should know: I did put some moly/oil mix on the pivot points and a bit of lithium grease on the cylinder mating surfaces... It's shooting the included pellets accurately at about 400fps... It also shoots the R10 7.0 g at about 425fps pretty good... I tried a couple of round nose pellets and they didn't group as well... I would say, so far the included pellets shoot the best...

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Richard from USA on 2016-03-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is the perfect practice tool for sight picture , grip , and trigger pull for your center fire pistols . Good weight , great sights easy to handle and ACCURATE ! The adjustable sights do very good and I like NO RECOIL cause I flinch at the report . 9mm cartridges are expensive and after I practice with the P17 I don't feel I've wasted my 9mm's , they go right in there in a group , not all over the place . Love this Pistol !

    Things I would have changed: Loading is a pain , these old hands have been through everything and the loading of this P17 is TIGHT ! To solve the problem , I haven't a clue . I'm going to Pointed Nose to see if I can improve the process , wad cutters end up on the ground too many times loading .

    What others should know: If you want the feel of your 1911 , EAA Witness , Sig , or what ever your shooting , this has the weight ,grip and trigger pull your looking for in a practice pistol . Some of the most important aspects of this Air Pistol is it's accurate, has a dandy report , and the finest thing about it is it's FUN ! (Price is one thing I didn't mention , it's affordable .)

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By charles from USA on 2015-12-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Things I liked: handling and feel

    Things I would have changed: change the loading Not easy to load the pellet into the barrell

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Brandon from USA on 2015-12-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I combined this with a little CenterPoint laser for a friend's son, and it was a huge hit. It's just for fun, but what fun!

    Things I would have changed: I feel like this is more of a laser type gun, rather than a dot sight, so I'd make a package combo with a laser instead.

    What others should know: So far it's been nothing but awesome. Or so I hear...

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    2.0 2.0

    4.0 4.0

    By David from USA on 2015-11-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Great trigger. Very good accuracy. Good feel in your hand. Love the fiber optic sights. When it's shooting as designed it's a great fun gun.

    Things I would have changed: Put just a little more champher in the end of the barrel to aid loading pellets. Increase the reliability.

    What others should know: I have had my gun for about 3 weeks and have put about 200+ shots through it. I wanted something I could use at the range at our once a month 25 YD Bullseye fun match ( OK choice ) and our once a month Silhouette match ( not a good choice ) As stated in many reviews loading can be a challenge especially when trying to shoot 5 little metal critters off a stand in 2.5 min. At todays meet ( Silhouette ) my gun mal-functioned ! THE TRIGGER PULLED BUT WOULD NOT FIRE THE PELLET ! Either the gun is jammed or there is a safety built in to prevent opening the top so the pellet can be removed. I ended up transporting home a CHARGED gun with a pellet in the chamber. NOT GOOD ! It has been 8 hours and I thought the air charge may have bled off, NO JOY ! I will contact Pyramyd Air on monday and discuss returning this gun and upgrading to a better one. I read MANY reviews , pro and con and decided to "roll the dice" I got a bad one. I can't live with a gun that forces you into unsafe conditions.

  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    2.0 2.0

    By david from USA on 2015-10-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: Really like the trigger, light and crisp. sights are ok for a plinker.

    Things I would have changed: It is a handful to cock and loading pellets is a little fiddly.

    What others should know: I ran a few pellets over my chrony and the extreme spread of velocities was huge. Will try breaking it in some more then try again.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kurt from USA on 2015-10-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: The weight feels great in my hands. It automatically puts the safety on when the top is opened for loading.

    Things I would have changed: The wadcutter pellets suck to load, so I have switched them out for Pointed Crosman Field Hunting pellets (CR-7-P577-510). The problem is that the breech can be difficult to get to with flat nosed pellets. I have used the Beeman Wadcutters in other guns with great success.

    What others should know: This has quickly become my favorite gun to shoot.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Keith from USA on 2015-09-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This pistol is very accurate. Light weight and nice solid feel. Automatic safety for me is a big plus. I can hit a Power Aid bottle cap at twelve yards awesome!

    Things I would have changed: Should be a little easier to cock or make the top of the pistol smooth where you put your hand to cock. As a lot of reviews stated loading of pellets is not a fast process still trying to find the best way. The pistol needs just a small bevel under the barrel that the pellet could sit on as you push the pellet in.

    What others should know: I mounted a Gamo Laser sight on the front which left plenty of room to cock the pistol. I also checked for leaks by cocking the pistol and letting it sit in a safe area for over an hour and it did not leak. The shot was as powerful as if I cocked and shot right away. Wow this is a real neat pistol to shoot. I tried Gamo PBA gold pellets but they will not fit, the air cup is to wide. Due to the cocking and loading of pellets I can only give this great little pistol a four rating. The Beeman Wadcutter pellets that came with the combo kit work very well.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By David from USA on 2015-09-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I bought this pistol about 3 weeks ago, and am pleasantly surprised with it. I shot very well straight out of the box, although only fair with the beeman wadcutter shipped with it. The pellet that is very accurate is the Crosman premier wadcutter,easily grouping 3/8 inch 5 shot groups in the bullseye at 10 meters after about 6-8 pellets at initial sight-in. For fun, accuracy and value far beyond the 40 dollar price, it is an amazing deal.

    Things I would have changed: The "slide" and dovetail edges are quite sharp and require the use of a work glove to cock the gun, the effort required is pretty stiff but manageable. I would also have liked a more accessible loading port, and room to use a pellet pen and seater. Smoother edges and some type of cocking assist would also be nice.

    What others should know: Buy this pistol, for 40 dollars you cannot go wrong, it is accurate and fun to shoot,even if you do have to wear a glove on one hand.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By DENVER from USA on 2015-07-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I think it is well made. It is sturdy and better than I expected. The feel is good in the hand. It was very accurate, The first day I had it I got my moneys worth. Lots of fun plinking. I should have bought two. Some have complained about the sights and color issue. I had no problem with that, it worked for me.

    Things I would have changed: The cocking was a little tough at first but I already knew this from others reviews. After a bit you will find your own method and the issue is over. Same way with loading the pellet. No big deal. There is nothing else to change I could see.

    What others should know: Personally and this is just me, if you put a scope on it, cocking just got complicated. Not much room then for the hand and that hard cocking just got harder. And I haven t pinched my hand yet but you can do that easily. Pros outweighs the Cons. You will be glad you bought it. Cheap price but great pistol. Go for it!

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dana from USA on 2014-11-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Accurate, no recoil, ergonomic feel, looks cool and realistic. Seems to be rugged (so far).

    Things I would have changed: Very hard to load, especially with large adult fingers, or in low light conditions. I would add some sort of funnel, or feed ramp. If not for loading difficulties, I would have given five stars all around.

    What others should know: Not very powerful, but I knew that by the FPS in the description: 410 feet per second. That is OK, because I just wanted an accurate low priced target pistol. If you are planning on hunting or shooting long range, get a .22 rifle or an air rifle with at least 1000 FPS rating.

  • 2.0 2.0

    4.0 4.0

    2.0 2.0

    By richard from USA on 2014-10-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Looks like a real gun, feels like a real gun.

    Things I would have changed: quality

    What others should know: This would be a great gun if the quality was their, but then what can you expect out of a 50 dollar gun. The gun broke after a dozen shots. seal gave up. out another 13 bucks shipping to send it back to get a 50 dollar refund.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Paul from USA on 2013-12-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: Light weight, accurate, quiet, great air pistol for money

    Things I would have changed: Upgrade o ring on piston

    What others should know: If pistol begins losing compression, replace o ring(Lowes plumbing dept o ring set #0547), sand down intake hole, use 600 or lighter wet sand paper, also use "buzzy's slick honey grease(bike shop)on piston and o ring and squirt some in to discharge hole(found my release valve appeared to be sticking)

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mike from USA on 2013-02-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings

    Things I liked: The Beeman P17 is one of the most accurate, easy to shoot, air pistols I have used at any price. The trigger pull is crisp and light and the included pellets group well in this gun. The grip has a nice feel to it, and overall, the pistol balances very well. It gives a low report when fired indoors and is a very consistent shooter.

    Things I would have changed: Loading the pellet into the barrel is a little tight and may be difficult for someone with limited finger dexterity.

    What others should know: The P17 is similar in design to the Beeman P3 Pneumatic Pistol at a quarter of the price. The hammer shown is not functional; it actually releases the the top half of the pistol which is the single stroke pumping mechanism.

Navigation