Date: 11/8/2020 7:13
0

Customer Reviews for Benjamin Wildfire PCP

Average Customer Review

3.5 (59 reviews)

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Tom from USA on 2017-03-11 17:12:50

Things I liked: 12 shot rotary magazine, light weight, easy to fill 2000 psi reservoir. Easy Foster connection. Very accurate even with open sights. Well balanced and very easy to carry.

Things I would have changed: The trigger indexes the magazine and moves the pellet into the breech. It works well but, certainly isn't a smooth or "crisp" trigger.

What others should know: Overall I'm extremely happy with the new Wildfire. It's a great plinker and my 7 year old can't stop raving about it. I'm a highly experienced airgunner and shooter of power burning guns and the trigger on this tripped me up a bit at first. It feels very mechanical and it's on the heavy side. But, once you get used to everything going on during the trigger pull, this is a fine rifle and well worth the money.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:4.0

By steve from USA on 2017-04-26 14:47:22

Things I liked: 12 shots

Things I would have changed: Make it so the seals don't fail and the trigger isn't a nightmare.

What others should know: Ive gotten two, both have blown seals,third times a charm?

Sort by:
  • 123 Next
  • Showitems
  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Bryon from USA on 2019-10-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: FUN while it lasted. Accurate for a $150 PCP at short distances. Extra mags are cheap and easy to come buy. Semi-auto / 12 shot. It sounds a lot more powerful than it is (let's face it, if you bought this gun, you got it to plink with or let your kids plink with it, you didn't get it with the hopes of hitting dime size shots at 50 yards). Hand pump friendly. I could get about 3 mags (36 usable shots) before I had to pump a about 55 to 60 pumps. Takes about as long to load the mags as it does pump up the gun

    Things I would have changed: Quality Control is Lacking.......LEAKING IS REAL. I knew this was a risk going into. I think I got about 150 or so shots in before it started leaking near the mag. It is slow, but as soon as it happens your accuracy is goes from pretty good to terrible. When it works well, my 10 year can put 5 shots in a quarter at 15 yards no problem. When it starts leaking the best I can do is about 5 shots inside a circle the size of a DVD. CROSMAN should be ashamed of themselves. If you grab the gun tight near gauge you can slow (not stop the leak). I am beside myself how Crosman did not test this more. Clearly they just thought they could lift and shift from the 1077. What a complete letdown from Crosman. Search the web for "Benjamin Wildfire PCP Air Rifle LEAK / LEAKING" and you can see a video with sound.

    What others should know: Trigger pull is pretty tough, I am not overly picky was not expecting much in the trigger, but some people are way more concerned about the trigger even in a budget PCP.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Mark from USA on 2019-08-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The price. For the price, it is a very nice "semi-auto" rifle. It is light weight. It is a lot of fun to shoot. It can shoot very well, after you get used to the heavy trigger pull. The trigger alone is why I gave the rifle a Overall rating of 4 stars out of 5 stars.

    Things I would have changed: I'd ask Crosman/Benjamin to put in a lighter trigger pull. Include a small tube of silicone grease/oil to lube the Foster air input nipple. Really, nothing else needs to change for the price. It is a fun pellet gun over all.

    What others should know: I used the Crosman Premier Domed .177 Caliber 10.5 Grain Pellet. It seems to work very well in this PCP. If you fill the Foster air intake nipple with silicone grease/oil BEFORE you fill the air tube, starting with the very first and second fill, and then like every 50 fills afterwards, the grease will help the O-rings seal up perfectly. That will also help the metal plunger in the Foster nipple to seal up 100%. Also, after the air fill, release the fill like pressure as fast as you can. This will cause the grease to vaporize some getting into the tiny nooks and crannies, assisting with an air tight pressure tank on the rifle. For me, this works 100% of the time. Oh, one more thing, refill the tank when it gets to 1000 PSI. Otherwise the accuracy suffers badly after that. Remember, it is a fun PCP rifle, able to do plinking, and pest control. Don't expect it to act like a $600 to $1600 PCP target rifle. Remember that, and go have some fun.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Dick from USA on 2019-05-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Looks, feels and handles like my Crossman 1077, but using PCP air supply. Reasonable accuracy, Very light weight. Rapid firing double action. Great backyard shooter. Iron sights are great. 12 shot magazine. Delivers 24 to 36 shots before needing a refill to preserve consistency.

    Things I would have changed: Trigger mechanism has very heavy pull. Very Loud: Measured 99.0 db average. Accuracy now always consistent. Managed to keep shots inside a 3/4 inch grouping at 10 yards. Not quite as accurate as my Crossman 1077.

    What others should know: This is NOT you 1077 with a PCP tank, but it is pretty nice for the money. I had best results using Crossman 7.4 grain Wadcutters. Max velocity I acheived with 7.4 gr was 718.8 fps, but I am sure you could do better with lighter pellets. Velocity with 7.9 and 8.18 was 710.3 and 697.6 fps respectively. I love the iron sights but installed a Hawk 50mm scope for better accuracy. I was pleased to find that Crossman/Benjamin seem to have fixed the leaking problem. Out of the box, I have not experienced pressure loss. After filling to 200 Bar and letting the airgun stand unused for one full week while I was out of town, I could see no discernable pressure loss on the meter. Lots of fun shooting but don't expect long range accuracy. This is a backyard shooter and it delivers very well at short range.

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Willworth from USA on 2019-03-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: It is a total blast to shoot. Plenty accurate as long as you stage the trigger; it is a revolver trigger after all. Mine developed a leak near the mag-well. I tried to repair it but could not, sent it to Crosman for repair even though it was a month out of warranty. They sent me a new one! Excellent customer service!

    Things I would have changed: Make the air system similar to the Marauder or Disco's so it can be repaired on a DIY basis. Make a .22 version.

    What others should know: As I said above, fantastic customer service from Crosman. If only the rifle was not prone to leak. By the way, I sent the rife back to Crosman disassembled in a smaller-than-rifle-length box, even though I believe it is totally legal to send it back assembled via USPS. Postage was around $18. If you sent it Fedex or UPS, expect to pay around 2x as much.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Percy from USA on 2019-02-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It is a repeater that is fun to shoot I got over 850 on the front with Winchester max velocity pellets. They have the best accuracy but they are loud .the kids love it got over 80 shots.

    Things I would have changed: Little bit more stable at the barrel for accuracy & the valve was made for 800psi not 2000psi needs to be addressed. I had to return the first one it leaked from the valve

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By James from USA on 2019-01-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It's fun to shoot pretty accurate

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Lawrence (Lary) from USA on 2018-12-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The price is right for sure. .... It is semiautomatic is correct! ..... the open sights work fine, and you can see what you are shooting at. the air gun is light enough for anyone to handle.

    Things I would have changed: The trigger pull is tremendous! ... because you are doing two things when you pull the trigger! first you are rotating the magazine to bring the next pellet into place. Second you are now releasing the air to fire the pellet. And that takes more pressure to do. (it would be nice if there were a spring to assist the magazine to rotate as you applied pressure to the trigger, there by making the trigger pull less, from what it is now 5 or more pounds down to 2 or less pound per square inch.

    What others should know: I like what the air gun is (a PCP) and semiautomatic (but would give up the semiautomatic part for a lighter trigger pull! If I had to do it all over... I would have gone with the DIANA STORMRIDER PCP in .177 cal. in stead! even though I can hit the target fast with more pellets with the BENJAMIN WILDFIRE in .177 cal.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Unknown Infidel from USA on 2018-11-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The Crosman 1077 has a long history with me. I've gone through a bunch of them mostly because friends would borrow them and never bring them back. Once long ago I asked a Question..."Why couldn't I make one a bulk fill co2 or better yet a pcp gun?" I was told that it is impossible because the internal hammer that operates the valve couldn't handle the pressure to fire it. Now here we are and the gun I would have made is in my hands, and it is indeed quite a pcp gun. Not the most accurate but more so than the co2 version and does not care about how hot or cold it is. Fills very east with no problems and easy to rip out 12 rounds without having to muck about with co2, or a bolt action. If I were going to build a fun 1077, this is precisely what I would have built.

    Things I would have changed: Maybe offer it with a 1077 wood stock that I've seen before. It would seem a bit more high end with a wood stock.

    What others should know: Seems a bit more noisy than a 1077 but also it's rocking more power than a 1077. So everything is awesome!

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Tim from USA on 2018-10-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: What's to like about a $150. gun that leaks air all the time ??

    Things I would have changed: A gun that would work properly and NOT leak air !

    What others should know: Stay away from this one

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Keith from USA on 2018-09-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Light weight, 30 plus shots with power, very accurate. Easy scope mount. Price.

    Things I would have changed: Trigger

    What others should know: Trigger is tight at first, but it does smooth out to a two stage action. The first is half pull on trigger to rotate magazine. Trigger will stop and then just steady pull and it works great. It still is a heavy pull but it gets easy to shoot accurate with a little practice. I use the H&N Field Target Trophy Power 8.8 gr. I am able to hit a shot gun shell at 30 yrds with a hard smack. This seems tp be the best pellet for distance and accuracy.

  • 3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Brian from USA on 2018-08-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Semi auto. Light wieght. Cheap. Multi shot. Fun factor. Great for pest.

    Things I would have changed: Trigger is heavy. More power.

    What others should know: Fun factor! Love plinking with it. I bought extra clips for it. It likes the h&n trophy greens. Accuracy is good but coukd be better with a better trigger.

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Marcus from USA on 2018-08-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: inexpensive, especially for a pcp

    Things I would have changed: everything. The trigger sucks, the gun only charges to 2000 psi, and if you use a scuba tank it is very very easy to overshoot that, then the overpressure valve goes pfffffffff. The gun, even with a scope mounted, is not accurate at all.

    What others should know: Don't buy this.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Bradley from USA on 2018-05-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Light weight plinker, squirrel killer at 20 yds. Plenty of power and lots of shots before recharging. Hand pump friendly

    Things I would have changed: Heavy trigger is the main problem as with the 1077.

    What others should know: wadcutters are perfect for this rifle out to 25 yds. If you do a search for trigger mods on the 1077 , they are the same and some will help lighten up and smooth out the trigger pull. Good fun for the Money.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By SERGIO from USA on 2018-04-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: recently I acquired this wildfire rifle my surprise when using it is that it is a rifle of initiation to pcp my funny and precise lijera without dda some good rifle at a good price thanks

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Shawn from USA on 2018-04-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: As a shooter and new to PCP's I thought this was a bargain for beginners. If this was for a new shooter, I would suggest the single shot rifles. It is a fun gun and exciting for plinking. Also as Youngster it is light and easy to manage with the young kids. I bring this to nephew's house to supplement there spring and pump guns. Though the semi- aspect is neat and fun, it also can quickly go through unnecessary shots and air for the inexperienced. (even I can get carried away with fun). I did find the gun fairly accurate. I can get about 2 clips in a charge of air before it loses too much air to be effective aiming. But overall at this price the kids can be a little careless (with handling, they better not be with safety!)and it won't break the bank. Certainly can be a good beginners to PCP. with one exception if it is a beginner shooter I would use single shot to build aim and safety skills.

    Things I would have changed: The gun has it's flaws to be expected for the price. Trigger pull is very poor.

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    4.0 4.0

    By steve from USA on 2018-03-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings

    Things I liked: nothing

    Things I would have changed: make them so they dont leak

    What others should know: Dont buy this, I have returned 7 leakers, returned the last one to crosman hoping the would fix it. Nope just another leaking piece of junk!!!

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By William from USA on 2018-01-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings

    Things I liked: lightweight

    Things I would have changed: Quality, trigger

    What others should know: Bought this rifle for my 10 year old son for Christmas being that hes ready for a PCP but its light enough for him to shoot offhand. First time we filled it it leaked and every time after its leaked. Accuracy is horrible. Its extremely cheap feeling like an actual toy gun. Dont waste your money. Its cheap for a reason.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Paul from USA on 2018-01-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: Great price, awesome value, get more than your money's worth. Light weight, easy to fill, feels great in the hands. This rifle will provide hours and hours of fun perfect for new and younger shooters.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Craig from USA on 2017-12-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: Let's be clear as to what the Wildfire is and is not. It is a PCP version of the Crosman 1077 - both are fun plinkers, nothing more, nothing less. If the 5 year warranty listed on the PA website is correct that is a compelling reason for purchase, I suspect the Crosman warranty is one year.

    Things I would have changed: More effort should have been applied to getting the Wildfire to perform to its specifications. Perhaps a different hammer spring and valve spring. I would like Crosman to stop referring to certain airguns as semi-automatic - the mechanism of the 1077 and Wildfire are double-action revolver, not really semi-automatic.

    What others should know: As I am PCP-enabled (I have five),I bought the Wildfire "to find out for myself" and compare it to the 1077. It is as mentioned previously a PCP plinker. I do not consider it a beginning PCP rifle. The casual airgunner would be better served with the 1077 CO2 version.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By LOUIS from USA on 2017-12-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: We have only had it a couple weeks and shot it a couple of times, but wow! My son shoots competitively in 4-H, NRA, CMP and others and for Air Silhouette this gun answered a need! With the open sights this air rifle is more accurate than our break barrels. Will be mounting a scope on it as soon as our QD mount comes in.

    Things I would have changed: --- to have a option to purchase with a adjustable stock, or even a sporter style stock similar to the CH2009 --- adjustable regulator option

    What others should know: Using the 8.3 gr superdomes at 25 yards were putting down 1" groups, and the 9.4 gr powerballs are are 5/8 - 3/4 ", again we are still using open sihts.

     
  • 123 Next
Navigation