Date: 21/10/2018 20:15
0

Crosman Nitro Venom Air Rifle reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (162 reviews)

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Chad from USA on 2011-11-11 16:34:09

Things I liked: Accuracy is absolutlely spot at 60 yds. with a 16 grain pellet. I was shooting cigarette buts easily at 50 yards.

Things I would have changed: Nothing. This air rifle is perfect.

What others should know: I purchased this 22 caliber air rifle for squirrel hunting and so far I have put 7 squirrels in the freezer. Took them from 70 yards. I also shot a large cotton tail rabbit and stopped him in his tracks at 30 yards. Great rifle for hunting. I have been using a pellet gun for hunting for 20 years and I saw the nitro piston system and had to try it. I will never go back to spring. Quite, Deadly accurate and massive knock down power. Thanks Pyramid Air for proving me with such a superb 22 cal. air rifle.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:2.0

By Steve from USA on 2015-07-31 19:13:21

Things I liked: MY EXPERIENCE BUYING THIS GUN WAS GREAT. THE GUN TURNED OUT TO BE JUNK AND THE RETURN PROCESS WAS GOOD. BUT REPLACEMENT GUN WAS NOT IN STOCK AND I AM STILL WAITING FOR MY REPLACEMENT.

Sort by:
  • 123 ... 89 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mr. T from USA on 2018-09-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Solid feel. Wooden stock (a bit heavy, but I like it that way). Nice scope. Shoots great. Not too loud.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: It's a great gun for the price!

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By David from USA on 2018-09-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Weight of gun, quieter than I expected, overall finish, wooden stock.

    Things I would have changed: Would like open sights along with scope option.

    What others should know: Once sighted in gun is very accurate.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    By James from USA on 2018-08-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very powerful.

    Things I would have changed: Difficult to cock , better eat your wheaties if you are going to shoot it for any length of time .Supper long pull on the trigger makes it difficult to shoot very accurately. Don't like the trigger style safty.Payed the extra $20.00 to have the scope set up but it was not level when we got it out of the box . I expected to have to make adjustments but the scope itself could have been mounted straight.

    What others should know: This is not a high doller air gun so you shouldn't expect high doller performance. After shooting a few hundred rounds and dialing the scope in my son and I had a lot of fun with it at 35-40 yards .Just don't expect to win any field target competition .

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Frank from USA on 2018-07-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This rifle has been great! After sighting it in we are holding a 2 inch circle from a seated position at roughly 60 feet. Recoil is minor and scope stays set unlike our spring rifle. It is a little heavier than our composite rifles but it is comfortable to shoot. The .22 caliber round packs significantly more punch than a .177 even with the lower FPS (a little overkill for the squirrel control we occasionally use it for as it goes thru the animal). All things considered, this has been a great purchase and we are very pleased! Lastly, the purchase thru Pyramid Air was straight forward and painless.

    Things I would have changed: The break barrel is a little annoying as you have to thump it firmly with your hand to get it to open (not a defect, its just their design), our spring rifle is much easier to load. Blueing seems is a little thin. Trigger action is definitely not smooth, I will probably rework it sooner or later.

    What others should know: I read numerous reviews of this rifle before buying it. Many people complained of poor accuracy. You need to read between the lines... I deduced from the language they used to describe it that they were not people that were very well versed in shooting. Its much easier to complain than to take some time and learn how to operate the rifle. In my opinion I would rate this rifle an 8 plus out of 10.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Thomas from USA on 2018-03-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The gun really feels solid. The noise level is really not to bad. Gun is not a light weight. But thats good like the feel

    Things I would have changed: I would like open sights as well as scope.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By dick from USA on 2018-03-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: What's not to like!

    Things I would have changed: Nothing except the safety position. I don't like my finger touching the trigger and safety at the same time. Personal opinion.

    What others should know: One inch groups are easy. Long trigger pull. Wood stock is nice but heavy. It packs a wallop. Great for the price. Scope is fine.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Even Stephen from USA on 2018-03-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very pleased overall at this price point. As always, the .22 packs a wallop and carries it far better than the .177. I will chrono some pellets once the weather moderates and gun breaks in. Initial accuracy is excellent at 25 yards. Classic look, smooth cocking and shooting, and great value. Pyramyd Air has exceeded my expectations, as usual. Keep up the good work!

    Things I would have changed: Slimmer grip.

    What others should know: Gun is heavy and grip a little thick.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2018-02-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like the price and the Nitro Piston. It has good power and weight at a good price. I opted for the .177 caliber. The wood stock looks good.

    Things I would have changed: It came with, what I consider a good scope, CenterPoint 3-9X32AO. At this time, I dont have anything that I think needs to be changed. When I purchased this I knew what it was and how it was equipped. This is my 11th breakbarrel Air rifle.

    What others should know: One of my 11 breakbarrel Air Rifles is a .177 Crosman Blaze Nitro Piston. The Blaze and the Venom have the same power plant and fps statistics. I have shot about 200 rounds thru this rifle in the one month I have had it. I shot it across my chronograph today. I shot two pelllet types, .177 Crosman Premier HP 7.90 grain and the .177 Crosman Premier Ultra Magnum Dome 10.5 grain, both 5 pellet groups were shot in 34 degree weather. The 5 CPHP five shot group averaged 952 fps. The 5 CP Ultra Magnum 10.5 grain 5 shot group averaged 815 fps. The velocities will vary somewhat in different changes in temperatures and weather. The velocities in the Blaze NP and the Venom NP were very similar. This air rifle is not in the same power class as my Umarex Octane and Ruger Air Magnum. Chrono tests do reflect that velocities are in the class of my Gamo Big Cat 1250. I test all my air rifles outdoors at 3 inch targets, on boxes, 80 feet away, no indoor or 30 ft 10yd shots. Woodys World.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Carmello from USA on 2016-11-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Nice solid construction, decent scope.

    Things I would have changed: Too hard to breakdown, had to hold and hit with my palm to get it open.

    What others should know: Don't know why but thought this more automatic, just a single shot, and with the hard breakdown, I only shot it one time. Does seem to have excellent power but is a little heavy.

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By ray from USA on 2015-12-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Things I liked: The rifle has the potential to shoot very well. I can hit a dime nearly every shot at 20 yards.... if I can get a good trigger pull. The basic gun is solid. Just needs a better scope and trigger.

    Things I would have changed: The scope is junk. And the trigger pull is way too long, and very heavy.

    What others should know: I have shot about 1000 round thru the rifle.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Rich from USA on 2015-12-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: Overall I like mine, it's a .22. This gun can be made very accurate and has plenty of power. It is easy to cock you can shoot it for a long time without feeling like you have gone to the gym. Once it was broken in (which basically means getting all the gunk out of the barrel) I found that it isn't too pellet choosy. Mine seems to shoot Gammo Magnums and 16gr Polymags very well.

    Things I would have changed: I hate a gun that is not consistently accurate. I target shoot and hunt. I don't like wounding game and I don't enjoy fighting a gun to produce acceptable groupings on the range. Power is great but once you have enough power to do the job accuracy and shot placement are more important. Two things are needed to make this gun consistently accurate. First replace the scope that comes with it. As with most rifles in this price range the scope it not good. The one this rifle comes with is particularly bad. I put a BSA on it for $69 and it made a world of difference. I now have Leapers on it only because I shoot skunks and raccoons at night and wanted an illuminated reticle. Second and as important if not more is the trigger. Nothing improves the accuracy of a firearm more than a good trigger. This one is bad and makes it difficult to shoot well consistently. Replace it with a Charly Da Tuna for whatever it is (around $15 I think)

    What others should know: If you do those two things you will have a powerful, accurate gun that you will really enjoy shooting. I understand they are trying to sell at a particular price point but for a few more dollars on the manufacturing side they could provide a decent trigger. I'm not expecting a great trigger for this price, I have an HW90 which comes with arguably one of the best triggers in an air rifle (or any rifle for that matter) but it's $450 more than this gun and that's without a scope. I would however like to see a trigger that is at least acceptable. None the less for the price of the rifle plus about $130 you can have a great shooting rifle (that basically puts you in the $300 range). Honestly if you don't want to spend the time or money for these upgrades you will never be really satisfied with this gun.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Steve from USA on 2015-07-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.52 ratings

    Things I liked: MY EXPERIENCE BUYING THIS GUN WAS GREAT. THE GUN TURNED OUT TO BE JUNK AND THE RETURN PROCESS WAS GOOD. BUT REPLACEMENT GUN WAS NOT IN STOCK AND I AM STILL WAITING FOR MY REPLACEMENT.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Mason from USA on 2015-07-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: This rifle is powerful and is supposedly meant to operate better than a spring-powered rifle.

    Things I would have changed: The scope that comes with it is crap.

    What others should know: If you plan to use this gun for any serious shooting (pest control, competition, etc.), get a better scope.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By christopher from USA on 2015-05-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Easy to operate. Liked the rail for mounting the scope.

    What others should know: Out of the box and installed the scope but could not get any kind of accuracy with it. Starting to sight it in at 10 yards and my groups were 6"-8". Checked everything and found that the two screws at the front of the stock were loose. I tightened them up but still was only getting 6" groups. I thought it may have been the scope, so I changed it with one from another rifle I have. Groups were still in the 6" range at 10 yards. No way you could use this to hunt garden pests with this kind of accuracy. I had to return it.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2015-03-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.663 ratings

    Things I liked: The fit and finish on my .22 version are excellent. The scope was crap, but I installed it on my spare Ruger 10/22 about a year ago and it's performed surprisingly well. It must not be an airgun scope at all, as it won't even pretend to hold zero on the Crosman. I did the washer mod on my trigger and it's like night and day. Essentially free and produces a wonderful pull with a clean break. This is a big rifle, as in comparable to a centerfire bolt action in size. I appreciate its heft, but it does get heavy after awhile in the field. I think accuracy, after proper break in, is stellar for a rifle at this price point. Mine will shoot consistently around 3/8" five-shot groups at 10 meters with several different pellets. RWS Meisterkugeln, Pro Mag 16gr polymer tip, and Daisy Quicksilver pointed field pellets, to name the three I'm currently working with.

    Things I would have changed: Just stop with the scope, Crosman. It's an embarrassment. So is your stock trigger, but I'm certain your legal team won't afford much leeway to do better. Why does it take at least 500 shots to settle this rifle down? I can only guess the barrel is a bit rough to start with. Your pellets are quite the embarrassment, as well. On of my friends suggested he could chew strips of lead wire and produce more consistent projectiles than what we've found in your tins. Some fall into the chamber while some will hardly start. Skirt thickness was found to be wildly varying in the four tins we have on hand. Still, I would suggest purchasers of this rifle buy 500 of these or something similar for break in use.

    What others should know: Prepare for an extended break in period before the rifle settles down and starts shooting consistently. About 5-600 shots seems to do the trick. When new, I was struggling to hold five shots on a target the size of a softball at 10 meters. Order a suitable scope and rings when you order the rifle. I'm using an Accushot 3-12 with side focus, a 30mm tube, and a mil-dot reticle. I'm very pleased with its performance so far, although the reticle is quite a bit thicker than I prefer. I bought an assortment of pellets for testing that covered mostly the entire range of weights available for the .22 and my rifle clearly prefers lighter pellets. I was hoping to use heavier pellets like the Crow Magnum but anything over about 16-17 grains gets pretty wild downrange. Still, penetration is unreal. You may have to upgrade your pellet trap after buying a Nitro Venom! In spite of the rifle's shortcomings, it's definitely a winner.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By christopher from USA on 2015-01-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.52 ratings

    Things I liked: Weaver rail, stock, sound moderation, accuracy.

    Things I would have changed: Maybe a better trigger, but that all comes at a cost.

    What others should know: Mine shoots very well with RWS superdome and Meisterklugen. Found it to be very accurate out to at least 30 yards, does well from rest too.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Justin from USA on 2015-01-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: The weaver mount, the accuracy, and overall a wonderful airgun!

    Things I would have changed: The center point scope is nice, but its underpowered for this fine gun. Also the stock, IO redid the stock on mine, and it came out beautiful. They use a nice piece of beach wood, but the dull finish hides its beauty.

    What others should know: Remember this is a springer, so you have to hold the gun loosely or it will throw off the accuracy. I'd also get the .22 version, simply because its more powerful, and is more desirable for resale. Great air gun, I recommend this gun to all my friends.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Justin from USA on 2015-01-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: Weaver Rail, Accuracy..The POWER is incredible. I like the weight of the gun.

    Things I would have changed: There is no doubt DRASTIC improvement could go into this trigger. However I have watched a youtube video that shows a very simple way to help it if it is that big of a deal for you. It's without a doubt the main weak point of this rifle. Eliminate the muzzlebrake and add sling mounts on the stock. This is the first true adult air rifle I've ever owned so I don't have anything to compare it to.

    What others should know: I found that the muzzlebrake on mine is misaligned with the actual muzzle of the barrel. SO FAR I haven't noticed any contact with rounds but boy it has to be close. There's a noticeable offset. I'm not sure what some people's problem is with the scope. If it's properly mounted with Loctite, equally/evenly torqued it seems fine to me..so far. Overall I see the same as a lot of other users. You got to clean ifirst off before firing, evenly torque down the two stock screws on the fore end (25"lbs here), then be patient by putting at least 40-50 rounds through it before cleaning it again, checking the torque on the stock again and getting ready to site it in. I only have around 75 rounds thru it and I already notice a difference in the noise. Currently I'm shooting Benjamin Discovery 14.3 grain/.22 pellets and my best groups are about a 1/8" at 10 yards and about a 1/4" at 20yards. There does seem to be the occasional flyer but sometimes I cant tell if its me or the gun. Sweet gun.

  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jaxworks from USA on 2014-10-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.663 ratings

    Things I liked: It cocks easy enough and shoots hard and is very accurate.

    Things I would have changed: Finish on the stock is poor. I do not like the 'bump the end of the barrel' before you can cock it feature. Distance between stock grip and rear of trigger guard is so close your fingers rub the back of the guard.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Henry from USA on 2014-10-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Solid feel and contruction. Shoots very accurately. Not much noise. Great looking stock. The scope works well.

    Things I would have changed: I would consider reducing the weight. I have not had great success with the trigger. I would love to replace it with the trigger in my Benjamin Trail NP 2.

    What others should know: I can count on accuracy of this gun since I added locktite to all the screws securing the stock in place.

     
  • 123 ... 89 Next
Navigation