Date: 20/10/2018 7:52
0

Crosman Optimus Breakbarrel Air Rifle Combo reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (42 reviews)
3 star2 star1 star

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

By karlo from USA on 2011-06-03 18:03:59

Things I liked: shoots very nice and on target

Things I would have changed: nothing maby more power

What others should know: very very nice for the money

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:4.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:4.0

By Nicholas from USA on 2018-04-06 12:42:36

Things I liked: Nice quality air rifle for the money. The wood, fit and finish is better than some of my name band .22 rifles.

Things I would have changed: The front sight is very large, it can cover your target.

What others should know: This is my first air rifle, probably not a good choice for a young beginner due to weight. I am still working on accuracy.

Sort by:
  • 123 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Syed from USA on 2018-10-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: quality of product and general appearance

    Things I would have changed: like to see same power in .22

    What others should know: teach safety first to all kids using any type of guns

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ron Davis from USA on 2018-08-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: As a prepper, I wanted to add a couple of air guns to my collection for small game and pests. This one fit the bill for affordability and accuracy. The ammo is very reasonably priced and can be found in low end target ammo to high end hunting ammo. I have a few other air guns, but this one is my favorite.

    Things I would have changed: Really can't think of anything I would change about it, but the addition of a bipod makes shooting it much more stable and reliable.

    What others should know: This is NOT a good choice for smaller, younger shooters. It does take a bit of force to cock the gun, and could pose a danger to youngsters if they let go of the barrel before it is fully cocked and engaged.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Nicholas from USA on 2018-04-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Nice quality air rifle for the money. The wood, fit and finish is better than some of my name band .22 rifles.

    Things I would have changed: The front sight is very large, it can cover your target.

    What others should know: This is my first air rifle, probably not a good choice for a young beginner due to weight. I am still working on accuracy.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Gary from USA on 2017-11-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: This is as nice or nicer than a lot of .22's I have seen.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing comes to mind.

    What others should know: Have not had a chance to really put it thru it's paces but what little I have shot it, it is impressive with plenty of power. A little difficult to cock but manageable.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Denny from USA on 2016-11-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: The price is Under $100 and you will receive a wood stock. 1200 FPS, is the best in this price range

    Things I would have changed: Nothing, at this price, you can not expect the quality of a $800 rifle

    What others should know: This is smoking great for both targets and Small Game! Fathers, a fantastic gun to teach your children, gun safety on

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By jas340 from USA on 2015-10-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Great price. Very light rifle. Very powerful rifle. Scope is not too bad considering how little it cost. Hits metal silhouette target at 82 yards every time.

    Things I would have changed: The trigger is terrible. The cocking effort on mine sample is very high. Rifle is not as accurate at 40 yards as I would like.

    What others should know: I got this rifle for my son for well under $100.00. I will do the trigger bearing mod and hopefully the trigger will improve greatly. My personal rifle is an Air Arms TX200 Mark III so comparing the 2 is actually ridiculous. In summary, if the trigger wasn't so bad this rifle would be the steal of the century!!

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Brad from USA on 2015-08-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Overall it's a nice rifle for the money. Accuracy still not up to snuff after around 500 rounds. Trying different pellets and some shoot better than other but haven't found the right one yet. It does seem to favor the 21 grain Kodiaks. We'll see.

    Things I would have changed: Better scope and soon. The one it came with is kind of dim for these old eyes. Maybe a little more second stage adjustment as it has quite a bit of travel.

    What others should know: The open sights are great. Given a little time and patience I am pretty sure the accuracy will come around.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mouhanad from USA on 2015-05-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Things I liked: 1. This is one of the lightest springers out there (another one is the Hatsan 1000x). 2. I love the stock but wish it was a bit darker. 3. Open sights are pretty good. 4. Trigger is not bad. 5. Accurate. I can put one hole in bull's eye from 10 meters with open sights. 6. Powerful.

    Things I would have changed: Just make the stock a little darker in color. Everything else is amazing with this gun. You get a lot more than you pay for in my opinion.

    What others should know: 1. It took between 500 and 1000 shots to break-in. 2. I also needed to clean the barrel to get to shoot accurately. 3. Artillery hold is very important with this gun.

  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Bill from USA on 2015-05-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Liked this gun right out of the box. Right from the first shot. Gun is light and cocks easy considering it's velocity. I bought it as a second gun to leave out back with the garden tools to take a few shots whenever I go out there. Not a tack driver but it's accuracy is good enough to keep me interested in shooting it.

    Things I would have changed: Didn't like the scope. It's functional and will improve your accuracy but the sight picture is blurry around the edges. Replaced it with a Leapers 4X32 A.O. scope. It's the scope that knocked down my value rating. Would have liked to see the .22 version offered along side the .177 version without the scope.

    What others should know: Had to adjust the open sight to it's max setting left to center my shots. I ran out of adjustment range to raise the shot to my liking. Not an issue for me because I had planned all along to mount a scope.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By pcp4me from USA on 2015-01-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Just about everything. The price, the weight, and most certainly the accuracy. Even the looks are pleasing. It was on sale for an unheard of price of $89.95 and I just could not pass that up!

    Things I would have changed: The included scope. It is adequate, but I immediately replaced it with a 3 X 9 X 40 AO of better quality. Also the trigger is not the greatest. Long, creepy, and a tad heavy. But despite it, I am able to get excellent accuracy!

    What others should know: I bought this on a whim. The last thing I needed was another air gun, but the price was so low, and the advertised velocity of 1200/1000 for alloy/lead intrigued me.I figured it would not meet that, and was a cheap inaccurate gun and I would just return it! Wow, was I wrong! With 7.0 grain lead pellets I am averaging 1010 fps/10, and with the Crosman 4.? alloy pellets 1225 fps. Accuracy is excellent with tiny 1 hole groups benched at 10 meters. The most accurate springer I own!! It groups well with a wider range of pellets than any other air gun I own! So I will work on the trigger, and when that is up to par per my wishes, this will be a great gun! Actually already is, but will be greater, as then there will be NOTHING not to like about this gun!!

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jeremiah from USA on 2014-03-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I have one in .177 cal. This is a very nice rifle, especially for the money. The weight and feel is very nice and if you modify the trigger, online "youtube" videos for that, or upgrade it, the trigger pull is comfortable enough. Also, the accuracy is exceptionally well in mine. Crosman Premier Hollow Points have been working well for me. I have been able to get 1 in. groups with mine at 35 yds. This was done with the included scope. I am certain with a much better scope, I could get 1/2 in. groups at 35 yds. I shoot 35 yds because that is the range that most of the blackbirds I target are at, in my yard. Also, I had no barrel droop in mine, at least not enough to where I could tell, such as in a different gun I own. Groupings at 20 yds are 1/2 in.

    Things I would have changed: The trigger out of the box is pretty much completely unpredictable, crosman really needs to do something about that, "second stage" way too long. Also, the pull weight is a little to much, but not horrible. The scope is not the best, but for the price, you really cant complain, its enough to get you shooting at some decent ranges. A weaver rail would be nice!

    What others should know: I gave the overall rating four stars because the trigger was undesirable, out of the box. The scope isn't the best, but for the price, your getting what you pay for. So, for value, I gave it a 5, because the gun is worth it. My gun took about 300 pellets before I started to get my accuracy, so be patient. For this reason, after breaking it in and achieving this accuracy, I gave it a 5 for accuracy. Screw down the scope mount screws very well, but don't strip them!!! Also, if you shooting in 15 degree weather, with some wind, your naturally going to have some accuracy issues. I say this because of comments I have read else where!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By jason from USA on 2014-01-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: Light, easy to break and cock, and very accurate.

    Things I would have changed: better scope, this one is not bad, just not enough for this air rifle.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Gustavo from USA on 2013-12-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: For the price it is an excellent purchase. Good balance Light and fairly accurate.

    Things I would have changed: Do not think he would change nothing.

    What others should know: So far I have not used with the telescope and the experience has been very good. Remember that it is not a competition rifle.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By gary from USA on 2013-12-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: first break barrel ive owned nice power

    Things I would have changed: maybe offer it a little cheaper by leaving out the scope

    What others should know: from 10 yards out you don't need the scope..

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Ralph from USA on 2013-10-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: A very hard hitting rifle using a heavier pellet. Accuracy is only average for me. Could be just me though. Trigger adjustment is much appreciated. A Rabbit is no match for this one. Plenty of power.

    Things I would have changed: Not much I can think of. I don't understand why some people were not happy with the included scope. I like it.

    What others should know: Keep it lubed and it will last a long time. This is not a toy! Mine penetrates a 2X4 approx. 1.75 inches up close at point blank range.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By David from USA on 2013-06-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I like the weight of the rifle for stability. The workmanship done in making the rifle is pretty good. Cocking the rifle is not difficult.

    Things I would have changed: The rifle is a little too loud when fired.

    What others should know: A well made, and good looking rifle for the price.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By earl from USA on 2013-03-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: The rifle looks very nice. Nothing fancy and that's what I wanted. It shoots very hard, around 800+ feet per second with 7.9 gr lead pellet. I have over 300 pellets thru it and the accuracy is one slopy hole at 10 yards. (range in basement) I will test it at 30 yards when the weather breaks.

    Things I would have changed: The open sights are nothing to write home about. I really think they were trying to get rid of the scope by adding it as a package deal. The trigger pull is extreemly long. but you can get use to it.

    What others should know: The cocking effort is a little more than I expected. Guess that helps it hit harder. If you are going mount a scope on it, you will want to purchase a better one. I did. I like it for its hard hitting (800fps) power and the accuracy. For $100.00 you can't go wrong. I can hunt with it and not worry about getting it scratched up. By the way, be sure you clean the bore before you shoot it. You would not believe the crap that came out of there.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Steve from USA on 2013-03-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The rifle is finished nicely. The price is hard to beat. Power is incredible (I did buy the .22 caliber). The scope works well after a little trial and error (I had to shim the rear ring I would guess a bit of barrel droop).

    Things I would have changed: The front sight gets in the way of the view through the scope at times. The rifle is a bit heavy; I would opt for a skeleton synthetic stock and save some weight. Cocking effort is not for light weight folks.

    What others should know: Very good purchase overall (dollars, power, accuracy). I will probably give the "Gas Piston" rifles a try. That said I think I will be keeping this Springer...

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By William from USA on 2013-01-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Fine looking gun, stock is well finished looks like a real rifle. Break barrel is smooth cocking and closes with a sharp click.

    Things I would have changed: It's a little front heavy would be better if front weight was shifted toward the back.

    What others should know: I change the scope to a UTG 4x16x40 just my preference.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ringo from USA on 2013-01-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I like the design of the stock and the weight, Fairly light for a springer. Good tight fit between the stock and the compression chamber, This rifle was well thought out and well made and what I expect from crosman. I haven't had a chance to take it to the range yet so I'll do an update for accuracy when I can get it there.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: I bought mine in .22 cal. and I have heard from other people that the 177 is just as good, This was a smart buy for me and I highly recommend this rifle to anyone that wants a well built springer at a reasonable price. I have seen this rifle as high as $140 so go with pyramyd air as you will get a better deal and better service. Pyramyd air is #1. got mine sooner than expected.

     
  • 123 Next
Navigation