Date: 26/9/2020 1:4
0

Customer Reviews for Crosman Summit Ranger

Average Customer Review

4.5 (19 reviews)
1 star

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Benjamin from USA on 2017-08-19 04:29:21

Things I liked: This gun is everything I expected and hoped it would be. Being a new Crosman product, there were no reviews when I decided to go for it. I figured though that it would combine the best of other rifles in a lower priced package. Spot on! Weight and balance are very good - light enough to carry around, with enough heft to steady the aiming. The synthetic stock is light and rugged and looks really cool. Crosman rates the FPS at 1150, but PA places it at 1400. I think the PA rating is more correct - it packs a lot of power, and that makes for a level trajectory at longer distances. The rifle is zeroed out of the box. I like that the gun comes without a scope, which is very easy to attach, the Winchester 4x32 AO in my case. Sighting in with the Sightmark Triple Duty Universal Bore Sight was surprisingly easy. It took only 3 adjustments of the scope to hit the bullseye.

Things I would have changed: A sling would have been a bonus.

What others should know: The muzzle break can be unscrewed, and the front sight pulled off, in order to attach the Sightmark bore sight magnetically to the barrel. Reattaching the muzzle break and front sight, however, means the rifle will have to be sighted in if the open sights are to be used. This rifle is powerful enough to hunt small game at 40-60 yards, at which distances I would consistently use a scope, so that's not an issue at all.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:2.0

Value for money:3.0

Accuracy:3.0

By Steve from USA on 2019-11-20 11:49:55

Things I liked: Easy to cock. Has plenty of Power in .177

Things I would have changed: this rifle has some Problems- Had to tighten the rear sight shortly after i got it, When I fixed that the front sight came loose and just spins around. (I Removed the sights front and back)

What others should know: Buy another Crosman Rifle ! (I have a .22 Crosman Diamondback SBD that works great)

Sort by:
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Glenn from USA on 2020-08-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Very accurate with a proper scope. Trigger is amazing very easy to adjust. Best air rifle for 100$ imo. Durable rugged stock. Barley any plastic parts. Sling swivel and trigger is all metal

    Things I would have changed: Sights, honestly the open sights are not the best but just get a scope and it will perform.

    What others should know: Perfect 22 air rifle for garden pest, it is not quiet as I thought it would be, but overall you can not go wrong with this piece great quality.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Morgan Neal on 2020-07-24
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Amazing power! I have the 0.22 version. With a 9.4 grain pellet I got 2180fps. Accuracy with mine is 5 shots within a quarter sized dot at 30 meters. Very comfortable and just the right weight, it is quite stable and forgiving for trigger pull. Adjustable 2 stage trigger is wonderful ! I have mine set to about 2.5 grams. Pull the first stage and be careful with the second, wrong breathing can set it off. Of course you can set the 2nd stage much higher (I don't know how high. The first thing I did when I got it was to set 2nd stage as low as I felt comfortable with).

    Things I would have changed: The sights are garbage. Get a scope. I left iron on just in case I break the scope somehow but accuracy withe the stock iron sights is 5 shots within a 4" dot at 30 meters (yards are pretty close to meters for those not familiar with metric). Dismal iron sights and they tend to rotate and get misaligned with every shot. Good iron sights would probably work fine but save the hassle and get a scope.

    What others should know: Don't forget to clean and lube according to the manual! This particular product requires Crosman Silicone Airgun Lubricant. It's expensive but ba tube will probably last you a lifetime. Cheers Mo Neal

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By leo from USA on 2019-12-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Oh My, 1st thing I like, made in the USA ! 2nd thing, front & rear metal sights, 3rd thing accuracy, 4th thing, sling mounts,5th thing MAD POWER !!! Crosman really put out a winner here, keep them coming! Oh, incredible VALUE !!!

    Things I would have changed: Not a thing !

    What others should know: Put 100 rds through it with open sights, then put an extra Gamo .22 special 4x32 scope I had waiting around for a rifle to put it on, pure tack driver ! This rifle really likes the artillery hold along with Crosman hollow points.Most powerful .22 breakbarrel I ever shot. Love it ! For those of you complaining about the sights, you are not supposed to manhandle an air rifle! Take care of it and it will work just fine.Accuarcy & Power are just awesome !!! We need more air guns made in the USA !!!!!

  • 2.0 2.0

    3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Steve from USA on 2019-11-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Easy to cock. Has plenty of Power in .177

    Things I would have changed: this rifle has some Problems- Had to tighten the rear sight shortly after i got it, When I fixed that the front sight came loose and just spins around. (I Removed the sights front and back)

    What others should know: Buy another Crosman Rifle ! (I have a .22 Crosman Diamondback SBD that works great)

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2019-11-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is a very solid and quality air rifle for the money. Good tight fit after closing the barrel.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Trigger pull is fine, takes some effort to cock initially, and you do not need 250 break-in shots. I mounted a scope on mine and after 30 shots was hitting the same holes on targets. Squirrel population is declining.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jeremy from USA on 2019-10-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accurate and powerful

    Things I would have changed: Rear sight blade has some movement but Im using a scope.

    What others should know: This rifle has a lot of shock when you pull the trigger. Make sure to check your scope rings and other screws often. But so far Im getting less than quarter inch touching groups at 30 yards with .22 Superdomes and Crosman domed pellets.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Vanessa from USA on 2019-06-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is a very solid built gun that is very powerful and accurate. I can consistently shoot sub .75 groups at 25 yards with a wide variety of pellets. The gun I have really liked the HN FTT . It comes without the junk scope.

    Things I would have changed: A better trigger would be great.

    What others should know: No tank, no compressor and low maintenance!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jose from USA on 2019-05-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It's a good air rifle. You can make the trigger better by putting a longer screw which in turn will get rid of the long heavy pull just adjust to where it won't go off on safety. That said I have both models and I can tell you they are very very accurate and at 25 yards on bench rest I can put them in same hole. a tethered hole but still same hole, mine both like the crosman hollow points .177cal and 22.cal I have a new rws 350 magnum and let me tell you the summit ranger in power is not to far behind! Only penetrates in about 1/4 of an inch more maybe less so they pack a punch!

    Things I would have changed: Their front sights don't come set or tighted but just use Allen threw hole on muzzle brake to tighten but set it where you want it and trigger pull is to long the adjustment screw is to short but easy fix. With this kind of accuracy put a good scope on it you won't regret it. Just practice artillery hold.

    What others should know: They sell them here for a really good price.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gerald from USA on 2019-01-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like the power but the pin on the rear sight keeps trying to fall out I put a scope on it anyway.

    Things I would have changed: different pin for the rear sight.

    What others should know: its a great gun like it a lot.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Calvin from USA on 2019-01-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: accuracy with open sights.

    Things I would have changed: although the trigger isn't to bad, It is hard to tell when it is going to fire. The rear sight has a lot of play in it making it move up and down a lot. If you use open sights it will have to be shimmed. After shimming mine and a slow steady trigger pull I can hit tin cans at 50 yards.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Will on 2018-12-31
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I have the Crosman Optimus as well. And this rifle will out shoot it every day of the week. By far more accurate and much more powerful. It is lightweight and the synthetic stock will holdup well in the field. While the scope is okay I shoot it with the iron sights and these sights are actually metal. It also seems to like a variety of pellets. I have used JSB, Crosman, RWS, and H&N and they all group well.

    Things I would have changed: While I love the metal sights I wish the front blade was not as high.

    What others should know: If you are looking for a great inexpensive.177 that is accurate and can take a beating this is a great choice.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kurt from USA on 2018-12-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I bought first, the .22cal,because of Tom's reveiw.I have both now,the .177 & .22. They are very accurate.Has metal sights..Basic ,Good, Powerful gun. I scoped both of them now >Old Eyes..Both guns shoot different kinds of pellets well /what Tom said.

    Things I would have changed: nothing

    What others should know: I bought these for rat shooting in the winter .I live in the NW Wa,rain and mist.I own HW,RWS,Beeman and didn't want to abuse them with the weather....I am very happy with the Summit Ranger.IT will Stack 22cal. RWS HP at 15 yards..Stock has a "Hollow Chonk" sound when fired..Easy fix for that..1 inch thick, furniture foam from hardware store.. Step1>Remove rubber butt pad(2 phillips head screws) 2>Lay rifle butt stock on foam. .3>with sharpy pen, trace stock. 4.>Cut out foam.,stuff foam in stock. 5>.replace butt pad (careful/steel coarse thread screws going into plastic).6.>Try gun out = no more "Chonk" sound.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James from USA on 2018-09-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The NP2 is a powerful, low recoil, quiet, smooth cocking and very accurate air gun. This rifle is not a back yard friendly air gun. It is a serious hunting rifle. Every bit as dangerous a .22 LR powder burner. It is light weight, steel front and rear open sights, nice trigger, sling mounts, and you pick out the scope. It does not like light weight pellets (14.3 gr. or 14.66 gr.). It is that powerful. Loved JSB Exact 18.3 gr. pellets. Crosman has a real sleeper in the Summit Ranger at a very affordable price from Pyramyd Air. A + A + A +

    Things I would have changed: Rear sight is weird.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By clarence from USA on 2018-09-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Great value power and accuracy

    Things I would have changed: nothing

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Tom from USA on 2018-02-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: If you are a hunter, take a look at this one. I ordered this gun in 22 Cal. from PA on 10/29/2017 I received it, on Nov 5th. It shot well, right out of the box ( after barrel clean-up). It is a good hunting type gun but it is Not a Looker with a Walnut Stock. The open sights are all metal and no plastic. The gun is fairly rugged and does very well in a difficult hunting terrain. Sleet, snow, ice and rain haven't bothered this rifle much. If you shatter a scope on ar rock, you still have the open sights to hunt with until you can get the broken scope replaced. The muzzle break unscrews for a threaded barrel, in case you decide to add a moderator or air stripper.. The gun comes un-scoped and weighs about 7 Lbs. It handles well in heavy cover and the Clean Break Trigger is a big improvement over past Crosman triggers. I have taken several squirrels with this gun so far. ( Nov 13th) It was 18 degrees out that morning. I shot three squirrels out of trees at about 30 yards. Dead Right Th

    Things I would have changed: An option for the Trail [email protected] type thumbhole stocks

    What others should know: This one has the NP #2 Gas Ram in it and cocks fairly easy. It Hits Hard and Shoots Straight. No Barrel Droop at all. Since I got the gun Nov 5th, I have only shot about 85 shots thru this gun. It is not broken in yet and it already shot a dime sized grout at 25 yards The gun's shot groups are improving even more as it is getting broken in. My gun has not been pellet picky and is not hold sensitive either. This may not be what you have in mind but it might be worth a look and the Price is Right. $159.95 and Free Shipping. For some unknown reason this gun is not pellet picky. Every pellet that I have shot through this Crosman Summit Ranger NP2 rifle has shot fairly well out to 25 yards. I don't have to re-adjust the scope. I have shot Crosman Piranhas, Gamo Red Fires, Crosman Destroyers, H&N Terminators and others. Some... but not much... variation in POI out to 25 yards. I don't have a clue why...that is just the way it is on this gun.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Steven from USA on 2018-02-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: I've been interested in an inexpensive breakbarrel, what flipped my buy switch on this is that it is Crosman 's cheapest np2 air rifle with metal sights and a non-thumbhole stock.the front metal sight appears to be held on by a perforated metal nut that I haven't tried to remove.The rear sight is all metal, a bit crude, but functional, and looks like it can be completely removed.The stock is sturdy but hollow sounding. The trigger blade is plastic but seems plenty strong. It shoots with a solid "thok". The 10 for 10 test.showed velocities around 900fps with 11g hobby pellets. The trigger has a lot of creepy slack for the first stage but I can feel the second stage and it breaks pretty clean if not light. I've only shot about 80 pellets. My best casually rested 25 yard group was 1 1/4". Too soon to say if it will be accurate, but so far I'm encouraged.

    Things I would have changed: Shape of the pistol grip.

    What others should know: Durability is a question, but I've found Crosman easy and helpful to deal with in the past which is an important point for me.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Benjamin from USA on 2017-08-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings

    Things I liked: This gun is everything I expected and hoped it would be. Being a new Crosman product, there were no reviews when I decided to go for it. I figured though that it would combine the best of other rifles in a lower priced package. Spot on! Weight and balance are very good - light enough to carry around, with enough heft to steady the aiming. The synthetic stock is light and rugged and looks really cool. Crosman rates the FPS at 1150, but PA places it at 1400. I think the PA rating is more correct - it packs a lot of power, and that makes for a level trajectory at longer distances. The rifle is zeroed out of the box. I like that the gun comes without a scope, which is very easy to attach, the Winchester 4x32 AO in my case. Sighting in with the Sightmark Triple Duty Universal Bore Sight was surprisingly easy. It took only 3 adjustments of the scope to hit the bullseye.

    Things I would have changed: A sling would have been a bonus.

    What others should know: The muzzle break can be unscrewed, and the front sight pulled off, in order to attach the Sightmark bore sight magnetically to the barrel. Reattaching the muzzle break and front sight, however, means the rifle will have to be sighted in if the open sights are to be used. This rifle is powerful enough to hunt small game at 40-60 yards, at which distances I would consistently use a scope, so that's not an issue at all.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Paul from USA on 2017-08-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: The feel,function (steel sights etc) and undeniable power (mine clocks in at 1200fps avg with LEAD crosman 7.4g pointed .177. At 15yds I can stack pellets and dime a 10+ group so far with steel sights. It gets a minimum of 23fpe! (I may have been lucky I don't know but mine is a keeper!) Artillery hold isn't necessary, sling mounts, np2 gas piston. ...no barrel droop, full rifled barrel, good crown and faux compensator/break for further protection plus it's threaded. ... Really for me, quite a bit to like with very little not to. I'm seriously considering the 22 instead of another model too I like it that much.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing so far save maybe some dots on the sights but I covered that myself on mine. The trigger is heavy but very easily adjustable to be crisp with 1mm first stage. Feels like the firstthe stage is about a lb with about 5lb clean break second stage as I set it. I actually prefer a single stage so this is not bad. Doesn't hurt my accuracy or enjoyment at all for the purpose. I'm physically disabled too so it's all very usable. I didn't like the safety concept at first but once I started using it in the field it became very much appreciated. I took a mental note of the design in practical applications and now give it a B easily. Really no complaints once you use it as intended but it's a great pinker too. A little bit loud for tight suburban backyard MAYBE but I expected that. I got it as a good all around gun that has power and it's definitely that! Sks in an airgun but for a break barrel it's right in the ultra magnum range.

    What others should know: It's worth it if you buy it knowing that you picked out the right rifle for you. This is not a child's toy (most people likely know that here but there's always a chance someone missed every other notice on it lol). Buy two, it's a great rifle if you want power and function over form (though I like the form too). I think they did good by taking a design change and making it a crosman as opposed to Benjamin. Benjamins side need backup sights. The scope only trend made my options quite limited there and this used to be no different lol. Great gun. For the money it's a steal so DON'T CHANGE ANYTHING ABOUT THE FUNCTION,POWER AND PRICE CROSMAN! :)

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Paul from USA on 2017-07-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: Steel sights, power,accuracy,feel, cocking effort is smooth at about 32lbs with the np2. Not overly hold sensitive. Tight in shoulder and everything else is fair game. There's a few minor design quirks but nothing to worry about. It's a great gun for the money. It takes game humanely and quickly however none of the power ratings are ever right. Even the box differs from the sights etc lol

    Things I would have changed: Add a scope, 3-9x32 that works and drill the rear sight to sit snug. Hybrid version of this without the npxl and. 25 cal. I'd buy all three calibers. I like it that much.

    What others should know: The rear sight is drilled 1mm too loose. It functions fine but I think people should be aware. Power is close to the box. 1195fps/177 down. Not 1400 with alloy. Definitely worth it. I love it. Powerful, comfortable, durable, accurate, no barrel droop, crown or missed rifling etc. Great target hunter. It has minor quirks for the blind. As such, I painted fluorescent dots on the steel and it's a tack driver. Blows through about 1200 pages easily. 1inch plywood? Butter meet hot knife. It's a great fun and hunting rifle for big boys and girls :)

     
Navigation