Date: 24/8/2019 1:50
0

Diana 340 N-TEC. 23490401. Customer Reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (9 reviews)
4 star2 star1 star

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Alexander from USA on 2017-09-17 13:26:30

Things I liked: I just received this rifle from Pyramyd air and I am absolutely blown away by its performance. I had bought it to compare to my Diana 34 .22 and it immediately replaced it. First, this 340 .22 cocks far, far easier than the Diana 34. Second, the shots are smoother than any hi performance springer and the recoil is not as aggressive. Third, the rifle is super accurate: I mounted a new Leaper UTG 3-9x40 with UTG picatinny rings on a UTG picatinny +10' drop rail and proceeded to sight it in. My first and second group of 5 shots at 10 yards after mounting the scope were first on a quarter adn are now on a dime with all holes touching each other or within the same hole! Amazing. Third, Performance: my 340 N-TEC shoots my favorite pellet, the .22 JSB Match Diabolo Exact Jumbo Heavy pellet (18.13 grain) consistently at 665-670 fps. That's a solid 18 ft./lbs. This rifle is fantastic!! I love it.

Things I would have changed: The T 06 trigger is not as good as it should be. The first stage is barely perceptible and you will really not notice when the second stage begins plus the pull of is super soft. After some practice you notice the end of the first stage and then you need to stay on target while pulling a hair more. You will not be able to tell when the gun fires from the feel of the second stage. I think the T05 might be a better trigger albeit it has some creep in the second stage that I hate even moe.

What others should know: If you want a super accurate high perf break barrel that is easy to love with, looks fantastic and is well made. This is it! Unfortunately I cannot post a pic of my groups, but at ten feet with the above mentioned pellets all shots are on a dime or less. Fantastic!

The most helpful critical review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:3.0

Value for money:3.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Claudio from USA on 2015-05-12 14:11:50

Things I liked: Beautiful finish, good weight for handling, excellent accuracy with iron sights. Pretty powerful (I didn't secure a scope properly and the lateral recoil rotated the crosshair on an Airmax EV 4-12x50, newbie mistake).

Things I would have changed: As shown in other reviews, trigger adjustment is tricky One out of five pellets have become stuck in the barrel (after about 50 shots), with different pellets (so far tried RWS .22 roundheads and JSB Diabolo Exact Jumbo).

What others should know: I am somewhat of a newcomer to airguns and have been a customer of PyramydAir for about a year now. I loved the RWS Diana 34 so I thought the N-TEC 340 Premium would follow in its footsteps. Right out of the box it shot beautifully with iron sights (haven't had the pleasure of using it with a scope yet), and I don't have much arm strength so being able to hold it tight with little recoil came as a relief. I tried tinkering with the trigger by following the instructions included with the rifle and I somehwat managed to lengthen the first stage. However, now one out of five pellets get stuck in the barrel, with the corresponding loud bang of air hitting the back of the pellet (I hav eshot about 50 rounds so oil is still burning off). I tried cleaning it with RWS cleaning pellets + rod, but it still happened. Perhaps it will wear off, but I am afraid to damage the piston. I am pretty much screwed since I ordered overseas and perhaps I just got a bad model. Love it when it works though.

Sort by:
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By lance from USA on 2018-07-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Typical RWS quality save for one issue I will discuss below. I have the Luxus version with a walnut stock. It comes to shoulder well, the swell in front of the trigger is perfect for the artillery hold. Very accurate with the addition of a Williams peep after fashioning a stop to keep it from sliding down the rail

    Things I would have changed: Throw away the current RWS rear notch sight. Too much wiggle and plastic. Mine would not allow precise or consistent firing. I put on a 1989 version from my RWS M-36 and the Luxus was transformed into a ragged single hold shooter. The older rear sight was based on a recurved spring that was manipulated by an adjusting screw. On that spring blade, was mounted the rear V notch structure but one with the choice of four (4) different notches. RWS should return to this older and better system.

    What others should know: This is a well built RWS springer that double-recoils harder than my 34-P, also in .22. This, like other RWS pieces in my inventory, is a potential heirloom piece.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By lance from USA on 2018-06-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Typical RWS attention to fit and finish. Very stiff at first but that is loosening up. Shoots very hard and consistently but....

    Things I would have changed: ...the current RWS rear sight is poorly done. It wiggles and wobbles and will not stay consistently set. I changed my sight out for one from my '89 Model 36 that uses a spring steel leaf instead of a hinged support for the rear notch. Suddenly, the rifle that was inconsistent began to make one-ragged-hole groups. Go back to the rear notch of earlier years (that also have four choices of notch, BTW).

    What others should know: Use the artillery hold, and replace the rear sight. I will be installing a Williams Peep with Target Knobs. In combination with the tunnel front sight, it renders RWS springers tack drivers. Keep the rifle clean and lubricated and it will be a legacy to one's descendants.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Randall from USA on 2018-01-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Purchased the P340 in Dec. to go with my P34 springer that I purchased way back in the oughts. The T06 trigger in the P340 is whisper light in comparison to to the P34's TO5 trigger. After 500 shots, I've found the P340 to be just as accurate as my older rifle and a shade higher in velocity. Once accustomed to the new trigger, I prefer it over the older T05. The powerplant is smoother, a little harder to cock, and has quite a different feel at launch than the P34. Worksmanship is equal in the 2 rifles, both exhibiting the quality that one has come to expect from Diana. In a nutshell, love my new airgun!

    Things I would have changed: Not as fond of the new stock, the ridged texturing on the forestock is a bit rough, preferred the checkering on the P34. The front of the forestock also just out at an angle forward, the P34 is rounded, which I also prefer. Not to big a deal, but need to watch fingers when closing barrel. Also not a fan of globed front sights, too easy to bust, would prefer a simple blade front sight.

    What others should know: Both air rifles are outfitted with UTG 4X30 scopes, dime sized groups at 25yrds. The ammo that both seem to like the best are JSB Exact Jumbo(15.89)

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By George from USA on 2017-12-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Things I liked: The first would be the rifle's appearance from clean lines, stock checkering and the stock design. The rifle is very tight fitting and has improved after some use. I have fired approximately 150 times. I used JBS Exact heavy Diabolo 10.34 Gr. and AAA 8.4 Gr. pellets. Even from the start the gun was grouping 1/2" at 20yds. Firing from a table and sand bags. I have read different remarks about the trigger being this and that. The trigger has 1/4" travel and the final stage can't be be more than 2 1/2 lbs. The report is average. Cocking is easy. There is very little recoil. I am amazed at the accuracy out of the box.The rifle is very well balanced.

    Things I would have changed: The first would be to have the options of ordering no sights.The second the stock design deserves a fine finish. I have read several reviews before the purchase and sometimes think people make things more than they are and sometimes just to make a comment.

    What others should know: The transaction has been a pleasure purchasing from Pyramyd Air. I had purchased another air rifle and was not pleased with several things. The person was patient, understanding of my situation. Suggestions were made and I was given the time to review and make my decision there was no sales pressure whatsoever. Fine company. To those who have a semi-gloss stock and want it to be a gloss master piece. First use masking tape and cover the checkering.Then follow the directions on the bottle of Nu- Finish car polish and start rubbing and wiping. The stock will take on a mirror finish that this rifle deserves.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By David from USA on 2017-12-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: I purchased a .22cal 340 n-tec classic from another company in mid-October b/c of a bargain-basement price ($279). It was my 1st breakbarrel and my first airgun (other than a Daisy pellet/bb gun many years ago). As a total newbie to AG, I'm not sure what I'm missing, but have not had any issues so far with the gun. I used Black Friday to pick up a droop compensator mount and a refurbed Leapers 3-9x40AO scope from PA. Now I am learning about the peculiarities of breakbarrels and airguns in general. It's been great as far as I'm concerned. Using a sandbag on the forearm, I can hold 1" 10-shot groups at 35 yards with this gun (but it takes all my concentration to do this, and more often than not I pull one shot way off target). That's just using Crossman Premier HP (14.3gr). Just opened up a tin of JSB Exact Jumbo Diabolo 15.89gr, but really I'm sure that at this point, "it's the archer, not the arrow." Really enjoying the n-tec 340 - classic looks, trouble-free and more accurate than me!

    Things I would have changed: Bring the price back down under $300 so everyone can get one.

    What others should know: Actually, I'll always have a soft spot for this gun bc it sucked me into the vortex of AG in general and caused me to spend big dollars at PA over Black Friday to get a .22 synrod with a 3-12X44AO UTG swat scope, BKL rings and a Yon Heng air compressor. I guess I have a new primary hobby (and far fewer squirrels and chipmunks in the yard). I really love both of these AGs. They are really different but both are great.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Alexander from USA on 2017-09-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: I just received this rifle from Pyramyd air and I am absolutely blown away by its performance. I had bought it to compare to my Diana 34 .22 and it immediately replaced it. First, this 340 .22 cocks far, far easier than the Diana 34. Second, the shots are smoother than any hi performance springer and the recoil is not as aggressive. Third, the rifle is super accurate: I mounted a new Leaper UTG 3-9x40 with UTG picatinny rings on a UTG picatinny +10' drop rail and proceeded to sight it in. My first and second group of 5 shots at 10 yards after mounting the scope were first on a quarter adn are now on a dime with all holes touching each other or within the same hole! Amazing. Third, Performance: my 340 N-TEC shoots my favorite pellet, the .22 JSB Match Diabolo Exact Jumbo Heavy pellet (18.13 grain) consistently at 665-670 fps. That's a solid 18 ft./lbs. This rifle is fantastic!! I love it.

    Things I would have changed: The T 06 trigger is not as good as it should be. The first stage is barely perceptible and you will really not notice when the second stage begins plus the pull of is super soft. After some practice you notice the end of the first stage and then you need to stay on target while pulling a hair more. You will not be able to tell when the gun fires from the feel of the second stage. I think the T05 might be a better trigger albeit it has some creep in the second stage that I hate even moe.

    What others should know: If you want a super accurate high perf break barrel that is easy to love with, looks fantastic and is well made. This is it! Unfortunately I cannot post a pic of my groups, but at ten feet with the above mentioned pellets all shots are on a dime or less. Fantastic!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Alexander from USA on 2017-09-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Design. Handling. Craftsmanship. Ease to cock vs. Diana 34. Accuracy !!!! I get 5 shots at 10 yards with each hole in the other or touching each other! Unbelievably accurate!

    Things I would have changed: Packaging: Diana has a horrible box and their packaging material is plain and simple inadequate and the way pyramyd ships their rifles doesn't make it any better. Pyramyd's packing is terribly careless. The first rifle I got the stock was broken in half at the pistol grip!! Can you imagine! The common Diana barrel droop on my rifle is significant, but the UTG droop compensating mount (10") is all you need.

    What others should know: This is a fantastically handling and shooting rifle. Cocking compared to my Diana 34 is hugely easier and it has more FPS. The only better break barrel I could imagine is the 350 Magnum N-TEC.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Claudio from USA on 2015-05-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Things I liked: Beautiful finish, good weight for handling, excellent accuracy with iron sights. Pretty powerful (I didn't secure a scope properly and the lateral recoil rotated the crosshair on an Airmax EV 4-12x50, newbie mistake).

    Things I would have changed: As shown in other reviews, trigger adjustment is tricky One out of five pellets have become stuck in the barrel (after about 50 shots), with different pellets (so far tried RWS .22 roundheads and JSB Diabolo Exact Jumbo).

    What others should know: I am somewhat of a newcomer to airguns and have been a customer of PyramydAir for about a year now. I loved the RWS Diana 34 so I thought the N-TEC 340 Premium would follow in its footsteps. Right out of the box it shot beautifully with iron sights (haven't had the pleasure of using it with a scope yet), and I don't have much arm strength so being able to hold it tight with little recoil came as a relief. I tried tinkering with the trigger by following the instructions included with the rifle and I somehwat managed to lengthen the first stage. However, now one out of five pellets get stuck in the barrel, with the corresponding loud bang of air hitting the back of the pellet (I hav eshot about 50 rounds so oil is still burning off). I tried cleaning it with RWS cleaning pellets + rod, but it still happened. Perhaps it will wear off, but I am afraid to damage the piston. I am pretty much screwed since I ordered overseas and perhaps I just got a bad model. Love it when it works though.

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Rudedawg from USA on 2015-03-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: The accuracy, stock, gas piston and potential of the modified T06 trigger

    Things I would have changed: Better QC from factory, have trigger pre-adjusted out of the box like my 34 T06.

    What others should know: I held off reviewing thinking the rifle I received was a fluke until I read another review with same issues. The rifle had a really nice stock and was accurate out of the box. The modified T06 had no 2nd stage whatsoever with a mile long 1st stage before it fired. While cocking I noticed a grinding noise that got louder with each cock. Talk about heartache and disappointment. I contacted both PA and Umarex service but without seeing the rifle they could only offer suggestions. This is where piece of mind comes in. PA service said if their suggestions did not work then contact their CS dept. to return the rifle. After discussing steps I had taken, PA's CS immediately issued a return label and offered a refund or exchange with no questions asked. I chose an exchange and a replacement will be sent as soon as inventory is available. PA is a stand up company who is dedicated to customers; that is why I am a repeat customer. I am surprised Diana's QC would let a gun out the door like this.

Navigation