Date: 17/8/2018 5:8
0

Diana RWS 460 Magnum reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (74 reviews)

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:4.0

Accuracy:4.0

By martintheterrible from USA on 2008-01-20 13:21:21

Things I liked: Wood stock is absolutely Beautiful. Underlever cocking is better than a break barrel. Action is smooth with very little recoil. I wasn't sure if I wanted to spend the money on such an expensive rifle but now I'm glad that I did. This rifle packs a PUNCH !

Things I would have changed: I would prefer a metal trigger. As for the issue with the awkwardness of having to de-cock, I just discharge the round into the ground.

What others should know: I purchased the .22 cal to kill pigeons and opossum. You can hear the impact when the pellet hits the target. I have shot several pigeons. With a heavy pellet and a head shot the pigeons usually drop with very little fight. However, there have been times that I have used a lighter pellet and been beyond 30 yards or so and the pellet rises or doesn't have enough force to put a kill shot on the pigeon. It's like trying to throw a ping pong ball a hundred miles per hour. I have not shot a opposum yet. I'd imagine that it will take a very well placed head shot to knock a opposum out cold. We'll see.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:1.0

By David from USA on 2018-04-12 15:25:45

Things I liked: I like the look and feel of the gun and it has power in spades!

Things I would have changed: I could NOT get this gun to shoot straight! Any ideas? Anyone? I first put a UTG droop compensator rail to fix the up and down adjustments. But the side to side is WAY OFF! No way to compensate for it?!?

What others should know: I really wanted to like this gun! Unfortunately you do not always get what you are paying for! I would definitely NOT RECOMMEND TO ANYONE!

Sort by:
  • 1234 Next
  • Showitems
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    1.0 1.0

    By William from USA on 2018-07-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Seems well built, has a nice size to it. Beautiful rifle

    Things I would have changed: Windage adjustment arrived broken and only goes one direction. Rifle couldn't hit the broad side of a barn

    What others should know: I purchased this rifle about 2 months ago, only had it for a few weeks before I had to go to Europe for a few months, so I never got a chance to return it and am stuck with it. Already looking for a new airgun for when I get home, the 460 was literally one of the most unsatisfying purchases I have ever made.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Josh from USA on 2018-07-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I have not had this rifle for very long but I have already put about 600 pellets downrange and I absolutely love it! Gun is very accurate and shoots hard. I have found it actually shoots all sorts of weights and pellet types great but have concluded to using jsb diablo exact jumbo 18.13, s. They shoot flat and accurate, have a ton of energy and I just cronied them to shooting 775fps which is excellent. 14.3's crony at 860ish which is also great.T06 trigger is a joy to use.

    Things I would have changed: Something I'm surprised no one has mentioned (that I've seen) about this rifle is the absolutely garbage safety. I thought it was broken out of the box but that's just the way they are apparently. The engineer who came up with that design needs to be slapped by a large german man. That is really my only complaint about this gun, which luckily is not a make or break feature on any gun for me.

    What others should know: Springers take maintenance. Just don't let them go and they perform for a long time. Give the screws a tightness check after every time you take it out. They are usually fine once the gun breaks in. As others have mentioned the gun is on the heavy side but not rediculous by any means and balances very well. The gun is made of dense wood and steel which is why its heavy and also why they are accurate and reliable! . Also, I got some great advice from PA about what to and not to do with these guns as far as maintenance and I highly recommend talking to them before you purchase and use any rifle. They were very helpful and I really can't say enough good about PA's customer service and this rifle!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Jack from USA on 2018-05-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Well made rifle; the stock is beautiful and fit and finish is excellent. I had Pyramyd attach the scope, sight it in, and test fire the rifle (20 for 20). I received a chronograph tape showing the pellet speeds for the 20 pellets test fired, which is nice to have. I am very happy with the folks at Pyramyd, and feel this rifle is well worth the money.

    Things I would have changed: It takes some effort to cock the under lever, but nothing that can't be handled by most people.

    What others should know: I'm still breaking the rifle in, so I can't rate the accuracy as of yet. This rifle is rather heavy, so my next purchase will be for a good tripod.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Chuck G. from USA on 2018-05-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This did what I thought was impossible. I took out a groundhog that was terrorizing my shed all Spring. I finally brought out the 460 and sighted it using the Axeon Absolute Zero. After that, I was confident I would hit my target. This was the first time I got dime sized bulls-eyes ever. One day this big groundhog was eating my wife's bush and one shot took him out. You would have thought it was a powder gun. I probably have to give some credit to the scope since the shot was about 35 yards, but the gun's accuracy is incredible.

    Things I would have changed: I've had this rifle for 3 years and just love it. I would say it would be nice if it was lighter but most rifles in this category weigh about the same.

    What others should know: I own 6 RWS/Diana rifles and love every one of them. I only wish I had just sprung for the top of the line instead of buying each model as I moved up. I can't bring myself to sell them but if I had to, I'd keep the 460 and 350 Magnum.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Thomas from USA on 2018-05-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Quality German made, under barrel cocker, hard hitting consistent accuracy with the right pellets.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: You get what you pay for, this gun costs more than run of the mill center-fire hunting rifles but could be a survival tool for small game when a single shot counts. JSB jumbo diabolo in 22 cal seems to work good with shots inside a quarter at 25 yards.

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By David from USA on 2018-04-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I like the look and feel of the gun and it has power in spades!

    Things I would have changed: I could NOT get this gun to shoot straight! Any ideas? Anyone? I first put a UTG droop compensator rail to fix the up and down adjustments. But the side to side is WAY OFF! No way to compensate for it?!?

    What others should know: I really wanted to like this gun! Unfortunately you do not always get what you are paying for! I would definitely NOT RECOMMEND TO ANYONE!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Pezhman from USA on 2018-03-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: German made, accuracy, powerful and beuty are impressive.

    Things I would have changed: A little heavy and not suitable for young people with less weight. I am 160 pounds which I feel it a little heavy. So, consider your weight proportion before ordering one of them.

    What others should know: Buy one of them. They worth absolutely.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mark from USA on 2018-02-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great power and accuracy.

    Things I would have changed: The air rifle is a bit pricey, but you have to understand that quality costs money.

    What others should know: Excellent for hunting small game!

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    2.0 2.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Eloboferos on 2018-01-25
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Accuracy, wood stock

    Things I would have changed: This rifle is loud! hinge pin

    What others should know: Don`t be fooled by the raving reviews, this rifle had some quality control issues, five shoots and the hinge pin snap! $500 rifle and only last it five shoots! One big mistake, oh and you have to replace the hinge pin!, just imagine yourself taking apart your top of line brand new rifle after only a few shots! sad really sad. I have hatsan 95 thousands of shots no problem, second mistake was buying it from another vendor who will not accept returns, before you buy it watch some videos, this rifle is not backyard friendly, is like shooting a 22lr!

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    5.0 5.0

    By David from USA on 2016-08-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: A beautiful gun and extremely accurate from a bench rest with both JSB 15.89 and JSB 18.13 grain .22 cal. pellets. A bit heavy for me to shoot accurately off hand. Fit and finish is very nice.

    Things I would have changed: If possible, make it a bit lighter. Also beef up the pin connecting the cocking levers to the spring mechanism. Mine broke after 250 to 300 shots. So I sent it back to Umarex USA today at a cost of about $65.00 for shipping both ways. I have seen other reviews complaining about this pin breaking so I'm hoping the replacement pin specs have been up graded to address this problem.

    What others should know: Though this rifle is extremely accurate for a springer, it does not live up to the advertised power specs. Mine shot the JSB 15.89 g averaging 748.5 ft/sec yielding 19.78 ft lb and the 18.13 g averaged 698.6 ft/sec yielding 19.66 ft lb of energy. The .22 cal. Hatsan 95 I purchased as a gift for my brother averaged 19.50 ft lb of energy at 30% of the cost.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Nathan from USA on 2016-06-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Very well built and beautiful air gun. Great trigger. Easy cocking. Accuracy with JSB 15.89 grains .5 to 1.5 inch at 20 yards. Not hold sensitive.

    Things I would have changed: This gun is very heavy. To put this in perspective, it is heavier than my M1 Garand, my Sks, my M1A, my 45 70 Marlin, pretty much heavier than any other gun I have. No way to put a strap on it easily, and can't mount a bit pod without drilling into stock. Shooting freehand is very difficult due to weight, and I am not weak. The use of a strap during shooting would be helpful. These issues limit this to a bench gun in my opinion. Gun is too heavy to carry and to shoot off hand.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Johnny Lightening from USA on 2016-04-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: I have owned the 460 for 30 days. The accuracy with JSB Exact Jumbo 15.89gr. is pretty terrific. I have 700 rounds through mine. H&N FTT Powers are great too. I can sit on the deck of my steps and hit bottle caps @ 40yds just holding the rifle and resting the forehand arm on my knee! The fit and finish is pretty sweet and it's not that heavy at all. I think it cocks easy. ( I am a 58 year old and I am 5'11", and 175 pounds) The T06 trigger is super...

    Things I would have changed: The cocking lever pin on mine broke @ about 450 rounds. I purchased a new one from PA because I am waiting for Umarex USA to respond. The fact is this pin breaking has been a well documented issue with this rifle. I have replaced it with a tool steel, polished, stainless, machine pin. It's smoother and it's the kind of steel that should be used in such a high stress point.

    What others should know: The energy is around 21-22 pounds. The pellets that are accurate are going around 800-835 depending on weight. I am glad I didn't let knowing about the substandard cocking lever pin didn't stop me from making the purchase. If you don' t own an underlever this is a good one for $500...

  • 3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    4.0 4.0

    By t.b.c. from USA on 2016-01-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.52 ratings

    Things I liked: Not much ,very heavy ,wont shoot accurate 50y freehand, grate on a rest, but hard to carry a rest on a squirrel hunt !

    Things I would have changed: The 1st thing is have it shoot advertised speed, the only thing it shoots at advertised speed is 3 cleaning wads. I've shot over $250.00 worth of every kind &shape pellets you can imagine &cronied them, some we're grate to 30ybut lost stability past that, some dropped to fast to use for hunting ,but finally found 2 grate ones &1 medium weight one that are good to 75y ,&thats after sending it in for repair (what a inconvenience ) because it wouldn't shoot over7?? fps with anything!

    What others should know: You better have a lot of free time, to season the barrel &try dozens &dozens of pellets to finally get a super heavy gun to be a bench rest tack driver at 50y ,& dont expect 1100fps with anything other than the 3 cleaning wads! I'm very disappointed to have over $1000.00 in this gun,scope, laser, without all the trial pellets & shipping back because it wasn't right out of the box in the first place, & god knows how many man hrs . testing everything, but if held correctly &enuff time to settle in ,it will drop a squirrel at 50+y .

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gary from USA on 2015-11-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.02 ratings

    Things I liked: I like the physical size, the ease of cocking, the trigger, the accuracy and the power. Actually every thing about this rifle is excellent.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing to change

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By james from Spain on 2015-10-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.52 ratings

    Things I liked: nice stock and blueing to metal work,found this gun shoulders well and is quite light to hold ,t06 trigger fabulously smooth.very accurate ,using the iron sights till i recieve bullseye mount

    Things I would have changed: nothing really,only thing when cocking not as smooth as my weirauch hw77,ive heard they ship this dry with no lube so am going to strip it down and see if a lube smoothes out cocking,seems the breech is grinding when cocking,expected better from gun this price

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    5.0 5.0

    By William H. from USA on 2015-09-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings

    Things I liked: I've had this rifle for about a year. It's very accurate and powerful. Confidence inspiring! However after about 500 rounds thru the rifle ... the cocking lever components broke ... more specifically a small pin within the cocking assembly ... rendering the rifle unusable. I am disappointed that UMAREX (DIANA RWS US agent) cannot provide the replacement part (pin) needed to repair the rifle.

    Things I would have changed: Improve the engineering of the components to withstand the pressures this rifle generates. Also either allow US customers to purchase spare parts from Germany ... OR ... find another US agent (UMAREX is currently the agent) to provide service and spare parts to US customers. Unfortunately DIANA RWS refers spare parts enquiries to UMAREX USA and UMAREX does not have sufficient parts in stock.

    What others should know: I believe this rifle has an engineering fault. i.e. some components are not robust enough for the stresses generated. A small pin in the cocking lever broke on my 460 magnum. I believe this pin is not strong enough for the pressures required to cock the rifle. My suspicions were confirmed by UMAREX (US service agent for Diana RWS) who told me that this particular pin is back ordered, i.e. several 460 magnum customers are needing this replacement part ... apparently as a result of breaking the pin as I did. UMAREX also cannot give me any estimate of when the needed spar part will be available and UMAREX will not take my contact info to notify me when the spare part is available. UMAREX sats "telephone us every two weeks" when they admit the spares have been ordered for 6 months and they don't know when they will arrive. When I suggested my bringing the broken rifle to UMAREX facilities for their inspection they discouraged this saying their facilities (Ft Smith AR) are a "closed campus"

  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By t.b.c. from USA on 2015-09-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: Low recoil,very nice looking.

    Things I would have changed: Have it approach the advertised speed .

    What others should know: Had to send the 1st one back,shot way to slow ! They did their thing & I gained 80 to 110 fps but still way slower than I expected, about 785fps w/premier 14.6gr. which is best flying ,&most acc. so far out of the 18 diff.pellets I've tested &cronied, even after a long seasoning in. I cant get anything to croni. out near 1000fps but 3 cleaning wads. Gamo raptors pba 875 to 911 fps h&n snipper light 14 gr. 825ish but fall out of breech, jbsmatch 13.73gr 812ish, fps. but they corkscrew fly a little. It has taken a lot more work to get a 50y gun than I expected! I'm a little disappointed that it's not in the 900+ range with a 14gr.pellet but at this point I can live with it . I never thought I'd put over 1000$ into a pellet gun , but with a good mt. &hawke scope ,& pellet trials thats what I've wound up with ! I would think twice before you get into this gun,or have good dedication to find out what your gun will like &shoot well. It could be a grate gun for some or a nightmare ! ! !

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Triage' from USA on 2015-07-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.52 ratings

    Things I liked: Beautiful craftsmanship, super accurate.

    Things I would have changed: A tad on the heavy side.

    What others should know: May want to add a high quality scope.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Christopher from USA on 2015-07-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Things I liked: Good morning, I purchased the 460 in the 177 caliber, I liked it so much, I bought the 22 caliber. I've had a springer before but with the recoil it had I couldn't hit anything. Ended up taking it back, so I was a little concerned about the accuracy. I am happy to say both calibers shoot dead on, with a little slop, due to not being comfortable as I need to be.

    Things I would have changed: The plastic sights. The sights could be somewhat narrower. Better instructions on how to care (lube) the airgun.

    What others should know: The scope that is listed with the package, is not rated for a high recoil airgun. I am upset with Pyramid Air for not listing their scopes with a recoil rating.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By JohnB from USA on 2015-06-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: Very well made gun. Smooth trigger and negligible spring twang. Still trying to find the right pellet and hold with this gun. Put a UTG true Hunter 3-9x40 with Illuminated reticle and hitting spinners at 50 yds now and grouping average 1 inch at 50 yds with Crosman Premier hollow points. This pellet has a consistent fit in barrel. This gun should last a long time. Just need to shoot it more.

    Things I would have changed: The weight distribution of the gun. Not balanced like my other guns. Wish it came in Ambidextrous model. Louder than any of my other guns. Can't shoot in my backyard at certain times because of the noise. Hopefully the gun will quiet down some. A Muzzle brake would help here.The front sight looks cheap compared to other features of this gun.

    What others should know: I'm only giving four stars because to really do a good review it should be over a period of time before a decision is made. Put a good scope on this and you'll be good to 50+ yds. Have been taking out moles and chipmunks consistently at this distance. Artillery hold works best for me. Have fun and always shoot with safety in mind! Use the HAWKE Ballistic App. Give all kind of great data with different pellet types,POI, Velocity, Kinetic energy graphs at different distances. Very accurate to gauge your Kill zone and best range. Everything you will need to make consistent hits.

     
  • 1234 Next
Navigation