Date: 26/9/2020 8:34
0

Customer Reviews for Diana 460 Magnum

Average Customer Review

4.5 (86 reviews)

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:4.0

Accuracy:4.0

By martintheterrible from USA on 2008-01-20 13:21:21

Things I liked: Wood stock is absolutely Beautiful. Underlever cocking is better than a break barrel. Action is smooth with very little recoil. I wasn't sure if I wanted to spend the money on such an expensive rifle but now I'm glad that I did. This rifle packs a PUNCH !

Things I would have changed: I would prefer a metal trigger. As for the issue with the awkwardness of having to de-cock, I just discharge the round into the ground.

What others should know: I purchased the .22 cal to kill pigeons and opossum. You can hear the impact when the pellet hits the target. I have shot several pigeons. With a heavy pellet and a head shot the pigeons usually drop with very little fight. However, there have been times that I have used a lighter pellet and been beyond 30 yards or so and the pellet rises or doesn't have enough force to put a kill shot on the pigeon. It's like trying to throw a ping pong ball a hundred miles per hour. I have not shot a opposum yet. I'd imagine that it will take a very well placed head shot to knock a opposum out cold. We'll see.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:2.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Dan from USA on 2019-07-15 15:46:50

Things I liked: The rifle I have is very accurate

Things I would have changed: My rifle broke after several hundred pellets so I am disappointed by the lack of long term quality, is this what to expect from Diana ??

Sort by:
  • 12345 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By JOHN ORAZIO on 2020-06-11
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Things I liked: I'VE HUNTED WITH PELLET GUNS SINCE 1959, HAD MANY PELLET RIFLES AND THIS IS BEST I'VE HAD FOR HUNTING. MY 460 WORKS BEST ON FIRST COLD SHOT WITH JSB 18.13 GR. DIABOLO. AIR ARMS 18 GR & CROSSMAN HOLLOW POINT ALSO. I USE A SIZER & SCALE FOR FIRST SHOT PERFECTION.

    Things I would have changed: SIGHTS

    What others should know: YOU HAVE TO TRY ALL PELLETS & WEIGHTS TO FIND WHAT WORKS BEST. I TRIED & BROKE MANY SCOPES AND CAN WARN - ONLY BUY A LEUPOLD ONE TIME!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Roy from USA on 2020-05-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: The accuracy!!!

    Things I would have changed: Make the front sight and trigger quality metal instead of plastic.

    What others should know: I don't know if I just got an exceptional one of if they are all like this but mine is a absolute tack driver out to 50 yards and I'm getting old so I'm not as good as I once was but still shoot 1 inch groups all day at 50. I've had my gun for a long time now so this is no quick assessment. Mine is 7 or 8 years old now with absolutely no problems. It loves the Crossman Premier Hollowpoints.

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2020-05-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accuracy was great, stock is beautiful, very nicely weighted when you hold it.

    Things I would have changed: I had 4 of these in .22 cal before giving up on it, every one of them had an issue that the Crosman Premier domed pellets were falling out of the breach. When that happens it damages the breach seal and eventually the seal falls out resulting in huge valocity loss and loud bangs. Cocking effort is more like 45 lbs not 36 as they claim, maybe due to the short cocking lever?

    What others should know: It is a great gun when it works, I'm honestly bummed because I still want it but I wish Diana would pay more attention to details like described above. The one thing they got right in my opinion is the trigger, I can give up the Weihrauch trigger for the T06 any day.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gary from USA on 2020-04-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Really like the Diana460, I Have had it gor a couple years Now, It is a Quality rifle, smooth shooting/cycle, quiet, accurate with a Williams Peep sight. This is a heavy gun. Keeping it light weight as possible was my priority, No scope. Fit and finish are very nice, bluing deep and dark, stock is Nicely Finished, great coloring of finish, and checkering is very nice, while the stock is Not ambidextrous, it is still very usable with Peep sights. While cocking effort is a little heavy, it is Not bad.

    Things I would have changed: ambidextrous stock, Front sight is a Little to wide, But a fix is to use gun sight paint to paint a narrower vertical mark on the front sight, if you need it.

    What others should know: Stock sight radius is 16 inches, But with a Williams Peep Rear sight the sight radius is extended to almost 30 inches, and makes a Substantial difference. I have a Vortek spring kit that is ready to go into it soon.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By deffenda from USA on 2020-04-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like the power of this .22 springer. Very accurate at the 30 yards I have available in my yard. Haven't tried anything longer yet. This is a very well made gun overall. Some things feel like they need more beef for the power this puts out, but after several hundred rounds, its still working fine. I bought this about the same time I got a .22 Diana 34. I've shot a thousand + rounds through the 34. The 460 is smoother and far more powerful. I'm more accurate with the 460, but that's likely because its smoother and my mastery of an artillery hold is only ok at best. I do have a tune kit for the 34 I haven't installed yet. I don't feel the need for a tune kit for the 460, at least until the stock spring breaks.

    Things I would have changed: I wish the plastic "pivot" for the under lever were metal. That sure feels like weak point given the force involved. I've NO problems at all with this however.

    What others should know: I don't have a long or wide experience with springer pellet guns. I've always had a pellet gun. Only recently have any these been higher quality ones. Of the handful I've owned and dozen or so I've shot with some regularity, I prefer 460 to all of them. I like the accuracy AND the power of the 460. I'll probably still shoot the 34 more because I'll be plinking. But if I have to choose a Springer to kill a varmint in my yard or the pasture around the farm house at less than 50 yards, I'd grab this gun over all the other Springers I've shot. I've also recently gotten a .25 Gauntlet. Great, affordable PCP. Even with an accurate regulated PCP air rifle, I do not regret my purchase of either the 34 or the 460. The power of the .25 Gauntlet is great. I like having a repeater. I also like the idea, practicality and simplicity of a spring gun. The no contradiction in having and liking both.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By blake from USA on 2020-04-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This rifle is awesome. Hawke Vantage SF + Dianawerks mount were added. Zero'd in six shots. JSB 18.13. Will try Hades JSB next. Hits hard like a Dianawerks should!

    Things I would have changed: Excellent rifle for the price. Nice trigger. Classic lines.

    What others should know: I use JSB 14.3 too. 18.13gr for bigger varmints. I was nailing my 20, 40, 60, 70, and 80 yard gongs in the head all day. My first underleaver. I have the AirKing 54, 34, and 350 Mag compact and love them as well as my Weihrauchs. Love German Springers for over 45 years now. Thank you, Pyramydair.com / you all do a good job. We appreciate your great service.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Greg from USA on 2020-04-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: There is honestly NOTHING that I don't like about this rifle! It doesn't seem to be particularly hold sensitive or pellet fussy, and it actually really likes the inexpensive CHP 14.3 grain as much as any! After a good barrell cleaning and a little blue locktite on the stock screws (which is standard proceedure for any spring gun I acquire) I was able to shoot nickel sized groups consistently with open sights at 50' right out of the box. As for the recoil, the weight of the gun seems to absorb enough of it that it actually seems less harsh than some of my other non-magnum rifles. The physical attributes of the gun are very impressive as far as the bluing on the metal work and the finish on the stock and its checkering.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing that I can think of, honestly!

    What others should know: This gun is truly a pleasure to shoot and I don't regret this purchase at all. If I could only keep one rifle from my collection this would be it.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By AirHead from USA on 2020-02-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Underlever cocking, fixed barrel. aesthetically pleasing, quiet enough to be backyard friendly, low recoil for a springer, no special artillery hold required, iron sites.

    Things I would have changed: The windage adjustment instructions in my 2015 owner's manual are wrong. The manual states, "If the rifle shoots to the right, adjust clockwise. If to the left, adjust counterclockwise." The opposite is true. If the rifle shoots to the right, adjust counterclockwise. If to the left, adjust clockwise. Some have complained about how heavy it is. It is a bit heavy but I believe this heaviness reduces the recoil and therefore improves the accuracy.

    What others should know: I've owned this rifle for almost 5 years. A springer/nitro piston cannot handle as heavy of a pellet as a PCP. A PCP has a much larger blast of air than a springer/nitro piston. Once I realized this fact, I began buying pellets in the 14 grain range. Make sure you have a snug fit when you insert the pellet in the chamber. A loose pellet won't utilize the barrel rifling as well as a snug fitting pellet. I avoid hollow points in this rifle because of the aerodynamic disadvantage of a hollow point. Springers/nitro pistons need all the help you can give them to shoot accurately and far. Choose domed or pointed pellets in the 14 grain range and make sure you have a snug fit when inserting it in the chamber. Crossman premier pointed 14.3 gr. has been the best pellet I've discovered so far. One advantage a springer/nitro piston does have over a PCP. They are much quieter and less neighbor alerting than a PCP's release of a blast of air. This is still one of the best of springers/nitro pistons

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By gregory from USA on 2019-12-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The Diana 460 is accurate! I haven't experienced any mechanical issues and have shot 500 pellets. The clocking is fairly tough but the power trade off is definitely worth it! The guns is very reliable out to 70 yards and depending on your skills possibly more. I own other spring airguns and this one is my favorite by far!

    Things I would have changed: Pellet enters with the front sights is tricky. I removed the front sights and this fixed the issue.

    What others should know: You will love this gun.

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    2.0 2.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dan from USA on 2019-07-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: The rifle I have is very accurate

    Things I would have changed: My rifle broke after several hundred pellets so I am disappointed by the lack of long term quality, is this what to expect from Diana ??

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By V from USA on 2019-06-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is a high quality piece. It's large and in charge, and truly, POA=POI! Mine is in .22, and I don't have to work at it to get extreme accuracy. It was apparently designed to compete with the TX200, however, they are two different rifles, the only similarity being accuracy.

    Things I would have changed: The cocking effort is a bit much, however, I knew that going in. Since my rifle is extremely accurate, it would be well worth it to have a tune done to address that, and maybe get the max smoothness out of it.

    What others should know: I looked around, and Pyramyd Air had the very best price on this air rifle, by far! There are several used rifles out on the net that exceed what PA is charging for them...why would you buy such a thing when for the same price, or less, you can get unmatched customer service and attention to warranty issues, etc, by buying from PA? The bottom line is that I am VERY satisfied with this rifle, and it gets shot most every weekend!!!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By pelletking from USA on 2019-05-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Got this one about 8 months ago After break in found out crossman 10.5s are hole in hole no bigger than a dime at 30 yrds resettable safety is a plus Mine doesent seem to be all that heavy beautiful wood. & not that loud 1088 fps avrg

    Things I would have changed: WEAVER SCOPE MOUNT PLEASE

    What others should know: RWS makes a great 1 piece mount I use them on a lot of my more powerfull air rifle theare is a tension adjustment screw under the muzzle. small flat blade screwdriver works fine

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    1.0 1.0

    By William from USA on 2018-07-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Seems well built, has a nice size to it. Beautiful rifle

    Things I would have changed: Windage adjustment arrived broken and only goes one direction. Rifle couldn't hit the broad side of a barn

    What others should know: I purchased this rifle about 2 months ago, only had it for a few weeks before I had to go to Europe for a few months, so I never got a chance to return it and am stuck with it. Already looking for a new airgun for when I get home, the 460 was literally one of the most unsatisfying purchases I have ever made.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Josh from USA on 2018-07-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I have not had this rifle for very long but I have already put about 600 pellets downrange and I absolutely love it! Gun is very accurate and shoots hard. I have found it actually shoots all sorts of weights and pellet types great but have concluded to using jsb diablo exact jumbo 18.13, s. They shoot flat and accurate, have a ton of energy and I just cronied them to shooting 775fps which is excellent. 14.3's crony at 860ish which is also great.T06 trigger is a joy to use.

    Things I would have changed: Something I'm surprised no one has mentioned (that I've seen) about this rifle is the absolutely garbage safety. I thought it was broken out of the box but that's just the way they are apparently. The engineer who came up with that design needs to be slapped by a large german man. That is really my only complaint about this gun, which luckily is not a make or break feature on any gun for me.

    What others should know: Springers take maintenance. Just don't let them go and they perform for a long time. Give the screws a tightness check after every time you take it out. They are usually fine once the gun breaks in. As others have mentioned the gun is on the heavy side but not rediculous by any means and balances very well. The gun is made of dense wood and steel which is why its heavy and also why they are accurate and reliable! . Also, I got some great advice from PA about what to and not to do with these guns as far as maintenance and I highly recommend talking to them before you purchase and use any rifle. They were very helpful and I really can't say enough good about PA's customer service and this rifle!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Jack from USA on 2018-05-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Well made rifle; the stock is beautiful and fit and finish is excellent. I had Pyramyd attach the scope, sight it in, and test fire the rifle (20 for 20). I received a chronograph tape showing the pellet speeds for the 20 pellets test fired, which is nice to have. I am very happy with the folks at Pyramyd, and feel this rifle is well worth the money.

    Things I would have changed: It takes some effort to cock the under lever, but nothing that can't be handled by most people.

    What others should know: I'm still breaking the rifle in, so I can't rate the accuracy as of yet. This rifle is rather heavy, so my next purchase will be for a good tripod.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Chuck G. from USA on 2018-05-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This did what I thought was impossible. I took out a groundhog that was terrorizing my shed all Spring. I finally brought out the 460 and sighted it using the Axeon Absolute Zero. After that, I was confident I would hit my target. This was the first time I got dime sized bulls-eyes ever. One day this big groundhog was eating my wife's bush and one shot took him out. You would have thought it was a powder gun. I probably have to give some credit to the scope since the shot was about 35 yards, but the gun's accuracy is incredible.

    Things I would have changed: I've had this rifle for 3 years and just love it. I would say it would be nice if it was lighter but most rifles in this category weigh about the same.

    What others should know: I own 6 RWS/Diana rifles and love every one of them. I only wish I had just sprung for the top of the line instead of buying each model as I moved up. I can't bring myself to sell them but if I had to, I'd keep the 460 and 350 Magnum.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Thomas from USA on 2018-05-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Quality German made, under barrel cocker, hard hitting consistent accuracy with the right pellets.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: You get what you pay for, this gun costs more than run of the mill center-fire hunting rifles but could be a survival tool for small game when a single shot counts. JSB jumbo diabolo in 22 cal seems to work good with shots inside a quarter at 25 yards.

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By David from USA on 2018-04-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: I like the look and feel of the gun and it has power in spades!

    Things I would have changed: I could NOT get this gun to shoot straight! Any ideas? Anyone? I first put a UTG droop compensator rail to fix the up and down adjustments. But the side to side is WAY OFF! No way to compensate for it?!?

    What others should know: I really wanted to like this gun! Unfortunately you do not always get what you are paying for! I would definitely NOT RECOMMEND TO ANYONE!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Pezhman from USA on 2018-03-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: German made, accuracy, powerful and beuty are impressive.

    Things I would have changed: A little heavy and not suitable for young people with less weight. I am 160 pounds which I feel it a little heavy. So, consider your weight proportion before ordering one of them.

    What others should know: Buy one of them. They worth absolutely.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mark from USA on 2018-02-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Things I liked: Great power and accuracy.

    Things I would have changed: The air rifle is a bit pricey, but you have to understand that quality costs money.

    What others should know: Excellent for hunting small game!

     
  • 12345 Next
Navigation