Date: 22/11/2017 13:40
0

Seneca Dragon Claw 500cc Air Rifle reviews - page 1

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

6 of 8 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:4.0

By Vernon from USA on 2011-10-27 21:20:31

Things I liked: Dual tank, slightly less fps than single tank but does 4-5 closely spaced fps shots without resorting to using mil-dots to compensate for droop. First 5 shots use about 250 psi each and my POI seems to remain the same. I use a hand pump which is good for occasional shooting but I was wishing I had a scuba tank while sighting in the rifle! Finish of gun is good, bluing and stock are very nice. Gun is well balanced, lightweight, and is easy to hold and aim. It’s loud but not excessively loud, a cross between a black powder rifle and a .410 shotgun. I found the recoil to be light. Cocking effort was high initially but rapidly fell off. I lubed it with light oil and now it’s very smooth. Accuracy is good and improving. When I first got the gun, at 50 yards I was holding 4” center-to-center groupings. After working on the trigger, I’m down below 2.5” and can get shots within ¾” of my POI. All of my shots have been standing while using a tree to steady the rifle and I seat the bullets before firing each time. At 50 yards, 200 grain round nose bullets go 1 ½” into loosely held phone books, but the damage extends another ½” beyond and the channel is over 2” across (this is supposed to simulate shooting into bone). I’ve not shot many 225 grain HPs but they seem to have similar groupings as the 200s. I used a 3-9x32 Bug Buster and UTG mount from my RWS 34 and reversed the rail to give about ½” more eye relief. The UTG mount should let me use a 4-16x40 Leapers scope and clear the rear sight.

Things I would have changed: Polish and lube the trigger and sear at the factory. Lighter bullets to use against smaller animals.

What others should know: I hated the trigger when I first got the gun, it had high resistance, effort was high, and the travel was excessively long, you just pulled forever before it would fire. It took about fifteen minutes of polishing the trigger and sear, and lubing everything to get rid of this. It will never be a match trigger but now it’s smooth, I know when it will fire every time, and I keep the gun on target as I pull on the trigger. Use emery cloth and DO NOT alter your sear or trigger or you gun could become unsafe!

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Eric from USA on 2015-07-20 10:38:09

Things I liked: looks good

What others should know: Its hard to rate this gun. I loved it for a week than the top air compartment leaked after owning the gun and shooting less than 50 rounds. I disappointed that the warranty department told me 2-3 weeks to fix it, I am getting ready to ask for a refund.

Sort by:
  • 12 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By G man from USA on 2017-10-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is called the best of ,nothing equals its compact results in it`s field a world beater-she is out front -a must have.I showed it to the turkey guys and they loved it.And (not to belittle its usefullness) this is a pretty baby!

    Things I would have changed: I would need more time to think ...hard too beat

    What others should know: Lead ammo, more advanced please

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By janet from USA on 2017-05-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Love this air rifle. In fact I love it so much this is my second one since the first was taken in a home robbery. The rifle itself is well made and just a beauty to look at. The fit is excellent and detailed. Right out of the box it shot nearly dead on with the open sights. It maintained its power level better then the reviews suggested it with. I've put every type of air venturi pellet thru it they make. I like the hollow point but for general damage and destruction nothing beats the round ball. Alot of friends have shot it. Its been a eye opener for several retired sheriffs deputies locally as well as a couple hunters. It far exceeded their expectations and preconceptions.

    Things I would have changed: Make the rear sight easity removable. It interferes with mounting a scope. Also some way of conveniently mounting a gun sling to it would be outstanding. This is not a light rifle and a sling is a must for toteing it into the woods to hunt. Someone Please make a decent foot pump instead of the bicycle style .. Lets use body weight to pump this beast up instead of arm muscles. It would make it much more female friendly

    What others should know: This IS NOT a toy... this rifle will take down anything you shoot it at. Period. Deer, Hog, Coyote are not outside its scope. 2 inch oak boards crack in half at 40 yards from a strike with the round ball. Invest in a good pump, your going to be using it, it does take a bit of muscle to get it pumped to 200 bar. the air tank is great if your going to be shooting at the range, but not really practicle to carry with you else where.

  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Duane from USA on 2017-03-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This air gun is easy to use

    Things I would have changed: The rear sight permanent attachment point prevents the use of scope covers when using the the recommended Mantis 4-12x40 AO Rifle Scope. Either recommend scope rings that will provide better clearance or design the rear sight mount to allow it. There needs to be better information on the max range using the pellets, the air bolts are easy to determine the max deadly range.

    What others should know: Plan to do a lot of pumping if you choose the hand pump to re-charge the Dragon Claw

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Lt. One Wolf from USA on 2017-03-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The rifle overall is a work of art. Love the accuracy and the extreme power that you can rely on. Great for hunting and some serious plinking, but defiantly not back yard friendly.

    Things I would have changed: Would love to see this rifle in a semi-auto. Plus it would be nice to be able to add a sling. But overall a really good one for the collection.

    What others should know: This is definitely not a toy and should be treated with the utmost respect.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By William from USA on 2017-03-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Robust build and reliable.

    Things I would have changed: More power and better trigger.

    What others should know: After a Saddle Mountain tune this gun shoots the AIR BOLT at 600 FPS and 193 gr. balls at 840 FPS.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Jeffrey from USA on 2017-01-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: All in one crazy power & holds its PSI

    Things I would have changed: more than a single shot for hunting

    What others should know: Thee best on the market

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kent from USA on 2016-12-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is a great gun for the money! I hope to go hunting for small game soon.

    Things I would have changed: More energy!

    What others should know: Shoots the same ammo as my muzzleloader.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Rod from USA on 2016-12-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It looks very sharp it is easy to fill and shoot. My 10 and 12 year old children have a blast shooting this rifle.So far I am very pleased with this purchase.

    Things I would have changed: I would like to see a longer fore arm and the front site could be of a better design. On the sights a day glow or some type of high vis would be nice.

    What others should know: This rifle is fun to shoot it is a little pricey as is the ammo. Other than that well worth the money for me.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By anand from USA on 2016-10-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Let me sum up this gun in one word, POWER. Everyone who handles, uses air guns should do so with care. Especially if you're handling this gun. Sam Yang have created a true hunting airgun, ripe with power and energy. It has a beautiful wooden stock, and a midnight blue barrel. I have personally taken down 168 pound whitetail deer at 60 yards with this. It was a buck, I used 200 grain steel tip bullets, ran 25 yards and dropped, heart shot. If you're primary concern is hunting this thing will do a good job. I would not recommend hunting or trying to hunt any larger game than 250 pounds, why because it would be less humane for anything bigger, albeit within the right set of parameters like distance, shot placement etc it would be fine. But any hunter will tell you, you don't always get the favorable ideal shots most of the time. The other reason is well you might just end up injuring the animal and not really delivering a fatal blow, good luck tracking it.

    Things I would have changed: I wish I could attach a bipod to this gun, haven't found any that are compatible. At first glance it is sorta funky looking, and should come with a sling considering it is 10 plus pounds. The barrel can get easily prone to rust, extra care and maintenance required. Since bullets need to be placed in the chamber and seated in, it's difficult to take out if you decide not to fire, which means you either discharge the bullet, wasting it, or take it back home loaded. It's not a repeater, single shot only. Don't shoulder the weapon for too long, or else you will feel fatigue, affecting accuracy. The thing is not backyard friendly, it is loud, but not loud enough to need ear protection.

    What others should know: If you want to hunt with this thing, get a sling coz walking a mile into the woods with this thing gets tedious. Get the tank with the gun, it's possible to manually pump it, in fact I do, I am 200 pounds, 5.11 and it's a decent workout for me. One important thing to note, 9/10 times the bullet will pass through the deer, sometimes if it's a big buck it might, depending on your shot, not pass through, either case there is very little or no blood to track the game, so be prepared to search a little. If it's a good shot and you hit vitals look within a 20/40 yard radius. It will take time but if you hit it with this gun, trust me it's down! I have had a cousin who used my gun miss out on a big doe coz he couldn't track her and find her, got too dark, by next morning coyotes got her. The gun holds accuracy up to 88 yards for me, with 1.8/2.6 inch groupings, and the first 5 shots on high power with a full fill are your kill shots. Anything past that eh I wouldn't recommend it

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Everett from USA on 2016-09-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: i like the the way the dragon claw looks and feels when i am holding it

    Things I would have changed: a bit more power would not hurt

    What others should know: it is a fun gun to have and very cool

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By warren from USA on 2016-09-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The gun really handles nice people talked about the trigger being heavy I did find it that way I found the trigger to be more than adequate for hunting overall I really like the gun

    Things I would have changed: Really right now I can't think of anything

    What others should know: I had a little trouble filling the gun air would come back out then they told me to hold it upside down and open the breach and that worked fine

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gerald from USA on 2016-03-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: First I have say this PCP is awesome and great addition to my collection. But let me give you a history into PCP.Got into PCP after I told my self I wouldn't. My first buy was the Benjamin Discovery and out of the box it leaked what looks from the gauge port O rings, still leaking. Next I bought a Benjamin Marauder. 22 pistol, yep you guessed it, it leaked but was fixed after tighten the foster fill port. Feeling lucky I purchased a .177 Marauder and everything was great out of the box but I wanted a .22 cal Marauder. This was a disaster of a buy, the gauge medal readout came loose and this one leaked air. After removing the plastic lens and repositioning the metal read out and giving the presure gauge a little twist I have it up to par. Feeling lucky I purchase and received my Sam Yang Dragon Claw today. After a few asembley things I tried to pressures the gun, no go so out come the Dawn. Bubbles coming from the Foster fitting, it was a little more then finger tight. It may be the black cloud I live under or I'm just unlucky. PS The first two was ordered from Amazon, the others where received from Pymaridair.

    Things I would have changed: Better assembly from the manufacturer and testing before it's leaves their factory. I can't be the only person receiving these type of problems at the prices of the product.

    What others should know: If you want a hard hitting PCP the Sam Yang Dragon Claw needs your consideration.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Eric from USA on 2015-07-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: looks good

    What others should know: Its hard to rate this gun. I loved it for a week than the top air compartment leaked after owning the gun and shooting less than 50 rounds. I disappointed that the warranty department told me 2-3 weeks to fix it, I am getting ready to ask for a refund.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By EMMANUEL from USA on 2015-01-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Massive and good quality and can accept larger .50 cal grains.

    Things I would have changed: Black synthetic and tactical stock version, Picanny rails and longer and thinne barrel to add a bipod w Picanny rail

    What others should know: No place to add a bipod and the scope rail you have to get another adapter that will accept a Picanny rail mounted scope.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    2.0 2.0

    By anthony from USA on 2014-12-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Although this is my first review of this rifle, I did purchase this back in 2012. It is loud, but I like loud guns. However after the fifth shout the rubber rings on the loading breach broke. I sent it to air venturi for repairs and so far everything works as designed. What I found disappointing about this rifle is the droop on the barrel. The machine work on this barrel is second rate. I'm still looking for the right scope for this rifle, and as you may can tell, I havent shoot it often enough to work out all the kinks.

    Things I would have changed: design a magazine to make it a repeater

    What others should know: woodwork is nice but the stamped receiver could be made better and the cocking hammer should be more smoother. It almost feels like cocking a 250 - lb crossbow.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By brendon from USA on 2014-11-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I bought this gun months ago and once I fixed the port/adaptor issues......I absolutely loved/love it! The power is ridiculous! Tears massive holes through just about everything! This gun is so much fun. It's pretty light weight as well, the wood is nice, the blueing is nice, just an all around fun gun. Also the low and high setting is great

    Things I would have changed: I talked to the tech guys at pyramyd and they told me that the adaptor/port from factory is kinda hmmmm. Not made well and outdated I guess is the best way to describe it. At first I could not pump the gun, but once I swapped the entire port factory fitting with a quick connect.....it worked like a charm. It's like a little air tool, quick to connect and disconnect. Also I would change the kinda corny and cheap etching on the side of the gun. The cast metal on the gun looks a little cheap

    What others should know: Know that when you buy this you should buy the male connect from the tech department. Don't let this little flaw stop you from owning this gun. It's a cheap fix and we'll worth it!! This is another gun in my collection that people are very intrigued about. Overall this is a great gun and easy and fun to operate, I highly recommend

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Keith from USA on 2014-07-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: wood work and engraving and cheek piece for ease of viewing thru scope.

    Things I would have changed: Updated the old dovetail scope mounts to Weaver/Picatinny mount system it provides more stable accurate sighting system for whats largely available in scopes.

    What others should know: This PCP Air Gun is accurate if you get the right ammo.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Bo from USA on 2013-12-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Great rifle, quality made. Very accurate.

    Things I would have changed: none

    What others should know: Buy it! you won't regret it!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By lieman from USA on 2013-09-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: EVERY THING. I HAVE HAD MINE FOR A WHILE NOW. I expected to use not so often, but started shooting file cabnets 12 ga steel right thru + 19/32 plywood. 336 gr. ammo. Very much fun.

    Things I would have changed: no!

    What others should know: You will love it for price, ammo not cheap.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By jeff from USA on 2013-06-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Ability to use different caliber bullets , I can use 240grain 50 cal or I can use 45 cal saboted bullets or balls and the velocity and shots per fill goes way up

    Things I would have changed: Maybe offer it with a case and scope pre mounted

    What others should know: Pyramid air always has the gun or parts I need I highly recommend them

  • 12 Next
Navigation