Date: 20/10/2020 10:17
0

Customer Reviews for Seneca Dragon Claw

Average Customer Review

4.5 (48 reviews)
3 star
Seneca Dragon Claw
Pre-order

Out of Stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

6 of 8 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:4.0

By Vernon from USA on 2011-10-27 21:20:31

Things I liked: Dual tank, slightly less fps than single tank but does 4-5 closely spaced fps shots without resorting to using mil-dots to compensate for droop. First 5 shots use about 250 psi each and my POI seems to remain the same. I use a hand pump which is good for occasional shooting but I was wishing I had a scuba tank while sighting in the rifle! Finish of gun is good, bluing and stock are very nice. Gun is well balanced, lightweight, and is easy to hold and aim. It’s loud but not excessively loud, a cross between a black powder rifle and a .410 shotgun. I found the recoil to be light. Cocking effort was high initially but rapidly fell off. I lubed it with light oil and now it’s very smooth. Accuracy is good and improving. When I first got the gun, at 50 yards I was holding 4” center-to-center groupings. After working on the trigger, I’m down below 2.5” and can get shots within ¾” of my POI. All of my shots have been standing while using a tree to steady the rifle and I seat the bullets before firing each time. At 50 yards, 200 grain round nose bullets go 1 ½” into loosely held phone books, but the damage extends another ½” beyond and the channel is over 2” across (this is supposed to simulate shooting into bone). I’ve not shot many 225 grain HPs but they seem to have similar groupings as the 200s. I used a 3-9x32 Bug Buster and UTG mount from my RWS 34 and reversed the rail to give about ½” more eye relief. The UTG mount should let me use a 4-16x40 Leapers scope and clear the rear sight.

Things I would have changed: Polish and lube the trigger and sear at the factory. Lighter bullets to use against smaller animals.

What others should know: I hated the trigger when I first got the gun, it had high resistance, effort was high, and the travel was excessively long, you just pulled forever before it would fire. It took about fifteen minutes of polishing the trigger and sear, and lubing everything to get rid of this. It will never be a match trigger but now it’s smooth, I know when it will fire every time, and I keep the gun on target as I pull on the trigger. Use emery cloth and DO NOT alter your sear or trigger or you gun could become unsafe!

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Eric from USA on 2015-07-20 10:38:09

Things I liked: looks good

What others should know: Its hard to rate this gun. I loved it for a week than the top air compartment leaked after owning the gun and shooting less than 50 rounds. I disappointed that the warranty department told me 2-3 weeks to fix it, I am getting ready to ask for a refund.

Sort by:
  • 123 Next
  • Showitems
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Tony from USA on 2020-09-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I bought the package deal. Very happy overall. It's a beautiful rifle, seems well built. It sure is fun watching those large pellets slam into your target. Can't wait to hunt pigs with it. I haven't tried the air bolts yet. It's easy to use, very powerful but it is loud....about like a 22 rifle. It's very easy to load pellets. It's an expensive gun bit I don't regret buying it.

    Things I would have changed: The bolt action is very stiff and so is the trigger. I have a hard time getting into low power because I have to pull so hard that it just goes straight back to high power. I'm not too pleased with the scope that came with the package, it's been hard to keep on zero. I zero in at 20 yards but it seems to shift a little. I've only put about 125 rounds through this, so still have some playing to do. I will probably send it to saddle mountain for super tune for a little more power to reach out to 75 yards.

    What others should know: I bought the suppressor from Donny Fl. It still has some good sound to it but I can now shoot it in my back yard in a regular neighborhood. I built a backstop with composite Decking boards, three boards thick. That's some very solid and dense material. The pellets go clean through the first board and bury into the second one. You can put your pinky in the hold it leaves. In contract my Benjamin Marauder just barely buries a pellet in this material, but I love that gun too. I'm having decent accuracy out to 50 yards. Beyond that it's gets a little sporadic. I like the 215 grain pellets best. I'm surprised how well the round balls shoot. Had to go with 3 stars on accuracy.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Matt from USA on 2020-08-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: once sighted in at 40 yds. took out 5 groundhogs at 20 to 100 yds. being the nice guy i am, the buzzards are satisfied.

    Things I would have changed: cannot use the scope.

    What others should know: this thing definitely has the hitting power.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By James on 2020-03-22
    Was this review helpful?
    4.663 ratings

    Things I liked: This is one awesome Big Bore AG. Was a little rattled when we initially received the gun. Its beauty with the wood stock and blue barrels. It puts you in the mode of wanting to shoot for days. And the dual projectile capability is next to none. Round Ball, Arrows, and Pellet shots.

    Things I would have changed: We purchase as used and the no instruction about installing cocking mechanism. And after it was shot a few rounds it became loose again. This is too nice of a AG to have small issue like this.

    What others should know: Tons of fun and a must have in a collection

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By William from USA on 2020-03-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.03 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Everything is awesome shooting 1 " groups all day long 100yds all slugs love .500 round ball

    Things I would have changed: Sling months little heavy

    What others should know: Shoot like a dream has lots and lots of power

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By darrin from USA on 2020-03-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very happy, shoots like a rifle.

    Things I would have changed: The rifle is useless if it heats up and ruptures a burst disc. You will have one heck of a time finding a replacement burst disc. Would be much better if it had some sort of pop-off valve in the event of an over pressure event.

    What others should know: You'll be surprised at the quality and performance

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jordan from USA on 2019-12-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Its a really nice looking gun and it shoots really well I havent shot anything quite the same its a lot of fun and well worth the money

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By blake from USA on 2019-10-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Massive power It's pretty too Balances well offhand Making hits on gong at 100 yards open sights. Blew through 2" solid pine board (newer) from 100'.

    Things I would have changed: Add a good trigger like on the old Career 707 Mk II. It had a grooved gold trigger. 7lb trigger pull should be 3lb to hunt with optics. I hunt this rifle open sights.

    What others should know: On cocking arm I busted an Allen nut. I was cocking it loosey-goosey. No good. Place butt on arm of sofa. Push down cocking arm with heel of thumb. Keep pressure perpendicular to sofa arm, ie., straight down. This will help keep Allen nut from shearing.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ronald from USA on 2019-09-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Everything except stiff bolt. The fit and finish is something to behold. Would like to just mount it on the wall as a work of art. Was surprised at the power.

    Things I would have changed: maybe lube the bolt so that its doesn't catch going to high power. After working it a number of times the catch is pretty much go and think with more use it will be fine.

    What others should know: Came with cast round balls. From my black powder days it was important to load the sprue in the patch toward the muzzle. Not sure how to consistently load round balls with this breech arrangement.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By pepegraves from USA on 2019-08-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: This is a very powerful big game hunting rifle that I have taken several deer with. It has the potential for a lot more power with a few modifications. It's an easy to handle, relatively light rifle dispite it's bulky look. Little to no recoil to speak of

    Things I would have changed: I'd make it come with a match trigger and noise reduction...maybe a 4 shot magazine

    What others should know: There are lots of bullets out there for this caliber. If you plan to hunt big game use Hollow points

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By David from USA on 2019-04-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Has good power - truly capable of bringing down big game with a well placed shot

    Things I would have changed: Leaks - will not maintain a charge overnight Forestock too short to accommodate a rifle sling Should lose the corny Wild West engraving on the action Have to pull painfully hard to cock - should use a lever action One 500cc CF tank would look better, weigh less, accommodate 300bar, and result in a more balanced rifle

    What others should know: It's quite loud There's a real paucity of serious 50 cal. ammo - meaning hollow point, casted, weighed, inspected. Pellet to pellet imperfections factor in accuracy Realistically, you have four dependable shots with 336 gr. wadcutters before significant pressure and accuracy deterioration

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Brian from USA on 2019-01-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The Dragon Claw is a awesome air gun. It's very good looking with a lot of detail on the stock and gun itself. Seems to be very well build and it has an okay trigger pull. My was refurbished but it look's new it came well packed from Pyramyd Air for someone like me the only way to go. I have wanted one for many years I do have the same thing in .357 and I love it. The gun has never had any problem's and it's a great shooter. However my brother has moved to Texas and I have always wanted to go pig hunting with an air gun. Not sure if the .357 has enough killing power but I'm sure I will give it a try when I go to Texas, I plan on taking both guns. I have only been able to put about 20 rounds or so in the .50 but wow it packs a punch nice big hole's I am sure it will do the job. The .357 is much flatter shooting at 100 yard's but the .50 can get there too for sure, I would say buy either guns both are very nice. I'm glad I have had the chance to own them Both.

    Things I would have changed: The gun is a little on the heavy side but feels real good in the shooting position. The only thing I would change are the sight's on both gun's for the price point of this rifle it could have come with better sight's. I have a 200 dollar Gamo .22 air rifle that has much better sight's. I did put some white enamel on the .357 which did help. I'm sure I will do the same to my new .50 cal Dragon Claw.

    What others should know: Both of these gun's are not back yard gun's unless you live in the middle of the wood's with nobody around for miles. They are extremely loud and powerful they are no joke air gun's not your every day pellet gun's. They are both great gun's and I would highly recommend both gun's to any person who loves air gunning. Both would complete most collection's way cool to shoot and not your average day air pellet gun. I am not a dooms day person but if I was what a great gun this would make you can use a hand pump to to fill it with air. I think you would also want a Ruger 10-22 my all time favorite gun to shoot. I'm a regular guy with not much time left on this earth. I have had a great life and have always loved to shoot. Make the most of every day and do more of what makes you happy. Good luck to you all and always treat any gun like it's loaded be safe and have fun.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By chace from USA on 2018-04-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Things I liked: Really like it

    Things I would have changed: Magazine to speed up shots

    What others should know: Great product

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Victor from USA on 2018-03-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Nice stock hard hitting shots per fill and great pricing from Pyramyd air

    Things I would have changed: Cocking lever and weight of gun

    What others should know: Get a sling because gun is not light and use ear protection because gun is loud

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2018-02-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: This rifle is awesome. Looks great , feels great , shoots great. Very Happy.

    Things I would have changed: lower rail system, under tank, little better front sight, something you can see better when the sun starts to go down. maybe a little better trigger pull. Trust me none of these things i bring up hurt the rifle use in anyway .

    What others should know: Clean and check all the screws before shooting and the choke. other than that go have fun. Oh and it shoots arrows great....

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Joe from USA on 2018-02-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I seen this on American Air gunner and said I God I got to come up with one of these. A Month later I had one delivered to my hose. I have done some hunting with t and it works quite well. It can also make your nieghbors think you are plinking with deer slugs. Its not a Texan though for 50 yards or so this is a powerfull gun I can get 14-15 high powered shots with 200 Bars in the cylinder.

    Things I would have changed: This thing is loud without ear protectoin you will harm your ears doing target practice. the iron sights shoot low out of the box. I got a small scope.

    What others should know: you need a good air a source or a Handhill MK4, the pum takes me about 45 mins. when I shoot with friends they sometimes top off my air for the road.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Brett from USA on 2017-12-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: nice looking gun

    Things I would have changed: cocking lever screws

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By G man from USA on 2017-10-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This is called the best of ,nothing equals its compact results in it`s field a world beater-she is out front -a must have.I showed it to the turkey guys and they loved it.And (not to belittle its usefullness) this is a pretty baby!

    Things I would have changed: I would need more time to think ...hard too beat

    What others should know: Lead ammo, more advanced please

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By janet from USA on 2017-05-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Love this air rifle. In fact I love it so much this is my second one since the first was taken in a home robbery. The rifle itself is well made and just a beauty to look at. The fit is excellent and detailed. Right out of the box it shot nearly dead on with the open sights. It maintained its power level better then the reviews suggested it with. I've put every type of air venturi pellet thru it they make. I like the hollow point but for general damage and destruction nothing beats the round ball. Alot of friends have shot it. Its been a eye opener for several retired sheriffs deputies locally as well as a couple hunters. It far exceeded their expectations and preconceptions.

    Things I would have changed: Make the rear sight easity removable. It interferes with mounting a scope. Also some way of conveniently mounting a gun sling to it would be outstanding. This is not a light rifle and a sling is a must for toteing it into the woods to hunt. Someone Please make a decent foot pump instead of the bicycle style .. Lets use body weight to pump this beast up instead of arm muscles. It would make it much more female friendly

    What others should know: This IS NOT a toy... this rifle will take down anything you shoot it at. Period. Deer, Hog, Coyote are not outside its scope. 2 inch oak boards crack in half at 40 yards from a strike with the round ball. Invest in a good pump, your going to be using it, it does take a bit of muscle to get it pumped to 200 bar. the air tank is great if your going to be shooting at the range, but not really practicle to carry with you else where.

  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Duane from USA on 2017-03-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This air gun is easy to use

    Things I would have changed: The rear sight permanent attachment point prevents the use of scope covers when using the the recommended Mantis 4-12x40 AO Rifle Scope. Either recommend scope rings that will provide better clearance or design the rear sight mount to allow it. There needs to be better information on the max range using the pellets, the air bolts are easy to determine the max deadly range.

    What others should know: Plan to do a lot of pumping if you choose the hand pump to re-charge the Dragon Claw

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Lt. One Wolf from USA on 2017-03-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The rifle overall is a work of art. Love the accuracy and the extreme power that you can rely on. Great for hunting and some serious plinking, but defiantly not back yard friendly.

    Things I would have changed: Would love to see this rifle in a semi-auto. Plus it would be nice to be able to add a sling. But overall a really good one for the collection.

    What others should know: This is definitely not a toy and should be treated with the utmost respect.

     
  • 123 Next
Navigation