Date: 3/6/2020 6:16
0

Customer Reviews for Gamo Viper Express

Average Customer Review

4.5 (54 reviews)
Gamo Viper Express
Pre-order

Out of Stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Jonathon from USA on 2009-04-20 12:36:20

Things I liked: It works! Just popped a squirrel at 10 yards. Had to step over from cover, shoulder and fire quickly. The squirrel dropped to the ground, killed instantly. I shoot a lot of squirrels with my CFX and even with a good head or heart shot they very rarely are just smacked right down dead. I was amazed. Shocked, in fact. Nice weight, very sweet handling and natural pointing, like an expensive "real" shot gun. The trigger on mine is smooth and just right, way better than the trigger on my CFX.

Things I would have changed: Even though my trigger is good the way it is, it would be nice to have a hole in the trigger guard right above the adjusting screw for the trigger. Also it would be kind of them to include a half dozen of the tiny, brass adapters for shooting pellets as it is not a matter of if, it is a matter of when that tiny adapter disappears somewhere.

What others should know: I fired at a 700 page tool catalog at 30 feet and the #9 shot penetrated to around page 175. At 40 feet the shot penetrated to around page 135.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:1.0

By John from USA on 2018-04-12 23:31:49

Things I liked: Not much

Things I would have changed: Everything, this is a useless pole.

What others should know: Do not buy it.

Sort by:
  • 123 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Adam from USA on 2020-05-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Nice gun, works exactly as describes,

    Things I would have changed: lower price

    What others should know: shells are not available at most stores

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By stanley from USA on 2019-12-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: 1st Gamo I have purchased and I love the weight and ease of the break barrel. The trigger feels good and the gun shoots accurate. Most of my guns are wood, but I like the synthetic composition of the rifle!

    Things I would have changed: Maybe supply some .22 cartridges for the shotgun purposes.

    What others should know: You can re-use the .22 cartridges, go to YouTube to find out how. I did some and they worked beautifully!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jake from USA on 2019-11-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very cool airgun. Great for clearing my barn of birds that congregate and poop on everything. Great fun to shoot also. Easy to load and operate

    What others should know: Shot shells are a little weak at more than about 20 feet but deadly at 15

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Tony from USA on 2019-09-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Price. Light weight. Design of the stock. Being able to shoot .22 pellets as well.

    Things I would have changed: The price for shot shells. But you can reload them so....

    What others should know: Buy it you will not be sorry

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Ross from USA on 2019-08-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Especially like not China made! Patterns on at 7 yd. Light wt.& overall looks!

    Things I would have changed: Increase payload to 20 g. Put short rifling in 22 adapter . Maybe offer in shorter barrel or 10 inch handgun. After closer inspection notice the grooved receiver could work with a red dot

    What others should know: Get one but don't expect long range results 21 ft max

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Ross from USA on 2019-08-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Single stroke cocking ease of loading appearance and not from china!

    Things I would have changed: Slightly more payload and short rifling in the 22 pellet adapter plus grooved receiver for ability to mount a red dot

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Daviid from USA on 2019-08-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The air shotgun itself is useful and effective within about 7 to 10 feet.

    Things I would have changed: Gamo should just drop the pretense of this being a pellet rifle. Bench rested with Bushnell 9x scope I couldn't keep a one-foot group at 7 yards, absolutely impossible. That same scope gave me 3" groups at 100 yards with an AR carbine shooting inexpensive .223 ball ammo. So c'mon.

    What others should know: If you're looking for an air-powered shotgun then yep, this might be the only one that's not a toy; but if you're hoping the Viper Express will function in a dual role as a rifle, severe disappointment is highly likely.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Michael from USA on 2019-07-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The rifle is easy to handle and cycle. The pressure seems consistent and it has a nice pattern at 20 yards. It's a fun backyard varmint rifle.

    Things I would have changed: Being captive in the people's republic of California, I would like to see lead free shot shells available, so that the Game Worden doesn't hassle me in the field.

    What others should know: It's a lot of fun and a good first shotgun for training the kids.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Jose from USA on 2019-06-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Shot gun option.

    Things I would have changed: Make it just a shotgun.

    What others should know: I bought it to use as a 22 pellet rifle and occasionally use the shot shells. My rifle shoots extremely low end to the left. Green dot and scope can't adjust enough. Cleaning didn't help. Pellet rifle bad. Shotgun good. Shotgun good to 10 to 12 yards.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Dylan from USA on 2019-05-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is a very cool gun! Made well and very unique. Awesome for bird pest at relative close range. Feels good in the hands. A must have for any air gun enthusiast!

    Things I would have changed: Nothing really. Maybe a rear sight.

    What others should know: This is a smooth bore gun! Naturally, pellets are not very accurate. The shot shells are frickn awesome though!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James S from USA on 2019-03-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very nice styling... the black rubber inserts really highlight the gray stock. Light weight for long hikes. Very easy to cock so it won't wear out your arm. Covered in durable weather resistant polymer. The ability to use duel ammo is simply genius because of its versatility.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: Factory power was exactly as advertised.. Then I took out the factory coil spring and put in a Gamo gas ram.. Right away I saw a 110 fps gain on the chronograph. 10 grain lead free pellets fly constantly at 950- 965 fps. Shooting pellets through the smooth bore barrel seem to be as accurate and powerful as a rifled barrel. The shotshells are very effective at 10-15 yards with consistent patterns. I attached a very bright flashlight to a small dove tail rail I mounted onto lower right side of the stock just ahead of the trigger guard. I drilled through the existing buttpad holes to securely hold 14 extra shotshells.. (7 on each side) This is a perfect small game & pest eliminating air rifle... very enjoyable to shoot. Stock up on shotshells and pellets because you won't want to put this air rifle down.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ronald from USA on 2019-02-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: I like everything about this rifle/shotgun i only shoot the shot shells though. I bought this gun last year for a mouse problem at my grandparents house i figured the shotgun effect would work well in close quarters like a house, so in the last year ive killed about 20 to 30 mice and only missed 3 shots total its very accurate and wherever you aim the bead sight is where the shots go, the built in cheek pad is really comfortable and is a well added addition to the gun its also very light and can be carried all day long without your arms hurting, it also has great penetration and often the #9 rat shot the shells are loaded with go through mice once they are hit. At close rage it actually blows a dime sized hole in the little creatures. Even tho they are not a big animal it puts them down humanely in one shot from 3 to 20 feet with the shot shells. For 200 bucks this is a nicely made rifle its well put together and none of the parts feel cheap. In my opinion this is a one of a kind rifle

    Things I would have changed: The one and only thing i would change would be the shell capacity. It would be excellent if this were a pump action rifle/shotgun and i could shoot more than one shot without having to reload after every shot, even if it had two barrels it would be nice to have that one last shot to save the day because ive had too many four legged critters get away due to reloading times.

    What others should know: If you have any small rodent problems in tight spaces like a house or a barn this is the way to go its efficient and does the job well and also it does not leave big gashes and holes in walls or hard surfaces like a BB would. The #9 rat shot that doesnt hit the mouse usually bounces off a wall or two not really leaving any noticeable dents or scratches then falls to the floor, as long as you sweep them up later no harm is done to your home. And another tip is to buy the shot shells in bulk i bought 200 of them and still have plenty a whole year later.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By John from USA on 2018-12-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I purchased to get rid of some nuisance squirrels that were getting in my attic. The shotgun shells work well killing these varmints.

    Things I would have changed: The sights or lack thereof make it difficult to aim accurately when being used as a pellet gun. I have ordered a scope which is on the way so I have not tried it yet.

    What others should know: Good gun for the price.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Unknown Infidel from USA on 2018-09-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.52 ratings

    Things I liked: I have had this one for some years now. It's not really been put to use until recently. I find this shotgun rather amusing actually. I recently had to take out a squirrel that was destroying my livingroom screen. One load of #9 shot from this from a few yards away and the squirrel climbed his last screen. Unless somebody cared to autopsy the squirrel it looked like he just dropped over from natural causes. It didn't make a mess like some airguns.

    Things I would have changed: Bring back the shadow express. I'd have liked the set.

    What others should know: Not really a gun for any kind of distance shooting if you are using the shotgun shells but for up close and personal it's actually fairly formidable at pest control without making a mess of it

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Czeseng from Malaysia on 2018-07-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Playing wild

    Things I would have changed: No

    What others should know: Good

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Czeseng from Malaysia on 2018-07-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Playing wild

    Things I would have changed: no

    What others should know: yes

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Arthur from USA on 2018-07-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: VERY HAPPY WITH THEGUN!

    Things I would have changed: YOU FOLKS JUST KEEP THE "RAT ON THE RUN" TARGET......GIVE ME A $20.00 DISCOUNT ON THE GUN....."RAT ON THE RUN" INDEED FERCRYSAKES...... WHO NEEDS SUCH A THING?

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Ted from USA on 2018-06-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Really nice feel and very easy to use. No doubt this is a 'real' gun.

    Things I would have changed: There are several things I would like to see changed, but alas, Gamo has decided to drop the air shotguns. :-( First off, make it just a shotgun. It really is not a good rifle, so do not pretend it can be. The shells are small and easy to drop/lose. Larger shells would help and also allow a wider range of loads for different applications. Thinking 30 cal (180 gauge) would be about ideal. Make the shell components available. This thing just absolutely screams for experimenting with different loads for different purposes. Having factory loading components would be really nice. And finally, storage. The stock is plastic: add a compartment for shells!

    What others should know: I specifically bought this for small pests at close range and for this purpose, it is absolutely excellent. The Gamo Viper Express is basically replacing a 9 mm rimfire shotgun (9 mm Flobert). The Viper is much shorter range, but gets the job done nicely and quitely, with less worry about incidental damage to structures.

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By John from USA on 2018-04-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: Not much

    Things I would have changed: Everything, this is a useless pole.

    What others should know: Do not buy it.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Unknown Infidel from USA on 2018-03-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: It's an unusual design but like most air shotguns it isn't all that useful. This gun is more of a novelty than a serious gun. It's smooth bore so does not get the stabilization you get with a spinning pellet. The bird shot is hardly good enough to take out a grasshopper and the shells are one shot and done although I have seen attempts to reload them.

    Things I would have changed: Heavier load in shotgun shells even if there were fewer pieces in it. Maybe do some microgroove rifling.

    What others should know: It's a fun gun but don't try it for serious shooting. I tried it and there are much better on the market. So use it when the shots don't count as much.

     
  • 123 Next
Navigation