Date: 20/8/2018 20:4
0

Gamo Viper Express Air Shotgun & Rifle reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (40 reviews)
Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Jonathon from USA on 2009-04-20 12:36:20

Things I liked: It works! Just popped a squirrel at 10 yards. Had to step over from cover, shoulder and fire quickly. The squirrel dropped to the ground, killed instantly. I shoot a lot of squirrels with my CFX and even with a good head or heart shot they very rarely are just smacked right down dead. I was amazed. Shocked, in fact. Nice weight, very sweet handling and natural pointing, like an expensive "real" shot gun. The trigger on mine is smooth and just right, way better than the trigger on my CFX.

Things I would have changed: Even though my trigger is good the way it is, it would be nice to have a hole in the trigger guard right above the adjusting screw for the trigger. Also it would be kind of them to include a half dozen of the tiny, brass adapters for shooting pellets as it is not a matter of if, it is a matter of when that tiny adapter disappears somewhere.

What others should know: I fired at a 700 page tool catalog at 30 feet and the #9 shot penetrated to around page 175. At 40 feet the shot penetrated to around page 135.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:1.0

By John from USA on 2018-04-12 23:31:49

Things I liked: Not much

Things I would have changed: Everything, this is a useless pole.

What others should know: Do not buy it.

Sort by:
  • 12 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Czeseng from Malaysia on 2018-07-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Playing wild

    Things I would have changed: No

    What others should know: Good

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Czeseng from Malaysia on 2018-07-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Playing wild

    Things I would have changed: no

    What others should know: yes

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Arthur from USA on 2018-07-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: VERY HAPPY WITH THEGUN!

    Things I would have changed: YOU FOLKS JUST KEEP THE "RAT ON THE RUN" TARGET......GIVE ME A $20.00 DISCOUNT ON THE GUN....."RAT ON THE RUN" INDEED FERCRYSAKES...... WHO NEEDS SUCH A THING?

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Ted from USA on 2018-06-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Really nice feel and very easy to use. No doubt this is a 'real' gun.

    Things I would have changed: There are several things I would like to see changed, but alas, Gamo has decided to drop the air shotguns. :-( First off, make it just a shotgun. It really is not a good rifle, so do not pretend it can be. The shells are small and easy to drop/lose. Larger shells would help and also allow a wider range of loads for different applications. Thinking 30 cal (180 gauge) would be about ideal. Make the shell components available. This thing just absolutely screams for experimenting with different loads for different purposes. Having factory loading components would be really nice. And finally, storage. The stock is plastic: add a compartment for shells!

    What others should know: I specifically bought this for small pests at close range and for this purpose, it is absolutely excellent. The Gamo Viper Express is basically replacing a 9 mm rimfire shotgun (9 mm Flobert). The Viper is much shorter range, but gets the job done nicely and quitely, with less worry about incidental damage to structures.

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By John from USA on 2018-04-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Not much

    Things I would have changed: Everything, this is a useless pole.

    What others should know: Do not buy it.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Unknown Infidel from USA on 2018-03-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: It's an unusual design but like most air shotguns it isn't all that useful. This gun is more of a novelty than a serious gun. It's smooth bore so does not get the stabilization you get with a spinning pellet. The bird shot is hardly good enough to take out a grasshopper and the shells are one shot and done although I have seen attempts to reload them.

    Things I would have changed: Heavier load in shotgun shells even if there were fewer pieces in it. Maybe do some microgroove rifling.

    What others should know: It's a fun gun but don't try it for serious shooting. I tried it and there are much better on the market. So use it when the shots don't count as much.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By James from USA on 2018-03-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.343 ratings

    Things I liked: I like the guns appearance, weight, handling, and ease of cocking. I use it on squirrels on my birdfeeders at about 15 yards because I know it will chase them but not injure them. I also use it on carpenter bees attacking my wood shed and for that it is lethal.

    Things I would have changed: It would be nice if it was available in a larger caliber and with more power. It would also be nice if there was a place in the stock to store the .22 caliber pellet insert as someone else mentioned. I lost mine almost immediately but then I never really intended to use this as a rifle...

    What others should know: Don't expect much accuracy as a rifle, but then that is really not its intended purpose. You can usually get the best price on the shot shells on eBay.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Colli from USA on 2018-02-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Weight. Shucks, this thing does on weigh much Cock effort. Not much, easy. Effective, It does have limits.. It is quiet.

    Things I would have changed: Make it in .25 cal Put a camo stock on it. Add another shot shell option

    What others should know: I bought for my self and my son was so jealous he had to ask one for himself (as a gift). The standard shot shell is effect up to 10 yards. I hit inside a shelter (my garage) at slightly longer that 10 yds and was hitting, but this is not practical outdoors. We have done our best hunting with it at 5-9 yds on a quiet night. I thought it delivered what it said it would. You get what you pay for...and that is a good thing. The $20 lower price is needed too. Great value. My son also plugged a sparrow at 15ish yds with a pellet, so that side of the package does work as well. The cocking motion of mine is a bit scratchy still but I presume that will die off with use. The aesthetics of the unit is nothing special and the build quality is unimpressive. The biggest minus is that there is not enough shot per load to be effective past 10yds. I'd like to see this same gun in at least .25 cal, but understand the jump to .25 is not linear for what I am looking for. Bigger is better right ?

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By max from USA on 2018-02-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The weight, the fun of shooting it. It is nicely made.

    Things I would have changed: Maybe more fps, better stock (not so much plastic), sell the version that already has the nitro piston in it, instead of having to purchase the piston separately........the nitro version is listed in the catalog at 249.00.....but pyramyd air does not carry it......So you have to buy the springer rifle (179) and the piston (99) and have it installed.....

    What others should know: This is a pure novelty rifle....it is fun to shoot

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Paul from USA on 2018-01-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The fact that it's a shotgun. Allows for backyard trap shooting practice when you use water balloons. Shells are easy to reload. Cheap and easy way to practice trap at home for working on your pointing, leading, swing through, and trigger slap. The way I use this is to get those bulk waterballoon filler like Zuru Bunch-O-Balloons. Fill, toss, and shoot to practice for dove hunts right in the backyard.

    Things I would have changed: Stop trying to be both a shotgun and a rifle. As a rifle, it is not good whatsoever. I keep mine as a dedicated shotgun. Ridge in the middle of the barrel for use as rifle gets in the way of sighting plane when using as shotgun. Safety mechanism is not the safest or easiest to operate and does not simulate actual shotgun safeties. Would have preferred a button or tang safety so as to allow for practice of actual hunting physics.

    What others should know: I was wondering if this gun would be able to take down doves on wings for backyard hunting, nobody had any such type of reviews for this purpose. So I got the gun and decided to test for myself. The answer is a big NOOO. The factory shot shells were horrible. Spread was much too wide and velocity of shots too low. Shot spread can be controlled if you reload the shells with #8 or #7.5 shells, but velocity is still way too low. May kill a dove within 10 to 15 yards, but that type of shots aren't easy nor common, even at a sunflower field after discing when doves are plentiful. If taking doves on ground or tree, might as well use a regular pellet gun. The whole desire of a shotgun is to take birds on wings and this won't do it. Still, a good gun for fun trap shooting practice using hand-tossed water balloons. Guests who has never handled a shotgun loves this activity and gives them an idea of what wing or trap shooting feels like.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Gribble from USA on 2017-04-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.663 ratings

    Things I liked: Very nice stock, lightweight, ability to shoot shotgun shells.

    Things I would have changed: Would have used a choked barrel for a tighter pattern even if it meant loosing the ability to shoot pellets

    What others should know: This gun is fantastic and I enjoy it a lot however it's flaw is trying to be a rifle and shot gun. It's perfect for shooting rats but it wouldn't be sufficient for anything else because the pattern is to large past 10yds. When using .22 pellets it's accurate to about 25 yds before it looses accuracy due to the smooth bore barrel. This gun is a ton of fun as is but very limited in its uses so I'd recommend the buyer thinks about what there expectations are before buying.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Jonathan from USA on 2017-02-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.04 ratings

    Things I liked: the break barrel action is smooth and quiet, trigger is smooth, has some solid impact

    Things I would have changed: some better open sights

    What others should know: i bought this to hunt quail and varmints, however the shot shells are a joke, can't even drop a finch at 8 yards. barely tickles em. it is fairly accurate and fun to shoot within 30 yards with a pellet, and has decent power. Big disappointment as far as the shells go, i would spend the money on another rifle

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Adam from USA on 2017-01-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: One of my favorite airguns! Powerful consistent shots. Very accurate.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing. Inexpensive, accurate. Wish there was more variable ammo for shotgun mode( slugs).

    What others should know: A lot of bang for your buck!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jessica from USA on 2017-01-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: My son was super excited about this gun. It is very accurate and very powerful farther than we thought!

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Henry from USA on 2016-12-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Easy to use gun right out of the box. Has two types of ammo for one gun.

    Things I would have changed: This gun needs a rear sight to use 22 pellets.

    What others should know: Don't expect to shoot the shot shells more than 30' and have a tight grouping. My shots at 30' had a 20" pattern

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Doug from USA on 2016-11-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Accurate with pellets for a smooth bore. You can reload the shells and they fit in a standard butt stock ecstatic cartridge holder.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing, so far.

    What others should know: It's loud if you dry fire it. Sounds like a 22! When firing ammo it's not too bad. I saw a bad review about breach seals on YouTube and was hesitant to buy it. Did more research and found mainly positive reviews. The video was from 2009. It's the fourth hit that shows up after 3 pyramydair ads when you Google the gun. So, maybe it should be taken down, revised or a retraction added. I shot the hell out of mine today, right out of the box with no issues. Just lots of fun!

  • 5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By dennis from USA on 2016-10-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: I like that I can take two types of ammo so its just like A real shotgun only the pellets are your slugs fun and good to have around the home

    Things I would have changed: Make a pellet shell and adapter that's rifled

    What others should know: If you looking for a nice gun this is one to take home

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By James from USA on 2016-06-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Things I liked: Did I really need an airgun "shotgun"? No. But did it look pretty darn cool and something I wanted to try? YES! This is a well-made airgun. It is easy to use, and a nice addition to one's airgun armory.

    Things I would have changed: I was a bit upset that the pellet adapter did not come with the airgun as promised, but a quick e-mail to Pyramyd Air fixed that quick enough.

    What others should know: This is a airgun "shotgun". You need to keep that in mind. The payload is SMALL. Looks like #12 shot - or smaller, and just not a lot of them. I am going to experiment with the load to see if I can maximize it, but this is really only good for short-range targets or very short range pest control. It should be good in an attic if something small (squirrel or smaller) gets up there and you need to take it out without punching holes in your roof. With its diminutive payload though, I would hesitate to try it on anything larger than a squirrel.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jim from USA on 2016-04-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.663 ratings

    Things I liked: Shotgun! Enough said. At 10m all pellets in 8.5" x 11" target. .22 call pellet very accurate with only ball front site. Great looking gun.

    Things I would have changed: Make a hole in stock or butt pad for .22 call insert.

    What others should know: Reload these yourself. Easy to do and results are the same as purchased loads. RWS "Superdome" .22 call come with gun. Work great!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Donald from USA on 2016-03-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Great gun for the money.

     
  • 12 Next
Navigation