Date: 20/10/2018 9:54
0

Gamo Wildcat Whisper reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (9 reviews)
3 star2 star1 star

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By randy from USA on 2017-01-26 02:38:43

Things I liked: I'm really impressed with this pellet gun. It's great looking, the scope is OK, it's quieter than my Beeman and my Benjamin.. I set up some 2/6 boards and drew some ink spots on them. I got back about 50-60', after a dozen shots or so I had it dialed in and shooting dime sized groups. And man,the hard hitting power, it buries these hollow point inexpensive lead pellets deep into the wood. And the gun is inexpensive.

Things I would have changed: It's not easy to cock, but I'm old.

What others should know: A great value, from entry level to pro, this is a fun accurate inexpensive quality gun.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:4.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:4.0

By Steven from USA on 2017-12-08 14:37:31

Things I liked: Feels good, easy to shoot, looks good. Right out of the box-I mounted the Scope, planing on having to get it sighted in and it is dead on at 20-yards. I read a lot of people complaining about the Scope? I see NO reason and have no intentions on changing it out. Not sure why it isn't good enough for them-works great for me. Overall, excellent Gun & Scope for the money! If you are looking for your first Pellet Rifle or just itching to add another to the collection, I can't see ya getting a better deal for the money!

Things I would have changed: I am very disappointed in how loud it is! I live in the City, I Camp in Campgrounds and I wanted a quiet Pellet Rifle. I've been looking back and forth at this one and a few others for several months. I choose this one, they call it the Whisper,and in the description it claims reduces noise by 52%? I don't see where or how you guys reached this number. It is just as loud as my Beeman and other Gamo. Other than the noise-I love it. I guess I'll keep looking for a quiet one, but still don't regret buying this one.

What others should know: I don't know if there is a powerful Pellet Rifle made today that really is quiet, if there is-please point me in the right direction.

Sort by:
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By David from USA on 2018-10-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very accurate. Scope works well. Light weight. Shoots well with many pellet brands.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Good gun for the money. .

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Chris from USA on 2018-06-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Accuracy, quiet, powerful, overall a well rounded air rifle. I bought the .22 cal and did a lot of rearch before my purchase. In the end I was very pleased with my selection. I have no problem hitting a quarter sized area at 25 yards. I am by no means an expert shot. But the reason I am writing this review is dues to the negative comments I have seen. First people say its loud and not very accurate (if your using the .177 cal with pba alloy pellets your breaking the sound barrier that can be very loud and cause you to loose accuracy, don't do it!) Well the rifle takes about 500 shots to break in and as I started going through the shots while sighting my scope I would agree with both comments. But as you get closer to the 500ish rounds it does get a little more silent and a lot more accurate. The scope it comes with once sighted in is accurate as well for a 4x32 scope.

    Things I would have changed: As for the scope it does look very cheap. I personally traded this out for a 3-9x40 for a little more accuracy and control. Being that the rifle is inexspencive this was fine with me and made it a little more compairitive to the gamo swarm without the additional cost for attachments I don't want. The gun itself does almost look toyish and when aligning a shot you can feel the plastic ridges along the bottom. I personally sanded this down a little. Last the trigger is plastic and feels weak. These negatives in my opinion is not a deal breaker and I think the pros outweigh the cons and for the price I didn't expect much and got much more than expected. I would and have recommended this air rifle to others

    What others should know: If you trade out the scope make sure you know what size mounts you need for the air rifle. For the 3-9x40 scope I needed 1" high, 11mm(3/8") dovetail

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Chris from USA on 2018-06-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Accuracy, quiet, powerful, overall a well rounded air rifle. I bought the .22 cal and did a lot of rearch before my purchase. In the end I was very pleased with my selection. I have no problem hitting a quarter sized area at 25 yards. I am by no means an expert shot. But the reason I am writing this review is dues to the negative comments I have seen. First people say its loud and not very accurate (if your using the .177 cal with pba alloy pellets your breaking the sound barrier that can be very loud and cause you to loose accuracy, don't do it!) Well the rifle takes about 500 shots to break in and as I started going through the shots while sighting my scope I would agree with both comments. But as you get closer to the 500ish rounds it does get a little more silent and a lot more accurate. The scope it comes with once sighted in is accurate as well for a 4x32 scope.

    Things I would have changed: As for the scope it does look very cheap. I personally traded this out for a 3-9x40 for a little more accuracy and control. Being that the rifle is inexspencive this was fine with me and made it a little more compairitive to the gamo swarm without the additional cost for attachments I don't want. The gun itself does almost look toyish and when aligning a shot you can feel the plastic ridges along the bottom. I personally sanded this down a little. Last the trigger is plastic and feels weak. These negatives in my opinion is not a deal breaker and I think the pros outweigh the cons and for the price I didn't expect much and got much more than expected. I would and have recommended this air rifle to others

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Steven from USA on 2017-12-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Feels good, easy to shoot, looks good. Right out of the box-I mounted the Scope, planing on having to get it sighted in and it is dead on at 20-yards. I read a lot of people complaining about the Scope? I see NO reason and have no intentions on changing it out. Not sure why it isn't good enough for them-works great for me. Overall, excellent Gun & Scope for the money! If you are looking for your first Pellet Rifle or just itching to add another to the collection, I can't see ya getting a better deal for the money!

    Things I would have changed: I am very disappointed in how loud it is! I live in the City, I Camp in Campgrounds and I wanted a quiet Pellet Rifle. I've been looking back and forth at this one and a few others for several months. I choose this one, they call it the Whisper,and in the description it claims reduces noise by 52%? I don't see where or how you guys reached this number. It is just as loud as my Beeman and other Gamo. Other than the noise-I love it. I guess I'll keep looking for a quiet one, but still don't regret buying this one.

    What others should know: I don't know if there is a powerful Pellet Rifle made today that really is quiet, if there is-please point me in the right direction.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Brady from USA on 2017-11-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This gun is awesome it kills raccoons and opossum in just 2 shots it is easy to carry in the ranger or in the four wheeler.

    Things I would have changed: The scope is horrible I changed it to a rifle scope.

    What others should know: Change the scope

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Travis from USA on 2017-07-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Well I'll start with accuracy at 30 yards I had a dime size group 20 mins outta the box using the jsb jumbo dome pellets 18.13 grain. As for the scope everyone complains about yeah it's not a top notch scope but they didn't have to add it in with the gun so stop complaining not to mention mine works just fine. Next is the weight of the gun awesome is all I can say. Over all I love this gun.

    Things I would have changed: not a thing

    What others should know: If you want a good gun and not break the bank then this is an awesome gun to add to your collection or to have as your first air rifle.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Gary from USA on 2017-06-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: I bought the Wildcat Whisper back in late Feb. early March 2017 I like to spend some time with a gun before I review it. so now it's late June and I have run well over 2000 pellets through it. For the price I can't imagine a better buy. I use Crossman 7.4 gr. .177 pointed pellets for both hunting and plinking and at 50yds it is accurate and lethal on crows and chucks. It is very hard hitting and will pass through 3/8th inch plywood at 50 yards. The scope that is included is better than I thought it would be, but an upgrade would still be a big improvement. the cocking is smooth and being gas piston there is very little vibration when you pull the trigger. It does have a report but have had no complaints from my neighbors and my roommate says she can barely hear it in the house. All and all I am very impressed with this air rifle.

    Things I would have changed: the only thing I think I would change is the trigger, it could be more crisp and it could be metal which it is not.

    What others should know: of course there is minor recoil and has a tendency to hop if using a bench rest. It is slower than a firearm so the follow through is important for accuracy.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By randy from USA on 2017-01-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: I'm really impressed with this pellet gun. It's great looking, the scope is OK, it's quieter than my Beeman and my Benjamin.. I set up some 2/6 boards and drew some ink spots on them. I got back about 50-60', after a dozen shots or so I had it dialed in and shooting dime sized groups. And man,the hard hitting power, it buries these hollow point inexpensive lead pellets deep into the wood. And the gun is inexpensive.

    Things I would have changed: It's not easy to cock, but I'm old.

    What others should know: A great value, from entry level to pro, this is a fun accurate inexpensive quality gun.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By joaquin from Chile on 2016-09-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Its very powerful, for the price i think its the best option for hunt really good or practice with differents targets.

    Things I would have changed: i think the scope is not enough good. Maybe with a centerpoint 3-9x40 AO could be amazing.

     
Navigation