Date: 24/11/2020 12:44
0

Customer Reviews for Gamo Wildcat Whisper

Average Customer Review

4.5 (15 reviews)
3 star2 star1 star

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By randy from USA on 2017-01-26 02:38:43

Things I liked: I'm really impressed with this pellet gun. It's great looking, the scope is OK, it's quieter than my Beeman and my Benjamin.. I set up some 2/6 boards and drew some ink spots on them. I got back about 50-60', after a dozen shots or so I had it dialed in and shooting dime sized groups. And man,the hard hitting power, it buries these hollow point inexpensive lead pellets deep into the wood. And the gun is inexpensive.

Things I would have changed: It's not easy to cock, but I'm old.

What others should know: A great value, from entry level to pro, this is a fun accurate inexpensive quality gun.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:4.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Philip from USA on 2020-09-23 21:13:51

Things I liked: This rifle is great for the price. It is very accurate and and hits hard.If change to a good scope and you do your part it will put pellets where you want them to hit. At 20yds I can consistently hit the running rat knock down target at the reduced opening. This riffle is great for exterminating pests like squirrels and chipmunks at 30yds easily.

Things I would have changed: It definitely needs a better scope than what is provided.

What others should know: At first I thought other reviewers might be a little elitist looking down on this scope, but it really should be replaced. It had decent plinking accuracy with the supplied scope. When I switched to a highly rated scope, The consistent accuracy improved to nickle sized groupings at 30yds.

Sort by:
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Philip from USA on 2020-09-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This rifle is great for the price. It is very accurate and and hits hard.If change to a good scope and you do your part it will put pellets where you want them to hit. At 20yds I can consistently hit the running rat knock down target at the reduced opening. This riffle is great for exterminating pests like squirrels and chipmunks at 30yds easily.

    Things I would have changed: It definitely needs a better scope than what is provided.

    What others should know: At first I thought other reviewers might be a little elitist looking down on this scope, but it really should be replaced. It had decent plinking accuracy with the supplied scope. When I switched to a highly rated scope, The consistent accuracy improved to nickle sized groupings at 30yds.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Matthew from USA on 2020-08-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Nice low noise level. Even though this is not the quietest in Gamo's series of air guns (according to their own packaging), it is plenty quiet for shooting in a rural or semi-rural neighborhood, without rousing the notice of neighbors. It seems very solidly put together, with no rattling or looseness anywhere that I was able to detect. In spite of that, it's much lighter overall than other similar models I considered. Unlike some other reviewers here, I found the scope perfectly adequate, and have not had any problems with it holding zero, or staying put on its mount while shooting. With the initial few "clearing" shots already taken care of by Pyramyd (I paid the $10 for the cert), it shot consistently right out of the box (I purchased it in .22) using Crossman Premier 14.3gr hollowpoints. My son, with no prior experience shooting anything beyond an old-school Daisy BB gun, was nailing 2" diameter swinging metal targets at ~50 feet, shot after shot, right from the start.

    Things I would have changed: The only thing I did NOT like about the scope (and the rifle as a whole), is that the rear scope mount has a fixed pin, which indexes in a hole on top of the body of the rifle. This prevents a user from adjusting the scope's position forward or aft. Given that this rifle seems to be sized about right for a medium framed adult, I had hoped to be able to shift the scope rearward a bit, so that my 10 year old son could use the scope more easily. . . he really has to stretch to achieve the proper eye relief. It positions the scope fine for me though.

    What others should know: While I've used my share of entry-level air rifles in the past, this is the first I've owned personally. It is far and away superior to any I've used thus-far. I would strongly recommend it to anyone interested in getting into air rifles, and who doesn't want to drop $200+ dollars to do so.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dallas from USA on 2020-04-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Everything except the scope

    Things I would have changed: The scope. Add the RRR system to this gun and it a bigger winner

    What others should know: I got a 177 after my dasey 880 broke. After 200 shots and finding the right pellet it is dead on I took the rrr off of a nother gamo and upgraded the scope. I have put 5000 pellets threw it and it is as good as wen I bought it

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Josh from USA on 2020-02-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Very accurate killed lots of squirrels, all with one shot

    Things I would have changed: Scope system is irritating it cant handle the recoil witnessed it slide back over time when I tightened good and used locktite. its main flaw is it's small grooved rail, and it makes it hard to adjust the scope without disassembling it.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By David from USA on 2018-10-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Very accurate with the right pellets once broken in. Nice stock and good trigger. Comfortable to shoot.

    Things I would have changed: The scope is just OK. Not high end.

    What others should know: Expect to shoot about 200 pellets to break it in. Mine loves the Gamo Match Pellets. RWS is ok and Crosman don't shoot well.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2018-10-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Good looking solid rifle. The "Whisper" teck part make it much less loud than another rifle of the same quality. It is no louder than the old less powerful one I have uised for years.

    Things I would have changed: More mechanical advantage in the cocking part. It is no harder than other brands but for an old codger it is a bit hard. Younger, I would have no problem. I can do it and just need to get a system I think.

    What others should know: It is accurate, the whisper technology works. You still get noise but manageable.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By David from USA on 2018-10-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Very accurate. Scope works well. Light weight. Shoots well with many pellet brands.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Good gun for the money. .

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Chris from USA on 2018-06-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Accuracy, quiet, powerful, overall a well rounded air rifle. I bought the .22 cal and did a lot of rearch before my purchase. In the end I was very pleased with my selection. I have no problem hitting a quarter sized area at 25 yards. I am by no means an expert shot. But the reason I am writing this review is dues to the negative comments I have seen. First people say its loud and not very accurate (if your using the .177 cal with pba alloy pellets your breaking the sound barrier that can be very loud and cause you to loose accuracy, don't do it!) Well the rifle takes about 500 shots to break in and as I started going through the shots while sighting my scope I would agree with both comments. But as you get closer to the 500ish rounds it does get a little more silent and a lot more accurate. The scope it comes with once sighted in is accurate as well for a 4x32 scope.

    Things I would have changed: As for the scope it does look very cheap. I personally traded this out for a 3-9x40 for a little more accuracy and control. Being that the rifle is inexspencive this was fine with me and made it a little more compairitive to the gamo swarm without the additional cost for attachments I don't want. The gun itself does almost look toyish and when aligning a shot you can feel the plastic ridges along the bottom. I personally sanded this down a little. Last the trigger is plastic and feels weak. These negatives in my opinion is not a deal breaker and I think the pros outweigh the cons and for the price I didn't expect much and got much more than expected. I would and have recommended this air rifle to others

    What others should know: If you trade out the scope make sure you know what size mounts you need for the air rifle. For the 3-9x40 scope I needed 1" high, 11mm(3/8") dovetail

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Chris from USA on 2018-06-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Accuracy, quiet, powerful, overall a well rounded air rifle. I bought the .22 cal and did a lot of rearch before my purchase. In the end I was very pleased with my selection. I have no problem hitting a quarter sized area at 25 yards. I am by no means an expert shot. But the reason I am writing this review is dues to the negative comments I have seen. First people say its loud and not very accurate (if your using the .177 cal with pba alloy pellets your breaking the sound barrier that can be very loud and cause you to loose accuracy, don't do it!) Well the rifle takes about 500 shots to break in and as I started going through the shots while sighting my scope I would agree with both comments. But as you get closer to the 500ish rounds it does get a little more silent and a lot more accurate. The scope it comes with once sighted in is accurate as well for a 4x32 scope.

    Things I would have changed: As for the scope it does look very cheap. I personally traded this out for a 3-9x40 for a little more accuracy and control. Being that the rifle is inexspencive this was fine with me and made it a little more compairitive to the gamo swarm without the additional cost for attachments I don't want. The gun itself does almost look toyish and when aligning a shot you can feel the plastic ridges along the bottom. I personally sanded this down a little. Last the trigger is plastic and feels weak. These negatives in my opinion is not a deal breaker and I think the pros outweigh the cons and for the price I didn't expect much and got much more than expected. I would and have recommended this air rifle to others

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Steven from USA on 2017-12-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Feels good, easy to shoot, looks good. Right out of the box-I mounted the Scope, planing on having to get it sighted in and it is dead on at 20-yards. I read a lot of people complaining about the Scope? I see NO reason and have no intentions on changing it out. Not sure why it isn't good enough for them-works great for me. Overall, excellent Gun & Scope for the money! If you are looking for your first Pellet Rifle or just itching to add another to the collection, I can't see ya getting a better deal for the money!

    Things I would have changed: I am very disappointed in how loud it is! I live in the City, I Camp in Campgrounds and I wanted a quiet Pellet Rifle. I've been looking back and forth at this one and a few others for several months. I choose this one, they call it the Whisper,and in the description it claims reduces noise by 52%? I don't see where or how you guys reached this number. It is just as loud as my Beeman and other Gamo. Other than the noise-I love it. I guess I'll keep looking for a quiet one, but still don't regret buying this one.

    What others should know: I don't know if there is a powerful Pellet Rifle made today that really is quiet, if there is-please point me in the right direction.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Brady from USA on 2017-11-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: This gun is awesome it kills raccoons and opossum in just 2 shots it is easy to carry in the ranger or in the four wheeler.

    Things I would have changed: The scope is horrible I changed it to a rifle scope.

    What others should know: Change the scope

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Travis from USA on 2017-07-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Well I'll start with accuracy at 30 yards I had a dime size group 20 mins outta the box using the jsb jumbo dome pellets 18.13 grain. As for the scope everyone complains about yeah it's not a top notch scope but they didn't have to add it in with the gun so stop complaining not to mention mine works just fine. Next is the weight of the gun awesome is all I can say. Over all I love this gun.

    Things I would have changed: not a thing

    What others should know: If you want a good gun and not break the bank then this is an awesome gun to add to your collection or to have as your first air rifle.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Gary from USA on 2017-06-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Things I liked: I bought the Wildcat Whisper back in late Feb. early March 2017 I like to spend some time with a gun before I review it. so now it's late June and I have run well over 2000 pellets through it. For the price I can't imagine a better buy. I use Crossman 7.4 gr. .177 pointed pellets for both hunting and plinking and at 50yds it is accurate and lethal on crows and chucks. It is very hard hitting and will pass through 3/8th inch plywood at 50 yards. The scope that is included is better than I thought it would be, but an upgrade would still be a big improvement. the cocking is smooth and being gas piston there is very little vibration when you pull the trigger. It does have a report but have had no complaints from my neighbors and my roommate says she can barely hear it in the house. All and all I am very impressed with this air rifle.

    Things I would have changed: the only thing I think I would change is the trigger, it could be more crisp and it could be metal which it is not.

    What others should know: of course there is minor recoil and has a tendency to hop if using a bench rest. It is slower than a firearm so the follow through is important for accuracy.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By randy from USA on 2017-01-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: I'm really impressed with this pellet gun. It's great looking, the scope is OK, it's quieter than my Beeman and my Benjamin.. I set up some 2/6 boards and drew some ink spots on them. I got back about 50-60', after a dozen shots or so I had it dialed in and shooting dime sized groups. And man,the hard hitting power, it buries these hollow point inexpensive lead pellets deep into the wood. And the gun is inexpensive.

    Things I would have changed: It's not easy to cock, but I'm old.

    What others should know: A great value, from entry level to pro, this is a fun accurate inexpensive quality gun.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By joaquin from Chile on 2016-09-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Its very powerful, for the price i think its the best option for hunt really good or practice with differents targets.

    Things I would have changed: i think the scope is not enough good. Maybe with a centerpoint 3-9x40 AO could be amazing.

     
Navigation