Date: 16/8/2018 7:53
0

Seneca Sumatra 2500, 500cc Reservoir reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (78 reviews)

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By ed from USA on 2009-10-06 21:18:45

Things I liked: gun shoots very hard and accurate and can be ajusted to shoot any pellet weight buy reducing the power...well made and good looking,and a good amount of shots due the the large air tubes.

Things I would have changed: only thing i do not like is the way the power wheel is marked..does not make sense...but seems to just work buy one way is high other way is low...but it is not marked they way or told that way in the instructions.

What others should know: mine is 25 cal tons of power and likes the sam yang pellets the best,when on higher power.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:4.0

By JJ from USA on 2009-05-23 04:36:19

Things I liked: It worked good the first 6 shots ( 30 days ) then after that it broke! Shaved metal filings came out of the bottom.

Things I would have changed: I hate the fact pyramyd air will not take this gun back because i had it longer then 30 days. It broke about the 60th day of owning it and it was shot #18 to be exact!

What others should know: I am a full grown man and this gun was used for rodent control at my farm. Guess I will have to stick to my $100 .22 long rifle. If you like garbage this over priced sumatra is for you! I paid good money for this gun and air pump and now its useless i am very upset!

Sort by:
  • 1234 Next
  • Showitems
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Anthony from USA on 2018-04-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: #1 The power is outstanding #2 the wood and the graphics are magnificent

    Things I would have changed: I would change the magazine and the loading maybe to a single loader because this gun is extremely powerful and we'll make a outstanding Hunter rifle

    What others should know: Great looking gun the wood is outstanding but I had a problem with standard pellets slipping out the magazine work great with the hunter Supply 48 and 49 grain real powerhouse outstanding gun but sorry to say I had to send it back because I didn't like the pellets slipping out of the magazine every time I loaded it

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Jason from USA on 2018-03-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Pictures do not do this gun justice. The look and feel of this gun is fantastic. Shoots straight and accurate past 50 yds, havent tried 100 yet but i am cofident it will do it. It hits super hard for a .25 cal you will not be disappointed in this purchase.

    Things I would have changed: Cocking lever a little stiff but i have only put 500 rds through it seems to be loosening up a bit. Better open sights would have been nice, but they are good enough.

    What others should know: If you are undecided on this gun let me help you, buy it and thank me later, you will not find another gun like it in this price point.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jeff from USA on 2018-03-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: The gun is just beautiful, and regardless of whether or not the hunting scene is your cup of tea ( I love it) there is no denying the gun is gorgeous. It shoots beautifully as well, and is just as accurate as my FX Crown, but is twice as poweful. Out of the box this was a 100 fpe gun, but it will go higher. This thing will eat any pellet/slug you feed it, and the magazine is designed to hold the larger hunting slugs that other airguns (FX) cannot even hand load as the breach is too small. This gun was made for hunting, although you could absolutely shoot it in competition, the gun is that accurate. It is by far the most powerful .25 caliber that I own, more powerful than some .30 cals that I own. It likes heavy slugs as it is meant for hunting, but you can put pellet on top of pellet at 50 yards with JSB 25 grains too. I have not been able to find a pellet or slug that this gun cannot shoot accurately. It will shoot a .34 grain slug from NSA at 1000+ fps. Love the accuracy and power!

    Things I would have changed: The way the magazine holds the pellets is not my favorite as they will slide out if not in the gun. Loading the magazine into the gun can be a pain because the pellets may start to slide out as you are loading and the tolerances are very tight so you smush a pellet or have to pull the magazine out and reset it. Once it is in it works great, usuallly, but will on occasion fail to cycle properly and I have to work the lever again to load a round. It is a little heavy so if they can find a way to shave some fat off this bad boy that would be awesome.

    What others should know: As others keep saying the gun is loud, but that is because it is shooting at twice the power of every other .25 caliber on the market, and that NEEDS TO BE SAID when complaining about the sound. Don't shoot it at 1200 fps and break the sound barrier, turn the power down on the power wheel, shoot heavier pellets (slugs because you can) and buy a silencer. Yes, silencers on airguns are perfectly legal no matter the opinion of people who did not even graduate from college, let alone law school. DonnyFL Ronin works great and looks great, but there are many people that can make one for you. I do recommend DonnyFL as he is a great guy and will go out of his way to take care of your needs and specific gun. Buy this gun, you will not regret it and it will do anything you ask it to exceedingly well. It is not a designated paper puncher, but it totally could be, and that is awesome for a hunting rifle with this much power.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By BadDogCoffeeCo from USA on 2018-01-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: most everything except power adjuster....Very powerful... I have both .25 Carbine and reg .25 rifle... 1in grouping at 78yards with plenty of power left using 21.88gr....I only get a max of 12 shots because I shoot longer range than most I guess with probably 24 shots a 50yrds.

    Things I would have changed: power adjuster... Add some way for a sling mount...

    What others should know: likes heavier gr bullets... I use a barely noticeable amount of bees wax to keep shot in spare cylinders when hunting and does fine...

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By James from USA on 2017-11-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: This rifle is way stronger than I expected. It looks great.Cocks as it should,and can be accurate.I am still getting used to it.

    Things I would have changed: It is a little heavy.I would not want to go walking through the woods with it.It would be tiresome.Its way too loud.Some sort of silencer should be offred.

    What others should know: I don't shoot this rifle as much as my others because of its weight and noise.But if you want to take down game like a coyote or similiar size this is the gun for you.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Miles from USA on 2017-11-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: This thing is a beast

    Things I would have changed: Get rid of the hunting scene and just make it a blued piece.

    What others should know: Pcp air rifles run heavy. Made mine take a sling.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Van from USA on 2017-08-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Very powerful gun in .22 which is my favorite caliber.The gun is very accurate with scope on gun rest or a good steady hand.I love to chronograph mine when shooting to see the guns maximum potential when using different pellets.The fit and finish of the gun exceeded my expectations . "if you like power and velocity,this is the gun you want"

    Things I would have changed: The magazine could be machined to hold the pellets better.

    What others should know: Pyramyd Air exceeded my expectations I will always buy from them and recommend them to other air gunners.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Roshawn from USA on 2017-04-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.764 ratings

    Things I liked: I have had this gun now for about 2 months and let me tell you I LOVE IT!! Very accurate and very powerful. I'm really suprised with both. People talk about how loud it is which on medium and high power it is but on low power it is no where near as loud as I thought.

    Things I would have changed: Really nothing maybe a bigger magazine that could get 9 shots instead of 6 but I'm just trying to find something to complain about lol.

    What others should know: People are always comparing this gun to the airforce condor as far as power ...I have the 25 cal the specifications are really low balled on this gun. The air force condor 25 cal is a 80 fpe gun out the box. The 22 CAL SUMATRA is making 70-80 fpe out the box. The 25 cal sumatra is a 100 fpe gun out the box. The condor can be modded to get these numbers but if your like me who wants to add extra money to a gun you just payed for plus it's only a single shot. The 25 cal sumatra shoots harder then most 30 cal guns enough said!!

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Richard from USA on 2017-02-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.764 ratings

    Things I liked: Well, to start with, this gun is just beautiful. It has an extremely large capacity of air. It shoots as hard as the Pyramyd Air people says it will do and with heavy pellets. Mine seems to use a lot of air through shooting it, it doesn't leak at all though.

    Things I would have changed: It is heavy, especially if you put a scope on it. I put a scope on it to see how accurate it really was, and it is accurate. It needs to come with a moderator as it is loud, real loud. My only complaint of this gun is it's trigger, it isn't quality like the rest of the gun and pulls hard. Takes some getting use to. I only gave it a four star rating strictly because of the trigger. I wish the sights were a little better like my old Career II but they are acceptable.

    What others should know: If you want power, this gun has power to spare, no matter which setting you use, it has plenty of power.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By RICHARD from USA on 2017-02-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.04 ratings

    Things I liked: FIT AND FINISH IS VERY GOOD ON MY RIFLE WHICH IS IN .22cal. I GET 120 GOOD SHOTS WITH THE POWER SET ONE CLICK ABOVE THE LOW SETTING USING 13.4gr JSBs. THIS GIVES ME 950FPS DOWN TO 800FPS APROX. WITH THIS LOWER SET IT ISN'T AS LOUD (ONLY ABOUT 95db) AND I CAN USE IT INDOORS. HIGH POWER IS OUTSTANDING IN MY RIFLE. I'VE SEEN 1189 FPS WITH THE 28.5 GRN. AND OVER 1250 FPS WITH 21.4 GRN PELLETS ALMOST 90FPE. THAT IS INSANE! I HAVE NOT DONE ANY 75,100, OR 150 YARD SHOOTING AS THE WEATHER HAS BEEN BAD. AT 50 YARDS ON FULL POWER I HAVE HAD HALF INCH GROUPS FROM THE BENCH OVER AND OVER. THE ACTION IS VERY POSITIVE AND I HAVE NOT HAD A SINGLE MISFEED IN OVER A THOUSAND ROUNDS I'VE SHOT INTHE LAST TWO MONTHS. THE OPEN SIGHTS ARE NICE BUT I USE A SCOPE (3-9X44 BURRIS) AS MY OLD EYES ARE NOT WHAT THEY USED TO BE. THIS RIFLE AS I HAVE IT SETUP IS MUCH LIGHTER THAN MY HATSANS IN .30 & .25 CAL.s AND I WAS PLEASED TO FIND THE TRIGGER WOULD SET TO A CLEAN CRISP ONE POUND BREAK! LOVE THE MANUAL SAFETY .

    Things I would have changed: THE STOCK WHILE CLASSY LOOKING IS ALMOST IMPOSSIBLE FOR ME TO USE THE NICE OPEN SIGHTS. THIS RIFLE DESERVES BETTER. THE WHEEL FOR POWER ADJUSTMENTS WILL MOVE WITH NEARLY EVERY SHOT AND NEEDS A BETTER LOCK OR SET. I JUST PUT TAPE ON IT AND THAT SEEMS TO HOLD THE SET SOFAR. THERE ARE NO SLING RINGS AND THIS IS REALLY SAD ON A RIFLE I AM SURE MOST OF US WOULD AND WILL USE TO HUNT WITH. ALL THAT SAID THIS RIFLE IS A FINE BIT OF WORK AND IT OUT PERFORMS RIFLES THAT COST ME THOUSANDS MORE.

    What others should know: THIS RIFLE WILL DO IT ALL AND DO IT WELL. THE POWER WHEEL MAKES ALL THE DIF. WHEN IT COMES TO MAKING YOUR PELLET FLY TRUE TO THE MARK. MOST PELLETS DON'T LIKE THE HIGH POWER THIS RIFLE PUTS OUT BUT THE WHEEL CAN BRING THE RIGHT POWER TO THE PELLET AND SO FAR I HAVE NOT FOUND A SINGLE PELLET I COULD NOT SHOOT WELL FROM THIS RIFLE WITH A BIT OF ADJUSTMENT. THE CYLINDERS ONLY HOLD SIX SHOTS AND THE PELLETS WILL FALL OUT OF THEM WHEN NOT IN THE RIFLE. WHAT I FOUND THAT WORKS FOR ME IS TO SAVE A PELLET TIN THAT JUST WILL HOLD THEM UPRIGHT WITH THE LID ON. I HAVE YET TO FIND A .22 PELLET THAT IS TO LONG FOR THE MAG AND IT HANDLES MY MOLDED SLUGS NO PROBLEM. IF I COULD ONLY HAVE ONE RIFLE THIS JUST MIGHT BE THE ONE. MY RIFLE IS A REFURBISH FROM P/A BUT IT LOOKS BETTER THAN ALOT OF NEW ONES. YOU WILL NOT FIND BETTER PEOPLE TO DEAL WITH THAN PYRAMYD AIR. I HAD TO SEND BACK ANOTHER RIFLE (HATSAN NOVA )THAT HAD PROBLEMS AND BOUGHT THE SAMUTRA AND HAD IT DELIVERED BEFORE THEY GOT THE NOVA BACK.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By airhead from USA on 2016-11-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Of course, the looks, underlever action, plenty of power. The attraction for me, is the fact that it's different than any air rifle I own, but it made me wonder if it's more bells and whistles than reliable quality

    Things I would have changed: A better power wheel. The first one I got had a defective check valve and the power wheel moved a click, on it's own, after each shot. Sent it back, repaired valve problem, but the wheel still moved. Sent it back, got a new replacement. Shoots great but the wheel turns on it's own on this one too. I decided to keep it, I put a small piece of gorilla tape on wheel to hold it in place. I shouldn't have to do that, but it works

    What others should know: It seems to be a nice air gun but I've had two of these now with similar defects. Maybe they got a few that passed quality control and I ended up with two of them. Can't find any review addressing the power wheel issue. All in all, nice rifle. Very powerful and loud

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Jonathan from USA on 2016-08-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.663 ratings

    Things I liked: Smooth cocking Over 90lbs of muzzle energy Real wood True fps as described Metal mags Built in foster quick fill.

    Things I would have changed: Longer scope rail so i can mount more than one weaver adapter. A big bore version if this would hands down be the best buy out there.

    What others should know: All the weighted .25 cal pellets i tried went clean through a coconut even the lighter grain ones. With the big 43.2 g pellet the fps was 983 on 3000 psi. From around 1000-1200 psi takes 120 pumps on the hill mk4 pump. 2 mags on high power brought me down tobarounr 1400 psi

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Phillip from USA on 2016-07-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.03 ratings

    Things I liked: This is a nice well built rifle. I own the .22 cal and installed it the UTG 4-16 -44 sidewinder scope and must say the accuracy is outstanding at 45yrds. The fit and finish is superb and the action is very smooth.

    Things I would have changed: There is nothing I would change about the gun itself but I purchased extra magazines so I would not have to fumble with reloading them while hunting or target practice. Here's the bummer, the pellets load skirt first in the mag and do not fit snugly and stay in place. If you set the mags facing up on your shooting table they will be fine but your not gonna throw a handful of pre loaded mags in your pocket and head off into the woods for the day without the pellets falling out.

    What others should know: Other than the pellet magazine issue this is one of the finest rifles in my airgun collection which consists of 31 rifles, most being high end guns. I would recommend this rifle if you are a true enthusiasts and after shooting it you will know it's $ well spent.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jorge from USA on 2016-05-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Stunning finish.. great quality and performance. that's all I have to say. period.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: It is LOUD..!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Yoel from USA on 2016-04-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings

    Things I liked: This is my first pcp air gun and I'm very impressive,is very accurate ,also I know every gun is different but my gun love the 28.40 gr Baracuda Hunter Extreme , she make 1000 fps and 62 fpe ,very accurate @35 yards to 62 yards with that pellets just in #9 power when she is full charger and close to 30 full shot.

    Things I would have changed: The rifle is a little heavy , should make the air reservoir in aluminum weighing less.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Mark from USA on 2016-03-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Just an initial review. I have all of 18 rounds through it. It's beautiful. It's heavy but well balanced...lever action is nice though it takes some getting used to. It takes a little technique which boils down to adjustement on your part. Again, these are just initial impressions. Did I mention it's beautiful? She's a little slimy out of the box but a quick wipe down yielded...a beautiful gun. Overall fit and function seem to be quite nice at this point.

    Things I would have changed: Go back to adjustable comb or just get rid of the iron sights, save a few bucks in manufacturing. Iron sights are pretty well useless. I was hoping to skate on having to buy a scope right out of the gate. High comb on butt stock makes iron sights damned near impossible to use. Pretty much a waste to have them. The trigger is squishy. Again, these are just initial impressions out of the box. No adjustments on trigger.

    What others should know: Since I'm new to PCP's take what I've said with a grain of salt. Overall fit and finish of the gun is really quite beautiful. It's what drew me to the gun in the first place and in that regard I'm not disappointed. It really looks and feels to be a quality product. The trigger is vague. The sights are questionable. I think with a little effort on my part it will turn out to be a really fine gun. I keep mentioning that the gun is beautiful...I tend to be a fit, form and function kind of person. At this price point, the gun has it's merits...I need to throw a scope on it and use it a bit more. But my overall impression is positive...

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kevin from USA on 2016-01-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: I like Everything about the Sumatra .22, Powerful and accurate, it blows holes through car doors, I have an old VW we use for target practice, on full power it will go through both doors, loading is easy, and it looks great.

    Things I would have changed: the stock filler probe leaked so get rid of the stock filler and install a Fosters 1/8" quick connect pt # (PY-A-2841)

    What others should know: buy the Fosters 1/8" quick connect (PY-A-2841) , This gun is very powerful and loud, not a city backyard plinker, more of a way out in the country backyard plinker, the gun is not pellet fussy, Pellets that work good are, JSB anything heavy, 18gn and over, H&N heavy's, Eunjin's 32gn,

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Steve from USA on 2015-11-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.85 ratings

    Things I liked: Looks. Power. Wow...what the heck is that is ones first impression. Looks dangerous.

    Things I would have changed: More valve stability

    What others should know: Sumatra fans.. I have completed over 10,000 rounds. I have some serious ballistic data with all thirteen+ settings. This rifle will destroy. There are reserved and limited reviews on this rifle but it can match up shot count against Daystate and FX. Long story short. The rifle was designed for Eun Jins 32 and 28's. PERIOD. It was designed to KILL. PERIOD. This rifle will destroy .25 caliber....except its Big Brother. I have rediculous hours and money spent testing this rifle. Start 32's Grn-L2 and click up 1 power every 6 shots ( 50 Yards ) to Grn-H2. Start 28's Grn-L1-6 shots, Grn-L2-12 shots, then Red-L/6,Red-L1/6.Red-L2/6. Beeman Kodiaks 100 plus shots easily....Start BLK-2/12. Grn-L1/24. Grn-L2/16,Red-L/6.Red,Red-L1/6, Red-L2/6. Don't waist your money buying any other pellets other then the following GRAINS. 32's/28's/21.14's/15.89/.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Jpainterman4 from USA on 2015-11-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.343 ratings

    Things I liked: Looks awesome

    Things I would have changed: Ply 1 barrel would be better

    What others should know: Nouthing

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Colin from USA on 2015-11-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Balanced, power in spades, accurate and beautiful. One of the most powerful production air rifles...and very accurate.

    Things I would have changed: My 2500 came with an external quick connect fitting with a cover, it works good but I lost it in 10 minutes.

     
  • 1234 Next
Navigation