Date: 14/7/2020 9:57
0

Customer Reviews for Seneca Sumatra 2500

Average Customer Review

5.0 (99 reviews)

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By ed from USA on 2009-10-06 21:18:45

Things I liked: gun shoots very hard and accurate and can be ajusted to shoot any pellet weight buy reducing the power...well made and good looking,and a good amount of shots due the the large air tubes.

Things I would have changed: only thing i do not like is the way the power wheel is marked..does not make sense...but seems to just work buy one way is high other way is low...but it is not marked they way or told that way in the instructions.

What others should know: mine is 25 cal tons of power and likes the sam yang pellets the best,when on higher power.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:4.0

By JJ from USA on 2009-05-23 04:36:19

Things I liked: It worked good the first 6 shots ( 30 days ) then after that it broke! Shaved metal filings came out of the bottom.

Things I would have changed: I hate the fact pyramyd air will not take this gun back because i had it longer then 30 days. It broke about the 60th day of owning it and it was shot #18 to be exact!

What others should know: I am a full grown man and this gun was used for rodent control at my farm. Guess I will have to stick to my $100 .22 long rifle. If you like garbage this over priced sumatra is for you! I paid good money for this gun and air pump and now its useless i am very upset!

Sort by:
  • 12345 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ignascio from USA on 2020-03-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Power, power and more power. Accuracy is sharp. I like shooting it cowboy style with no bags on a bench or standing. Nice groupings despite a good kick. Fun lever action.

    Things I would have changed: Not much. The air tube does not hold the fill 100% after filling but settles to about 3/4....I decided to fill it then turn it muzzle down before opening the pump release valve and it helps a bit. Not a big deal for me.

    What others should know: Little loud for the backyard even with a DonnyFL moderator so warn your neighbors that your installing a deck with your pneumatic nail gun for a few weeks...

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Bob from USA on 2020-01-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It's a pretty nice air rifle. Looks are not that important to me but it is really nice to see walnut in a plastic world. Power seems to be as advertised. Haven't measured velocity yet but 16 gr.pellets seem to go supersonic. Pyramyd followed my shipping instructions and rifle arrived in bush Alaska in about a week.

    Things I would have changed: Kinda heavy but so what? Magazines could be improved with some type of detent to keep pellets from falling out. Somewhat difficult to insert magazine especially with scope in place.

    What others should know: Cracks like a rimfire when fired. If you have that kind of money to spend, go for it. Durability yet to be determined, if it continues to function for a couple or more years itll be a favorite of mine.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2019-12-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very powerful with the 43.2 grain end Jin pellets.

    Things I would have changed: Package with a moderator.

    What others should know: You need a very good back stop for this rifle if shooting on high power. As shipped it is in no way back yard friendly but with a moderator and a very strong back stop could be. I know when I shot mine I used hearing protection.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By bob from USA on 2019-09-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great gun. Shoots better than my 22 rim fire. I studied for several months before I chose the Sumatra 2500. For the money you can get it with scope, pellets, and a bipod for less than a fx gun.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: I am glad I got the bipod. PA has a part that will fit the air tube on the 2500 long gun only and the bipod fits right on it. I got the 20 for$20.00 and that is cheap insurance that insures you have no problems starting out. PA ROCKS!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Myron from USA on 2019-08-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accurate, power, well made, beautiful

    Things I would have changed: Lighten if possible and add a moderator

    What others should know: Truly an excellent rifle

  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By pelletman from USA on 2019-07-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: SHOOTS VERY ACCURATE, SHOOTS THE JSB AND SENECA POINTED PELLETS HOLE IN HOLE, VERY VERY POWERFUL, RIGHT UP THERE WITH THE HERULES BULLY, SO ITS A POWER HOUSE GUN.. ALSO LIKE THE BUILD IN FILL PROBE

    Things I would have changed: SO FAR THERE IS NOTHING I WOULD CHANGE.

    What others should know: THE MAGS WILL NOT HOLD ROUND BALL PELLETS, THEY FALL THROUGH THE MAG, BUT THATS NOT (IN SOUTHERN GUNNER WORDS) A DEAL BREAKER, IN MY OPINION HEAD SHOTS ARE THE BEST USE FOR THIS GUN, OTHERWISE IT WILL PROBALY NOT LEAVE MUCH MEAT FOR THE TABLE

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mickey from USA on 2019-07-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Every thing. For the money you can't get a more powerful rifle. There are others out there but they can't come close to the power and accuracy of the Sumatra. All of the high dollar rifles that cost 2 to 3 times as much can't touch it.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing. Right out of the box it's ready to go. The wood work is great craftmanship. The engravings on the metal on each side is beautiful

    What others should know: Having adjustable power is great. Using JSB 34 gr pellets on medium power=978fps, that translates into 72 plus ftlbs. I have used 40 gr Nielsen Specialty Ammo on high power and got over 97 ftlbs. At 30 yrds the JSB 34 gr shoot thru a 2x4 with out any problems. It's not pellet fussy. If you can fit it in the magazine, it will shoot it. On final thing. It is loud, very loud. I use a Wolf Airgun Silencer and now it's back yard friendly. It's devastating on Squirrels and I have dropped several 25 plus lb racoons with it. I had a 60 lb Beaver that was causing me problems and I took it out with one shot.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Andy McCall from USA on 2019-06-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This is a heavy gun, but in a good way. It feels good in your hands, and balances well. It's also very accurate. One of my favorite things though, is the adjustable power wheel just in front of the lever action. You can adjust the power from a low power ,backyard friendly plinker, to a fire breathing killing machine, that sounds like a 22 long rifle going off, or louder! The magazines are longer than most others out there, which allows for loading a wider variety of pellets. Overall a very versatile gun.

    Things I would have changed: To load pellets into the magazine, you lust drop them into the holes. There's nothing but gravity holding them in, so you must be careful they don't spill out before you get mag loaded into the gun. maybe an o-ring to retain the pellets. There is also nothing to stop you from loading more than one pellet into the chamber (aside from them simply getting jammed up inside). It's very easy to do, especially right as you're mounting a fresh mag.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Steven from USA on 2019-06-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Absolutely LOVE this rifle Very accurrate enormous hitting power Very nice fit and finish for price range

    Things I would have changed: The trigger is not 2 stage and at best minimally adjustable . To state honesty it is the worst trigger that I have ever used The magazines will not hold pellets in place so forget about preloading and carrying in your pocket. They should machine a ring and use an O ring like the Hatsan BT 65 and AT 44 Attach a small chain to filler cap so not to lose Otherwise I LOVE it I would purchase it again

    What others should know: It is a bit heavy It is the loadest air rifle thst I have ever shot

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gary from USA on 2019-05-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like the 6 shot cylinder mag. The look of the rifle is of high quality. Lots of power on the higher settings. Very accurate when adjusted between 800 and 950 FPS depending on what weight you are shooting. Mine shoots 49 grain slugs at 956 fps for muzzle energy of 99.46 ft. pounds....That is a LOT of power.

    Things I would have changed: it is so loud... Only negative for me is the noise level.. It is as loud as a shotgun. I ordered a suppressor from Wolf airguns and I could not believe the results. It is now back yard friendly. It is unreal how much that suppressor limited that noise.

    What others should know: Well ... this air rifle will make you want another one just like it!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Don from USA on 2019-05-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Where do I begin? The accuracy on this gun is surprising. I own the .25 cal and on a setting of medium power (to conserve air) and at a distance of 50 yards I can place ten pellets inside a circle the size of a nickel. I haven't attempted 100 yards yet, but I am certain I can place inside a circle the size of a quarter and that isn't anything to complain about, even a fifty cent piece size circle would be acceptable . The power (100 foot pounds) is far better than I expected. I am picking off ground hogs at 75 yards, on medium power, and dropping them in their tracks. Due to the power of this gun, it is very loud. I decided to purchase the Donnyfl Ronin and it quiets the gun substantially. It is a little heavy once you mount a scope, but I knew that when I purchased it. For the price; the quality, the power and the accuracy cannot be matched in my opinion. I could not be more pleased with my first gun.

    Things I would have changed: I would sell it with the Donnyfl Ronin as a combination, it really needs a moderator. Maybe not the .22, but the .25 definitely does. Especially on high power (it sounds like a .22 rim fire). I would also add the ability to mount a sling. Being so heavy, a sling would be really nice. Other than that, I would change nothing.

    What others should know: For everything you get in this gun (adjustable power, 6 shot revolver cartridge with an extra cartridge added, lever action which feels simply awesome, adjustable trigger, the ability to add a moderator on the front of the barrel with no modifications needed, the gauge on the underside of the gun, the air capacity (500cc), the quality of the wood, the quality of the barrel and not to mention the accuracy) you would be doing yourself a disservice not buying this gun. Final word, consider no other. Whether this is your first gun or twentieth, if this is not in your collection, shame on you. This gun will most likely become your favorite and you will be the envy of all of your friends. Hear me now, believe me later!!!!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gary from USA on 2019-05-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: accuracy and power choice & lever action along with the circular magazine that holds any length projectile.

    Things I would have changed: only one thing I would change if I could and I can so I will. I ordered a suppressor for it and still waiting to see how much effect that will have on the Sumatra. This is a beast of a rifle.

    What others should know: It is LOUD!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Pharon from USA on 2019-04-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Everything...No really...Its that good in my opinion!!!

    Things I would have changed: Read part one.... Nothing

    What others should know: My best airgun experience was 1971 a red rider and a treasure chest of 5000 bbs. Till this week! action is awesome! cant believe no one has copied it! 30.86 grain baracuda round nose. Medium setting full charge. 48 shots(45 MEASURED yards) $28 dollar walmart Barska 3x9 scope. 3 shot (dime groupings) and 24 easter eggs annihilated And still green at 140bar and accurate. New charge full green. high power 47.8 grain pellet/bullets.Solid nose. 20 yards. blew through a 2x4 and almost a 3/4 treated plyboard 10 feet behind it. Stopped shooting those at this time too dangerous until we get into the open woods. Triple stack over and under design is beautiful in person and unique. Im cheap. Couldn't believe I was spending this much money on an air gun. I was wrong. Love It! I have a smile as I am typing. I'm old. Foot pump doo-able.Yes. My dive tank preferred? O'heck yea! Loud? Close quarter neighborhood. low power. ok if you know your neighbors. NOT obnoxious. High power open woods! Enjoy!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Joseph from USA on 2019-04-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: power accuracy on this gun is really good with slugs and pellets

    Things I would have changed: nothing at this price point this gun is a amazing deal did have a issue with a valve leaking air read on forums and others said same problem sent it to pyramid air service department they fixed it never had a problem again

    What others should know: go donnie fl makes this gun backyard freindly

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By gelsson from USA on 2019-03-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: powerful, classic look

    Things I would have changed: the heavy side of the rifle

    What others should know: very loud and heavy rifle, if the carabine model have the same power is this rifle at will be the best of the best hunting rifle in .25 cal

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Bill from USA on 2018-11-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Airgun Depot did a test comparing this rifle to a horde of others. In the end it produced in .25 caliber 95 Ft. lbs. of power with a .49 grain Hunter's Supply cast slug. Bested every one else by a nice margin. That sold me. It is loud. It is unregulated. But, frankly I could not care less as it is both powerful and accurate in the extreme. The Sheridan .27 grain pellets are simply one on top of another at 50 yards. I sighted my rifle in at 50 yards and regularly shoot 60 to 75 yards without noticeable drop. Southern Air gunner has done well-placed shots out to 135 yards. This is really a versatile rifle. I use a UTG 3X9 40mm scope. I have an air tank so filling is fast and easy with the fitting on the rifle requiring no adapter. It does use air at full power with 12 shots being efficient before the drop begins. The magazine is easy to load and takes little effort to place in battery. However, you do need to tilt the rifle up a bit to ensure the pellets stay in place.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: If you hunt in brushy country buy the carbine. This is a Big Gun.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James from USA on 2018-10-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Powerful, accurate and fun. What more could anyone want. Got the long gun in 25. Now I want the 22 in the carbine. The 25 is great for anything I need from hunting on high to plinking on a little above low. So why would I want the 22 carbine? Well I dont know but I do.

    Things I would have changed: Include a moderator.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Richard from USA on 2018-10-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Fast lever action style air gun for quick follow up shots , bought mine in 22cal. and is a very powerfull and accurate air gun ,will dispatch critters way out there using the heavy Korean pellets with extreme preduice , turn the power wheel down a couple of dots and shoot lighter pellets with more shots on board still keeping the velocity right up there, this really is an awesome air gun in the price range it sells for. Thank you Pyramyd Air for importing them in our great country USA. I installed a new Donny FL. SUMO ldc along with the Seneca adapter he has in stock and wow . QUIET

    Things I would have changed: Taller open sights would be a great option for close range blasting

    What others should know: If you love the western style lever action air gun , you will love this gun in all its calibers , it is a super fast and accurate power house gun with fast follow up shots, way to go SUMATRA Richard Pollard AKA Tobyjoe up here in the Bangor Maine area

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jim from USA on 2018-10-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: With infinitely adjustable power, This gun shoots anything from heavy slugs to lightweight pellets equally well. Easy to load the inexpensive stainless steel magazines. This is a powerful lever gun reminiscent of the wild west guns of the past.

    Things I would have changed: nothing

    What others should know: It is as loud as a 22 rimfire rifle.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By IAN from USA on 2018-09-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I've had this rifle for about a yr now. I have about 8 or more pellet guns and rifles. This is by far my best and favorite rifle. I absolutely love the design and lever action! VERY accurate and powerful!! The kick is very minimal for the loud noise it makes. Can shoot casted pellet slugs!

    Things I would have changed: Very loud! Kinda heavy. I wish it had someplace to mount a light or bipod, without boring the pretty wood. Also, the wood hand rest is VERY thin, so trying to mount an aftermarket rail may not work out well. I would make it shoot more pellets! You cant tell how many pellets are left in the multi-shot, and to find out you need to cock the lever which then pushes a pellet in the chamber, just to release the multi-shot to check the pellets.

    What others should know: BUY THIS RIFLE if you can shoot it where you have space and can bear the noise. NOT RECOMMENDED anywhere near a city!!!! It scares all the other animals away. Louder than a real .22 cal power burner! You should probably wear some ear protection if you shoot it often!

     
  • 12345 Next
Navigation