Date: 20/5/2019 21:46
0

Seneca Sumatra 2500. SU-R00030. Customer Reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (90 reviews)

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By ed from USA on 2009-10-06 21:18:45

Things I liked: gun shoots very hard and accurate and can be ajusted to shoot any pellet weight buy reducing the power...well made and good looking,and a good amount of shots due the the large air tubes.

Things I would have changed: only thing i do not like is the way the power wheel is marked..does not make sense...but seems to just work buy one way is high other way is low...but it is not marked they way or told that way in the instructions.

What others should know: mine is 25 cal tons of power and likes the sam yang pellets the best,when on higher power.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:4.0

By JJ from USA on 2009-05-23 04:36:19

Things I liked: It worked good the first 6 shots ( 30 days ) then after that it broke! Shaved metal filings came out of the bottom.

Things I would have changed: I hate the fact pyramyd air will not take this gun back because i had it longer then 30 days. It broke about the 60th day of owning it and it was shot #18 to be exact!

What others should know: I am a full grown man and this gun was used for rodent control at my farm. Guess I will have to stick to my $100 .22 long rifle. If you like garbage this over priced sumatra is for you! I paid good money for this gun and air pump and now its useless i am very upset!

Sort by:
  • 12345 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gary from USA on 2019-05-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like the 6 shot cylinder mag. The look of the rifle is of high quality. Lots of power on the higher settings. Very accurate when adjusted between 800 and 950 FPS depending on what weight you are shooting. Mine shoots 49 grain slugs at 956 fps for muzzle energy of 99.46 ft. pounds....That is a LOT of power.

    Things I would have changed: it is so loud... Only negative for me is the noise level.. It is as loud as a shotgun. I ordered a suppressor from Wolf airguns and I could not believe the results. It is now back yard friendly. It is unreal how much that suppressor limited that noise.

    What others should know: Well ... this air rifle will make you want another one just like it!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Don from USA on 2019-05-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Where do I begin? The accuracy on this gun is surprising. I own the .25 cal and on a setting of medium power (to conserve air) and at a distance of 50 yards I can place ten pellets inside a circle the size of a nickel. I haven't attempted 100 yards yet, but I am certain I can place inside a circle the size of a quarter and that isn't anything to complain about, even a fifty cent piece size circle would be acceptable . The power (100 foot pounds) is far better than I expected. I am picking off ground hogs at 75 yards, on medium power, and dropping them in their tracks. Due to the power of this gun, it is very loud. I decided to purchase the Donnyfl Ronin and it quiets the gun substantially. It is a little heavy once you mount a scope, but I knew that when I purchased it. For the price; the quality, the power and the accuracy cannot be matched in my opinion. I could not be more pleased with my first gun.

    Things I would have changed: I would sell it with the Donnyfl Ronin as a combination, it really needs a moderator. Maybe not the .22, but the .25 definitely does. Especially on high power (it sounds like a .22 rim fire). I would also add the ability to mount a sling. Being so heavy, a sling would be really nice. Other than that, I would change nothing.

    What others should know: For everything you get in this gun (adjustable power, 6 shot revolver cartridge with an extra cartridge added, lever action which feels simply awesome, adjustable trigger, the ability to add a moderator on the front of the barrel with no modifications needed, the gauge on the underside of the gun, the air capacity (500cc), the quality of the wood, the quality of the barrel and not to mention the accuracy) you would be doing yourself a disservice not buying this gun. Final word, consider no other. Whether this is your first gun or twentieth, if this is not in your collection, shame on you. This gun will most likely become your favorite and you will be the envy of all of your friends. Hear me now, believe me later!!!!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gary from USA on 2019-05-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: accuracy and power choice & lever action along with the circular magazine that holds any length projectile.

    Things I would have changed: only one thing I would change if I could and I can so I will. I ordered a suppressor for it and still waiting to see how much effect that will have on the Sumatra. This is a beast of a rifle.

    What others should know: It is LOUD!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Pharon from USA on 2019-04-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Everything...No really...Its that good in my opinion!!!

    Things I would have changed: Read part one.... Nothing

    What others should know: My best airgun experience was 1971 a red rider and a treasure chest of 5000 bbs. Till this week! action is awesome! cant believe no one has copied it! 30.86 grain baracuda round nose. Medium setting full charge. 48 shots(45 MEASURED yards) $28 dollar walmart Barska 3x9 scope. 3 shot (dime groupings) and 24 easter eggs annihilated And still green at 140bar and accurate. New charge full green. high power 47.8 grain pellet/bullets.Solid nose. 20 yards. blew through a 2x4 and almost a 3/4 treated plyboard 10 feet behind it. Stopped shooting those at this time too dangerous until we get into the open woods. Triple stack over and under design is beautiful in person and unique. Im cheap. Couldn't believe I was spending this much money on an air gun. I was wrong. Love It! I have a smile as I am typing. I'm old. Foot pump doo-able.Yes. My dive tank preferred? O'heck yea! Loud? Close quarter neighborhood. low power. ok if you know your neighbors. NOT obnoxious. High power open woods! Enjoy!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Joseph from USA on 2019-04-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: power accuracy on this gun is really good with slugs and pellets

    Things I would have changed: nothing at this price point this gun is a amazing deal did have a issue with a valve leaking air read on forums and others said same problem sent it to pyramid air service department they fixed it never had a problem again

    What others should know: go donnie fl makes this gun backyard freindly

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By gelsson from USA on 2019-03-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: powerful, classic look

    Things I would have changed: the heavy side of the rifle

    What others should know: very loud and heavy rifle, if the carabine model have the same power is this rifle at will be the best of the best hunting rifle in .25 cal

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Bill from USA on 2018-11-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Airgun Depot did a test comparing this rifle to a horde of others. In the end it produced in .25 caliber 95 Ft. lbs. of power with a .49 grain Hunter's Supply cast slug. Bested every one else by a nice margin. That sold me. It is loud. It is unregulated. But, frankly I could not care less as it is both powerful and accurate in the extreme. The Sheridan .27 grain pellets are simply one on top of another at 50 yards. I sighted my rifle in at 50 yards and regularly shoot 60 to 75 yards without noticeable drop. Southern Air gunner has done well-placed shots out to 135 yards. This is really a versatile rifle. I use a UTG 3X9 40mm scope. I have an air tank so filling is fast and easy with the fitting on the rifle requiring no adapter. It does use air at full power with 12 shots being efficient before the drop begins. The magazine is easy to load and takes little effort to place in battery. However, you do need to tilt the rifle up a bit to ensure the pellets stay in place.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: If you hunt in brushy country buy the carbine. This is a Big Gun.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James from USA on 2018-10-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Powerful, accurate and fun. What more could anyone want. Got the long gun in 25. Now I want the 22 in the carbine. The 25 is great for anything I need from hunting on high to plinking on a little above low. So why would I want the 22 carbine? Well I dont know but I do.

    Things I would have changed: Include a moderator.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Richard from USA on 2018-10-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Fast lever action style air gun for quick follow up shots , bought mine in 22cal. and is a very powerfull and accurate air gun ,will dispatch critters way out there using the heavy Korean pellets with extreme preduice , turn the power wheel down a couple of dots and shoot lighter pellets with more shots on board still keeping the velocity right up there, this really is an awesome air gun in the price range it sells for. Thank you Pyramyd Air for importing them in our great country USA. I installed a new Donny FL. SUMO ldc along with the Seneca adapter he has in stock and wow . QUIET

    Things I would have changed: Taller open sights would be a great option for close range blasting

    What others should know: If you love the western style lever action air gun , you will love this gun in all its calibers , it is a super fast and accurate power house gun with fast follow up shots, way to go SUMATRA Richard Pollard AKA Tobyjoe up here in the Bangor Maine area

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jim from USA on 2018-10-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: With infinitely adjustable power, This gun shoots anything from heavy slugs to lightweight pellets equally well. Easy to load the inexpensive stainless steel magazines. This is a powerful lever gun reminiscent of the wild west guns of the past.

    Things I would have changed: nothing

    What others should know: It is as loud as a 22 rimfire rifle.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By IAN from USA on 2018-09-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I've had this rifle for about a yr now. I have about 8 or more pellet guns and rifles. This is by far my best and favorite rifle. I absolutely love the design and lever action! VERY accurate and powerful!! The kick is very minimal for the loud noise it makes. Can shoot casted pellet slugs!

    Things I would have changed: Very loud! Kinda heavy. I wish it had someplace to mount a light or bipod, without boring the pretty wood. Also, the wood hand rest is VERY thin, so trying to mount an aftermarket rail may not work out well. I would make it shoot more pellets! You cant tell how many pellets are left in the multi-shot, and to find out you need to cock the lever which then pushes a pellet in the chamber, just to release the multi-shot to check the pellets.

    What others should know: BUY THIS RIFLE if you can shoot it where you have space and can bear the noise. NOT RECOMMENDED anywhere near a city!!!! It scares all the other animals away. Louder than a real .22 cal power burner! You should probably wear some ear protection if you shoot it often!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Glenn from USA on 2018-09-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The is a bang for your buck gun. Want one of meanest 25 cal around. This is what you want. I fitted it with a hawk 3x12x44. Well i'll post my 50y target and yes I used a rest. Sumatra 2500 500cc with the Hawk scope and 25 cal JSB MKII 33.95gr pellets. The gun likes Benj domes also but the JSB MKII pellets are almost 6gr heavier. So FPE is a beast. I also ran the gun around 3100-3150 PSI. Been shooting to long to miss so I recharge the air tank after every 6 shots.

    Things I would have changed: NOTHING

    What others should know: Strongest 25 cal pellet gun in my book, Yeah it's loud but I live on a few acres and shooting real guns are allowed anyway.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Anthony from USA on 2018-04-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: #1 The power is outstanding #2 the wood and the graphics are magnificent

    Things I would have changed: I would change the magazine and the loading maybe to a single loader because this gun is extremely powerful and we'll make a outstanding Hunter rifle

    What others should know: Great looking gun the wood is outstanding but I had a problem with standard pellets slipping out the magazine work great with the hunter Supply 48 and 49 grain real powerhouse outstanding gun but sorry to say I had to send it back because I didn't like the pellets slipping out of the magazine every time I loaded it

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Jason from USA on 2018-03-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Pictures do not do this gun justice. The look and feel of this gun is fantastic. Shoots straight and accurate past 50 yds, havent tried 100 yet but i am cofident it will do it. It hits super hard for a .25 cal you will not be disappointed in this purchase.

    Things I would have changed: Cocking lever a little stiff but i have only put 500 rds through it seems to be loosening up a bit. Better open sights would have been nice, but they are good enough.

    What others should know: If you are undecided on this gun let me help you, buy it and thank me later, you will not find another gun like it in this price point.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jeff from USA on 2018-03-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: The gun is just beautiful, and regardless of whether or not the hunting scene is your cup of tea ( I love it) there is no denying the gun is gorgeous. It shoots beautifully as well, and is just as accurate as my FX Crown, but is twice as poweful. Out of the box this was a 100 fpe gun, but it will go higher. This thing will eat any pellet/slug you feed it, and the magazine is designed to hold the larger hunting slugs that other airguns (FX) cannot even hand load as the breach is too small. This gun was made for hunting, although you could absolutely shoot it in competition, the gun is that accurate. It is by far the most powerful .25 caliber that I own, more powerful than some .30 cals that I own. It likes heavy slugs as it is meant for hunting, but you can put pellet on top of pellet at 50 yards with JSB 25 grains too. I have not been able to find a pellet or slug that this gun cannot shoot accurately. It will shoot a .34 grain slug from NSA at 1000+ fps. Love the accuracy and power!

    Things I would have changed: The way the magazine holds the pellets is not my favorite as they will slide out if not in the gun. Loading the magazine into the gun can be a pain because the pellets may start to slide out as you are loading and the tolerances are very tight so you smush a pellet or have to pull the magazine out and reset it. Once it is in it works great, usuallly, but will on occasion fail to cycle properly and I have to work the lever again to load a round. It is a little heavy so if they can find a way to shave some fat off this bad boy that would be awesome.

    What others should know: As others keep saying the gun is loud, but that is because it is shooting at twice the power of every other .25 caliber on the market, and that NEEDS TO BE SAID when complaining about the sound. Don't shoot it at 1200 fps and break the sound barrier, turn the power down on the power wheel, shoot heavier pellets (slugs because you can) and buy a silencer. Yes, silencers on airguns are perfectly legal no matter the opinion of people who did not even graduate from college, let alone law school. DonnyFL Ronin works great and looks great, but there are many people that can make one for you. I do recommend DonnyFL as he is a great guy and will go out of his way to take care of your needs and specific gun. Buy this gun, you will not regret it and it will do anything you ask it to exceedingly well. It is not a designated paper puncher, but it totally could be, and that is awesome for a hunting rifle with this much power.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By BadDogCoffeeCo from USA on 2018-01-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: most everything except power adjuster....Very powerful... I have both .25 Carbine and reg .25 rifle... 1in grouping at 78yards with plenty of power left using 21.88gr....I only get a max of 12 shots because I shoot longer range than most I guess with probably 24 shots a 50yrds.

    Things I would have changed: power adjuster... Add some way for a sling mount...

    What others should know: likes heavier gr bullets... I use a barely noticeable amount of bees wax to keep shot in spare cylinders when hunting and does fine...

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By James from USA on 2017-11-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: This rifle is way stronger than I expected. It looks great.Cocks as it should,and can be accurate.I am still getting used to it.

    Things I would have changed: It is a little heavy.I would not want to go walking through the woods with it.It would be tiresome.Its way too loud.Some sort of silencer should be offred.

    What others should know: I don't shoot this rifle as much as my others because of its weight and noise.But if you want to take down game like a coyote or similiar size this is the gun for you.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Milesdoyle83 from USA on 2017-11-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: This thing is a beast

    Things I would have changed: Get rid of the hunting scene and just make it a blued piece.

    What others should know: Pcp air rifles run heavy. Made mine take a sling.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Van from USA on 2017-08-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Very powerful gun in .22 which is my favorite caliber.The gun is very accurate with scope on gun rest or a good steady hand.I love to chronograph mine when shooting to see the guns maximum potential when using different pellets.The fit and finish of the gun exceeded my expectations . "if you like power and velocity,this is the gun you want"

    Things I would have changed: The magazine could be machined to hold the pellets better.

    What others should know: Pyramyd Air exceeded my expectations I will always buy from them and recommend them to other air gunners.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Roshawn from USA on 2017-04-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.764 ratings

    Things I liked: I have had this gun now for about 2 months and let me tell you I LOVE IT!! Very accurate and very powerful. I'm really suprised with both. People talk about how loud it is which on medium and high power it is but on low power it is no where near as loud as I thought.

    Things I would have changed: Really nothing maybe a bigger magazine that could get 9 shots instead of 6 but I'm just trying to find something to complain about lol.

    What others should know: People are always comparing this gun to the airforce condor as far as power ...I have the 25 cal the specifications are really low balled on this gun. The air force condor 25 cal is a 80 fpe gun out the box. The 22 CAL SUMATRA is making 70-80 fpe out the box. The 25 cal sumatra is a 100 fpe gun out the box. The condor can be modded to get these numbers but if your like me who wants to add extra money to a gun you just payed for plus it's only a single shot. The 25 cal sumatra shoots harder then most 30 cal guns enough said!!

     
  • 12345 Next
Navigation