Date: 7/8/2020 14:29
0

Customer Reviews for Seneca Sumatra 2500

Average Customer Review

5.0 (37 reviews)
3 star1 star
Seneca Sumatra 2500
Add to Cart

Only 2 left in stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Anirudh from USA on 2011-02-13 00:22:03

Things I liked: Absolute value for money, I had got this ground shipped to me when I was visiting the USA, in October 2010. Marvellous service by folks at Pyramyd air. Came pre tested and mounted with a laepers scope. Perfectly sighted in and accurate to the bulls eye. This is a sheer pleasure to shoulder air rifle, in fact this is the big daddy of them all, very powerful, loves heavier pellets, easy to shoulder, dead accurate. Lovely repeating action, and good 30-40 shots on lower power settings, 3-4 setting of 13 settings. Very varsitile, can be used for back yard plinking or long range hunting with variable power.The revolver action is smooth jam free no hassles. Fit and finish is so good U can display in your living room as a show piece. Am sure this will give years of shooting pleasure. I have shot upto 300 yards also the drop is approx 2-3 feet at that range on medium power, but at that range also the pellet nicks the plaster off a wall which u can see through the scope.

Things I would have changed: Revolver should not rotate once a pellet has been fed in, if not careful u can jam 2 pellets one after another and jam the barrell. Safety can be automatic, and the instruction manula should be more comprehensive, it is totally basic and U cannot make out anything from it, lots of confusion on what is high , medium and low settings, conflicting views on net also, I tried my self and realised that the small dots direction is lower and large dot is higher. The dust cap on the fill probe area is loose and about 100 shots later just pops off, can be improved

What others should know: Buy a Air venturi G4 hand pump and fit the fill probe onto the hose directly , tighten with a wrench, not adaptor is required, works smoothly, have used only that for refilling, no hassles, yes refill once U are in the lower side of green zone, less efforts required to pump upto the red zone, only pump upto the 200 bar , check the pump's gauze not rifle's as rifle gauze is not too accurate..

The most helpful critical review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:2.0

Value for money:3.0

Accuracy:3.0

By Jeff from USA on 2014-12-05 13:23:40

Things I liked: The fit and finish are beautiful on this air rifle. There was enough air in the reservoir to shoot 6 shots with my existing pellets. The FPS was 870 with 25.4 grain pellets.

Things I would have changed: The air input port was machined too large and the input fitting size had to be increased by 1mm. The fill port would not allow any air to be put in the reservoir no matter what of the 5 suggestions from Pyramid Air Tech Support I implemented. I was using a Hills pump to pressurize the reservoir. I have returned the carbine for credit.

What others should know: I purchased this air rifle based on all 14 reviews being a five star rating, including the video review from Paul Cappella.

Sort by:
  • 12 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Tristan from USA on 2020-06-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Pretty much everything.

    Things I would have changed: Something that would securely hold the pellets in the magazines instead of just falling right out if they're not held completely level.

    What others should know: So much fun!!!!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Christopher from USA on 2020-05-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: has the power of a .25 acp powder-burner, or a .22 short, with a barrel long enough to make the shots more reliable. lovely wooden stock, not a piece of plastic anywhere.

    Things I would have changed: heavy lever weight, front heavy, the action makes it too easy to double feed.

    What others should know: eun jin pellets 43 grain are the best- they're made for this one, or the h&n hornets

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Art B from USA on 2020-01-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Bought the Refurb Sumatra Carbine in .22 cal. Was hesitant at first buying a refurb rifle, but it exceeded my expectations. Looked and performs like a brand new rifle while saving about a $100 bucks.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: I now have the Sumatra Carbine in .25 (new) and the .22 (Refurb) and both are powerhouses. The craftsmanship is outstanding on both. A DonnyFL Moderator and adaptor is a must for backyard shooting as these rifles are loud! Very accurate out of the box.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By stephen from USA on 2019-12-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: great feel. looks good. lever works easily with one hand without lowering the rifle. accurate and very powerful.

    Things I would have changed: haven't found anything yet

    What others should know: a lot of gun for the money

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Remington from USA on 2019-11-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: small,accurate,lite,easy hand pumping,fast follow up shots,powerful.wait did i mention POWERFUL!!!!

    Things I would have changed: loud,loud,loud

    What others should know: ive had this gun in 25cal for a year no problems whatsoever until now! the revolving clip is out of timing will not cock unless i spin the cylinder a littlebit forward first before closing the lever action.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By unrepentantsinner from USA on 2019-08-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I purchased the 25 carbine and have put perhaps 100 pellets through it I 4 days. I have only shot it at 10 yards with NOE cast 26 grain pellets, it is simply a one hole. The fit, finish and workmanship is great, the receiver panels are okay to good it is a westerner taste issue, It is very light at 6 lbs. Just a great little powerhouse of a carbine.

    Things I would have changed: Offer a plain side panel instead of the cast duck hunting scene. Manufacturer should spend some time on making the magazine insertion easier.

    What others should know: I had trouble inserting the magazines on the first couple days, but it was operator inexperience and got easier with time., but they are tight. Remember to seat the pellets in base first until they stop and push the lever all the way forward when inserting a magazine. Having said that, I started a thread about the rifle on GTA and mentioned the magazine dilemma, it appears that not all Sumatra magazines fit, the problem seems to be when you try replacement magazines, some users have had to fit them to their rifles. Also when adjusting the power wheel make sure your rifle is cocked first. All most everyone who has these rifles loves them.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Richard from USA on 2019-06-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The weight of this gun was most appealing. The power and accuracy is outstanding, this gun doing everything it is supposed to do, and doing it well. This gun is also gorgeous, way better looking than the pictures.

    Things I would have changed: Get rid of the peep sight.

    What others should know: I have twelve nice air rifles and this is my go to gun when I want to go hunting. It is light, accurate and dependable. My gun loves JSB Exact King Heavy Diablos MKlls (33.95 gr.) They blow through a 1" pine board at 25 yards and leave a hole you can look through. Plenty of power for small game.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By greg from USA on 2019-06-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Nice looking gun,good accuracy and nice wood

    Things I would have changed: To make the rear sight functional

    What others should know: This is a solid gun and short enough for the bush. It is loud and accurate to 50yrd,haven't tried farther. The lever action is nice and smooth. The rear sight is worthless and not functional.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By jessica from USA on 2019-03-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This gun Is very powerful, short, and accurate. the air system is also very reliable compared to many other designs (won't leak any air). Love this gun. It may be the coolest air rifle in the world.

    Things I would have changed: I can't charge it w/my pump if I let it get below perhaps 1500 psi, but that's not firing range anyway (you don't shoot it that low)

    What others should know: This gun is well made (absolutely no plastic that I know of) and is good with being left charged. I am glad I went with this gun

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Keith Smith on 2019-02-02
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Power range and accuracy with different grain of pellets. This enables you to go from small to medium game with humane harvest. It is like having several rifles in one.

    Things I would have changed: Should have bought this sooner.

    What others should know: I was getting same whole hits with the JSB 33.95 gr. @ 45 yrds. Using rifle rest and table. The power range was set to the mid range. High max power seems to work the best with the Seneca 43.2 gr. I also purchased 49 gr. cast bullets from another company and use these at max power. These cast bullets hit very hard and accurate @ 50 yrds. The report when shooting the 49 gr. is as loud as a .22 rifle. I was startled when I fired the first round. Love It! By the way the 49 gr cast bullets have an FPE of 89. The FPS is 905 Wow! Can a person have any more excitement form one rifle?! All this info is on You Tube.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jason from USA on 2018-08-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This gun delivers awesome power. The adjustable power wheel makes this one of the most versatile air guns ever. On a low/medium power setting, it shoots 25 gr .25 pellets at around 950 fps. On High power, it shoots 43 grain .25 pellets at about 850 fps... which is about 75 FPE. That's serious power for a .25. I'm shooting 6 shots into one hole at 30 yards, and am shooting 2'' groups at 50 yards. Even though this is the short barrel carbine version, it's still plenty accurate. The under lever cocking mechanism and smooth and easy to operate. I like it much better than 'normal' side lever mechanisms. Aside from being highly functional, cocking this thing also makes you feel like John Wayne.

    Things I would have changed: I personally think the hunting scene on the side of the receiver looks cheesy. The gun is so awesome that I'm willing to overlook some of the styling that isn't my taste.

    What others should know: On high power with heavy pellets you'll get about 18 full power shots. On low power, shooting light pellets, you'll get about 50 good shots with very little point of impact change. That's a lot of bang or the pumping when you're just target shooting.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mark from USA on 2018-07-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I am a collector of ART GUNS so I have not shot mine but once. So from that point of view I can tell you this is a beauty! It is well designed, built tough, and feels great just to hold. It is shorter that I expected... which makes me like it even more. This will be one to pass down through generations. If I had it to do over, I would have ordered one when they first came out. The 1st rifle had an adjustable cheek piece. But other than that it is still AWESOME!

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Get ready to be impressed with this gun when it arrives in the mail. It is not as awesome as, say. a regular hunting rifle, but for an air gun, it is a wall hanger of a gun.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By ricky from USA on 2018-07-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Extreme power for 25 caliber. Getting a average of 800 feet per second with 48 grain hollow points and 69 foot pounds. 980 feet per second and 60 foot pounds with 27.8 grain benjamin domed. Enjoy having six shots compared to my seneca 909s. Average top off with the Hill MK4 is 110 pumps at 1400 psi. Nice having a power wheel. Being shorter it will be easier to carry hunting. Plan to get it tuned someday by Will Pratt. Very accurate. Also want to buy a silencer for it.

    Things I would have changed: The peep site was useless for me. I had to place my chin all the way back on the stock to be able to look thru the hole I put a scope on it right away.

    What others should know: This gun is loud and you must use hearing protection. I have auto silencing ear muffs when hunting.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By buckshot from USA on 2018-01-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: I like the small size of the carbine, accuracy is very good with the open sights, and I love the adjustable power.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: The Sumatra has plenty of power.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By G man from USA on 2017-10-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Who ever put this air gun together knows what it is about.This is Sweet! Thank you ,you got it right,short and sweet. This piece is so good I`m going to store it next to my Marlin 444..it deserves it.

    Things I would have changed: `Rear sight, may I please have a safari express.

    What others should know: If you want one REAL air gun you want this.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Steven from USA on 2017-04-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Paid the 20 for $20 but instead of having them mount a scope had them check the rifle over very carefully. The rifle I got was perfect. I adjusted the trigger down to right at 2 lbs. and crisp. Put a UTG 6X Bug Buster Scope on it and started testing. Mine is .25 cal. and shoots its best on high power. Best pellets shooting off a tripod at 25 yds. were Benjamin dome 27.8 grain and Eujin 43.2 grain. 1/2" groups for six shots were easily obtained. Put an adapter on which changed the muzzle threads to 5/8-24 and mounted a AAC 300 WM rated can. Gun is definitely backyard friendly now. I also mounted a sling on it. Forget about pellets less than 25 grains, they wouldn't even stay on the target. For the money this is one the best deals out there for a hunting gun.

    Things I would have changed: Change the scope base from 11mm to picatinney ,add good sling mounting studs to this gun and you have the perfect hunting gun.

    What others should know: This gun is an air hog. With Hill MK 4 pump it takes 12 pumps per shot on full power. Two six round clips takes your air pressure down to 1/4 left in the green zone. The comments that you can cancel your gym membership if you use a hand pump are right on. The scope base on my rifle was a little bit oversize for the BKL rings I had and the mount had to be dressed down for the rings to work. It was so close I think other brands would probably fit fine. The sales and technical folks at Pyramyd Air were a pleasure to do business with. Couldn't ask for a more helpful group of people to deal with..

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By RODGER from USA on 2016-04-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: This gun is very well-balanced and easy to handle ,will make a great hunting rifle.fit and finish on this gun is top notch ,it has a beautiful Woodstock, and the Blueing is superb. My gun is a 22 caliber, and it shoots 3/16 inch Center to Center 6 shot groups at 25 yards with American Arms Diablo field heavy 18 grain pellets, and also with the jsb match Diablo 18.13 grain pellets with the power wheel set 1 notch above the low mark.

    Things I would have changed: The trigger has a little bit of grittiness in the first stage. And I would make you second stage adjustable down to about 2 pounds. I would also outfitted with a foster type fitting.

    What others should know: This gun is very loud and not suitable for backyard use in urban areas even on low power.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jason from USA on 2016-01-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: POWER! This carbine is a very good balance between portability and power in .25 caliber. It's loud but there are options for that. Mine likes the JSB heavies at full power. at lower powers it will shoot many pellets accurately. Simple, easy to operate no spring loaded magazines to mess with. Trigger is adjustable but if you lighten it too much the lever will tend to pop open during the shot. Just back it off a little.

    Things I would have changed: Trigger is OK. Could be better but it's acceptable for hunting and that's what this gun is intended for.

    What others should know: Great deal for the quality and power offered by this gun.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By valente from USA on 2015-11-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: Accuracy, and feel of this gun! These Korean made air guns are great!!!! Great power and accuracy!! They use a great barrel a LW If not mistaken. Out of the box accuracy is great, trigger needs to be backed off a little. Very ergonomic, shoulders great and very maneuverable. I own the carbine in .22 and .25 also the long gun in .25 all three of my guns have been tuned by Will Piatt. The tune really improved performance, learn to use your power wheel and shoot just about any pellet you put in her. After the tune the long gun shoots cast bullets very well She likes Mr. Hollowpoint 50gr and Hunter Supply 49gr. I enjoy my Sumatra Carbine 2500 in both calibers!!! Great hunting guns!!

    Things I would have changed: Better open sights, add the foster fitting. Make the foster fitting standard on the Sumatra. Other than that these guns are great

    What others should know: These are great guns!!! Lower the power and plink, crank it up for hunting. Buy plenty of pellets and find the power settling your gun likes!! JSB and HN pellets work great out of my guns!!! Try cast bullets for hunting. Great gun for the price.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dave from USA on 2015-05-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Powerful, well made, small & agile.

    Things I would have changed: Improve on the power wheel. Make it smoother.

    What others should know: If you're looking for a carbine with good knock down power, this is it. A good brush gun. It is loud though, so you may want to invest in a LDC to quiet it down if you're going to using it in your back yard.

  • 12 Next
Navigation