Date: 19/10/2020 11:51
0

Customer Reviews for SIG Sauer MCX

Average Customer Review

4.5 (27 reviews)
1 star
SIG Sauer MCX
Pre-order

Out of Stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:4.0

By William from USA on 2020-02-16 16:06:07

Things I liked: Combination of features...Regulated PCP, M4 based with lots of bolt on accessories available from many vendors, semi-auto, 30 mags. Overall, no other product in this space. Best for what I need even though, lots of other products are better in individual areas. This rifle hits the sweet spot for me overall with the set of features all combined.

Things I would have changed: I understand the cost controls keeping this to $300, but I would pay for more options like better iron sights (first thing I did was toss the equipped sight and put on aftermarket ones. Trigger is not great, but I give a little room here since it is semi-auto - probably lots going on under the hood there..would ESPECIALLY like to see a 1900 psi regulator option!!! SIG, hope you are listening :)

What others should know: Accuracy is acceptable for me to 30+ yards for what I need. Its semi-auto and the trigger is gravel...but, it is semi-auto so not sure if there are some tuners out there who can tweak that.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:2.0

Value for money:2.0

Accuracy:2.0

By Matt from USA on 2020-07-12 10:38:07

Things I liked: The Looks That Rival Their Powder Burners

Things I would have changed: Anemic power, accuracy, Higher Fill PSI(4300) and Pellet Feed Belt.

What others should know: When Sig got into airgun I really thought they would have set the standards in air rifles and pistols. Their SIG Sauer MCX Virtus PCP Air Rifle and this ASP Super Target pistol have both been "very anemic" in power and setting my expectations. I can understand if these were made for countries with low-power restrictions. Sigs effort in the airgun market makes a statement from Sig as a "Me-Too" effort.

Sort by:
  • 12 Next
  • Showitems
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Daniel from USA on 2020-09-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: To be honest... my experience was bad... i recieve a bad product. Because i cant fill the tank with air (it seems i recieve a bad one) and also the tank/stock is loose and cannot be tightened.. I try but I can't adjust it.

    Things I would have changed: the gun is beautifull.. and very nice... maybe im just a guy with bad luck and all the other customers had a great experience buying it.

    What others should know: maybe you must wait until the internet get filled with more info about this gun.. also there is no place to buy spare parts o get some tech help.

  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Bat from USA on 2020-08-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like the high shot count

    Things I would have changed: I would change first the 16 FPE with 18gr, and a different presice barrel to make a useful for target competition

    What others should know: This pcp is good for plinking in 10-20 yard. It is very delicate toy

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Daniel from USA on 2020-08-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I have had the gun for a couple weeks and have fired a couple hundred rounds through it. The quality of this gun is as one would expect from Sig Sauer and it is very realistic. A fun shooting gun and with no problem plinking cans at 40 yds with open sights. The magazine loads easy and there is an audible difference when fired on empty chamber.

    Things I would have changed: Ship with extra magazine and or belts

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Matthew from USA on 2020-08-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It's a good $300 PCP. It cycles well semi-auto. The belt fed system is new to me and it seems solid... we'll see how it holds up.

    Things I would have changed: I'd like to not have to count my shots. It does not have a stop built in when the rounds run out. I would like to get power out of this gun... Maybe a 1200/1300 PSI regulator? And a slightly larger tank... get me 60 solid shots at 900 FPS. Throw in an M-Loc weaver/piccatiny rail for a bi-pod, loose in the box would be fine.

    What others should know: My tank was loose once I installed it... air tight but not solidly founded in the receiver. The threaded bushing in the tail section was not solid... it was more like a floating design. I did not like the feeling and used some LOC-TITE to remedy it. The owners manual is rudimentary... in a hundred different languages but rudimentary. It does not mention how to cock the gun... more or less self-evident but still no instruction on the subject... nor did it mention the lack of a stop when you run out of rounds. DO NOT over-tighten the butt pad screw... I used my T handle allen key and cracked the plastic. In defense of SIG and the owners manual it does mention to use the tool they supply... it doesn't have the grip to provide the torque it took to crack it. My bad...

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mark from USA on 2020-08-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like the whole gun. I like how it is designed. Perfect.

    Things I would have changed: Bigger AIR TANK.

    What others should know: Please treat your gun as a real one to avoid an accident.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2020-08-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The rifle is fun to shoot. Decent accuracy although I haven't done bench trails - just off the shoulder shooting. Very easy to load. No jams unlike the Hatsun Sortie. The tool to seat pellets is nicely secure in the grip.

    Things I would have changed: More power. Definitely more power. Include second ammo belt or large capacity magazine and belt. Manual could be better.

    What others should know: Important: In order to seat and seal the air tank it was necessary to apply air gun safe silicone grease to the threads. Without grease the tank stopped just short & appeared to seat. Hand pressure would NOT seat it. Only the application of light coat of grease enable the tank to make the final turn.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Joe from USA on 2020-08-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: You can almost get 200 shots on one fill. My manual says use the tool to seat the pelletd

    Things I would have changed: The magazine only lets you use light pelletd.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Joe from USA on 2020-08-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: You can almost get 200 shots on one fill. My manual says use the tool to seat the pelletd

    Things I would have changed: The magazine only lets you use light pelletd.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Bill from USA on 2020-08-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is an update to my 2 previous posts. After consult with Sig, found it is important to seat the pellets correctly. They must be pushed all the way into the belt until they appear to click. This is not emphasized in the user manual. This solved the trigger pull & keyholing problems I was having. Trigger pull is on high side at 6 lbs, but consistent & smooth after the belt advances. All is now well with the air rifles operation.

    Things I would have changed: Reduce the trigger pull. Make the butt plate adjustable vertically & for length of pull.

    What others should know: Using a 1X, 3 MOA Red dot sight am able to consistently hit 3 in bullseyes at 25 yds. Very satisfying. .

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Luke from USA on 2020-08-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Its a super fun plinker. Im able to consistently hit a fry pan with a red dot at 150 yards.

    Things I would have changed: Add some sort of lubrication in the magazine. As soon as any dust or debris gets in the Mag you are in for a whole mess of jams and frustration. Also, hunting is basically not a thing with this. Ive shot numerous pigeons close range but its definitely not ideal and could use a little bit more power.

    What others should know: Buy as many extra mags as you can afford and get a scuba tank, a hand pump is not going to cut it here

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Bill from USA on 2020-08-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is a follow-up review after having used the MCX PCP at the range. Filled the air cylinder to 2500 psi from a scuba pony bottle. Used Grossman Premier 22 cal 14.3 gr domed pellets and sighted in a Nikon 3 MOA red dot 1X scope at 25 yards. The magazine and 30 round pellet belt operated flawlessly. Given my state of residence, I had to limit the magazine capacity to 10 rounds. I did this by filing down a few of the advancing nubs on the belt after the 10th pellet so the belt would no longer advance beyond that position. You have to either count your shots or watch for a blank fire to know when you are out of pellets. Was able to successfully sight-in a 3 In bullseye target at 25 yards. I am satisfied the tank's air fill was easily good for 50-60 rounds. The suppressor on the muzzle is strictly for show. The rifle is not loud but it's not quiet either.

    Things I would have changed: There is a charging handle not discussed in the brief user manual nor instructions regarding cleaning the receiver or barrel. The 2 stage trigger really needs more work. The first stage advances the pellet belt - this is OK. The second stage is where it fails. Mine consistently required 10 lbs of force to fire the first pellet. Had to forcefully use the middle of my index finger to get the shot off. Subsequent pellets still required high force to fire and the feel was inconsistent. I was informed that the trigger force should be ~ 6 lbs. I suspect there is a problem with my rifle and will be contacting Sig. The other problem encountered is the pellets were keyholing the target. I am wondering if the barrel has rifling (nothing in the specs) or perhaps another pellet type should be used. Another question for Sig. I will update this review after I communicate with Sig.

    What others should know: See above 2 sections.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Woody from USA on 2020-08-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: For the price it is fun to shoot

    Things I would have changed: Wish it was a little quieter

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Cliff from USA on 2020-08-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: 30 round mag. Semi auto. Iron sights. Cool tool. Top rail. Looks great.

    Things I would have changed: Trigger a bit heavy, but not terrible. Sometimes jams, mag won't come out, have to shake the gun around a bit to un-jam. This happened on two different Virtus's. One air tank wouldn't fit properly, getting replacement. Air tank gauge should have colored area to show 2000-3000 psi range. Why no bottom rail for bipods, etc.?

    What others should know: When it works, it's lots of fun, despite heavy-ish trigger. But looks like most semi-autos have heavier triggers, probably for safety. Not sure if the charging handle does anything, but the manual doesn't mention it.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gerald from USA on 2020-08-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Heavy in your hands, Sig quality. Fun to shoot, easy to accessorize.

    Things I would have changed: Butt cover of some type.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Bill from USA on 2020-07-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Feel & handling - Weight is concentrated at rear with the air tank. Rifle is a spitting image of the piston driven MCX Vectus, right down to nonworking dust cover, forward assist & battery activation button. Only the rear stock, functionally fashioned out of the PCP air tank, is the give-away. Have not had it out at the range yet. Mounted a 3-9X40 rimfire scope using medium size picatinny rail rings. There is just enough clearance to get the lens cover on the scope's objective lens. Magazine uses a 30 pellet belt that cleverly feeds into the magazine through a side opening door. Unfortunately, being in a state that limits mag capacity to 10 rounds, I have had to block 2/3 of the pellet mounts. The gun comes with 1 magazine & 1 pellet belt. A separate purchase accessory magazine includes 3 pellet belts. I will expand this review after I have had some range time with the airgun.

    Things I would have changed: Instructions are minimal and in multiple languages. No detailed information on cleaning or lubrication for the air gun. Has a functional charging handle but no description regarding its use. There is a muti-purpose tool housed in the base of the handgrip. One end is for seating the pellets in the belt but no clear description on its use. Presume it is used to position a pellet such that the rear of the pellet is flush with the back of the pellet mount. When I attached the buttplate to the back of the PCP air tank it cracked. Be careful not to torque it down too tight using the hand tool. SIg Sauer's Service center sent me a replacement after several days.

    What others should know: Not at this time -

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By dave from USA on 2020-07-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Looks real. Feels real. Price is ok @$300. No more!

    Things I would have changed: Belts for pellets should be sold without another magazine. My gun jammed ALOT. Pain in butt to load.

    What others should know: I may be a little harsh, but I have over a dozen PCP Airguns; all makes. I know good from bad.its an ok first time PCP. A couple bucks more gets you a real weapon.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Curtis from USA on 2020-07-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Everything

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: This gun is insane, and absolutely hands down best hun!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Bob from USA on 2020-07-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It feels solid and has the weight of the firearm MCX. The 30 round mag is great, lots of shoots and I removed the sights and installed a red-dot scope. The power is good, I don't have a chronograph but it can shoot through 3/8 plywood with no problem and chews up tin cans in semi auto. The next step is to take it out in the desert and try some 50 to 75 yard test. Need to buy another one for my son, it's to fun to share lol.

    Things I would have changed: Not much to change but would like to add a foregrip.

    What others should know: I use the crosman hollow point pellets and seem to shoot fine, seat them in and shoot.

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Matt from USA on 2020-07-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The Looks That Rival Their Powder Burners

    Things I would have changed: Anemic power, accuracy, Higher Fill PSI(4300) and Pellet Feed Belt.

    What others should know: When Sig got into airgun I really thought they would have set the standards in air rifles and pistols. Their SIG Sauer MCX Virtus PCP Air Rifle and this ASP Super Target pistol have both been "very anemic" in power and setting my expectations. I can understand if these were made for countries with low-power restrictions. Sigs effort in the airgun market makes a statement from Sig as a "Me-Too" effort.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Richard from USA on 2020-04-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I wanted to point out that seating pellets with the tool may cause problems with certain pellets and in fact, I am finding that not seating pellets provides more consistent firing.

    Things I would have changed: Make it clear if pellets should be seated in belt or not. There is a tool provided but there is no real mention of its use. I think I was wrong to assume to seat pellets. I apologize for any misinformation.

    What others should know: Pellets can be too loose if seated. I think it may be best not to seat pellets. Sorry for multiple reviews by accident but I needed to pass along this info. Strength and honor Vilkus

  • 12 Next
Navigation