Date: 20/10/2018 12:3
0

Umarex NXG APX Air Rifle Combo reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.0 (12 reviews)
2 star1 star
Add to Cart

Only 1 left in stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Leonard from USA on 2014-11-08 12:38:33

Things I liked: Style, build quality.pump,lever design prevents hand pinch.

Things I would have changed: Thicken plastic molded walls. Add weight for realism.raise price $5 to cover refinements.)

What others should know: Alternatively use left and right arm for 10 pump shots.its like going to the gym.

The most helpful critical review

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:3.0

Value for money:2.0

Accuracy:1.0

By Ray from USA on 2014-12-14 10:24:35

Things I liked: The NXG was well packaged and quickly shipped by P.A.. I like the ergonomics,easy plumping action, and easy BB loading. Was hoping for a new BB rifle that I could practice with in my 18' indoor range. Unable to accurately and securely mount my Tasco, 4X32 rifle scope on the rail I added an aluminum rail to do the job. I was disappointed when comparing the NXG accuracy to that of my 30 yr. old Crosman 760. Under the same conditions at 18' my 760's shot spread is 8 mm, and that of the NXG is a disappointing, scattered 32+ mm. I do like the way the NXG handles, and the raised cheek piece is just right for the added scope.

Things I would have changed: The provided scope rail should be stronger and much more accurate for scope mounting. The front sight needs to be thinner for accurate sighting. The barrel should be replaced with one of rifled solid steel for most accurate results. The present steel tube barrel would be much more accurate if it were secured properly, and not allowed to move in its housing.

What others should know: The NXG is a modernized BB gun, but not a good purchase for practicing with any accuracy.

Sort by:
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Ramon from USA on 2018-07-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Overall

    Things I would have changed: Accuracy, interior machanisn to keep air always

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Larry from USA on 2018-05-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: fun little gun but am having a hard time to get my scope set in the scope rails are to flimsy.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Rob on 2018-02-08
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Nice looking gun. Affordable. I don't think there is a better gun on the market at this price...

    Things I would have changed: Change the scope immediately! I used a CenterPoint 3-9x32 on mine... Although I do think 50 yards is a stretch for this gun, I did hit a pizza box, 17 of 17 times, from 50 measured yards... No accurate grouping, but did hit the box. (14x14" square).. It dented pine a full 1/8th inch at 50 yards... I have preferred the copper coated 10.6g crosman domed pellets.. Hands down, best I've used in this gun. I popped a 2" diameter, spin target from 15 yards, 4 of 7 shots....

    What others should know: It's a perfect entry level air gun... If u want in the game, get this first..

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Al from USA on 2017-12-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Nice little multi pump. Looks cool. Light weight. Shoots pretty straight.

    Things I would have changed: Makes my big hands sting holding that thin little lever handle when pumping. A little hard to load a pellet when a real scope is installed. A stronger rail would be nice for optics.

    What others should know: Nice cheap plinker. Money well spent. Add a $30-$40 scope and let the fun begin!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Art from USA on 2017-01-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This adds to my collection with M-4, 77xs, 880, and Black Ops. It has a smooth pump, and took a UTG point sight well (though UTG adapter from dovetail to weaver is needed). The APX is an economical pump rifle that shoots the RWS Basic pellets well.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing really. Maybe offer a version that has a pistol grip so it looks more like the Black Ops. The Black Ops is the best looking airgun I have seen yet, that is at least for pump rifles.

    What others should know: One single criticism, and only one, is my rifle came out of the box with no power to speak of as I ran standard tests for accuracy and penetration (soup cans). Please see PA pro Tom's review at top under "Buzz". He mentions power fluctuations, but, no, I will be very clear that my rifle power was so low, and the gun so easy to pump, that my M-4 was out shooting it handily on six pumps! Tom made clear the lube job needs to be heavier on this rifle. I agree. I tried just a drop or two of Pellgun oil; it had no effect. Four rubber seals show when the pump is open. I decided to either write off this gun as a lemon or really lube it heavily. Three drops on EACH seal did the trick. The power was restored to 880 levels, and, as I got to know the gun, it talks to you when it needs lube - when there is no resistance on the DOWN stroke at 5 pumps and over, lube it. Tom talks about "oil can in hand" and he isn't joking. Think dozens of shots. Otherwise, this is a great shooter for the money.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Craig from USA on 2016-08-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: Definitely low price

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Cheap gun. Remember, you get what you pay for. But it is great for just plinking

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Tamta from USA on 2016-05-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: It shoots pellets, it's very accurate, it shoots far. It can kill any small game, very lightweight and good for your kids to shoot at targets.

    Things I would have changed: Get a zeroed scope, as the one included needs to be zeroed in by yourself.

    What others should know: When I received it, I noticed that the screw for the iron sights is unscrewable and the sights were in the wrong position. Also, the scope might fire inaccurately because when you zero it in, the top part that you need a flathead for moves around.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Pat from USA on 2015-09-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.03 ratings

    Things I liked: pumps easy and has predictable pressure per pump. (100' target=3 pumps for RWS 8.3g, 3' spread : 150' target=6 pumps with 5" spead same aim point) Can see the pellets in flight! (100' target=4 pumps for Crossman Premier 10.5 Magnum, 4" spread : 150' target=7 pumps with 6" spread, same aim point) This rifle is weight dependent as far as pellets go, not so much shape. 8.2g and 8.3g RWS pellets work best for me so far. Cheap and fun to shoot, kills one gallon bleach jugs at 150 feet on a regular basis. Big time stress release. Quiet, neighbors on both sides do not complain after 1200 shots.

    Things I would have changed: wish there was an easier way of loading the rifle. I mounted a Gamo 4X12X44 on it (I have poor eyesight) and loading the pellets can be a pain for large fingers. Add some weight, the rifle is very light and can be a little jumpy as you pull the trigger. I am no expert on trigger pull but my NXG APX trigger action has smoothed out some and seems more predictable now that its broken in. It could still be better.

    What others should know: I did not buy this rifle for match shooting or hunting, I bought it for stress relief and the joy of the "thwack" (the sound the pellet makes on impact with plastic) and "thonk" (pellet impact on pellet catcher/target holder). You can spend more money but cant have any more fun.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Ray from USA on 2014-12-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.03 ratings

    Things I liked: The NXG was well packaged and quickly shipped by P.A.. I like the ergonomics,easy plumping action, and easy BB loading. Was hoping for a new BB rifle that I could practice with in my 18' indoor range. Unable to accurately and securely mount my Tasco, 4X32 rifle scope on the rail I added an aluminum rail to do the job. I was disappointed when comparing the NXG accuracy to that of my 30 yr. old Crosman 760. Under the same conditions at 18' my 760's shot spread is 8 mm, and that of the NXG is a disappointing, scattered 32+ mm. I do like the way the NXG handles, and the raised cheek piece is just right for the added scope.

    Things I would have changed: The provided scope rail should be stronger and much more accurate for scope mounting. The front sight needs to be thinner for accurate sighting. The barrel should be replaced with one of rifled solid steel for most accurate results. The present steel tube barrel would be much more accurate if it were secured properly, and not allowed to move in its housing.

    What others should know: The NXG is a modernized BB gun, but not a good purchase for practicing with any accuracy.

  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By DavidS from USA on 2014-12-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.343 ratings

    Things I liked: Good size, conformable, reasonably accurate. This gun produces decent power (aprox equal to the Crossman 2100) and will hit a golf ball at 60 yards consistently as long as you do your part. Not quite up to the standards of the Daisy 880/901, though it does have a more durable stock than those.

    Things I would have changed: The automatic safety is a bit of a pain, and could teach the bad habit of relying on the safety which is bad. I would definitely NOT recommend this to new shooters. Also I would like to see it made in a form that can be maintained, it uses machine flanged pins for the roll pin and tube enclosing making maintenance very difficult if anything ever goes wrong with the piston, valve, or hammer.

    What others should know: Overall a good gun for the money. Is a bit difficult to maintain do to design, and to expensive to consider disposable. It is worth having in your collection if you prefer Multi Stroke Pneumatics, though it should be a secondary with a Daisy 880/901/22X/22SG, Crosman 66/2289, or a Webley Rebel (.22/.177) as your primary :) .

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Leonard from USA on 2014-11-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Style, build quality.pump,lever design prevents hand pinch.

    Things I would have changed: Thicken plastic molded walls. Add weight for realism.raise price $5 to cover refinements.)

    What others should know: Alternatively use left and right arm for 10 pump shots.its like going to the gym.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Arpad from USA on 2014-10-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Good overall feel, nice sights, rubbery stock cheek rest and shoulder pad, ramp to ease pellet loading, ease of unloading unused BBs, automatic "safety-on" with pump, "window" that permits you to see the next BB, built-in rail for scope, multi pump feature, and 4 x15 scope included (but see below). The trigger feel is very smooth and reliable and accuracy is very good even with BBs. All in all, a pretty terrific air rifle.

    Things I would have changed: The cocking effort was really hard at first, is now easier but is still stiffer than like. The pumping at first was real hard too but became easier with a dose of pellgun oil. When a BB is chambered there in no "satisfying click" to mark end of cycle (unlike with my grandson's Grizzly). I'm still making up my mind about the interlock that prevents pressurization without cocking and the size of the front fiber optic sight. These are really nit-picks but because it is such a nice rifle and it's a new product it's worth mentioning for future growth. The stock is just a tad bigger than I wanted for my grandson at this stage but he'll grow into it. As for the scope, see below.

    What others should know: The 4 by 15 scope turned out to be quite nice but it needed some work. At first I had an awful time sighting it in. In frustration I pulled off the vertical & horizontal adjusting mechanism. Turns out the inner optics tube is spring loaded up and to the right and the adjusting screws press it down and to the left, but the ends of the adjusting screws were very irregular so you couldn't rely on the sight adjustments especially in smaller increments. I lapped the ends flat with a diamond stone followed by a leather strop & reassembled. This made a big difference, making sighting adjustments more predictable and now I'm very happy with it. I've had the rifle for less then a month so I can't say about long term durability but this really seems to be a worthwhile product and a good next step from the Grizzly in my grandson's training.

Navigation