Date: 17/8/2018 3:22
0

Umarex Throttle Air Rifle Combo, Gas Piston reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.0 (5 reviews)
4 star3 star2 star

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:4.0

By Paul from USA on 2016-12-05 18:48:52

Things I liked: the stopshox it works its not just a marketing ploy. rifle can be held loose or tight makes no difference results are the same. the rifle has no felt recoil at all. the shape of the grip and forearm work well for for offhand shooting. its easy to cock . the breach locks up tight but you don't have to slap it to get it open. the one I have is in 22 cal. and it likes pellets in the 16 and 18 grain range best group so far is 3/4 in at 25 yards pellets in the 14 grain range are in the 1 1/2 in range . will add that the packaged scope works well for the time being . I am happy with it so far. will see how it holds up

Things I would have changed: lighter trigger pull it breaks clean with no creep but I does require some effort. longer screws in the scope rings would be nice. also along with better tape in rings.

What others should know: check the barrel before firing the fist time this one had a glob of grease in bore just run a couple of clean patches down it. and check breach block pivot screw this one was loose. just check it over good before firing. just standard procedure for anything mechanical .and remember it a 200. dollar price range rifle not a 10 meter 1 hole Olympic competition rifle

The most helpful critical review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:1.0

By joseph from USA on 2017-07-24 19:57:49

Things I liked: The theory of the technology, looks, ......but

Things I would have changed: First 50 shots 1/2 c.c. accuracy at 28 yrds. Chrony avg 785fps. 200 shots in the gun started shooting weird at my outdoor range. Couldn't hit a soda can at ten yrds. Took inside to chrony 612 fps with same CPHP pellets. Checked the fps a second time...609 fps. Contacted Pyramyd Air for return. Exchanging for Hatsan 87QE in .22

What others should know: Before I became a Pyramyd Air customer I had purchased a Umarex Octane in 177 Had piston seal problems with two of these rifles. With the problem with this Throttle rifle I am now officially finished buying Umarex Chinese made products. I will stick to the German made Diana/Rws/Walther Umarex products. Thanks to Pyramyd Air for great customer service as always.

Sort by:
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By joseph from USA on 2017-07-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: The theory of the technology, looks, ......but

    Things I would have changed: First 50 shots 1/2 c.c. accuracy at 28 yrds. Chrony avg 785fps. 200 shots in the gun started shooting weird at my outdoor range. Couldn't hit a soda can at ten yrds. Took inside to chrony 612 fps with same CPHP pellets. Checked the fps a second time...609 fps. Contacted Pyramyd Air for return. Exchanging for Hatsan 87QE in .22

    What others should know: Before I became a Pyramyd Air customer I had purchased a Umarex Octane in 177 Had piston seal problems with two of these rifles. With the problem with this Throttle rifle I am now officially finished buying Umarex Chinese made products. I will stick to the German made Diana/Rws/Walther Umarex products. Thanks to Pyramyd Air for great customer service as always.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Daniel from USA on 2017-01-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: All my rifles are .177. This is the last gun you will need for your collection. I own many air rifles and have been shooting since I was a young boy -- now 40 years later I come across this rifle. Accurate right out of the box. I have been doing a lot of testing at 20 yards with different pellets and found the H&N Baracuda Hunter Extreme 9.57gr works perfect. I usually shoot dome or round nose, but this thing is so accurate with the Hunter Extreme!!! I am litterally popping these pellets one after another through the same hole. Kudos to Umarex!!! You found the right combination that blows all my other rifles away.

    Things I would have changed: The only things I would change are 1) The safety -- I don't like pulling it back towards the trigger. I think the industry standard, like Gamo and Crosman should have been used. 2) I doesn't look like there is a way to put on a sling -- will probably have to get one of those "tactical fit-alls"

    What others should know: This is the best air rifle I've ever purchased. The price still blows me away. Umarex really is a great company and have made the best rifle very affordable.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By frederick from USA on 2017-01-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Super quiet with the lighter weight pellets. Extremely accurate right out of the box. Stopshox to put less stress on my scope. Overall just a real nice rifle put out by Umarex.

    Things I would have changed: The plastic forearm that connects to the barrel. The 4 screws connecting it to the barrel just keep spinning and won't tighten down. It isn't affecting the performance of the rifle at all but it would feel better when I'm moving around with the rifle if the screws would stay tight. Other than that I can't think of anything else that I would consider negative about this rifle.

    What others should know: I have zeroed in this rifle with lightweight pellets and with heavy pellets and they all perform excellent. I would highly recommend this rifle for anyone.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Steve from USA on 2017-01-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: So here is the thing... I had the rifle shipped home and I'm cross country at the moment. My brother who has been drooling over the box sitting there with every call telling me its safe, lol, well I finally gave in. My brother has never had an interest in Air Rifles and seeing that box had his curiosity going. He is an avid shooter and hunter. After opening the box, he told me this: The fit and finish is amazing for a product costing so little. Felt solid, looked great. He put the scope on and starting shooting it. After around 25 pellets he tried to set the scope and was un able to bring up to center the shots, fully adjusted out. cross hair was high by 5". So I called Pyramydair and was told that was not uncommon and to shim it so he did. He is now shooting out at 40 yards laying on the ground in icy cold wind and he is hitting within a 50 cent piece circle (he is professionally trained) with most of the shots. He said there is little to no torque and each round is getting tighter.

    Things I would have changed: The scope was a bit of a pain. But one quick call and it is kicking butt (can I say kicking butt on here?). As far as change, for the price this is a winner and I hope he doesn't try to keep it, lol. Truly great bang for your buck. My last scope cost way more than this package did. My brother is thinking of buying the same one.

    What others should know: My brother is in his 50s and I'm in my 60s. He said this will be a great training rifle for his girlfriend and one of his labs who is to skittish at the sound of firearms. He said it is quiet and sold in feel. The biggest thing is he felt "confident" with it and that says a lot. I'm not letting him go squirrel hunting with it, the first harvest is mine.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Paul from USA on 2016-12-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: the stopshox it works its not just a marketing ploy. rifle can be held loose or tight makes no difference results are the same. the rifle has no felt recoil at all. the shape of the grip and forearm work well for for offhand shooting. its easy to cock . the breach locks up tight but you don't have to slap it to get it open. the one I have is in 22 cal. and it likes pellets in the 16 and 18 grain range best group so far is 3/4 in at 25 yards pellets in the 14 grain range are in the 1 1/2 in range . will add that the packaged scope works well for the time being . I am happy with it so far. will see how it holds up

    Things I would have changed: lighter trigger pull it breaks clean with no creep but I does require some effort. longer screws in the scope rings would be nice. also along with better tape in rings.

    What others should know: check the barrel before firing the fist time this one had a glob of grease in bore just run a couple of clean patches down it. and check breach block pivot screw this one was loose. just check it over good before firing. just standard procedure for anything mechanical .and remember it a 200. dollar price range rifle not a 10 meter 1 hole Olympic competition rifle

     
Navigation