Date: 9/8/2020 16:49
0

Customer Reviews for Umarex Trevox Air

Average Customer Review

4.0 (43 reviews)
2 star
Umarex Trevox Air
Pre-order

Out of Stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Theophile from USA on 2017-07-14 11:20:21

Things I liked: This is a nice solidly built pistol that has good ergonomics, balance and finish. Used my 7.9g Benjamin HP for the first 150 break-in rounds. Dieseled and smoked some, but settled out to around 500 fps averages. The long 10" barrel, with its built in reinforced suppressor shroud, makes this break barrel easy to grip and a joy to cock. Overall noise report is around 76db at the muzzle...ear plugs not needed, but recommended. Lock up to the receiver is very solid and achieved with a strong spring loaded ball bearing. The blued finish is well done and the ambidextrous fingered grip feels a little small, but have no issues with a secured shooting stance. The front sight is mounted back from the breech and out of the way while for cocking the piston. The built in rear sight is also sleek and works okay, but has a screw for elevation adjustments (keep a 1\4" flat head handy) and a flimsy small windage knob. In all, It works well enough to get on target.

Things I would have changed: Trigger pull was 7.1 lbs, but unfortunately after 250 rounds, has gotten a little stiffer, with a final sear break that is somewhat jerky. Further usage should smooth out the overall trigger performance.

What others should know: I tried a RWS lead pellet sampler pack and found the RWS 7.0g Hobby wad cutters (av. 537fps) to shoot the best! At my standard indoor 10yd range hand-held, got a 5-shot 5\8" group with the iron sights and a 5-shot 1\2" group with the RioRand red dot reflex scope...NICE! Pellets the Trevox didn't like...Benjamin 7.9 HP, Crosman 7.4 Target WC, RWS 6.9 SHP and RWS Meisterkugeln WC...groupings ranged from 1 1\8" (RWS MEIS.) to 3 3\4" (Crosman Target WC). Think I'll stick with the RWS Hobby WC's for the Trevox to devour! Overall, the Trevox is 18" long, but this includes the wonderful integrated cocking aid\suppressor. The "more-forward" grip lends to a lighter, better balanced shooting stance. Break barrel ease and cocking comfort makes the Trevox a sweet shooter. For the price, the Trevox is a really good deal for plunking and target activity fun!

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:1.0

By Jeffrey from USA on 2020-06-19 17:25:44

Things I liked: The notion of a serviceable break barrel pistol

Things I would have changed: Quality control.The factory site was so far off I could not sight it in. I could not add a sight on my Trevox; the grooves were set too low on the crown of the receiver. The sight could not sit level no matter what I tried for sights or adaptors--I tried a lot.

What others should know: Let me save you $80.00. Pass on this one it is a dud, spend up on something you can actually sight in and shoot. Mine went to the trash I was really disappointed. Now I am weary of Umarex products.

Sort by:
  • 123 Next
  • Showitems
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Jeffrey from USA on 2020-06-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The notion of a serviceable break barrel pistol

    Things I would have changed: Quality control.The factory site was so far off I could not sight it in. I could not add a sight on my Trevox; the grooves were set too low on the crown of the receiver. The sight could not sit level no matter what I tried for sights or adaptors--I tried a lot.

    What others should know: Let me save you $80.00. Pass on this one it is a dud, spend up on something you can actually sight in and shoot. Mine went to the trash I was really disappointed. Now I am weary of Umarex products.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Eric from USA on 2020-03-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great gun for under $100, great fun, very accurate in basement (25') easy to cock for me.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Great gun for the price it's not small but it's very comfortable, with great ergonomics, would benefit from a Red dot maybe.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Michael from USA on 2020-02-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Comfortable to shoot

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Randall from USA on 2019-12-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Pretty good trigger, though travel is a bit long. Comes with pretty good sights. Dovetail allows mounting a scope or red dot. Fairly powerful, for a pistol.

    Things I would have changed: See below.

    What others should know: The noise dampener that you grip to cock it has extremely sharp edges. I cut up my hand pretty good before I realized what was happening. Gun is huge and heavy. Won't fit in a normal pistol case. Definitely a two handed gun. Plenty accurate for plinking and hunting, but no target gun.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Dan on 2019-11-19
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: It is a fun gun to shoot. I bought it about 3 weeks ago and have run over 1000 pellets through it.

    Things I would have changed: The trigger. The trigger has an incredibly long pull and you just have to guess when it actually fires.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By marshmallow on 2019-10-29
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Things I liked: Size of it

    Things I would have changed: Weight of it

    What others should know: Too much dieseling?

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Mark from USA on 2019-09-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Yes, it is accurate; mine likes RWS match pellets. Yes, the sights are GREAT - rare for a pellet pistol (somebody should go talk to the crosman folks about the crummy sights on their 1377).

    Things I would have changed: Everything that people are saying about the trigger pull is true. It is GODawful. You start pulling in Leon County, go all the way through Fairview, and around Buffalo, PSHHT. It is very long, and very heavy. Somebody should start working on that TODAY. I would pay an extra $50 for a good trigger.

    What others should know: It is very, very heavy. If you want a holster for it, you'll have to build it yourself.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Daniel from USA on 2019-09-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like the gun. It's much bigger than I thought it would be! Haven't found the right pellets for it yet. I need to shoot it more to figure out how the sights need to be adjusted. Overall I'm glad I brought it. Will never run out of co2.

    What others should know: It's not too hard to cock. I already have a break-barrel rifle (Umarex Octane) so I knew what to expect. Umarex makes great products! No complaints!

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Gregory from USA on 2019-09-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Good power and accuracy once you get used to the trigger and the weight

    Things I would have changed: Trigger travel is way too long. This pistol is pretty heavy. I think they could have reduced the weight by using alloys where possible.

    What others should know: All in all its still a good plinker and fun too shoot

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Philip from USA on 2019-07-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I really like the break barrel gas piston design. It gives decent power with a single cocking action. The gas piston doesn't have the vibration of a spring.You don't need expendable CO2 cartridges or a pump. The amount of cocking force is really not bad at all. This pistol is accurate and fun to shoot. It has enough power to dispatch an annoying rabbit that was at about 30-35ft away. For the price it is a great air pistol..

    Things I would have changed: The trigger does have a very long, stiff pull.Definitely takes some time to get used to it. The pistol is accurate even with this trigger, but it would be more enjoyable with a better trigger. This trigger will definitely teach patience while squeezing a trigger. The trigger is the only thing keeping me from giving it a 5-star overall rating.

    What others should know: After using this pistol and mastering the squeezing of its trigger, proper trigger control will be easy on other guns. It helped me get better control for my firearms. You will need to break in this pistol. The first shot had a very loud crack from dieseling. I've shot over a hundred rounds through it. There is still some minor dieseling but the sound of hitting the target is now louder than the pistol,but it is still louder than my old HW30 rifle. I don't have a meter to take readings. I was just going by observation.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Ronald from USA on 2019-03-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: The description of the gun is like most advertising. It doesn't exactly live up to all the hype that it states. It is a decent gun for the price, but to call it a "tack driver" seems a bit much. Probably has a lot to do with how far away the target is. Our shooting usually involves targets that are somewhat beyond the 10 to 20 yards that most shooting is done. It is, however, fairly accurate at the greater distances.

    Things I would have changed: For the price, I don't know that much could be changed on the gun. For a gas piston, the gun is somewhat difficult to cock. I have a Diana LP8 and it uses a spring piston. It is easier to cock than the Trevox and I assumed the nitro piston would be easier to cock than a spring, but in this case, it isn't. Also, the Trevox has the WORST trigger that I have ever encountered. I am not fond of the long, hard pull and it would take much practice to get used to.

    What others should know: I would say this gun is typical Chinese manufacturing. Almost everyone knows what they are going to get when they buy Chinese products, because they have flooded the market with cheap items. But, no matter what the case, you ARE going to get what you pay for. The Diana LP8 pistol costs' about 5 times as much, but you will see the difference in the quality. I could only manage 3 stars for the gun, but even at that, it is still considered GOOD. I can still recommend the gun for those in the market. '

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Harvey from USA on 2019-02-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: powerful enough to dispatch varmints at close range,easy to cock

    Things I would have changed: I THINK IT WOULD BE AN EXCELLENT CARBINE,IF THEY MADE A STOCK FOR IT

    What others should know: HEAVY,LARGE,I BOUGHT IT AS A SIDEARM TO MY,GAS PISTON RIFLES,BUT THAT DIDN,T WORK

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Joe from USA on 2019-01-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accurate and quite. cheap target pistol

    Things I would have changed: For a gas piston I would like it to have had more power

    What others should know: Its only effective for target shooting

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Scott from USA on 2019-01-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I researched for weeks before deciding on an inexpensive, fairly accurate, fun to shoot pistol. I found all three in the Trevox. I like break barrel guns, and this pistol is very easy to use. The silencer on the end acts as a cocking aid so breaking the barrel is very easy (but too difficult for my young children--a nice safety feature). The nitro piston is smooth and fairly powerful. I'm not a pro by any means, but I found that, after choosing a hold that worked for this large pistol, controlling the heavy trigger with a smooth pull, and getting used to the fiber optic sights, I can pull off pretty good groups at 5-7 yards. This morning, my wife came out to try it. When it was my turn, I took two shots and hit the bullseye both times. I looked like a pro! If you put the time in, this pistol will reward you with fairly decent accuracy. I've tried RWS hobby, CPHP and Gamo Rocket pellets. I shoot freehand so it's hard to say which one it likes best. Rockets first, then RWS.

    Things I would have changed: I also own a RWS 34 and, while this pistol is nice, it's definitely not in the same league as far as fit and finish. The paint on the safety switch is slopped everywhere and the bluing has a couple burnish marks. Not a big deal. The gun was over-lubricated from the factory, and now even with roughly 500 pellets through it, it still smokes sometimes. After a hundred shots or so, the breech face was starting to mar from where it was mashing into the gun while cocking. I cleaned the edges of the breech with a Dremel to remove the mashed metal and raised the breech seal with dental floss. This sounds way more involved than it actually was--it took like five minutes. Like other Chinese pistols, the gun is solid, but needed a little tinkering. The trigger isn't the best for target shooting. It's got a long, heavy (although smooth) pull. It takes practice to shoot well, but it can be done. And even with blue loctite, screws will loosen on this gun. I bring a screwdriver with me.

    What others should know: I gave the gun five stars because it fulfills everything I wanted, and for those looking for a gun like this, my hope is that somebody out there sees my review and gives this gun a chance. Others complain about the trigger, but even a long, heavy trigger can be a good thing if you're just looking to practice control, which I am. I think it's great practice for people who shoot or who want to shoot double action revolvers. The pistol is powerful, but for those who are thinking of using this for hunting, well...I don't have to tell you experts out there that shot placement is critical. Especially with this gun, because it's operating at the lower range of effectiveness. I believe it can be done on very small game or pests, but with open sights, a heavy barrel, and that trigger, I just haven't tried because I feel I'd have to be at VERY close range to make the shot as effective and humane as possible. Optics and a rest would help, but I bought the gun just for target practice/fun.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Denny from USA on 2019-01-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very well balanced and well made...the design is very slick.

    What others should know: You cant go wrong with buying here the staff is very helpful and knowledgeable!!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Denny from USA on 2019-01-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very well balanced and well made...the design is very slick.

    What others should know: You cant go wrong with buying here the staff is very helpful and knowledgeable!!

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Francis from USA on 2018-11-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: -It’s very accurate. My guess is that it should be close to the accuracy of my PowerLine 717. -Powerful. About twice the power of the typical air pistol. I measure it to be about 4.4 FPE. -Cocking and loading is easy and quick. Faster than a single pump with bolt. -Piston recoil is light. -It looks to be ruggedly made. -Trigger pull is not too heavy. -Decent adjustable sight. -It’s the quietest air pistol I have. Equal to my PowerLine 717, but deeper. -Nice dovetail for my reflex sight. -The weight is not that heavy. It’s noticeably lighter than my PowerLine 717. -Exceptionally consistent velocity. With 3 different brand pellets the max spread I measured with 5 shots was 9, 10, and 11.

    Things I would have changed: -Trigger pull has a lot of creep. No doubt it affects my accuracy. Its the biggest criticize I have on this, but then so many airguns dont have very good triggers compared to firearms. At least it’s smooth. -Cocking makes a small creaking noise. -Adjustable sight elevation has no detent (clicks) and may go out of adjustment over time. -Windage has a detent, but I don’t like that it’s a knob.

    What others should know: The Trevox is a potent accurate pistol. After breaking in with a couple hundred shots the velocity with H&N FTTs measured 479 FPS, which is about 4.4 FPE. For accuracy it favors the H&N FTTs. I get better than a 0.5 inch group at 6 yards (limitation of my basement). Crosman Premier WCs tend to shoot off to the right by an inch in a 1 inch group. In summary, it’s my current favorite air pistol. I’ve already recommended it to a friend looking for something with power and accuracy. It has less flaws than I saw related to other brands of this class or type.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Brian from USA on 2018-09-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Things I liked: It shoots pellets and its quite

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Its very fun to shoot

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Deter from USA on 2018-08-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Its a pistol. Very easy to cock. Too silent

    Things I would have changed: Size, i need gorilla hands to have proper grip. Inaccurate no matter ammo. Silencer is a huge PITA, make it removable?

    What others should know: Its an easy backyard shooter... within 10-15 feet. The kids 6-9 here love it because its easy to cock/load but its "way toooooo heavy". The silencer is nice but a huge problem since you can't use certain ammo with it on and cleaning is harder :(

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By dan spindler from USA on 2018-08-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: gun is perfect.easy to cock. .after 5 very first shots it was sighted in .shot 7-8 went threw same pellet hole at 25 feet. SHOT 9-10 .1/8 inch right my fault.. I USE A SMALL BB SIZE DOT FROM A SHARPY AT 25 FEET FOR MY TARGET IN GARAGE..the barrel was spotless inside from factory.

    Things I would have changed: put scope stop hole OR MAKE RAIL STOP. make version with out child proof trigger

    What others should know: first gun sent was cracked on top at suppessor.saw this probem on reviews also.no fault of anyone.i think they are being broken as they get shoved into box with too much paper packing in bottom of box.when i went to repack return gun wouldnt fit in box so i was allmost ready to shove it and i reallized this is how they are getting broken barrels. pa did return as fast as ups could drive.the replacment shot 5 inch high at 25 feet with sight maxed.dangerous at 75 feet. make sure to test at close range first 5 shots. barrel was bent upward.tried dot sight but crept back on rail useless.pa did return and sent 3rd replacment as fast as ups could drive again no questions asked.3 rd gun is perfect. but like most reviews rear sight must be off set to the right just makes it.at 25 feet.HINT if you use both index fingers on trigger it wont pull left due to child proof trigger TRY IT i am very happy with trevox air pistol. im not picky. but a new air gun shouldnt be in garage sale condition

     
  • 123 Next
Navigation