Date: 16/8/2018 2:3
0

Umarex Trevox Air Pistol reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.0 (23 reviews)
2 star
Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Theophile from USA on 2017-07-14 11:20:21

Things I liked: This is a nice solidly built pistol that has good ergonomics, balance and finish. Used my 7.9g Benjamin HP for the first 150 break-in rounds. Dieseled and smoked some, but settled out to around 500 fps averages. The long 10" barrel, with its built in reinforced suppressor shroud, makes this break barrel easy to grip and a joy to cock. Overall noise report is around 76db at the muzzle...ear plugs not needed, but recommended. Lock up to the receiver is very solid and achieved with a strong spring loaded ball bearing. The blued finish is well done and the ambidextrous fingered grip feels a little small, but have no issues with a secured shooting stance. The front sight is mounted back from the breech and out of the way while for cocking the piston. The built in rear sight is also sleek and works okay, but has a screw for elevation adjustments (keep a 1\4" flat head handy) and a flimsy small windage knob. In all, It works well enough to get on target.

Things I would have changed: Trigger pull was 7.1 lbs, but unfortunately after 250 rounds, has gotten a little stiffer, with a final sear break that is somewhat jerky. Further usage should smooth out the overall trigger performance.

What others should know: I tried a RWS lead pellet sampler pack and found the RWS 7.0g Hobby wad cutters (av. 537fps) to shoot the best! At my standard indoor 10yd range hand-held, got a 5-shot 5\8" group with the iron sights and a 5-shot 1\2" group with the RioRand red dot reflex scope...NICE! Pellets the Trevox didn't like...Benjamin 7.9 HP, Crosman 7.4 Target WC, RWS 6.9 SHP and RWS Meisterkugeln WC...groupings ranged from 1 1\8" (RWS MEIS.) to 3 3\4" (Crosman Target WC). Think I'll stick with the RWS Hobby WC's for the Trevox to devour! Overall, the Trevox is 18" long, but this includes the wonderful integrated cocking aid\suppressor. The "more-forward" grip lends to a lighter, better balanced shooting stance. Break barrel ease and cocking comfort makes the Trevox a sweet shooter. For the price, the Trevox is a really good deal for plunking and target activity fun!

The most helpful critical review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:3.0

Accuracy:2.0

By Rann from USA on 2017-12-03 12:32:01

Things I liked: I wanted a gas piston pellet pistol that was easy to cock, like this one. (A .22 would have been even better.) The price seemed very reasonable. The optical sights are very adequate.

Things I would have changed: I knew this would be a mostly plastic gun from China. I read all the unfavorable reviews on its stiff, unadjustable trigger and they were 100% on the money. Some teflon spray helped a bit, but this is a tiring pistol for my trigger finger for any length of time. So far I have not been successful in sighting it in for any reasonable accuracy at 10m...but at least I can hit the target!

What others should know: I bought this red dot scope, but it cants severely, despite both items claiming 11mm dovetail compatibility: Hawke Sport Optics Red Dot Sight, 5 MOA, 3/8" to 11mm Mount. This is not the first time I've come across this problem with other pellet guns and scopes. Am considering returning both...

Sort by:
  • 12 Next
  • Showitems
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Bad Dog on 2018-07-30
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Easy loading, Very nice power for a one pump pistol; nice sights

    Things I would have changed: Put on a Piccadilly/Weaver rail and lose the dovetail. Make the trigger easily adjustable. The trigger pull is much to hard.

    What others should know: Beware plinking too close. When shooting into a hardwood base I have hit prior pellets embedded in the wood and get a ricochets often.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Anthony from USA on 2018-07-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is a solid feeling gun and pretty darn accurate at 10 yards. Cocking while not easy, is perfectly manageable even for younger folks with proper technique. We found by holding the gun by the handle in one hand and holding the barrel in the other and pressing together works best. The gun is well balanced and fun, fun, fun to shoot/plink. I would NOT use this for pesting other than a mouse, small rat, or small bird. Even then shot placement is key for ethical shot - and remember within 10 yards. This gun ticks so many boxes... reasonable size, solid weight but not too heavy, easy cocking, powerful enough and fun.

    Things I would have changed: The trigger!!! For the love of all things good Umarex, please, please fix that trigger!! It's a long and creepy 6+ pounds. Even with reducing the long creepy single stage trigger pull (with a third party longer screw), it's still 6+ pounds. While this gun shoots fairly accurately from the bench, there is no doubt this trigger works against it.

    What others should know: Did I mention the trigger is ridiculously heavy and long, and reduces accuracy? Ah, ok... We found that wadcutters were the best for accuracy - we used the cheap Crosman, H&N Sports, and RWS wadcutters with similar results at 10 yards. With the relatively low (hunting) power of this pistol using predator polymags (or even the Gamo Red Fire or the PBA Blue Flame) made the gun more lethal for rats. Again, my opinion, it's just not ethical to use this pistol for pests any larger than small rat. Our average crony numbers were 528 fps, with 7.4 grn wadcutters producing 4.6 FPE. The 5.6 grn Gamo Blue Flames produced 4.5 FPE at 616 fps.

  • 3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Fritz from USA on 2018-07-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I purchase the Trevox as the tests I have seen rated this gun as fairly quiet and backyard friendly. Well, mine doesn't seem to live up to the tests I have seen. I have tried pellets of various grains up to an including a Crossman Premier 10.5 grain pellet. I can say this the one I have is not back yard friendly. Its noise level is almost up there with my 9mm.

    Things I would have changed: At this time I have noting to add to this. Probably will have to take it to the desert and see how it works out in a better test area.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Richard from USA on 2018-04-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Looks cool, fairly quiet, front sight is positioned to make cocking it easier, cocking effort is ok, nice fiber optic sights, molded finger groove grip, fair price, lots of fun to shoot.

    Things I would have changed: Lighten trigger-I added the longer adjustment screw which helped. Its a bit front heavy but it's manageable.

    What others should know: Mine is a 7 lb trigger pull-so rather than lightly squeezing like most guns I pull the trigger more firmly which helps a lot. Other than the longer adjustment screw I still want to lighten the spring or do some other mod to lighten the trigger. Ive put 200+ pellets through mine-it squeaked pretty bad initially when cocking it but quieted down after 50 and stopped after 100 shots. This thing diesels worse than any other pellet gun I have owned (6 rifles, 4 pistols). I run a cleaning snake through it after every 20 shots or so but it is still dieseling quite a bit.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Ronald from USA on 2018-02-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Nice balance. Easy to cock. Likes RWS Hobby 7.0 gr wadcutters. Good power, but power is not that important. I only use it to punch holes in paper. I put a red dot on it and it helps with my older eyes....

    Things I would have changed: The trigger really is terrible. Very hard to shoot accurately because it's such a long travel, and quite heavy. At 25 feet from a rest I'm getting 5 shot groups of 3/4", which isn't that great, but I'm already planning on working on the trigger lighten it up. I have a Daisy Powerline 717 that is over 30 years old, and it has a great trigger. Really wish I could put it on the Trevox. Sorry to belabor the point, but, wow.

    What others should know: Despite the bad trigger, this is a nice gun at a reasonable price.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gary from USA on 2018-02-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great well built & powerful pistol. I love it! Just mounted a BSA Red Dot 30mm sight on it. Perfect! Nitro Pistons rule! No more springers for me!

    Things I would have changed: Rear sight notch is too wide, & just like almost everyone else says, the trigger pull is too heavy. You can only shoot accurately by using a rest to steady it, or shake your way through the shot free handed with this heavy trigger. Very accurate with a bench rest.

    What others should know: Examine it closely BEFORE opening the see thru molded plastic packaging. I originally ordered one from Airgun Depot & the suppressor's muzzle had a big chip of material missing. Couldn't believe that the factory sent one out in such a damaged condition. The missing chip of material was not in the sealed package with the pistol so that told me they damaged it IN the factory & STILL packed & sent it out anyway! That's when I ordered one from Pyramid Airgun Depot shouldn't have sent it to me either!

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By gary from USA on 2018-02-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: JUST DAMN FUN...HAVEN'T TRIED ALOT OF DIFFERENT PELLETS..SIZE/WEIGHT..BUT GOOD ENOUGH FOR NOW..USE IT AND IT WILL GET EASIER TO COCK...MAY PUT RED/GREEN DOT SIGHT...

    Things I would have changed: LITTLE BIG BUT DON';T CARE...

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dana from USA on 2018-02-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Seems to be quite accurate even with old shaky hands. The sights worked well right out of the box.The overall weight is pretty good

    Things I would have changed: It would be nice to see a cocking piston that is actually easier to cock. But so far that seems to be true of any gas piston.

    What others should know: Only shot about 25 rounds.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Brian from USA on 2018-01-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: not expensive. fairly accurate at15 to 35 feet using the taco hold. trigger takes time to get use to.

    Things I would have changed: for the price nothing, or make a .22

    What others should know: very quiet can shoot in backyard all day. takes any .177 pellet you put in it.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Stanley from USA on 2018-01-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: It is a good shutter

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: No

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By CODY from USA on 2017-12-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Every thing this gun is one of the best pistols I have ever had.

    Things I would have changed: nothing

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gerald from USA on 2017-12-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I haven't shot it much yet, just the normal cleaning and a few shots to make sure it works. At this point I don't really see what all the griping abut the trigger is. I know it could be better but couldn't most of them. You have to keep in mind that this is still a $ 70 gun and not $ 300. I think it is easier to cock than I thought it would be. It seem to be pretty accurate for the little I have shot it and it seems to have plenty of power. CPHP 3/4" deep at 50' into a treated 2 x 8.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing so far.

    What others should know: Buy one and try it, be your own judge and jury. So far I like mine.

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Rann from USA on 2017-12-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: I wanted a gas piston pellet pistol that was easy to cock, like this one. (A .22 would have been even better.) The price seemed very reasonable. The optical sights are very adequate.

    Things I would have changed: I knew this would be a mostly plastic gun from China. I read all the unfavorable reviews on its stiff, unadjustable trigger and they were 100% on the money. Some teflon spray helped a bit, but this is a tiring pistol for my trigger finger for any length of time. So far I have not been successful in sighting it in for any reasonable accuracy at 10m...but at least I can hit the target!

    What others should know: I bought this red dot scope, but it cants severely, despite both items claiming 11mm dovetail compatibility: Hawke Sport Optics Red Dot Sight, 5 MOA, 3/8" to 11mm Mount. This is not the first time I've come across this problem with other pellet guns and scopes. Am considering returning both...

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By James from USA on 2017-11-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Cocks and loads easily. Pretty good accuracy.

    Things I would have changed: The trigger is terrible.

    What others should know: I added a BSA red dot and that helps a lot.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Marcos from USA on 2017-11-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: first, the suppressor or moderator works.. not as good as should be but works...I shoot late night to a mice in my room and nobody wake or know that happen at other day...but still make loud noise, is like a spring soft air pistol of low power... the rear sight is acceptable, do the job but need to move all the way to left, once adjusted works good, the trigger can be adjusted by a screw to reduce travel, no too good but usable, fell like a double action trigger.Overall is better that the nt trail pistol, because you don't need to put extra stuff(red dot -scope)to make work.

    Things I would have changed: Make the balance better, and the moderator smaller.

    What others should know: it pack a punch...shooting at 7 meters to a steel target with crosman 7.5 gr hollow point, the ammo is disintegrated into tiny fragments, this not happen even shooting with my 1377 steel breach at same distance with 10 pump of power...I can't measure the speed, but a think is faster that advertise.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2017-11-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Dead on accurate, quiet and great value. /the first one that was shipped to me had the ball bearing fall out, so there was a small quality problem. It was replaced immediately by PyramidAir, (good company to deal with).

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Roger from USA on 2017-11-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: Just received this Umarex Trevox pellet pistol yesterday. First, the quality of workmanship could match many firearm pistols. The shape of the receiver hand grip is a perfect fit for me. This gun is made tight, and cocking takes a little muscle, but bracing the back of grip on my upper leg makes it very easy to cock. The fiber optic sight are good and adjustment is simple. Be sure to have the proper size screwdriver to adjust the elevation, and the Windage knob on right side actually has notches that it clicks into for each graduation (read all your manual first)..The trigger is smooth all the way through, and makes this super accurate. I purchased this pistol to shoot pellets at the " Sig Saur Quad Shooting Gallery Target" and it turns out to be a perfect match knocking down silhouette targets and a perfect re-set every time. 30 ft. Indoor basement range using Premier pointed 7.4 gr. @ 549fps/= 5 ftlbs energy. I already love this gun and can't stop shooting it. 100% best purchase !

    Things I would have changed: For me there is nothing to change. Umarex must have put a lot of research and trials into making such a fine pistol. It will be hard to beat!

    What others should know: There is quite a bit of oil in the barrel to shoot out before getting it dry. This is your time to get familiar with this baby! I cheated a little and shot a couple of "Beeman" felt pellets through it to get started! PS, I took a couple of pictures but see no way to post them.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Vincent from USA on 2017-08-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: I really wanted to like this pistol. For the most part I really do and it's fine. But it has a couple serious shortcomings. Number one it's the worst trigger any air pistol I've shot. My finger is actually sore after shooting, as it is such a hard pull, probably close to 10 pounds. I'm waiting for one of you smart guys to put the disassembly and a trigger job online to improve it. The Sights are OK. Cocking it's not too hard, but the initial break doesn't really go far enough to give good leverage to complete the cocking effort. Accuracy is good, and it feels good in the hand.

    Things I would have changed: Got to do something about the triggers.

    What others should know: Good accuracy, good power, not too loud, still fun to shoot for a while. I would still recommend this gun with the hopes of finding a trigger fix online.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By john from USA on 2017-07-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Good pistol!! received pistol from Pyramid 2 days ago, I installed a red dot, and cleaned the barrel ! first 30 rounds the pistol dieseled very bad I mean a lot. tried a lot of different weight pellets, and was getting frustrated with accuracy at 10 yards. found the 7.9 Crossman match premiers are the most accurate. good pistol for the price after break in and finding the right pellet!

    Things I would have changed: more power would be great! the trigger is heavy but predictable.

    What others should know: It is what it is for the price not bad at all.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Theophile from USA on 2017-07-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: This is a nice solidly built pistol that has good ergonomics, balance and finish. Used my 7.9g Benjamin HP for the first 150 break-in rounds. Dieseled and smoked some, but settled out to around 500 fps averages. The long 10" barrel, with its built in reinforced suppressor shroud, makes this break barrel easy to grip and a joy to cock. Overall noise report is around 76db at the muzzle...ear plugs not needed, but recommended. Lock up to the receiver is very solid and achieved with a strong spring loaded ball bearing. The blued finish is well done and the ambidextrous fingered grip feels a little small, but have no issues with a secured shooting stance. The front sight is mounted back from the breech and out of the way while for cocking the piston. The built in rear sight is also sleek and works okay, but has a screw for elevation adjustments (keep a 1\4" flat head handy) and a flimsy small windage knob. In all, It works well enough to get on target.

    Things I would have changed: Trigger pull was 7.1 lbs, but unfortunately after 250 rounds, has gotten a little stiffer, with a final sear break that is somewhat jerky. Further usage should smooth out the overall trigger performance.

    What others should know: I tried a RWS lead pellet sampler pack and found the RWS 7.0g Hobby wad cutters (av. 537fps) to shoot the best! At my standard indoor 10yd range hand-held, got a 5-shot 5\8" group with the iron sights and a 5-shot 1\2" group with the RioRand red dot reflex scope...NICE! Pellets the Trevox didn't like...Benjamin 7.9 HP, Crosman 7.4 Target WC, RWS 6.9 SHP and RWS Meisterkugeln WC...groupings ranged from 1 1\8" (RWS MEIS.) to 3 3\4" (Crosman Target WC). Think I'll stick with the RWS Hobby WC's for the Trevox to devour! Overall, the Trevox is 18" long, but this includes the wonderful integrated cocking aid\suppressor. The "more-forward" grip lends to a lighter, better balanced shooting stance. Break barrel ease and cocking comfort makes the Trevox a sweet shooter. For the price, the Trevox is a really good deal for plunking and target activity fun!

  • 12 Next
Navigation