Date: 26/9/2020 0:39
0

Customer Reviews for Crosman SSP .22

Average Customer Review

2.5 (19 reviews)
2 star

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

By DEREK TANEY from USA on 2011-04-04 23:41:54

Things I liked: very uniforme shoot well 5 shot clusters @30 yards clusters being touching all shots

Things I would have changed: none

What others should know: work great in me beeman swap bbl. gun .177/.22

The most helpful critical review

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Size/Shape Distribution:1.0

By David from USA on 2018-02-19 06:57:51

Things I liked: Absolutely nothing

Things I would have changed: The weight .... To light

What others should know: Absolute horrible pellet to shoot for the price waste of money...

Sort by:
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By David from USA on 2018-02-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Things I liked: Absolutely nothing

    Things I would have changed: The weight .... To light

    What others should know: Absolute horrible pellet to shoot for the price waste of money...

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Nick from USA on 2017-03-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: [crickets chirping] I usually save my unwanted pellets for the small children to shoot but in this case that would be child abuse.

    Things I would have changed: This pellet is a game changer for the squirrels. If you were thinking that it was getting too easy to hit your target, just give these a try and consider the playing field leveled. You wont hit what you are aiming at so don't line up the target in your crosshairs. Will it go right, left, up or down... you never know until you let it fly (sort of like my drives from the tee box).

    What others should know: I bought these and 4 other lead free options to try out in my new TX200. After getting dialed in, the TX200 proved itself worthy of its reputation and capable of shooting everything I fed it except these garbage Crossmans. 5 shots each pellet and here were the results... H&N Baracuda Green 12.65gr = 0.7" group at 25 yards, Sig Wraith 12.35gr = 0.75" at 25 yards. H&N FTT Green 9.56gr = 0.5" at 25 yards, Predator GTO 11.65gr = 0.55" at 25 yards, Crossman SSP 9.5gr = > 6" at 25 yards! It was unbelievably bad. So I tried it out in a Walther Terrus and it was still unable to print most shots on target. So then I tried it in a 1322 backpacker at 15yards and it was actually worse if that is possible. I am fairly confident I could produce a better grouping with these pellets if I shot them out of a slingshot.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Rich from USA on 2015-11-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Things I liked: Nothing

    Things I would have changed: QC. They got one star basically because the system won't accept no stars.

    What others should know: Will never hit same place twice. Worst pellets I have ever used. I would pay someone to take 'em away.

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Rann from USA on 2015-05-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Lead-free

    Things I would have changed: Much too lightweight for my Benjy pumpers, HB22 & 392. These air guns are usually very accurate. With these lightweight pellets I could barely hit the target! Even when I was lucky enough to do so, the pellets would usually bounce off.

    What others should know: I wanted to see whether lead-free pellets were worthwhile, despite their price. From now on I'm sticking with .22 pellets 13 grains or more.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By scott from USA on 2014-09-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: after scope tweaking, i get very good accuracy with these very light, fast moving pellets - about as good a HN FTTGs. quarterish sized groups at 10 yards just sitting down with no rest...sometimes better. oddly, these feel lighter than HN FTTGs and dont penetrate anywhere as well into pine planking or 10 inches of stacked pork shoulder (about 3 inches on average with a thick fur cap pulled over the meat). but at the base of the point of the pellet there is a stiff ring and these create a larger entry wound on the meat than even expanding lead hollow points i have fired (HN hollow points at 12.6gr and crosman destroyers at 14.3gr). i assume this is because of the high speed and the little ridged ring.

    Things I would have changed: not sure really. maybe 3 grains heavier? sort of a conundrum with these on small game as the initial wound is huge but the low mass prevents deep penetration.

    What others should know: fired from a crosman nitro venom at 10 yards.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James from USA on 2014-02-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: they are fast movers

    Things I would have changed: the sight picture is so much different that with regular lead pellets that a major resight in is required when using them.

    What others should know: I test all rifle pellets for penetration in milk jugs filled with water. the light weight pellets will not penetrate clear through 1 jug. This may be a good thing but not for hunting. A 22 grain 22 cal pellet will go all the way through at least 2 milk jugs which is makes it a good small game pellet.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    1.0 1.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Andy from Canada on 2013-05-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Design!Design!design!, Finally, Crosman came out with their Premier "SuperPoint" in .22, It's a shame it had to be in an alloy composition.I'm a Number One fan of the superpoint in .177, The pellet flies like a spiral thrown by Joe Namath, excellent accuracy, and distance, Why Crosman would put this pellet out at just 2gr higher than the .177 round is beyond me. This round needs to put out in LEAD @ 14.3gr, just like the rest of the Premier Line-Up. Mind You, This pellet does fill a niche, It's an excellent choice for my Daisy 622X .22 Co2 pistol, and my Webley Alecto .22 pistol, where it absolutely shines, and has proven to be a lethal combo for grouse/partridge/pheasant hunting from the tree stand during Deer season.

    Things I would have changed: Add a little weight, and thin down the skirt's so they engage the rifling a little better, The hardness of the alloy doesn't allow for good rifling engagement. Also, for what is being offered, The price is way too high, comparable offerings from H&N, namely their Baracuda Green, and Field Target Trophy Green rounds, are of higher quality, and offered at a very competitive price, are my choice for .22 alloy round's

    What others should know: Even w/ the larger than life price tag, they do perform exceptionally well in low-mid powered rifles(anything under the 500fps rule, and most "Chinese" a/g's), as well as excellent performance in any/all .22 Co2/PCP/Multi-pump pistol, Performs well in Crosman 2240's/2289's/1322's.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By KEI from USA on 2013-01-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Cool looking alloy and realllly light weight. Light weight equals speed, and yes they are speedy. But lack the same accuracy of the lead pellet.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Paul from USA on 2013-01-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: They don't shoot well out of my gun at all, Too light I think. I can't get a group smaller than 6 inches at 25 yards. My work really well in a gun with less power, I could see them getting more distance using these.

    Things I would have changed: PRICE! Expensive! They are just tin alloy pellets, lighter and harder than lead. I can't see them costing so much more to make to justify the price they charge.

    What others should know: I really think these would shoot well in a spring gun but my power piston Benji is just powerful.

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Felix from USA on 2012-01-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Nothing

    What others should know: Worthless. Groups opened to about 6" at 12 yds with my marauder pistol shooting off a rest. Lots of flyers. Pistol can group less than 1/2" at same distance with standard (not match) pellets, so it is not the gun.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Unknown Infidel from USA on 2011-10-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I used these as a special project pellet. I needed the light weight and pointy tip. The reason is I had a rather tough old groundhog that was destroying the foundation of my hunting cabin. A bit of stealth, patience, and a black powder primer glued to the tip of a pellet and my critter was handled decicively with a head shot. Basically, I turned it into a very tiny rpg. Enough said.

    Things I would have changed: For my purposes, thet worked well.

    What others should know: These are bout worthless as is. With a little imagination and creativity they can be a very formidable short range pest elimination shot.

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By KENNETH from USA on 2011-10-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I LIKE THAT THIS AMMO IS LEAD FREE,BUT, THIS AMMO DID NOT SHOOT CONSISTANTLY. THIS AMMO SHOT ALL OVER THE PLACE.

    Things I would have changed: THIS PELLT NEEDS A LONGER TAIL JUST A LITTLE BECAUSE THIS PELLET DOES NOT FLY STABLE ENOUGH IN FLIGHT.

    What others should know: I HAVE TESTED THIS PELLET IN A GAMO .22 RIFLE AND A TECHFORCE 79 IN .22CAL. THIS AMMO PERFORMED BAD IN BOTH RIFLES. YOU SHOULD TRY IT TO SEE HOW IT PERFORMS IN YOUR RIFLE.

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Brian from USA on 2011-10-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Light effective Pellets when they held their groups.

    What others should know: Light weight and fast, but some accuracy concerns. I am a former expert marksman so my groups were not that inconsistant. after comparing the 3 different pellets, I determined my sights were dead-on and the flyers were associated with the SSP pellets.

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Thomas from USA on 2011-09-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Things I liked: Lead free it that matters.

    Things I would have changed: Accuracy: Further out than 10 meters and these were all over the place.

    What others should know: Velocity in my Crossman NP and my Benji NPXT both chronograph about 200 FPS faster than 16 grain Polymags. 950 FPS from the NP and 1000 FPS from the NPXT-- BUT, if you do the math you get equivalent Ft.Lbs. of kinetic energy from a heavier round going slower than you do from these SSP lightweights...and Polymags or Premier ultra mags are WAY more accurate. I also feel firing something this light does not give enough resistance to the spring\piston making them hard on the mechanics of the gun.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Bob from USA on 2011-08-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: A pleasure to handle and shoot.

    Things I would have changed: I wish they'd manufacture lead-free wad cutters.

    What others should know: I may never go back to lead.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Andy from Canada on 2011-04-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: I've been patiently waiting for this pellet to come along for quite some time, and Boy' was it worth the wait. This is quality American engineering at it's best. Size, shape, weight, composition, and distribution all coming together to form what I would say is one of the finest pellet's being offered on the market today. This pellet blows away all Non-Lead pellet's being offered by GAMO in accuracy, distance, composition, size/shape distribution & PRICE!

    Things I would have changed: 500/Tin's please!

    What others should know: This pellet is fantastic in any .22 pistol, or mid-powered rifle. I tried them out in all of my .22 pistol's(Webley Alecto, Daisy 622X, Crosman 2240(stock & modded), Crosman 2289G BackPacker). In the Alecto I'm stacking these round's one on top of the other @ 10M w/650fps m/v., and w/ the 622X, you feel like you have a real Beretta in your hand's!. In my mid-powered rifles, I'm receiving increased m/v of up to and over 25% with absolutely no loss in accuracy, or distance when compared to the GAMO Raptor, It also has greater penetration with less degradation than the Raptor when fired at 1" pine board @ 20M. When shot with some of my more powerful rifles I encountered some super-sonic Bang's!, but accuracy was still maintained. All in all, these are worth every cent. Cheer's, and Happy Huntin', Andy P.S. Don't forget to lube these pellet's w/ a few drop's to a tin.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By DEREK TANEY from USA on 2011-04-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: very uniforme shoot well 5 shot clusters @30 yards clusters being touching all shots

    Things I would have changed: none

    What others should know: work great in me beeman swap bbl. gun .177/.22

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By lcarradini from USA on 2011-03-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: More substantial than smaller .177 counterpart. Did not experience skirt damage in tin. Shape allows more penetration than one would expect for the estimated energy carrying capacity of a 22 Cal pellet of such light weight.

    Things I would have changed: Add a little weight.

    What others should know: Narrow operating range. When fired in airgun generating below about 550 fps there isn't enough power to provide necessary thrust to maintain tracking - anticipate 6 inch groupings. Between 550 and 600 fps one can acheive half dollar sized groupings. Above 600 fps, one should again expect to see ~ 6 inch groupings.

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Adam from USA on 2011-02-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: not good at all to lite

    Things I would have changed: take them off the shelve

    What others should know: they have some really great guns and other pellets and good prices

     
Navigation