Date: 17/12/2018 13:7
0

Gamo .177 Cal. Customer Reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.0 (81 reviews)
Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Size/Shape Distribution:5.0

By David from USA on 2012-08-10 12:24:04

Things I liked: I like the packaging, precise diameter, and price. These relatively inexpensive lead roundballs functioned perfectly in my UMAREX STEEL STORM. After I made a barrel change to get more power and speed, I needed a precision round lead projectile to match the new barrel. It needed to be .001" smaller than the new smoothbore barrel, and the GAMO round fit the bill exactly. Further,they come in a screw-top lidded can avoiding the irritating spills associated with pry-top cans.

Things I would have changed: Nothing

What others should know: I like to add a few drops of TEFLON/silicon lubricant to the can to prelube the ammo.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:2.0

Size/Shape Distribution:3.0

By John from USA on 2016-02-05 10:03:27

Things I liked: This pellet did not have any performance characteristics that would convince me to purchase this one again. The attraction for me was that it was round and is actually a lead BB. In my opinion, by this pellet being round and not shaped to have a skirt was the flaw with this pellet. I believe that without the skirt, when shot, compressed air could get around this pellet due to it not being perfectly round, causing it to have a high extreme spread. In half of the breach loadings, the pellet would move almost a quarter inch down the barrel. I would lightly tap the bottom of the butt, after closing the breech, to move the pellet back towards the breech opening.

Things I would have changed: Nothing you can do with a round lead ball.

What others should know: I tested this pellet shooting 10 shot groups from 4 different .177 air guns. I also chronographed each shot over a Competition Electronics Digital Prochrono. The temperature was 38 degrees and overcast skies and calm to no wind at all. The air rifles used and the 10 shot group results are: Gamo Hunter "220" had an average velocity of 657.6 fps with a low of 604 fps and a high of 801 fps for an extreme spread of 279, Beeman RS2 Silver Kodiak averaged 697.1 fps with a low of 593 fps and a high of 751 fps for an extreme spread of 158, Gamo Big Cat 1250 averaged 752 fps with a low of 694 fps and a high of 803 fps for an extreme spread of 109 fps, and the Ruger Air Magnum averaged 796.1 fps with a low of 670 fps and a high of 880 fps for an extreme spread of 210 fps. Overall I did not have any enjoyment shooting this pellet at a 12"x12" target with a 1" bullseye, that was why I gave it 1 star in performance and accuracy, pellets were all over the target with 5 hits out of 40 on the bullseye

Sort by:
  • 12345 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Judi from USA on 2018-12-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: ... very well made and good price.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Rik from USA on 2018-08-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: the special deal, buy 3 & 1 free. I'm not using these for their intended purpose. I wanted to try a shotgun load, so I put them in a shot cup in a smooth bore black powder pistol, .54 cal.

    What others should know: be sure to wash your hands when you're thru, pretty dirty.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Roy from USA on 2018-05-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I used these round lead balls in my Daisy 880. They feed well through the B.B. port. They are soup can accurate with 2 or 3 pumps out to 20 yards. Super easy to load vs. pellets. Glad I got them. Will get more.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By John from USA on 2018-04-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Lead round balls worked really well in my MP-654K Makarov with rifled barrel. Grouped inside a half dollar at 10 meters. Way better than the Daisy bbs.

    Things I would have changed: Uniformity- but sure didnt hurt accuracy.

    What others should know: BBs mic .173 Gamo round balls mic .175 - 176. Lead balls tighter fit and lead composition really helped the accuracy with my rifled barreled pistol.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gerard from USA on 2017-11-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I purchased these for use in an Italian "indoor gallery" pistol. The propulsion is by 209 primers and the barrel is rifled. I have found these lead projectiles to be very consistent in size and form and they work very well in the pistol.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: I also tried these round balls in my Remington 1875 cartridge revolver and found them to hit high but very consistently so. I was getting sub .75" groups from a rest at 20'. I am going to stock up on these RLB's.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Art from USA on 2017-11-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Ok, I have said I would only use Rundkugels. But got curious since the price point so good. Fairly bad out of 880, but can kill soup cans and bottles well at close range. Not too much problem with Rounds rolling down barrel. Great fun for plinking not-so-small targets.

    Things I would have changed: Well, make them extra large like H&N 4.54 lead balls - those give decent accuracy and NEVER roll down your barrel. They lock on the rifling. The 4.54 Rundkugels are the best.

    What others should know: These Gamo Rounds are stars in my Daisy 35R, but that is a rifled mod with TIGHT muzzle hole. The Copper Rundkugels are awesome in 35R, but the Rounds do well, and better than in other guns. In a hunt situation, my 35R shoots initial shot with trusted pellet, but the magazine is loaded up with Gamo Rounds, for close in finish-up shots. Lead balls do not jump to the magnet in pump guns, and are great back up. Just turn gun toward magazine to load pellets.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By TonyG from USA on 2017-03-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Great BB's for rotary clips, they're just a little bigger than the normal sized BB and fit into the revolver type clips tighter and will not fall out the end of the barrel. But will jam on semi-auto pistols. I like the coating of graphite to help lube the barrels. They work well in my three revolver pistols, Vigalante, Colt and Brodax.

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Colin from USA on 2017-02-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: In theory the round ball can be accurate up to a point but these are not giving the results i expected...but they are cheap and in a big tin..with a screw lid. possibly ok in smooth bore guns. suggest you just buy and try a tin just to see if your rifle or pistol likes these..

    Things I would have changed: Use a much softer lead, so that they can initially seal better in the rifling, and make them a tad larger 4.55mm to fit rifles with deep rifling. Be interesting to test these in a smooth twist barrel !!! If they were softer they would also flatten out a bit more and dissipate more energy into the target.

    What others should know: CPMWASP I have really tried but have failed to get any decent results from them. In my blueprinted rebel, that can put pellets through the same hole over and over they don't even chamber properly. Those tested were all under 7.55mm in diameter they can roll forward of the positioning bolt and sit against the rifling, where they will jam and let the air pulse get past...only by tipping the rifle back to prevent the ball rolling forward will it send the ball into the rifling with enough force to engage and seal into the rifling giving a 700fps shot, but they do so with great variation and the spread is terrible. So why do they perform so badly? Tested in another gun, a rifled pistol with a softer rifling they fire ok but the spread is 2-3 cm at 7 meters distance with the pistol in a vice !!! Conclusion is they are too loose and hard materiel for my rifle. Accuracy the size of the tin at 15 m very disappointing as the weight would have been fine for pest control as they hit hard.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Steve from USA on 2016-09-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Hit a lot harder than steel BBs, great price, usable in pellet or BB guns.

    What others should know: I have not had problems with size and shape irregularities others have mentioned. I put them in the stick magazine of my Crosman P15B and they feed fine and don't jam. Of course they shoot lower than steel BBs but for close range (dispatching a mouse) its good to have these in the magazine as they will hit harder and have much better penetration.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kirk from USA on 2016-05-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Perfect ammo for my recently purchased Daisy 880 air rifle, being .177, the Gamo round lead ball.make use of the 880's rifling and though not as accurate as a diabolo pellet, they really "pack a punch"!!!

    Things I would have changed: Not a thing...they are well suited for my Daisy 880/

  • 1.0 1.0

    2.0 2.0

    3.0 3.0

    By John from USA on 2016-02-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This pellet did not have any performance characteristics that would convince me to purchase this one again. The attraction for me was that it was round and is actually a lead BB. In my opinion, by this pellet being round and not shaped to have a skirt was the flaw with this pellet. I believe that without the skirt, when shot, compressed air could get around this pellet due to it not being perfectly round, causing it to have a high extreme spread. In half of the breach loadings, the pellet would move almost a quarter inch down the barrel. I would lightly tap the bottom of the butt, after closing the breech, to move the pellet back towards the breech opening.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing you can do with a round lead ball.

    What others should know: I tested this pellet shooting 10 shot groups from 4 different .177 air guns. I also chronographed each shot over a Competition Electronics Digital Prochrono. The temperature was 38 degrees and overcast skies and calm to no wind at all. The air rifles used and the 10 shot group results are: Gamo Hunter "220" had an average velocity of 657.6 fps with a low of 604 fps and a high of 801 fps for an extreme spread of 279, Beeman RS2 Silver Kodiak averaged 697.1 fps with a low of 593 fps and a high of 751 fps for an extreme spread of 158, Gamo Big Cat 1250 averaged 752 fps with a low of 694 fps and a high of 803 fps for an extreme spread of 109 fps, and the Ruger Air Magnum averaged 796.1 fps with a low of 670 fps and a high of 880 fps for an extreme spread of 210 fps. Overall I did not have any enjoyment shooting this pellet at a 12"x12" target with a 1" bullseye, that was why I gave it 1 star in performance and accuracy, pellets were all over the target with 5 hits out of 40 on the bullseye

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Robert from USA on 2015-12-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: #1: SCREW ON TOP! Thank you Gamo! Price was good for taking a chance. A ton of Bullseye Bucks bought me 2000 rounds balls - 1000 in .177 and 1000 in .22 and shipping, so I did not pay a dime. I am waiting on my brother's .22 Benji so we can try them out, but the .177 are nice and pretty uniform. They shoot great from my CP1-M CO2 pistol and penetrate well. They seem to flatten out better when used against hard targets than the JSB pellets of similar weight (clocked at about 500FPS - I have not had time to chrony the round balls, but I would say they are running a bit faster) and are less prone to ricochet.

    Things I would have changed: So far so good.

    What others should know: The .177 look pretty good (round and uniform). The .22's look a bit rougher and not as uniformly round. I will be updating if I have a chance to shoot the .177 ball with the Marauder and I will post a review of the .22 caliber balls, although I must admit I am not confident that they will shoot well given the rough casting and surface irregularities.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Lee from USA on 2015-12-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Great idea, but not so great on the execution. They are easy to load in my 1377, but they are mostly out of round and not really accurate. They make a big splat when you do hit though. First shot knocked the target sticker off my swinging target! Where I get 2 inch groups with pellets, I was getting 6-8 inch groups with these round balls. Fun for plinking, easy to load, just not accurate enough for my taste.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Gregory from Canada on 2015-10-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I like how much easier round balls load into my 1377c than skirted pellets ...you can load them blindfolded. I like the damage they cause when shooting tin cans!

    Things I would have changed: I would like it if they were not so dirty...my finger tips get coated with lead dust after loading 4-6 round balls.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mark from USA on 2015-07-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Perfect

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: N/A

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Virgil from USA on 2015-06-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.52 ratings

    Things I liked: Change of pace from steel BB's in some airguns. I like them in the Winchester, Ml4

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Don't try to reuse any bounce backs or grounders. After a shot and impact they are deformed...

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Gary from USA on 2014-10-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: being able to find them for sale.

    Things I would have changed: Do not know.

    What others should know: Not as accurate as skirted pellets.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By gary from USA on 2014-08-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Shape .

    Things I would have changed: Size

    What others should know: Good price.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By davidahill from USA on 2014-06-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: These work great in my RWS model 34 pellet rifle, they hit hard. I also use them in my 1929 Daisy No 11 model 24 BB gun, it's designed to shoot lead BB's. Dave.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Scarecrow from USA on 2014-05-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: they shoot well.

    Things I would have changed: more per tin.

    What others should know: they shoot well in smooth bores as well as rifled barrels and they are a snap to load...haven't tried the .177 for range yet but the .22's do wonders at 35 yards from my 1322 pistol.

     
  • 12345 Next
Navigation