Date: 31/5/2020 3:33
0

Customer Reviews for Gamo .177 Cal

Average Customer Review

4.0 (88 reviews)
Gamo .177 Cal
Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Size/Shape Distribution:5.0

By David from USA on 2012-08-10 12:24:04

Things I liked: I like the packaging, precise diameter, and price. These relatively inexpensive lead roundballs functioned perfectly in my UMAREX STEEL STORM. After I made a barrel change to get more power and speed, I needed a precision round lead projectile to match the new barrel. It needed to be .001" smaller than the new smoothbore barrel, and the GAMO round fit the bill exactly. Further,they come in a screw-top lidded can avoiding the irritating spills associated with pry-top cans.

Things I would have changed: Nothing

What others should know: I like to add a few drops of TEFLON/silicon lubricant to the can to prelube the ammo.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:2.0

Size/Shape Distribution:3.0

By John from USA on 2016-02-05 10:03:27

Things I liked: This pellet did not have any performance characteristics that would convince me to purchase this one again. The attraction for me was that it was round and is actually a lead BB. In my opinion, by this pellet being round and not shaped to have a skirt was the flaw with this pellet. I believe that without the skirt, when shot, compressed air could get around this pellet due to it not being perfectly round, causing it to have a high extreme spread. In half of the breach loadings, the pellet would move almost a quarter inch down the barrel. I would lightly tap the bottom of the butt, after closing the breech, to move the pellet back towards the breech opening.

Things I would have changed: Nothing you can do with a round lead ball.

What others should know: I tested this pellet shooting 10 shot groups from 4 different .177 air guns. I also chronographed each shot over a Competition Electronics Digital Prochrono. The temperature was 38 degrees and overcast skies and calm to no wind at all. The air rifles used and the 10 shot group results are: Gamo Hunter "220" had an average velocity of 657.6 fps with a low of 604 fps and a high of 801 fps for an extreme spread of 279, Beeman RS2 Silver Kodiak averaged 697.1 fps with a low of 593 fps and a high of 751 fps for an extreme spread of 158, Gamo Big Cat 1250 averaged 752 fps with a low of 694 fps and a high of 803 fps for an extreme spread of 109 fps, and the Ruger Air Magnum averaged 796.1 fps with a low of 670 fps and a high of 880 fps for an extreme spread of 210 fps. Overall I did not have any enjoyment shooting this pellet at a 12"x12" target with a 1" bullseye, that was why I gave it 1 star in performance and accuracy, pellets were all over the target with 5 hits out of 40 on the bullseye

Sort by:
  • 12345 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jeffery from USA on 2020-05-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I love having a BB option that won't eventually tear up my rifled barrels! These work great in my multi-pump, dual ammo, rifles. It's great to keep some in the reservoir for those times when I just don't feel like loading a pellet one at a time or when pellets may not be handy. Also great when shooting BB guns in small spaces to reduce ricochet.

    Things I would have changed: They're lead balls. Not much to change there.

    What others should know: As I've said, these are a great option for any gun that will shoot BBs, but has a rifled barrel. However, the price per shot is about the same as your average, inexpensive, pellet. Given that, you should consider your own shooting needs before you choose to use these exclusively. I find them to be convenient and I know some who use them as finishing shots when hunting with higher end mulit-pumps but, IMO, most of the time, a pellet is your better option.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Michael from USA on 2019-12-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Easy to load in round mag.for mod. 586 S&W. Can take four or five in finger tips and drop in mag. Shoot good, dont have to push in mag. Size is not consistent but good for plinking.

    Things I would have changed: More consistent size.

    What others should know: Wanted to try them in a single shot hard to load pellet rifle. May not be good due to inconsistent size. I will get more for my 586 S&W. Fun fun fun. Don't know how well the will work in a pellet rifle.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Mike from USA on 2019-10-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Bought these to basically play with vs standard pellets. Fairly accurate at 10 meters with my target pistol. Have not tried any with any of my rifles as of yet. Thank you for using a screw on lid Gamo!

    Things I would have changed: Found several of the balls with flat spots on them. A little more Quality Assurance would help here.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Dave on 2019-07-22
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: Good amount for price

    Things I would have changed: Add an outer shell to prevent distortion.

    What others should know: These aren't perfectly round due lead being a soft material to begin with and not having plating. Just be aware that some airguns will shoot these, others won't.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2019-06-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: ricocheting is less likely

    Things I would have changed: None

    What others should know: I assume these would be better on the rifling of a barrel

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Blake from USA on 2019-05-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The price is very reasonable.

    Things I would have changed: These are very dirty. Your fingers will be black and will smell like sulfur, after handling them.

    What others should know: I use 17 of these in the Double Shot shot shells, along with one .22 round ball, to make a duplex load. Still experimenting, but has promise.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Michael from USA on 2019-02-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I have a antique Slavia Model 612 BB gun that will shoot only lead BBs. The Gamo lead balls work well and are a good value for me to use.

    Things I would have changed: I would change nothing.

    What others should know: Nothing

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Judi from USA on 2018-12-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: ... very well made and good price.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Rik from USA on 2018-08-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: the special deal, buy 3 & 1 free. I'm not using these for their intended purpose. I wanted to try a shotgun load, so I put them in a shot cup in a smooth bore black powder pistol, .54 cal.

    What others should know: be sure to wash your hands when you're thru, pretty dirty.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Roy from USA on 2018-05-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I used these round lead balls in my Daisy 880. They feed well through the B.B. port. They are soup can accurate with 2 or 3 pumps out to 20 yards. Super easy to load vs. pellets. Glad I got them. Will get more.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By John from USA on 2018-04-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Lead round balls worked really well in my MP-654K Makarov with rifled barrel. Grouped inside a half dollar at 10 meters. Way better than the Daisy bbs.

    Things I would have changed: Uniformity- but sure didnt hurt accuracy.

    What others should know: BBs mic .173 Gamo round balls mic .175 - 176. Lead balls tighter fit and lead composition really helped the accuracy with my rifled barreled pistol.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By coast dog from USA on 2017-11-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I purchased these for use in an Italian "indoor gallery" pistol. The propulsion is by 209 primers and the barrel is rifled. I have found these lead projectiles to be very consistent in size and form and they work very well in the pistol.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: I also tried these round balls in my Remington 1875 cartridge revolver and found them to hit high but very consistently so. I was getting sub .75" groups from a rest at 20'. I am going to stock up on these RLB's.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Art from USA on 2017-11-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Ok, I have said I would only use Rundkugels. But got curious since the price point so good. Fairly bad out of 880, but can kill soup cans and bottles well at close range. Not too much problem with Rounds rolling down barrel. Great fun for plinking not-so-small targets.

    Things I would have changed: Well, make them extra large like H&N 4.54 lead balls - those give decent accuracy and NEVER roll down your barrel. They lock on the rifling. The 4.54 Rundkugels are the best.

    What others should know: These Gamo Rounds are stars in my Daisy 35R, but that is a rifled mod with TIGHT muzzle hole. The Copper Rundkugels are awesome in 35R, but the Rounds do well, and better than in other guns. In a hunt situation, my 35R shoots initial shot with trusted pellet, but the magazine is loaded up with Gamo Rounds, for close in finish-up shots. Lead balls do not jump to the magnet in pump guns, and are great back up. Just turn gun toward magazine to load pellets.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By TonyG from USA on 2017-03-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Great BB's for rotary clips, they're just a little bigger than the normal sized BB and fit into the revolver type clips tighter and will not fall out the end of the barrel. But will jam on semi-auto pistols. I like the coating of graphite to help lube the barrels. They work well in my three revolver pistols, Vigalante, Colt and Brodax.

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Colin from USA on 2017-02-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: In theory the round ball can be accurate up to a point but these are not giving the results i expected...but they are cheap and in a big tin..with a screw lid. possibly ok in smooth bore guns. suggest you just buy and try a tin just to see if your rifle or pistol likes these..

    Things I would have changed: Use a much softer lead, so that they can initially seal better in the rifling, and make them a tad larger 4.55mm to fit rifles with deep rifling. Be interesting to test these in a smooth twist barrel !!! If they were softer they would also flatten out a bit more and dissipate more energy into the target.

    What others should know: CPMWASP I have really tried but have failed to get any decent results from them. In my blueprinted rebel, that can put pellets through the same hole over and over they don't even chamber properly. Those tested were all under 7.55mm in diameter they can roll forward of the positioning bolt and sit against the rifling, where they will jam and let the air pulse get past...only by tipping the rifle back to prevent the ball rolling forward will it send the ball into the rifling with enough force to engage and seal into the rifling giving a 700fps shot, but they do so with great variation and the spread is terrible. So why do they perform so badly? Tested in another gun, a rifled pistol with a softer rifling they fire ok but the spread is 2-3 cm at 7 meters distance with the pistol in a vice !!! Conclusion is they are too loose and hard materiel for my rifle. Accuracy the size of the tin at 15 m very disappointing as the weight would have been fine for pest control as they hit hard.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Steve from USA on 2016-09-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Hit a lot harder than steel BBs, great price, usable in pellet or BB guns.

    What others should know: I have not had problems with size and shape irregularities others have mentioned. I put them in the stick magazine of my Crosman P15B and they feed fine and don't jam. Of course they shoot lower than steel BBs but for close range (dispatching a mouse) its good to have these in the magazine as they will hit harder and have much better penetration.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kirk from USA on 2016-05-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Perfect ammo for my recently purchased Daisy 880 air rifle, being .177, the Gamo round lead ball.make use of the 880's rifling and though not as accurate as a diabolo pellet, they really "pack a punch"!!!

    Things I would have changed: Not a thing...they are well suited for my Daisy 880/

  • 1.0 1.0

    2.0 2.0

    3.0 3.0

    By John from USA on 2016-02-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: This pellet did not have any performance characteristics that would convince me to purchase this one again. The attraction for me was that it was round and is actually a lead BB. In my opinion, by this pellet being round and not shaped to have a skirt was the flaw with this pellet. I believe that without the skirt, when shot, compressed air could get around this pellet due to it not being perfectly round, causing it to have a high extreme spread. In half of the breach loadings, the pellet would move almost a quarter inch down the barrel. I would lightly tap the bottom of the butt, after closing the breech, to move the pellet back towards the breech opening.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing you can do with a round lead ball.

    What others should know: I tested this pellet shooting 10 shot groups from 4 different .177 air guns. I also chronographed each shot over a Competition Electronics Digital Prochrono. The temperature was 38 degrees and overcast skies and calm to no wind at all. The air rifles used and the 10 shot group results are: Gamo Hunter "220" had an average velocity of 657.6 fps with a low of 604 fps and a high of 801 fps for an extreme spread of 279, Beeman RS2 Silver Kodiak averaged 697.1 fps with a low of 593 fps and a high of 751 fps for an extreme spread of 158, Gamo Big Cat 1250 averaged 752 fps with a low of 694 fps and a high of 803 fps for an extreme spread of 109 fps, and the Ruger Air Magnum averaged 796.1 fps with a low of 670 fps and a high of 880 fps for an extreme spread of 210 fps. Overall I did not have any enjoyment shooting this pellet at a 12"x12" target with a 1" bullseye, that was why I gave it 1 star in performance and accuracy, pellets were all over the target with 5 hits out of 40 on the bullseye

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Robert from USA on 2015-12-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: #1: SCREW ON TOP! Thank you Gamo! Price was good for taking a chance. A ton of Bullseye Bucks bought me 2000 rounds balls - 1000 in .177 and 1000 in .22 and shipping, so I did not pay a dime. I am waiting on my brother's .22 Benji so we can try them out, but the .177 are nice and pretty uniform. They shoot great from my CP1-M CO2 pistol and penetrate well. They seem to flatten out better when used against hard targets than the JSB pellets of similar weight (clocked at about 500FPS - I have not had time to chrony the round balls, but I would say they are running a bit faster) and are less prone to ricochet.

    Things I would have changed: So far so good.

    What others should know: The .177 look pretty good (round and uniform). The .22's look a bit rougher and not as uniformly round. I will be updating if I have a chance to shoot the .177 ball with the Marauder and I will post a review of the .22 caliber balls, although I must admit I am not confident that they will shoot well given the rough casting and surface irregularities.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Lee from USA on 2015-12-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Great idea, but not so great on the execution. They are easy to load in my 1377, but they are mostly out of round and not really accurate. They make a big splat when you do hit though. First shot knocked the target sticker off my swinging target! Where I get 2 inch groups with pellets, I was getting 6-8 inch groups with these round balls. Fun for plinking, easy to load, just not accurate enough for my taste.

     
  • 12345 Next
Navigation