Date: 11/8/2020 11:41
0

Customer Reviews for Gamo Red Fire

Average Customer Review

4.5 (12 reviews)
3 star2 star
Gamo Red Fire
Pre-order

Out of Stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Size/Shape Distribution:5.0

By HunterExtreme from USA on 2016-10-28 15:03:03

Things I liked: First off the pellet is 15.4 not 14.5 grains. Shot out of my Gamo Magnum .22 @ 25 yards ....well lets just say bulls eye! Sits nicely in the barrel.... not too tight and not too loose. Will take about 5 shots or so to site in. But man when you do get it on target...look out!

Things I would have changed: nothing

What others should know: Get them before you can't.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Size/Shape Distribution:1.0

By Dylan from USA on 2020-02-16 11:16:52

Things I liked: I use my gamo magnum for small game / mid size game... I have killed large raccoons 20 yards and closer very cleanly with jsb Diablo jumbo heavy 18.13 gr with no problems. Just harvested a 20 lb porcupine with with thE diablos. Dispatched raccoons with cross man gold tips 17.4gr out of the trap and did the job perfectly.... with gamo reds I Tried to dispatched a raccoon from the trap. It went horrible with a well placed shot. Had to put 3 more into it. DO NOT USE THEM ON ANYTHING BIGGER THAN A SQUIRREL...

Things I would have changed: They are not a tight fit in my gamo magnum at all.

What others should know: The idea is creative. And assume it would be great for softer animals. They generally dont group well out of my gamo mag... with cross man gold tips 17.4 I am holding 1/4 groups at 25 yards and how they crush game. I dont see any practical reason to buy or use gamo reds on anything larger than a rat or small bird

Sort by:
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By William from USA on 2020-05-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I have not used these pellets yet and gave them 4 stars simply because they are produced by GAMO.

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Dylan from USA on 2020-02-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I use my gamo magnum for small game / mid size game... I have killed large raccoons 20 yards and closer very cleanly with jsb Diablo jumbo heavy 18.13 gr with no problems. Just harvested a 20 lb porcupine with with thE diablos. Dispatched raccoons with cross man gold tips 17.4gr out of the trap and did the job perfectly.... with gamo reds I Tried to dispatched a raccoon from the trap. It went horrible with a well placed shot. Had to put 3 more into it. DO NOT USE THEM ON ANYTHING BIGGER THAN A SQUIRREL...

    Things I would have changed: They are not a tight fit in my gamo magnum at all.

    What others should know: The idea is creative. And assume it would be great for softer animals. They generally dont group well out of my gamo mag... with cross man gold tips 17.4 I am holding 1/4 groups at 25 yards and how they crush game. I dont see any practical reason to buy or use gamo reds on anything larger than a rat or small bird

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By W.A.R. from USA on 2019-09-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: These are a great pellet for pest control and I would guess 'small game' hunting. If you have a higher power pellet rifle (~1,000 fps muzzle velocity or more) like a PCP, the Predator Polymags do expand a little better and are slightly more accurate. But, especially if you have a medium power or lower pellet rifle (~900 fps muzzle velocity or less) you probably won't see a difference between these Red Fire and a 16 Grain, Predator Polymag. The Red Fire are a great pellet, at a reasonable price for knocking down small pests/game. The Red Fire have a little better 'reach' then the Predator Polymag for longer shots. (Lighter, Higher Muzzle Velocity, less drop, etc.)

    Things I would have changed: The Red Fire seems to be made from slightly harder material than the Predator Polymags which I think accounts for the 'slightly less accuracy' of the Red Fire. I suspect these Red Fire don't seal or mold to the rifling's quite as well. The Predator Polymags have a little better expansion with higher power rifles.

    What others should know: These are my 'go-to' pellet for general pest control. I have used the Predator Polymag Short .22 Cal. (15.75 Gr.) and still use the Predator Polymag .22 Cal. (16.0 Grains) but for general small pest control we like these Red Fire pellets. We've found the Gamo Red Fire .22 Cal. to be about as accurate as the 15.75 Grain Predator Polymag Short .22 Cal. while the 16.0 Grain Predator Polymag .22 Cal. is a little more accurate out to distances of about 20 yards. We have Squirrels, Ground Squirrels, Gophers, mice, a few rats and the occasional Nuthatch to deal with. Usually the Red Fire pellets work fine for all of them out to 30+ yards. The 16.0 Grain, Predator Polymag has an advantage at less the than 20 yards, especially with larger Squirrels and Gophers. We found the 15.75 Grain, Predator Polymag Shorts 'knock down' as well as the 16.0 Grain, Predator Polymag pellets but as far as accuracy they're somewhere between the 16.0 Grain, Polymag and these Red Fire pellets at distance.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By trapper53 from USA on 2019-09-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: I have tried many different pellets in my Gamo Magnum .22caliber rifle but these are the ones it likes & I like the tip I wish they had them in a 14.5 grain but the 15.4 work LOOKOUT SQUIRRELS !!!! I killed a LARGE rat that was in my Chicken Feed with one of the GAMO Red Fire Pellets & the entire top of it head was removed It turned it a flip Stopping Power YES Gamo Red Fire Pellets are my 1st choice for hunting .

    Things I would have changed: I have only one gripe with the Gamo Red Fire is that some of the tips are coming off from the pellet I had several that the tips were gone & after looking they were in the bottom of the tin I hope Gamo will address this little problem I will hunt with them for good Oh and another thing they should have them in a tin of 250

    What others should know: USE THEM !!!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Steven from USA on 2019-04-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Screw top lid w/ sight window is nice . Great quality control ; no damaged skirts or missing poly tips . I buy them because my rifle loves these over all else ....bottom line . Slighty smaller diameter than other pellets is the ticket for "my" rifle .

    Things I would have changed: Closer tolerances in the swagging is the only thing that comes to mind . Not that the size is all over the place , but when you seat every pellet in a break barrel by hand ; you can feel when one is different .

    What others should know: My air rifle is a break barrel Benjamin NP2 in .22 , tuned trigger , (secret) moly coated the barrel . Crazy accurate .

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Art B from USA on 2018-08-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Quality and a very accurate pellet. Small game does know what hit them. Size of these pellets are really uniform.

    Things I would have changed: More pellets per tin.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Greg from USA on 2018-08-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Excellent penetration on large ground squirrels. All hits were through and through with adequate expansion. Accuracy was acceptable, but not great out of a Gamo Swarm Magnum out to 30 meters.

    Things I would have changed: If the lead were a little softer, expansion might be greater like the Predator Polymag Shorts. The plastic tip could be longer where it is seated in the pellet to form a deeper hollow point and better expansion.

    What others should know: For about the same price, the Predator Polymag Shorts were more accurate and expanded better with the same penetration through the Gamo Swarm Magnum. Not bad pellets, but they could be better.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By eric from USA on 2018-06-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: The packaging was how my scope from Optic Planet should have arrived, each Tin had their own 1" foam pad with cardboard in between. when i ordered the Red Fire and two other pellet tins they gave me another of this one for free Thanx! PA., as i forgot to specify my forth style pellet. so far i have no loose tips. ems

    Things I would have changed: Not a darn thing.

    What others should know: PA takes awhile to ship, but i do not hold that against them. they are a busy establishment.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By marc from USA on 2018-05-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: went through entire tin, no bent skirts. did not have any detached points. clean

    Things I would have changed: only knock is price.

    What others should know: my bsa r10 se shot these nice and tight at 30 yds. equal to jsb domes. where as predator polymag shorts failed badly. but that was my gun, yours may differ.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    1.0 1.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Rick from USA on 2018-01-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Dead on accurate. I found a tin lying around, no doubt left over from the days I was trying to find a good pellet for my two break barrels, and I decided to give them a try in my new Hatsan AT44S-10 QE. Boy the group was so tight I could hardly tell where the next pellet was hitting! the one "flyer" was about an inch off!

    Things I would have changed: These are classified as hunting pellets but the Polymer tip had fallen off of several pellets in the tin and I am Leary of tipped pellets for hunting if you plan on keeping the meat as the tip tends to get lost in the prey.

    What others should know: Beware, both of my break barrels, Gamo Maxxim Swarm, and Umarex Octane Elite, hated these and groups were big and Ugly!

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Robert from USA on 2017-04-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: The weight works for me.they deform well.second most consistent pellet for me so far.right behind cphp.

    Things I would have changed: Price.not a fair count for the price.expensive.

    What others should know: These do expand well and end it fast for squirrels.nice weight. They certainly sound different when hitting a rodent than my other ammo.Fairly clean and fairly consistent and worth a try in any gun.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By HunterExtreme from USA on 2016-10-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.03 ratings

    Things I liked: First off the pellet is 15.4 not 14.5 grains. Shot out of my Gamo Magnum .22 @ 25 yards ....well lets just say bulls eye! Sits nicely in the barrel.... not too tight and not too loose. Will take about 5 shots or so to site in. But man when you do get it on target...look out!

    Things I would have changed: nothing

    What others should know: Get them before you can't.

Navigation