Date: 15/10/2018 16:28
0

H&N Baracuda Hunter, .22 Cal, 18.21 Grains, Hollowpoint, 200ct reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (43 reviews)
2 star1 star
Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Size/Shape Distribution:5.0

By Tim from USA on 2014-09-08 22:40:49

Things I liked: Awesome accuracy in my Synrod! Very good, flat trajectory. Very good expansion.

Things I would have changed: Maybe more precise weight consistency.

What others should know: Excellent for punching paper or pests.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:3.0

Value for money:3.0

Size/Shape Distribution:5.0

By Carl from USA on 2014-07-04 15:12:58

Things I liked: Well made. Nice spred on impact.

What others should know: Didn't shoot well with my Gamo whisper.

Sort by:
  • 123 Next
  • Showitems
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By william from USA on 2018-09-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like the fact that I finally have an AR that shoots this pellet with outstanding accuracy ! I have the Benjamin Maximus in 22 cal with mild power mod , and it produces 26 fpe on average . Average grouping of 3/4 in. at 35 yards . Baracuda Hunter is one hard hitting pellet . All you hard core AR hunters know of the ongoing debate ; headshot verses heart/lung shot ... I am here to tell you , this pellet drops tree rats in their tracks with either ...

    Things I would have changed: Not a thing

    What others should know: I have not tried Baracuda Hunter for long distance due to the fact that I'm gettin' on in life , and the hands and eyes ain't what they used to be . Happy Hunting ! And above all , be safe out there . Bill R.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Riccardo from USA on 2018-07-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very accurate out of my break barrel and PCP guns. Maybe the most consistent pellet I have tested across multiple platforms. Of course it's great to have the benefit a hollow point provides while being accurate.

    Things I would have changed: Please include a foam pad in the (.25) tin to protect the pellets during shipping. Otherwise nothing I love these.

    What others should know: Two things: 1. When I reordered more of these hollow points the new tins had a different presentation (a brown and silver tin vs the original was blue and silver). This tells me they are from a different lot/time, or maybe different size head? Therefore I am not sure the new ones will perform the same. 2. These baracuda hunter HP pellets drastically out performs the h&n hunter extreme pellets which is supposed to be an upgrade over these.... not even close!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By gary from USA on 2017-06-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: accurate

    Things I would have changed: more pellets per tin

    What others should know: great expantion

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Stephen from USA on 2017-04-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Outstanding pellet which flew identically to another lighter pellet I chose for sighting in my air rifles. I lost a little muzzle velocity, but the accuracy was amazing.

    What others should know: Shot identically to the Crosman hollowpoints (14.2gr) is used for sighting in my 2 air rifles. Has already proven to be one-shot lethal on some backyard vermin.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Quinton from USA on 2017-02-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: All pellets fit the breech the same, no occasional loose or overly tight pellets. All pellets are identical to each other with no seams of any kind and no deformed skirts, hollow points were all the same depth and width (unlike Crosman ammo that sometimes makes me wonder if they have they new employees drilling the hollow point by hand). The tins sort of lock into each other when stacked on top of one another.

    Things I would have changed: Maybe round the heads off a bit for better aerodynamics, they look like a Crow Magnum with a beveled top edge but HN probably knows what they're doing

    What others should know: Shooting these out of a Talon SS with 18" barrel and a shroud that clamps onto the barrel, haven't ran them across the chrony yet but based on velocities with other pellets at different power settings I'd guess they have to be doing around 800 fps. Haven't tested them past 30 yards but anything inside of that range is a bullseye. I've only taken one squirrel with these (25 yards, maybe 750-800 fps), a broadside shot just above the shoulder that exited the opposite armpit and lodged in the elbow. Didn't hit the lungs or the heart but the squirrel never so much as twitched, just locked up and eventually tipped over. The exit side was quite bloody with a bit of damaged meat and the head of the pellet pretty much flattened out. If I had to choose between these and Polymags at this point I wouldn't be able to decide but may lean to the heavier pellet

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Nick from USA on 2017-01-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Extremely accurate shot out of my Benjamin Titan NP .22. Hits very hard with reliable, consistent performance.

    Things I would have changed: Typical more in a tin!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Charles from USA on 2016-11-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Uniformity and consistency among pellets. Snug fit in loading chamber. Stable, predictable, accurate flight characteristics, stopping power.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: I have taken numerous chipmunks, ferry diddles, squirrels, crows, and raccoons with this pellet. Nearly all were head-shots and one-shot, one-kill. Expansion when contacting bone (front shoulder) of squirrel was approximately 35%, penetrated bone, chest wall, lungs, heart, and lodged inside opposite side of hide. Very satisfied. My Umarex Fuel with 3x9-50 has consistently placed there at point of aim up to 50 yards with lethal results.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Robert from USA on 2016-10-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: No deformed skirts. shot pretty well in my pcps and nitro pistons

    What others should know: I found my guns either loved these or tolerated them. Either great groups or where did that go

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By ali from USA on 2016-05-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: great weight, and very accurate, expansion is unbelievable

    Things I would have changed: nothing

    What others should know: not accurate in my disco, or my striker edge or my gamo big cat, but these thing are super accurate in my hatsan mod 125 sniper vortex.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By chuck from USA on 2015-08-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: This is one of the best grouping 18.21 grain pellets that I have shot and I have tried most of them. They seem to do well in all six of my .22 cal rifles.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Robert from USA on 2015-07-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Great out to 35 yrds.

    Things I would have changed: Needs a little more weight. Tested between two points (0-30 yrds) the BC only worked out to .0023

    What others should know: These hold up well out to 50 yrds. However, they loose to much velocity to expand violently as they do at 30-35 yrds. BTW, Im pushing these over 1000 FPS from a Hatsan at 44 long.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2015-06-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Very Accurate from Hatsan AT44 Long. Unlike other hollow points, these hold velocity very well. The new screw on lid is great!

    Things I would have changed: Great as is! But I would like to see the weight @ 21 grains.

    What others should know: My AT is pushing these a little over 900 FPS & they really expand nicely..

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Emile from USA on 2015-01-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: These pellets are devastating on squirrels and expand well.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: This is my second tin of these pellets and they seem to fit the chamber of my RWS 460 Magnum better than the last tin and also print better.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By William from USA on 2015-01-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Hard hitting and deadly with superb accuracy in .22 cal. Hatsan 95 Vortex. Multiple clean kills at 24-35 yards.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Emile from USA on 2014-11-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This is a very clean and well made pellet.

    Things I would have changed: As many others have stated, I really like the screw on lids.

    What others should know: I recently bought a new RWS 460 Magnum from Pyramyd Air and am in the process of searching for the perfect pellet. This H&N Baracuda Hunter pellet is at the top of the performance list in my rifle even out to 50 yards. I really like this pellet.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Wolfy from USA on 2014-11-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Accuracy, impact, energy, uniformity and the shape and look of the giant hollow point.

    Things I would have changed: Not much at all. Mabe the price, but I would rather pay more for quality. If making them cheaper meant making them less precise, than no, I wouldn't change a single thing.

    What others should know: In every airgun I've owned, both .177 and .22, the trajectory of these pellets differ greatly from other barracuda pellets (barracuda and barracuda hunter extreme anyway). Don't be alarmed if you try these for the first time and the point of impact is way off from where your optics have been set to. These are great pellets, with great accuracy and hit very hard (if your gun has enough energy for these). Even if you've tried other hollow point style pellets but not these puppies yet, try them. I fell in love with them the first time I shot them four years ago. Thank you pyramid air, top of the line service!!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Tim from USA on 2014-09-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Super accurate in my Marauder. Under .5" groups at 50 yards. Often one round hole with 3 shots at 30 yards with little/no wind. Its trajectory is very flat. Flatter than the Hunter Extreme. As indicated on the bar graph on the tin, very high in precision and distance categories. Very good performance on small game; they definitely expand, leaving a noticeable entrance and exit hole. It bounces squirrels; you know when you've connected! If the prey moves away after, there will likely be a blood trail and it won't be moving fast. Still, instant kills (squirrels) are only guaranteed with brain or good amount of internal wounding that includes spinal disruption and/or a longitudinal / diagonal path. Chipmunk size game are devastated instantly. Tough birds like jays expire immediately with chest/body shots.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing other than a lower price ;-)

    What others should know: At 770fps muzzle velocity, prey hit at 50' or more, flesh is not flying like with a 22LR, so you do need to hit vitals for an instant kill but this is only a 18 gr projectile and subsonic so what do you expect? (A 22LR HP just about blows a squirrel in half close up; 37 gr, 1300fps.) Because of the flat trajectory (zero at 17 & 30 yards and only 1" low at 40 yards, about 3" low at 50 yards) and with very good grouping - 3 of 5 touching at 50 yards with 2 others .5 - 1" away in 2 to 3 mph wind, this has become THE go to hunting pellet for me. This flat trajectory means distance estimation is not as critical as with other rounds. 2nd in line is the Hunter Extreme - it seems to wound slightly better but groups a little larger and has a more arcing trajectory so distance estimation is more criti. Both are great hunting rounds. Trying Crow Mags next but preliminary tests say they don't group as well. They look more suited for larger tough things like crows.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Tim from USA on 2014-09-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Awesome accuracy in my Synrod! Very good, flat trajectory. Very good expansion.

    Things I would have changed: Maybe more precise weight consistency.

    What others should know: Excellent for punching paper or pests.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Lyle from USA on 2014-08-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Very nice design of hollow point. Shoots accurately in my Benjamin Discovery. This is the only gun I have tried them in. Outstanding consistency of pellets. Very nice tin secure from spilling.

    Things I would have changed: would like a larger tin say 500 count. Change nothing about the pellet.

    What others should know: Have not used on birds as yet but they look like they will open well. Have a nice deep hollow point. much better looking design than some of the very shallow hollow point designs.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Carl from USA on 2014-07-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Well made. Nice spred on impact.

    What others should know: Didn't shoot well with my Gamo whisper.

     
  • 123 Next
Navigation