Date: 10/12/2018 11:28
0

H&N Hornet Pellets. 92425500003BL. Customer Reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (18 reviews)
Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Size/Shape Distribution:5.0

By Genaro from USA on 2016-11-29 11:36:23

Things I liked: Very very good product.

Things I would have changed: Nothing

What others should know: No

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Size/Shape Distribution:2.0

By Don from USA on 2017-01-22 10:51:48

Things I liked: The design for better penetration.

Things I would have changed: The price is way too high!

What others should know: I shot these (H&N Hornet) out of my Hatsan 135 QE Vortex .22 rifle from a bench rest and they shot way higher than six other brands I compared them with. They were NOT exceptional in accuracy and I noticed when I used a pellet seater and I pushed just a little too hard it would actually shove it down into the chamber. This is obviously due to the soft and undersized skirts. Like my Diana RWS 34, this gun absolutely loves the H&N Baracuda Hunters at 18.21 gr. Both of these rifles will shoot three shot groups w/ all pellets touching at 15, 20, 25 and 30 yards in the same spot. These are my two squirrel rifles and I use the Baracuda Hunters exclusively when hunting. I also shot my Diana LP8 pistol with the H&N Hornet pellets from a bench rest and got the same type of groups...high and inconsistent. I like H&N pellets but I believe they need to go back to the drawing board...don't waste your money!

Sort by:
  • 5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Lonie from USA on 2018-08-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The sharp metal point and the way they mushroom when they hit absolutely perfect for small game up to possum raccoon size and they performed very very well in accuracy

    Things I would have changed: I would definitely change the price it's a little high but it's still well worth product

    What others should know: It's a very uniform and evenly balanced pellet shoots very well out of most break barrels very accurate and will handle most game up to Raccoon size excellent for hunting no question

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Lonie from USA on 2018-08-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The sharp metal point and the way they mushroom when they hit absolutely perfect for small game up to possum raccoon size and they performed very very well in accuracy

    Things I would have changed: I would definitely change the price it's a little high but it's still well worth product

    What others should know: It's a very uniform and evenly balanced pellet shoots very well out of most break barrels very accurate and will handle most game up to Raccoon size excellent for hunting no question

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Lonie from USA on 2018-08-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The sharp metal point and the way they mushroom when they hit absolutely perfect for small game up to possum raccoon size and they performed very very well in accuracy

    Things I would have changed: I would definitely change the price it's a little high but it's still well worth product

    What others should know: It's a very uniform and evenly balanced pellet shoots very well out of most break barrels very accurate and will handle most game up to Raccoon size excellent for hunting no question

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Rickey from USA on 2017-11-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I really liked the penetration offered by this pellet. My RWS 350 shot and grouped them well

    Things I would have changed: I'm sure these pellets could be offered at a lower price. Just sell them cheaper!!!!

    What others should know: Try these if you need a pellet that requires ultimate penetration

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    2.0 2.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kurt from USA on 2017-05-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: These shoot very well out of my 125 sniper vortex. I get good accuracy out to 40 yards with these.

    Things I would have changed: Way too expensive, double what other pellets cost.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Terrence from USA on 2017-03-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: I like the shape and style of these pellets. Very accurate if your gun will shoot them.

    Things I would have changed: Make them a little bit shorter, and perhaps a heavier grain. I would love to see these in 21-25 grains.

    What others should know: I really wanted these pellets to work in my PCP gun, however they were just too long. I have a Hatsan AT44-10 QE Long in .22 cal, they were too long to fit into my magazine. They would protrude out the mag which prevented me from inserting the mag into the gun. They were also too loose for the mag and would move around. They're a great pellet if your gun will shoot them. I also have a springer which shoots these without any issues. Very accurate in my Gamo Silent Cat but just won't work in my Hatsan. I hope they make them a little shorter and a bit heavier like 21 grains.

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Don from USA on 2017-01-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The design for better penetration.

    Things I would have changed: The price is way too high!

    What others should know: I shot these (H&N Hornet) out of my Hatsan 135 QE Vortex .22 rifle from a bench rest and they shot way higher than six other brands I compared them with. They were NOT exceptional in accuracy and I noticed when I used a pellet seater and I pushed just a little too hard it would actually shove it down into the chamber. This is obviously due to the soft and undersized skirts. Like my Diana RWS 34, this gun absolutely loves the H&N Baracuda Hunters at 18.21 gr. Both of these rifles will shoot three shot groups w/ all pellets touching at 15, 20, 25 and 30 yards in the same spot. These are my two squirrel rifles and I use the Baracuda Hunters exclusively when hunting. I also shot my Diana LP8 pistol with the H&N Hornet pellets from a bench rest and got the same type of groups...high and inconsistent. I like H&N pellets but I believe they need to go back to the drawing board...don't waste your money!

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By frederick from USA on 2016-12-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: I just collected some data on these pellets, Fired from my Hammerli 850 .22. I like the pellets. They are accurate at 42 and 60 feet. These are a bit heavy for the Hammerli 850, but the results were still very good, if used for pest control, I believe. When I receive the Walther MaximaThor .22 I just ordered from PA a couple of days ago, I will definitely do another review. These pellets, I believe will do very well at higher power, if penetration is what you need. I chronoed these pellets 5, 40, and 60 feet. It's a bit cool, so I heated up the rifle with a heating pad, on medium for a bit. The velocities were 577@5', 544@40, and 511@60'. The FPE was 10.52 at 40'. The bullet effectiveness was 3.39". A soda can full of water showed a fairly good shock pattern. The over-ripe avocado test was ok. I shot 8 round strings at 40 and 60 feet with 3/8 " groups with no correction at a TKO standard calibration target. This is a good pellet.

    Things I would have changed: More pellets per tin, and a lower price, of course.

    What others should know: These are very accurate pellets. H&N's ratings on the tin are accurate. These would likely be a better choice for a higher powered rifle, but performed very well with the Hammerli 850, which is why I had to have the MaximaThor. I'll do another review when I get my MaximaThor .22. I have avocado trees, and roof rats love them, so I've depleted the population by 58 this summer till last night. These pellets would very likely be very effective against larger prey requiring skull penetration, such as small boar. At my age of 60, I'll pass on the close range boar hunt, but did tag one at 400 yards with a Weatherby high power some time back, and will do so again in the future. I only take pests now. Myself and my neighbors all have dogs, and fear some one using poison, so everyone approves of my method of pest control. I have 3/8 " steel plates as backing in all " feeding stations", but would be very cautious using this pellet at high power. Thank you

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Genaro from USA on 2016-11-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: Very very good product.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: No

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Alberto from USA on 2016-08-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Extreme penetration awesome accuracy at 33 yards pierced right through the skull of a squirrel in one end out the other

    Things I would have changed: Size is a lil inconsistent but I'm on my second tin and that one seems to be much much better

    What others should know: I use the Gamo mach1 pigman edition in.22

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By bobby from USA on 2016-03-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I purchased a ten of H&N hornets thinking thay would be average at best. Only after putting them through 4 different rifles and getting sub one inch groups from all 4 springer at 35 yards (I am no pro) did find the H&N hornet is among some of the most accurate pellets I own. Even out to 50 yards. Definitely my new hunting pellet.

    Things I would have changed: I would like to see then offered in a slightly heavier gr.

  • 2.0 2.0

    1.0 1.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2016-02-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Quality built. Very uniform. Good penetration.

    Things I would have changed: Price! Yeah they look cool, they are nice and clean and uniform, but performance was just like that of a polymag or metalmag. Save your money and skip this one unless the price drops to around poly/metalmag prices.

    What others should know: Buy poly or metalmags instead of this one. Same accuracy, same performance. LOT CHEAPER.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    1.0 1.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mike from USA on 2015-10-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The pointed pellets will penetrate a great deal more than the average pellet. they don't look exactly like the picture but they are close. The pellet kept its shape and the brass point didn't separate from the lead body after impact.

    Things I would have changed: The price is way to high

    What others should know: I shot through a 560 page book which is over 280 sheets of paper and the pellet still went completely through and into the wall using my hatsan 135.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Bushman from USA on 2015-10-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Very accurate, excellent penetration. This pellet shoots consistently at 25 yards with Benjamin NPXL

    Things I would have changed: The price

    What others should know: Predator Metalmag Pellets, .22 Cal, 17 Grains, Pointed, 200ct $15.95 they are 1ml longer and Shoot a dime size group as well.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2015-09-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Punched a hole through 3/4 inch plywood at 50 feet. very accurate!

    Things I would have changed: Drop the cost!

    What others should know: Be aware of what's beyond your target.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By arnie from USA on 2015-09-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Typical H&N quality. These great pellets are very well designed even when shot into sand they shed a ring of lead around tip,but hold the basic shape with tip still in place and penetrate farther. This gives an impression that fragmentation and pennetration should be a great hunting quality when hitting bone.

    Things I would have changed: If you spend alot of time on a hunt it all comes down to a great pellet completing the job ,which this is,so nothing.

    What others should know: I did not talk about accuracy so let me just say in my HW 100 they gave me key hole groups at 40 yards and I shoot farther with alo great results.I use 40-50 yards because that is my typical hunting range. The pellet will work in the HW 100 mag. but is tight and does need a little wiggling to install.It will rotate but pay attention watching for rotation just in case it sticks,mine works fine every time.It is a long pellet.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Clinton from USA on 2015-07-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Seem to be very consistent in size,my Crosman nitro Venom .22 likes these very well. Shooting 1" dia. at 25yrds. Just ordered 3 more tin's and a tin of Hunter extremes will post my opinion on those next week!

    Things I would have changed: Maybe in a 18-20 gr. Would like to see these in a 25cal. too!!

    What others should know: Very good for Varmit's go's right through crows at that range.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Peter from USA on 2015-06-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Seems accurate, very good penetration, good hunting pellet. Works great in my TX200 HC and Marauder that I bought from Pyramyd Air.

     
Navigation