Date: 27/9/2020 9:41
0

Customer Reviews for H&N Hornet Pellets

Average Customer Review

4.5 (35 reviews)
H&N Hornet Pellets
Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Size/Shape Distribution:5.0

By Genaro from USA on 2016-11-29 11:36:23

Things I liked: Very very good product.

Things I would have changed: Nothing

What others should know: No

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Size/Shape Distribution:2.0

By Don from USA on 2017-01-22 10:51:48

Things I liked: The design for better penetration.

Things I would have changed: The price is way too high!

What others should know: I shot these (H&N Hornet) out of my Hatsan 135 QE Vortex .22 rifle from a bench rest and they shot way higher than six other brands I compared them with. They were NOT exceptional in accuracy and I noticed when I used a pellet seater and I pushed just a little too hard it would actually shove it down into the chamber. This is obviously due to the soft and undersized skirts. Like my Diana RWS 34, this gun absolutely loves the H&N Baracuda Hunters at 18.21 gr. Both of these rifles will shoot three shot groups w/ all pellets touching at 15, 20, 25 and 30 yards in the same spot. These are my two squirrel rifles and I use the Baracuda Hunters exclusively when hunting. I also shot my Diana LP8 pistol with the H&N Hornet pellets from a bench rest and got the same type of groups...high and inconsistent. I like H&N pellets but I believe they need to go back to the drawing board...don't waste your money!

Sort by:
  • 12 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Andrew from USA on 2020-07-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Outstanding power downrange with excellent accuracy and consistency. Best pellet for my gas powered rifle for long range hunting/shooting.

    Things I would have changed: Price point...lol - theses are expensive!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Justin from USA on 2020-07-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Extremely well packaged this company is very professional and only buying thru them

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: If u ever had a damaged can of pellets these guys well make sure that never happens again

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Brandon from USA on 2020-05-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: An incredible product that shoots very accurately and penetrates thru multiple layers of anything. I fire these with a Hatsan 135 and the power is relentless!!! Shoots like a real gun....

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By William from USA on 2020-04-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great concept with the brass tip. Shoot like a dream and hit like Thor’s hammer

    Things I would have changed: Nothing. A tad expensive but hey, for hunting its not a big deal

    What others should know: If you are hunting larger critters like raccoons they are the ticket!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By William from USA on 2020-04-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great concept with the brass tip. Shoot like a dream and hit like Thor’s hammer

    Things I would have changed: Nothing. A tad expensive but hey, for hunting its not a big deal

    What others should know: If you are hunting larger critters like rocky raccoons they are the ticket!

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Russell from USA on 2020-04-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Good penetration.

    Things I would have changed: Too expensive and give inconsistent accuracy. In both of my Crosman custom 2400KT carbines and a Beeman springer these pellets produce one or two flyers with almost every 5 thot group. I suspect the brass tips are separating from some of the pellets.

    What others should know: Despite the inconsistent accuracy these pellets will penetrate deeper than any of the other pellets I have tested.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Willard from USA on 2020-03-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Best penetration I have found. Even low velocity airguns, which run below 600 fps penetrate well with the hornet. At 430 fps, I am penetrating a steel soup can with my co2 air pistol. At 900 fps and up, (e.g. Benjamin Discovery), penetrates great, then the lead body expands well and yields large flesh wounds. Good hunting load.

    Things I would have changed: Increase container size for lower price.

    What others should know: Expensive if used for target load. Too long (0.320 inches) to fit most co2 rotary magazines. I don't know about others. Works in my Smith and Wesson 586.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kurt from USA on 2020-02-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Penetration, killing power.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Willie on 2019-12-21
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accurate

    Things I would have changed: Price

    What others should know: I chamfered the chamber of my Benjamin nitro trail with valve grinding compound and several brass screws. The chamber was sharp and uneven. Chamfering the chamber evended up the engagement of the pellet to the rifleing. Kinda like crowning a rifle, I did this to this rifle barrel muzzle also. Made a Hugh difference in the accuracy. Don't attempt this unless you know what your doing. Factory crowning left much to be desired. This improved the accuracy of my rifle with the hornet pellets as well as the copper spitzkuegel. Both weigh around 16.0 GRS and shoot close to the same point of impact at 40 yards.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Daniela from USA on 2019-11-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: LETHAL POWER !!!

    Things I would have changed: A little expensive but is the quality cost more...

    What others should know: I own the AA TX200 Mkiii in .22 I use the rifle for hunting pigeons. The TX200 has great accuracy but not too much power for long shots (less than 16 fpe) I tried to hunt pigeons with the H&N Baracuda Hunter Extrem (great heavy hunting pellets) but 2 different pigeons flew away when I shot them from 40 yards away... but with the H&N Hornets, the pigeons just dropped like a stone. 1 hit, 1 kill... also this pellets like to my AATX200, they make 1.5 inch groups from 40 yards so I'm avalible to hit pigeons from that distance. If you have problems with hard game, the hornets will do the job! The most lethal pellets of the world. If you like hunt you must try the hornets but I don't recommend them for plinking.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Andrew from USA on 2019-10-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Effective design. Very lethal for pests. Deadly accurate at close range (~10m - 15m). After seeing what these can do in the right machine, I'm a believer. Yes, these are over $0.12 each, but if used for hunting as intended, you won't be shooting millions.

    Things I would have changed: To quote Louis from the movie Willow, "Rats! Rats! Big rats!" ... I would change nothing.

    What others should know: These need some power behind them, in my experience. I used them in an unmodified 2240 and Diana Chaser (pistol mode). At 10m they bounced off hard targets with factory gun settings. I did not chrono those strings. My 2240 carbine = 14.6" barrel, power adjuster, long nose bolt, enlarged transfer port, Hawke dot sight, shoulder stock. I chrono'ed the Hornets in that machine @ 599FPS avg --> 12.75 FPE (new cartridge, 10 shot string, 82F ambient). At that speed, they blast hard targets with classic large exit holes. Invading rodents don't stand a chance. These are the only lead pellets I still use because there is no acceptable lead-free alternative. The lead laws in CA are such that you can still hunt with lead ammo in airguns. It is only a matter of time until all lead is banned. So, I'll continue to use these as long as I can. Be safe with these poinky buggers!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Andrew from USA on 2019-09-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Decimates rats via instantaneous humane kills. My go-to pellet for pest control in my modified 2240 carbine. Ratter round extraordinaire.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing. Perhaps a tiny rocket engine that ignites after leaving the barrel? Nope - no real changes needed.

    What others should know: You will need some power behind this round for it to be effective. I tested in unmodified 2240 and Diana Chaser (mfg max FPS ratings 520 and 500 respectively) - the pellets bounced off hard targets. In my first hand experience, an unmodified 2240 or .22 Diana Chaser are way too under powered for this pellet. What works fantastically is my 2240 carbine modified for ~700+ FPS :: 14.6" barrel, power adjuster set for 25 shots, enlarged transfer port, long nose bolt - plus shoulder stock and Hawke dot sight. At that power level these pellets are monstrous and blow big holes in the rats. Even if the shot is partially obscured by some leaves, brush or twigs, these cut right through and the target goes down. They are so effective, it gives me cause to double up on safety. Go in peace and be safe!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James R. from USA on 2019-07-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: this pellet has good wound channel results,hits hard at longer ranges,the tip does break bones.

    Things I would have changed: not a thing

    What others should know: high vel. and pcp rifles for best results.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Chris from USA on 2019-07-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Penetration, accuracy close up. so far best pellet for chickens, pricey but theyre the best. They fit my hatsan flash mags perfectly but i read another review here they dont fit the higher end AT44-10 QE mags which is intresting.

    Things I would have changed: price maybe but not if it comes at the cost of changing anything else.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Matt from USA on 2019-03-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accuracy across many platforms that include PCP, Springers and Piston.

    Things I would have changed: H&N knows they have a winner here so there is little incentive for them to lower the price and count per tin.

    What others should know: Amazing how accurate this pellet is in my PCP's, Springers and Piston air rifles. Very little scope adjustments required POI.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By KENNETH from USA on 2019-03-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very accurate and consistent. Fast, humane kill.

    Things I would have changed: Kinda expensive but with the accuRacy, I need fewer to get the job done. These are for hunting, not practice.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Deter from USA on 2019-02-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: -ZERO deformed pellets -EXTREMELY pointy -Brass tip travels FURTHER after being seperated than plastic polymags/red fire -More ACCURATE than all of the pellets i use -very EASY to take out possums with 12 foot pounds.

    Things I would have changed: - three P's PRICE, PRICE, and PRICE. Pyramyd air isnt in control over the price really.

    What others should know: If you got money, invest. I got these as a Christmas gift and am VERY VERY impressed!!! GREAT accuracy and penetration. I never used these in a magazine so i cant comment on that, other than the manufacture said they will fit.

  • 5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Lonie from USA on 2018-08-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The sharp metal point and the way they mushroom when they hit absolutely perfect for small game up to possum raccoon size and they performed very very well in accuracy

    Things I would have changed: I would definitely change the price it's a little high but it's still well worth product

    What others should know: It's a very uniform and evenly balanced pellet shoots very well out of most break barrels very accurate and will handle most game up to Raccoon size excellent for hunting no question

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Lonie from USA on 2018-08-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The sharp metal point and the way they mushroom when they hit absolutely perfect for small game up to possum raccoon size and they performed very very well in accuracy

    Things I would have changed: I would definitely change the price it's a little high but it's still well worth product

    What others should know: It's a very uniform and evenly balanced pellet shoots very well out of most break barrels very accurate and will handle most game up to Raccoon size excellent for hunting no question

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Lonie from USA on 2018-08-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The sharp metal point and the way they mushroom when they hit absolutely perfect for small game up to possum raccoon size and they performed very very well in accuracy

    Things I would have changed: I would definitely change the price it's a little high but it's still well worth product

    What others should know: It's a very uniform and evenly balanced pellet shoots very well out of most break barrels very accurate and will handle most game up to Raccoon size excellent for hunting no question

     
  • 12 Next
Navigation