Date: 16/12/2018 4:30
0

Air Venturi Cowboy. AV-T0130. Customer Reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (9 reviews)
2 star1 star
Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

By James from USA on 2017-12-29 15:53:38

Things I liked: Air Venturi Cowboy Action Diamond Gong is FUN. I received the target today and had it assembled in a few minutes. It assembles with bolts and wing nuts so assembly and take down only take a few minutes. I believe I had it out of the box and assembled in less than five minutes. The target is well made and should stand up to years of use. I spent a few minutes of shooting it with 177 JSB RS 7.33 grain pellets with my 1701p at 10 meters. The five or so foot pounds of energy from the 1701p barely scratched the paint. I like the angle of the face of the target that deflects the pellets safely down to the ground. It makes a nice satisfying gong sound when struck. I can see starting a young shooter out on this target for positive feedback when the target is struct. The 12" and 12" face is another bonus. The target was well packaged for shipping.

Things I would have changed: There is not anything to change about the target itself. However, the target was received in a plain white box (the inner box not the brown outer shipping box) with no instructions as to target safety instructions, usage, minimum distance, recommended caliber, feet per second limitations, or foot pounds of energy limitations. I would recommend that these be included on or in the box (especially not to use steel BBs). I referred back to the website for this information but if this target had been given as gift, the receiver might have not known the information.

What others should know: The online description lists "3 anchor points on the target base to keep the target in place while in use." The base includes the anchor points as described but does not include any anchors. I don't see this as a problem because if the shooter stays within the stated specifications for the target then I don't see how it could be knocked over. Assembly instructions are minimal, just a picture. Detail instructions are not necessary since there is only one way to assemble the target. Definitely do NOT use steel BBs on this target! Order extra pellets or the low ricochet lead BBs. This target is so much fun listening to the sound that it makes, the shooter will go through lots of BBs fast.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:3.0

Value for money:3.0

By JamesM. from USA on 2018-01-09 13:19:56

Things I liked: It's large that's for sure. Price was right. Free.

Things I would have changed: The two support legs did not come with the target. Maybe that's why Pyramyd gave these away.

What others should know: Gong type target. it's BIG for an airgun target.

Sort by:
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Marvin from USA on 2018-08-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Does just what it's supposed to. Pellets, BB's deflect downward instead of random angles. This doesn't mean you can forgo shooting glasses at shorter ranges but with any kind of soft ground (ie grass) there shouldn't be any ricochet problem. I use mine in my shop with BB pistols. I put down a movers blanket about 6'x8' in front of the target and I've had no bounce back from appox. 7 yards.

    Things I would have changed: I would like to have one a little larger say 18x18 or so.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Stephen from USA on 2018-03-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Directs the bb's/pellets downward and allows for collecting projectiles. I found mounting one in a big flat screen tv box works great and when you cut out the side your shooting in, all bb's go directly to the bottom of the box. I use this in the basement but would work just as well outside. When hitting the target, a noticeable "gong" sounds out unmistakably sounding a HIT!

    Things I would have changed: Wouldn't change anything. Easy put together design, but solid as a rock. Perfect for this type of target shooting.

    What others should know: Purchased this from Pyramid air and manufacturer forgot to include the two bottom feet that hold it upright. When I contacted PAir about the issue, they had it corrected within the week. Extremely friendly customer service and stood by their product even though they are not the manufacturer. "Perfect" target for Cowboy Action type airguns. Five Stars to PAir!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ray Newstrom from USA on 2018-01-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I liked the construction, nice and heavy for air gun use. The legs have provisions for either sand bags or stakes for use on windy days. The target face is also at a downward angle to deflect the pellets either to the ground or into a container to recover the fired pellets.

    Things I would have changed: At this time, not a thing!

    What others should know: I first shot it with a R7 at 30 feet, the paint or coating did not even chip. Next up was a RWS 54 in .22 at 50 yards, nice splatter from the pellet but the coating stayed intact! Next up was a UK Patriot in.25 at 50 yards. Coating stayed intact, no dents in the plate. Finally came the mighty Condor in .22 at 50 yards. Coating still looked great although it was knocked off where the pellet hit and NO DENTS! Target didn't rock and I could hear a nice loud impact of the pellets. I just may buy a couple more for some extended range plinking with the PCP (100 yards and more). I give this target the full 5 stars!!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By daniel from USA on 2018-01-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Ez to put together, good audible sound when hit, fun to shoot at long range

    Things I would have changed: Maybe just make the stand a bit more rugged

    What others should know: My buddy was shooting his with a 9mm and a 457 caliber, it was not the greatest thing to do but this little thing took it, so don't be a fried to shoot it with a 25 caliber at 25 yards and out

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Timothy from USA on 2018-01-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: It's as advertised, a fun reactive target that produced a pleasing "GONG" when struck. A heavy gauge steel is used in its construction. A thicker gauge even than my my .22 bullet trap, although I doubt it's recommended for anything that works with the force of gunpowder.

    Things I would have changed: I may add some type of mechanism to hang a paper target, or bell to make it more challenging and/or versatile. It's simple to assemble, but the substitution of carriage bolts would eliminate the need for a wrench to achieve a good tight assembly. It's a minor point, but if you're in the field and have forgotten a wrench, it may make a difference

    What others should know: It must be meant for long range shooting. If you don't have at least fifty yards, the square foot sized target may be too easy to hit.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By JamesM. from USA on 2018-01-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: It's large that's for sure. Price was right. Free.

    Things I would have changed: The two support legs did not come with the target. Maybe that's why Pyramyd gave these away.

    What others should know: Gong type target. it's BIG for an airgun target.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Don from USA on 2018-01-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This is a fairly heavy substantial target. As a backstop it works pretty well to deflect pellets downward into the ground.

    Things I would have changed: This is much too large to simply be a target for the distance that I shoot. (Up to 100 yards) I have shot a .177 and a .22 at the target at 50 yards and the face shows no imprints of the pellet. I have yet to shoot my .30 cal as I feel that the metal is too thin to adequately stop the pellet without defacing the surface.

    What others should know: Easy to assemble.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Eric from USA on 2018-01-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Downward angled faceplate sends most shots into the dirt well. Nice for bb pistols, and weaker pellet rifles.

    Things I would have changed: Maybe a few tiny holes at bottom tie string for cans or small reactive targets?

    What others should know: Makes a nice sound when hit, easy to confirm shots on target. Thanks AV.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James from USA on 2017-12-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Air Venturi Cowboy Action Diamond Gong is FUN. I received the target today and had it assembled in a few minutes. It assembles with bolts and wing nuts so assembly and take down only take a few minutes. I believe I had it out of the box and assembled in less than five minutes. The target is well made and should stand up to years of use. I spent a few minutes of shooting it with 177 JSB RS 7.33 grain pellets with my 1701p at 10 meters. The five or so foot pounds of energy from the 1701p barely scratched the paint. I like the angle of the face of the target that deflects the pellets safely down to the ground. It makes a nice satisfying gong sound when struck. I can see starting a young shooter out on this target for positive feedback when the target is struct. The 12" and 12" face is another bonus. The target was well packaged for shipping.

    Things I would have changed: There is not anything to change about the target itself. However, the target was received in a plain white box (the inner box not the brown outer shipping box) with no instructions as to target safety instructions, usage, minimum distance, recommended caliber, feet per second limitations, or foot pounds of energy limitations. I would recommend that these be included on or in the box (especially not to use steel BBs). I referred back to the website for this information but if this target had been given as gift, the receiver might have not known the information.

    What others should know: The online description lists "3 anchor points on the target base to keep the target in place while in use." The base includes the anchor points as described but does not include any anchors. I don't see this as a problem because if the shooter stays within the stated specifications for the target then I don't see how it could be knocked over. Assembly instructions are minimal, just a picture. Detail instructions are not necessary since there is only one way to assemble the target. Definitely do NOT use steel BBs on this target! Order extra pellets or the low ricochet lead BBs. This target is so much fun listening to the sound that it makes, the shooter will go through lots of BBs fast.

     
Navigation