Date: 10/12/2018 22:25
0

Air Venturi Rail. AV-A00012. Customer Reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (13 reviews)
1 star
Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

By James from USA on 2018-01-30 23:28:34

Things I liked: This product is indeed all it's cracked up to be. Years ago I made my own spring compressor which worked but I always had safety concerns about it. I recently got back into airgunning and decided to rebuild my classic HW 35, and I no longer had my old compressor. I really had no need for a compressor to disassemble it, but putting a new spring in required a compressor so I ordered this. It worked great. It being clamped to the scope rails made me feel it was very safe and it was.

Things I would have changed: Well a lower price would be nice, other than that, nothing I can think of.

What others should know: I have read some questions expressing concern about why the white nylon knob does not rotate freely. On one hand it might be nice and help keep it from moving around on the receiver cap. On the other hand, I believe that the fact that it does not rotate encouraged me to go slow and carefully when compressing the spring and helped prevent me from going too fast and possibly cross-thread or "strip" the threads when mating the cap back to the receiver, so I'm good with that. Great tool for the shop and it does the job.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:2.0

Value for money:2.0

By Arthur from USA on 2018-08-26 11:39:29

Things I liked: Small and does the job

Things I would have changed: The price is really too high, it also needs a swivel on the end of the ram as a c clamp has

What others should know: Just be careful

Sort by:
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Tim from USA on 2018-10-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The dovetail attachment doesn't slip while compressing/decompressing the gun's spring. I was worried that it wouldn't hold. The compact size is very nice.

    Things I would have changed: The fast release button doesn't work on mine. Air Venturi ought to just skip that and simplify the design. They'd be able to offer it at a lower price that way. The spring compressor was also a bit rusty straight out of the box. They aren't deal breakers but... I think they could have dipped the thing in packing grease and put it in a plastic bag before it left the factory. Hence my four star rating.

    What others should know: I used my spring compressor to replace the spring in my Hatsan Dominator. I needed a wooden block to do the procedure. Otherwise, it was a no go. I drilled a 3/8 inch hole in the wooden block to fit over the nylon end of the screw. Then, I cut a slot on the other side of the block to fit the tapered end of the end plug on the rifle. With that wooden block, the procedure went smoothly. I didn't have to "guide" the compressor's screw at all. It stayed in place but only with that wooden block.

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Arthur from USA on 2018-08-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Small and does the job

    Things I would have changed: The price is really too high, it also needs a swivel on the end of the ram as a c clamp has

    What others should know: Just be careful

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Geoffrey from USA on 2018-07-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Convenient size and solid

    Things I would have changed: It arrived with a missing set screw and the quick release button did not "pop" into place so thread engagement was questionable. I dressed the threads on the quick release and then the button popped into engagement so I felt I could trust it. I also added an additional screw near the rail end of the unit (a set screw opposing the clamping screw which squared up the clamping function) to provide a better grip on the dovetail. The original set-up was less than solid when mounted. With the additional set screw the unit mount is very solid and I was much more confident in its function. and operation.

    What others should know: I was uneasy using the compressor as delivered especially as I was using it on a FWB-124 which is noted for a high spring tension. After my modifications I was convinced that the unit would perform well and it did. Once modified the unit worked very well and made the job easy and actually enjoyable.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jay from USA on 2018-06-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Works great and provides a greater degree of safety compared to some of the home made compressors I have used in the past. I just used it to install and new spring and piston seal on a Beeman S1 . It worked great to hold the new spring in place while I stuck the pins in the spring plug, then I used a screw driver and an awl to "walk" the spring forward to install the pins for the trigger group, that was the tricky part, but it worked perfectly. Now my Beeman S1 shoots like brand new and can shoot through a 1" phone book like a knife through butter.

    Things I would have changed: The over all design is real good, the only thing I could think of would be to provide a vertical adjustment capability to help center the threaded rod on the spring plug.

    What others should know: It is worthwhile to have this tool to rebuild pellet guns

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Robert from USA on 2018-06-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Worked very well on my RWS 34P when installing Vortek kit

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    By David from USA on 2018-04-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The tool worked to disassemble and reassemble by air rifle.

    Things I would have changed: The tool needs a bigger end. I had trouble with it walking off of the end of my action.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Steve from USA on 2018-02-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Small, sturdy, well made, easy to use; grips dovetail securely.

    Things I would have changed: Include a handle that facilitates use.

    What others should know: I easily removed the factory spring in my full power Diana/RWS 350 Magnum rifle and installed a Vortek PG2 kit with the Venturi Rail Lock Spring Compressor. Worked well on my HW85, too. This spring compressor is an essential tool for those who wish to rebuild their spring-piston guns. Your first job will pay for the compressor. Read the instructions, take your time, wear eye protection. With experience, you will learn to fabricate attachments to work in conjunction with the Air Venturi compressor.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James from USA on 2018-01-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This product is indeed all it's cracked up to be. Years ago I made my own spring compressor which worked but I always had safety concerns about it. I recently got back into airgunning and decided to rebuild my classic HW 35, and I no longer had my old compressor. I really had no need for a compressor to disassemble it, but putting a new spring in required a compressor so I ordered this. It worked great. It being clamped to the scope rails made me feel it was very safe and it was.

    Things I would have changed: Well a lower price would be nice, other than that, nothing I can think of.

    What others should know: I have read some questions expressing concern about why the white nylon knob does not rotate freely. On one hand it might be nice and help keep it from moving around on the receiver cap. On the other hand, I believe that the fact that it does not rotate encouraged me to go slow and carefully when compressing the spring and helped prevent me from going too fast and possibly cross-thread or "strip" the threads when mating the cap back to the receiver, so I'm good with that. Great tool for the shop and it does the job.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Agustin from USA on 2017-12-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Simplicity. I just recently used this great tool to disassemble a Beeman R10 and a Feinwerkbau 124 sport to do a total re seal and mainspring replacement. Made the job a breeze.

    Things I would have changed: There should be adapter ends, also made of Delrin, to go against the end that puts a he pressure on the rifles end cap. I say this so the pressure would be more at the center of the cap. As it sits now with its design, the end against the cap was only against the top of the cap, not in the middle, and if youre not careful it could easily pop off, sending that end cap and spring off like a bullet. Yes, adapters, made like round cups, would be perfect. Dont try a block of wood, cause when you get that end cap to the receiver tube and ready to thread on, you wont be able to spin the end cap. It has to be made of a delrin plastic to allow the cap to spin

    What others should know: Great investment if you plan on working on your own springers. Because the end of therod against the end cap of your rifle wont be centered, always keep a hand on it as you tighten up the rod to make sure it doesnt pop off the end cap

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By joe from USA on 2017-08-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I like that it works. Made it easy to tune a Hugh powered gas spring rifle. Np2 and umarex fuel.

    Things I would have changed: This should come with a piccatiny rail.if you plan on using it on a dovtail buy a piccatiny rail also.

    What others should know: This does not work well on a dove tail. The compressor rod doesn't line up correctly. Maybe on a magnum springer with a bigger air chamber but not on a gamo or titan.

  • 3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By airgunner67 from USA on 2017-08-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Things I liked: Strong unit, quality materials and simple operation. Does the job

    Things I would have changed: A few things I would change are a vertical adjustment, centers fine on 25 mm tubes, larger tubes will be off center when compressing, needs an adjustment on a vertical plane. 2nd thing is the nylon tip needs to be on a bearing so it does not rotate with the shaft, as it is you will more than likely need to guide it with your fingers when it is off center on larger tubes which leads to the next problem, and I recommend you do this BEFORE USING IT!!! The beginning of the threads on both ends of the treaded shaft are razor sharp, upon first use I sliced the heck out of my finger guiding the tip on a RWS 350 large compression tube. Take a small flat file and deburr the start of the threads on both ends or buy some bandaids, your choice.

    What others should know: A good tool but Air Venturi could make it better.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Tim from USA on 2017-05-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I just used it to put a Vortek kit in my HW50. It clamps on the scope rail. There is a quick release button on top of the threaded shaft that releases the shaft for easy and fast use.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Joseph from USA on 2017-05-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Compact, easy to use, well made.

    Things I would have changed: It has worked well for me-I can't think of anything that would improve the item from a functional standpoint.

    What others should know: If you work on your springers, this makes life a lot easier.

Navigation