Date: 12/8/2020 1:39
0

Customer Reviews for Air Venturi Rail

Average Customer Review

4.5 (25 reviews)
1 star
Air Venturi Rail
Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

By James from USA on 2018-01-30 23:28:34

Things I liked: This product is indeed all it's cracked up to be. Years ago I made my own spring compressor which worked but I always had safety concerns about it. I recently got back into airgunning and decided to rebuild my classic HW 35, and I no longer had my old compressor. I really had no need for a compressor to disassemble it, but putting a new spring in required a compressor so I ordered this. It worked great. It being clamped to the scope rails made me feel it was very safe and it was.

Things I would have changed: Well a lower price would be nice, other than that, nothing I can think of.

What others should know: I have read some questions expressing concern about why the white nylon knob does not rotate freely. On one hand it might be nice and help keep it from moving around on the receiver cap. On the other hand, I believe that the fact that it does not rotate encouraged me to go slow and carefully when compressing the spring and helped prevent me from going too fast and possibly cross-thread or "strip" the threads when mating the cap back to the receiver, so I'm good with that. Great tool for the shop and it does the job.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:2.0

Value for money:2.0

By Arthur from USA on 2018-08-26 11:39:29

Things I liked: Small and does the job

Things I would have changed: The price is really too high, it also needs a swivel on the end of the ram as a c clamp has

What others should know: Just be careful

Sort by:
  • 12 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gary from USA on 2020-07-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very nice build quality.

    What others should know: I haven't been able to use it yet but it looks like it will do the job just fine.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Roy from USA on 2020-06-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Well I got this with the purchase of my new Air Rifle and it couldn't have come at a better time. I had just had a spring failure on my RWS 460 Magnum and this little compressions a great job on it and I got the spring changed out and all is good. Easy to use too.

    Things I would have changed: Bothing

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Paul from USA on 2020-06-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Easy to understand directions. Well built.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dana from USA on 2020-05-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Super handy easy to store.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Richard from USA on 2020-05-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The metal. It's solid. Not aluminum. Feels like stainless steel. This thing is built like a tank. Handles the spring pressure with no issues.

    Things I would have changed: 1) Instead of using an allen wrench to turn the axis, they should have used one of those attachments you see on many vices--a steel rod with a ball on each end. It frustrates me to have that allen wrench keep falling out when I'm finished with a turn and the L port of the wrench is facing down. 2) Would like for them to include some kind of flat disc that could fit over then end (would look like a T, and just fits over the end piece). It should be made of the same material, and have two to three attachments: 1/2"; 3/4"; and 1". 3) Price. I think $90 is too steep considering the issues I've had with it (not workmanship issues, but how it functions). Include those those changes and I would say it is worth it. Otherwise, I'd say its worth between $60 and $70. However, and I will add, if you use this twice, and know what you are doing, it will pay for itself considering, for example, that here in Germany an air rifle refurbishment is about 200 euros.

    What others should know: 1) I am using this on my Diana 75, with no worries. However, I have to bear in mind some of the limitations of this device. Which leads me to 2) when turning, it tends to turn torque off of a straight axis. So you will have to use your hand to guide it true and keep it centered, or you may get a handful of decompressing spring. 3) And this leads to the next problem--the threads can be a bit sharp. They will not cut you per se, but when you have to guide the rod true using your bare hand, you may experience some pain. I just use a rag, or you can use a glove. In my case, I have to guide it or it will eventually turn down and to the right, and eventually may slip off. Ouch! 4) You may need a metal washer, or a coin of some kind to place on the end. The end piece is about the size of a pencil eraser head, so it might be too small to safely retain the compressed spring.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Roland from USA on 2020-01-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It worked quite well with a home made wood pry tool.

    What others should know: If you use this on a TX200 MKIII a wood pry tool might help. When properly mounted the compressor nylon end will not center on the end of the TX200 and will slide off to the side. To remedy the problem I used a 6 inch long, by 1in. by 3/4 in. piece of oak. I drilled a 5/16 in. hole centered in the 1 in. width and 1 in. up from the base of the oak to the depth of the compressor nylon tip. Placed the nylon tip in that hole and the slide the wood and compressor rod to the rear of the rifle. With one hand holding the wood straight up (it will want to cant over) screw the compressor rod in as far as necessary to get the job done. Reverse the process to put everything back together. The wood tool must be held straight up through the whole process. Awkward but it works. Also the compressor tool does not appear to be able to work on a Beeman R-10.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Johny from USA on 2019-10-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I have an HW 77 I purchased this toTo put a new spring and seal kit works as advertised

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Ratgetter from USA on 2019-09-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It was fairly easy to work. The push down button to release the threaded rod was hard to get to work. But, workable with effort. Made it easy to change the piston seal on my old Beeman break barrel.

    Things I would have changed: Price....If you are not making 100's of these at one time might be the reason they are so expensive (for what you get).

    What others should know: Makes it easier to remove and replace the spring if you are changing springs, seals or whatever that is in the system lineup. BE SURE THE BUTTON IS ALL THE WAY UP.....

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Tim from USA on 2019-08-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: easy to ues and well made

    Things I would have changed: pricey

    What others should know: A little pricey but works fimw

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Tim from USA on 2019-08-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: very simple to use and compact

    Things I would have changed: price

    What others should know: a little pricey but works well and is easy to use

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By jpbpe from USA on 2019-02-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Gets the job done

    Things I would have changed: Allow nylon end fitting to rotate and be easily replaceable

    What others should know: I used a 2" hose clamp to prevent the press from walking off end of the gun.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By James from USA on 2018-12-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This compressor works great. I use it on my Diana 34 with no issues. It locks tight on the scope rail and adjusts very easy. It's also very compact and can be used on a desk or table top.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: At first it was a bit awkward trying to get it all lined up. After a couple of uses I was using it with no hiccups. I did have to use a very small thin piece of wood the size of a matchbox car between the end of the drive screw and the spring block. No big deal though.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Tim from USA on 2018-10-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The dovetail attachment doesn't slip while compressing/decompressing the gun's spring. I was worried that it wouldn't hold. The compact size is very nice.

    Things I would have changed: The fast release button doesn't work on mine. Air Venturi ought to just skip that and simplify the design. They'd be able to offer it at a lower price that way. The spring compressor was also a bit rusty straight out of the box. They aren't deal breakers but... I think they could have dipped the thing in packing grease and put it in a plastic bag before it left the factory. Hence my four star rating.

    What others should know: I used my spring compressor to replace the spring in my Hatsan Dominator. I needed a wooden block to do the procedure. Otherwise, it was a no go. I drilled a 3/8 inch hole in the wooden block to fit over the nylon end of the screw. Then, I cut a slot on the other side of the block to fit the tapered end of the end plug on the rifle. With that wooden block, the procedure went smoothly. I didn't have to "guide" the compressor's screw at all. It stayed in place but only with that wooden block.

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Arthur from USA on 2018-08-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Small and does the job

    Things I would have changed: The price is really too high, it also needs a swivel on the end of the ram as a c clamp has

    What others should know: Just be careful

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Geoffrey from USA on 2018-07-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Convenient size and solid

    Things I would have changed: It arrived with a missing set screw and the quick release button did not "pop" into place so thread engagement was questionable. I dressed the threads on the quick release and then the button popped into engagement so I felt I could trust it. I also added an additional screw near the rail end of the unit (a set screw opposing the clamping screw which squared up the clamping function) to provide a better grip on the dovetail. The original set-up was less than solid when mounted. With the additional set screw the unit mount is very solid and I was much more confident in its function. and operation.

    What others should know: I was uneasy using the compressor as delivered especially as I was using it on a FWB-124 which is noted for a high spring tension. After my modifications I was convinced that the unit would perform well and it did. Once modified the unit worked very well and made the job easy and actually enjoyable.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jay from USA on 2018-06-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: Works great and provides a greater degree of safety compared to some of the home made compressors I have used in the past. I just used it to install and new spring and piston seal on a Beeman S1 . It worked great to hold the new spring in place while I stuck the pins in the spring plug, then I used a screw driver and an awl to "walk" the spring forward to install the pins for the trigger group, that was the tricky part, but it worked perfectly. Now my Beeman S1 shoots like brand new and can shoot through a 1" phone book like a knife through butter.

    Things I would have changed: The over all design is real good, the only thing I could think of would be to provide a vertical adjustment capability to help center the threaded rod on the spring plug.

    What others should know: It is worthwhile to have this tool to rebuild pellet guns

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Robert from USA on 2018-06-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Worked very well on my RWS 34P when installing Vortek kit

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    By David from USA on 2018-04-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The tool worked to disassemble and reassemble by air rifle.

    Things I would have changed: The tool needs a bigger end. I had trouble with it walking off of the end of my action.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Steve from USA on 2018-02-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Small, sturdy, well made, easy to use; grips dovetail securely.

    Things I would have changed: Include a handle that facilitates use.

    What others should know: I easily removed the factory spring in my full power Diana/RWS 350 Magnum rifle and installed a Vortek PG2 kit with the Venturi Rail Lock Spring Compressor. Worked well on my HW85, too. This spring compressor is an essential tool for those who wish to rebuild their spring-piston guns. Your first job will pay for the compressor. Read the instructions, take your time, wear eye protection. With experience, you will learn to fabricate attachments to work in conjunction with the Air Venturi compressor.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James from USA on 2018-01-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: This product is indeed all it's cracked up to be. Years ago I made my own spring compressor which worked but I always had safety concerns about it. I recently got back into airgunning and decided to rebuild my classic HW 35, and I no longer had my old compressor. I really had no need for a compressor to disassemble it, but putting a new spring in required a compressor so I ordered this. It worked great. It being clamped to the scope rails made me feel it was very safe and it was.

    Things I would have changed: Well a lower price would be nice, other than that, nothing I can think of.

    What others should know: I have read some questions expressing concern about why the white nylon knob does not rotate freely. On one hand it might be nice and help keep it from moving around on the receiver cap. On the other hand, I believe that the fact that it does not rotate encouraged me to go slow and carefully when compressing the spring and helped prevent me from going too fast and possibly cross-thread or "strip" the threads when mating the cap back to the receiver, so I'm good with that. Great tool for the shop and it does the job.

     
  • 12 Next
Navigation