Date: 6/8/2020 3:35
0

Customer Reviews for Benjamin Hand Pump - Page 2

Average Customer Review

4.0 (252 reviews)
Benjamin Hand Pump
Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

By Barry from USA on 2010-12-21 18:32:22

Things I liked: Good quality. It is doing just as it is designed.

What others should know: Follow instructions. Pump slow and deliberate.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:2.0

By Robert from USA on 2018-06-09 08:57:17

Things I liked: Fit and finish

Things I would have changed: Quality control is suspect. My pump was returned. At 2500 lbs of pressure, my pump quit working.

What others should know: Pyramyd Air stands behind their products as the return was hassle free.

Sort by:
  • Previous 123 ... 1213 Next
  • Showitems
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Dean from USA on 2017-12-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Gets the job done .. nothing like blowing up a ball however .. last 20 pumps are a work out .. if you plan on doing a lot of shooting / get a tank

    Things I would have changed: Hose should be longer

    What others should know: If your 45 plus in age - you won't appreciate this pump .. young bulls wont have a problem

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Don from USA on 2017-12-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Works great on Benjamin marauder

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    1.0 1.0

    By gray from USA on 2017-11-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The price.

    Things I would have changed: I wouldn't buy another one. This pump is cheap and nothing but problems.

    What others should know: This pump worked for about 3 fills then failed. The chrome on the shaft began to delaminate and cause rough spots on the o ring which caused the o-ring to fail. The inner seal o-ring on the bottom of the piston seal also failed and came apart. I have had this pump apart so many times to replace seals I can do it in my sleep. Do no not waste your money with this thing. On a positive note, it does give your shoulders a good work out and is good for a cardio work out, other than that it's junk.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Jesse from USA on 2017-11-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Works great. Highly recommended

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Think of this as part of your workout program. At 2000psi it takes about 100 pumps to get it to 3000psi.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By evelyn from USA on 2017-11-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: works well, 200 pumps to bring from 2k to 3k psi.

    Things I would have changed: nothing

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    4.0 4.0

    By scamick from USA on 2017-10-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Does the job and pressurizes rifle as specified and is less expensive that other pumps.

    Things I would have changed: Needs to have a desiccant cartridge of some sort. See details below.

    What others should know: I purchased this pump along with my Benjamin Marauder about 2 years ago. I have used the pump exclusively to fill my rifle and have had no issues with the pump itself. However, my rifle began to lose pressure recently....It would leak down from a full charge to 0 psi over a day or two. A leak test revealed that the leak was at the fill port of the rifle; I contacted Crosman and ordered a new fill port assembly. When I removed the old assembly I found the inside of the pressure tube to contain quite a lot of water droplets and a gritty/greasy substance. The water had also caused rusting inside the pressure tube. I found this to be strange and started looking at the pump closer and found a mixture of water and grease inside the quick connect portion of the hose. I further disassembled the pump and found more water and grease mixture inside of the pump base. This pump really needs a better way of drying the air being expelled because I use the water bleed every time I use it.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By m. paul from USA on 2017-09-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Easiest way to fill your pcp. Durable. Always ready for use.

    Things I would have changed: nothing

    What others should know: I have had this for almost 5 years. Just rebuilt it with new o-rings and silicone grease after started to lose its power and it is still operating. This is my only way to fill a marauder pistol and rifle and has worked well for that.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Daniel from USA on 2017-09-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Very nice pump. It's simple to set up and operate. Comes with an adapter to fit other guns.

    Things I would have changed: Not a thing.

    What others should know: Worth the cash.

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Brian from USA on 2017-04-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: At the time, seemed like the price. For the first year it worked as designed.

    Things I would have changed: Had I did more research, I would of discovered there appears to be a design flaw with the pump. After about a year, there is one small o-ring that goes bad. Of course it is in the most difficult places to get to. Searching some air gun forums, I found the fix. The upside is the size o-ring can generally be found at a hardware store. The down side is those o-rings dont last long either.

    What others should know: Spend the extra cash and get the Hill Pump. Otherwise, buy lots of those o-rings. One afternoons day of shooting, I had to change out the o-ring three times. Now I can tear the pump down, replace, re-lube the pump in about 10mins. But I should not have too. And Yes, I do let the pump cool. I do 20 or 30 strokes, take a break, load up a magazine, then do some more pumping, but it still fails.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Jim from USA on 2017-04-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Built very heavy duty, very sturdy. Great handle grips, allowing a good hold while using.

    Things I would have changed: Definitely needs a much longer hose as the one that comes on it only allows you to fill the rifle by laying it on the floor. It would be much better if the hose was longer so the rifle could be placed on a table allowing you to view the pressure gauge better while filling. Also could use a larger stand to place the feet on while using. The one it comes with is sort of small and makes it a bit awkward to use the pump as your feet are very close together affecting balance.

    What others should know: Overall this is a very good pump. I can top off my Benjamin Marauder ,25 caliber from 2,000 p.s.i. to 3,000 p.s.i. with 90 pump strokes. It gets a bit strenuous the last 8 or 10 strokes but being a body builder it is a mild workout for me; for a 150 lb. person it would be quite challenging I would imagine. For the money you can't go wrong with this pump.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2016-10-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Things I liked: Pump is sturdy and will last a long time if you take your time pumping. That means pump 50 times and rest for at least 5 minutes. Then pump again.

    Things I would have changed: Of course, the major problem with this pump is that the O-rings burn up from too much heat. Not much you can do about that, they are the weak point of any pump whether you are talking about the Hill pump, the AA pump or the Benjamin pump. My seals went out the first time after about 4 months. The pump is not hard to re-build and you can get all the O-rings necessary to do a complete re-build on the pump from Sun Optics USA. They are the makers of the pump. Look them up on the net and use the phone number supplied on the web site and order as many kits as you want, they are not expensive at all ... somewhere around $6/ kit. Instructions on how to re-build the pump from start to finish can be found on youtube without any trouble. The ONE thing that I would stress is that you DO NOT use silicone grease as the lubricating substance for the pump and O-rings. Let me repeat that with as much emphasis as possible ... do not use silicone grease! Yes, I know, everyone will tell you that you

    What others should know: are supposed to use it, but even Sun Optics does not recommend it anymore. It will not lubricate long enough or well enough to keep the seals in good condition ... and you'll be in the same position you were in to start with in short order if you use it. I shoot a lot because I am retired now and have the time to kill and I have re-built this pump at least 25 times. When I used silicone grease, I would have to re-build almost every month, not my idea of fun. The secret to getting long life from the seals is to use Nuvair 455. It is a premium Synthetic Food Grade Breathing Air Compressor Fluid and it is not a problem if the pump becomes hot and will protect the O-rings MUCH better than silicone grease is able to. It can be found on the net also. A bottle will last you forever. I know, I've experienced the same frustration as many of you here have and felt like throwing it in the garbage can ... resist the urge and try my suggestion or contact Sun Optics USA.

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Alfred from USA on 2016-10-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Things I liked: Very sturdy and well made.

    Things I would have changed: A longer pressure hose. I have to lay the gun down to connect the fittings.

    What others should know: Be well rested before pumping this thing up....it takes some doing at pressures above 2000.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By RICHARD from USA on 2016-09-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Excellent pump. Works great.

    What others should know: You can get a workout pumping more than 1000 psi.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Walter from USA on 2016-09-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Well built.

    Things I would have changed: Higher pressure capability.

    What others should know: This pump can only go to 3000psi. If you try and top off a 4500psi air-tank, it wont work.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Scott from USA on 2016-08-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Externally the pump is solid and built well.

    Things I would have changed: The seals inside need to change. The pump failed after two weeks use and maybe 15 uses. I used this with a Marauder and it is not easy to get all the way to 3000 psi if you weigh 160 lbs.

    What others should know: If you are going to buy this get some extra seals too otherwise you will be sending it back.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By brian from USA on 2016-08-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: It works fine and doesn't get hot too fast, no real heels or whistles but if you don't have 20 different PCPs and you just have a couple this is the way to go.

    Things I would have changed: I wish the hose was a bit longer and the handles were made of a softer rubber. When I pump mine I use some foam pads added to the handles cuz I drop my full body weight on my hands and the pads keep my palms from hurting.

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By gray from USA on 2016-06-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Easy to use, no problems there.

    Things I would have changed: The internals with better o-rings, an o-ring replacement kit and better chrome on the shaft. An air dryer assembly would be nice to keep moisture in the pump to a minimum.

    What others should know: I did some research on this and heard stories of this pump not lasting very long and they were right. Mine lasted 4 months before becoming useless. I used this about once a week and sometimes not even that and it will not hold pressure. There are a lot of videos out there on people tearing them apart to replace the o-rings inside. I would think Benjamin would do some market research and address the many issues they have with pump failing so quickly. Do yourself a favor and don't buy this pump. $180 dollars down the drain. Not very good quality.I assume the o-rings are shot and mine has a pitted chrome shaft where the metal isn't polished out sufficiently.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Austin from USA on 2016-06-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Works very well. Sturdy, all components work properly. Not a bad value for the money, seeing as it's regulated, gauged and needs to be extremely hardy to fill a rifle to 3000 psi.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Perfect if your buying a gun that fills to 2000psi. You may want to buy a tank if exceeding that. To get my Benjamin bulldog from 2000 to 3000 psi takes all my weight pushing down on the pump just to fill.....(if I weighed any less than the 170lbs I do....it may not happen)

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Gary from USA on 2016-06-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: High quality pump but it takes over 100 pumps to get the pressure up to over 2000 lbs.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Tony from USA on 2016-06-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I have no problem filling my Marauder rifle to 2900 psi. I pump slow amd deliberate as demonstrated in the PA videos. I'm in reasonable shape amd weigh 180 lbs. Product works as advertised. The hose is short. I fill in the house with rifle laying on carpet. No problems.

    Things I would have changed: No issues in the first 2 weeks.

     
  • Previous 123 ... 1213 Next
Navigation