Date: 14/10/2019 20:12
0

Champion Heavy Duty. 40801. Customer Reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

5.0 (96 reviews)
2 star1 star
Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

By ahkell from USA on 2012-03-04 21:42:20

Things I liked: Best trap for small cal.

Things I would have changed: Nothing

The most helpful critical review

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:3.0

Value for money:4.0

By Larry from USA on 2013-03-05 11:16:31

Things I liked: Heavy metal, good buy for the money

Things I would have changed: Misdesigned lover plate! The sendary plate is FLAT; it needs to be rounded. As it is I had to take off 2 stars because of the back-splash. When a pellet hits the secondary plate is splashes causing small "shotgun" like holes in the target from the back side. This also throws a LOT of lead dust into the air.

What others should know: Be sure to add some kind of exhaust fan, as the back splash throws a klot of lead and lead dust out of th unit.

Sort by:
  • 12345 Next
  • Showitems
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Paul from USA on 2019-08-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Sturdy, well-designed, effective pellet stop.

    Things I would have changed: A dusting of post-impact pellet material does end up on the ground in front of the trap.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Karl from USA on 2019-07-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: This thing is SOLID... made the delivery guy grunt! :) Seriously, this thing is built like a tank. The fit and finish are great. I like the included target hanger (a heavy sheet metal removable "slider" bracket and a good-sized binder clip). The target stays put in the breeze (flutters, sure, but doesn't slide sideways in the trap.)... some of the traps I was considering left it up to the user to come up with a way to secure the target. At about 20 pounds, it stays where you put it... no creeping trap here. I generally keep drilling the same nickel-sized area of the backplate, and the outside back shows no sign of bulge or even paint flaking. I'm definitely pleased with this trap, and would recommend it to anyone looking for a solid, durable piece of gear.

    Things I would have changed: Noisy; rings like a bell when impacted. Glued a piece of industrial carpeting to the outside back, which quieted it down considerably (tryin' to keep the neighbors happy, y'know.) You could glue a piece onto the inside and it would probably work even better, but would have to be replaced fairly often, I imagine. Of more concern, is this trap tends to spit lead fragments. Little tiny flakes on my shooting bench from fifteen feet (sighting in my Diana Bandit at bird-feeder range... darned squirrels & chipmunks), and larger fragments a couple of feet in front of the trap. Not a huge concern given the puny energy of the rebounding fragments, but definitely something to be aware of when using it. Eye protection definitely recomended ('course, we all always wear eye protection, don't we?) And the carpet-on-the-inside thing I mentioned above would probably mitigate the backsplash problem to some degree as well.

    What others should know: I been using only .22 and .25 pellets at around 1000 FPS or less, and it holds up really well to this. Not sure how it would stand up to the larger-bore, higher-powered stuff some of you guys like to shoot. As stated in the product description this is a lead-only trap... none of those brass-tipped hunting rounds allowed here. It would probably handle them okay in low-to-mid-powered guns (strictly my opinion based on how well-built this thing is, not backed up by anything factual), but I'm just as sure that it would be a lot tougher on the trap if fed a lot of this stuff. Plus, the way it spits fragments, I'd be concerned about the harder, non-lead tip possibly bouncing out and coming back at me.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By David from USA on 2019-06-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very sturdy pellet trap. Metal is thick and very well made.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Great portable all steel pellet trap. Yes it is heavyweight but thats what makes this product better than others. A little pricey, but you get what you pay for. The only mod that I have make was to put a thick piece of carpet on the back making it less noisy. I may put 1/2 inch of duct putty on the inside to stop any pellets from bouncing out. Otherwise I am very happy with this product. Shipping from PA was fast and the item was boxed very well.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Scott from USA on 2019-06-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great pellet trap. I use as close as 20 feet & no ricochet from it.

    Things I would have changed: It needs to be WAY BIGGER.

    What others should know: I've shoot into it with a Webley Scott VMX .22 Cal. Rifle & no problems at all. Great trap for indoor shooting.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Andy from USA on 2019-01-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: What a beast! This is a heavy duty stop that reduces the .25 cal pellets from my Bullmaster PCP rifle to just thin smears of lead in the lower collection area. I've hit it from as close as 10 ft without any outward lumps or creases. To reduce the tremendous CLANG of each shot hitting it, and to allow use with BB's without fear of ricochet, I lined the inner slope surface with a 5 lb. block of "duct seal" putty. At about 3/4" thick minimum, the putty stops all rounds with very little noise. You must frequently stop and pick the pellets and BB's out of the putty to prevent rebound, but the combination of the stop and the added putty make for an unbeatable backstop!

    Things I would have changed: Sell it with the putty as a bundle.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Vincent from USA on 2018-12-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is a solidly built trap. Its heavy and has a nice finish. I suspect it will last a long time.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Art from USA on 2018-12-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great heavy duty bullet trap. Has target arm that targets are clipped to.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Steve from USA on 2018-11-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: very sturdy, well built.

    Things I would have changed: nothing

    What others should know: I got it for indoor shooting, kinda of loud. I am going to try hanging a piece of carpet behind target. Read on one of Pyramids blogs that this would slow pellet down and be a less noisy.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By John from USA on 2018-09-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Heavy construction, will last a lifetime. Mine stays outside 24/7/365 unprotected. I'm considering buying a couple more to place in different locations on my property to shoot at different distances.

    Things I would have changed: I added aluminum angled bars along the vertical front edges, attached with pop rivets, to hold 1/8 in. plywood backer for the paper target. Lots of lead splash back. I've shot a lot of .22 LR as well as pellet guns. The target holding clip is flimsy and won't last long. I use binder clips from the office supply store. Would be nice to have in a larger size. Some sound dampening would be good, but would add to the overall cost.

    What others should know: Generates lots of lead dust, I personally would not use inside unless you do something to contain the dust.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Jeff from USA on 2018-02-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This trapisheavily constructed & does an excellent job stopping pellets from my .22 cal. Benjamin Mayhem. The box it comes in says it will handle standard non mag . 22 rifle ammo. It would be even better if it were a bit wider ...

    Things I would have changed: Make it a bit larger

    What others should know: Place a cardboard or carpet backer on the target clip behind the target

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Phillip from USA on 2017-04-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Very heavy gauge steel. Stops .25 cal at 840 plus ft. per sec.with little to no noticeable damage.

    Things I would have changed: Maybe I would round out the back and bottom corners with a deeper trap on the bottom.

  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By john from USA on 2016-06-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.04 ratings

    Things I liked: I esp. like that I received the item I ordered unlike the rifle I ordered at the same time. It does what it is suppose to do and that is a good thing.

    Things I would have changed: It's a bit heavy, but I guess you would need that for a .22.

    What others should know: Also, not fond of the sneaky discount practices. The 10% of they promise you does not include all items even though that promise does not contain the words "on selective items only". The 20% coupon they send you didn't even include this item and again no mention of item restriction.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Lawrence from USA on 2016-03-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.663 ratings

    Things I liked: I like that this trap is made well and seems to be made out of heavy enough steel. Time will tell.

    Things I would have changed: I'm using a pellet rifle and boy is this trap loud when the pellets hit.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Joe from USA on 2016-02-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.764 ratings

    Things I liked: It's nice and hefty. Built strong and it stops the pellets.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing-it works just fine

    What others should know: I cut cardboard to fit the opening and taped the targets to the cardboard. It keeps dust and paper debris in the trap and not on the floor.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Francis from USA on 2015-10-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.03 ratings

    Things I liked: This absoluty great for my indoor range. Get a lot of winter shooting, works great worth the money

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Big Shady from USA on 2015-10-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.02 ratings

    Things I liked: SAFETY: knowing your pellet cannot penetrate your backboard. Peace Of Mind: knowing your neighbors cant complain Pride: knowing I'm shooting the right way

    Things I would have changed: A little wider would be nice.

    What others should know: A MUST HAVE FOR .177 -.25 CALIBER

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jared from USA on 2015-10-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.02 ratings

    Things I liked: It's sturdy, it's heavy, and can be modified to be relatively quiet. It has made it possible for me to set up an indoor range in my basement for a wide variety of airguns (pistols and rifles).

    Things I would have changed: I would make it a little easier on the user to quiet it down. Many other traps of various styles of "curtains" and such an addition could provide much quieter operation. I would suggest using some sort of carpet-like material to line the inside, attached using some sort of hook system, and offer replacement "liners" as these would obviously take on a lot of wear and tear. Would be a good way to add consumables to this product line.

    What others should know: It's sturdy, it can be loud. Line the inside with some kind of carpet (I used indoor/outdoor only because it's more durable). If using outside, no mods really needed. If using inside, also suggest placing a telephone book on the back to deaden some of the sound. I use a variety of targets and have even created a custom knock down target to place in front of this "backstop" that auto resets (using old spoons and some bits and pieced of wood and metal rods (spokes from an old bicycle wheel). Ingenuity can take this product to a much higher usage rate and flexibility of target options.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Michael from USA on 2015-07-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Works great in my indoor range.

    Things I would have changed: Could be a little less money, but it functions properly so you get what you pay for.

    What others should know: Do not hesitate to get one,

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Thomas from USA on 2015-04-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.663 ratings

    Things I liked: A quality steel trap that can safely stop the pellets from my air guns. It's built like a tank. I have it set up in my basement for all year fun.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: It's noisy and heavy. It works just fine.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Vincent from USA on 2015-04-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Great quality, good value for the money

    What others should know: Perfectly safe for my Marauder .25 PCP

     
  • 12345 Next
Navigation