Date: 16/11/2018 16:3
0

Gamo LED Light. 62112211354. Customer Reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

3.5 (7 reviews)
1 star
Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

By micheljgaudet from USA on 2016-01-11 00:12:13

Things I liked: I hope SOMEHOW 'PA' can incorporate yesterdays AND this updated review, because this IS an UPDATE to the review of this item I just did YESTERDAY! Because I took the advice of a SEVEN YEAR OLD earlier today, I now LOVE this thing... LMSBO! Read below for more.

Things I would have changed: Well, I do not know if the FIRST review will get out there to read, but my MAIN complaint was how, even when hitting the red, and JUST the red target, the darn yellow, and sometimes BOTH yellow & white lights come on, and sometimes the red won't even light... grrrr. I mentioned how I was THINKING about how I might try and somehow DESENSITIZE the thing, as I THINK the SHOCK of the pellets is causing the lights coming on even when I do NOT hit the yellow and white rings. Earlier today (about 10am) I am yakkin' to a friend of mine about my earlier review, telling how slow-mo-cam shows that I just hit the RED LED TARGET, but other lights come on, with much elaboration about how I THINK the other lights are just TOO sensitive or such. Her seven year old girl is intently paying attention, and little girl says, "Excuse me, but if you want JUST the red light to come on, why not just turn off the yellow and white light? Can you switch them off?" READ BELOW!

What others should know: FROM THE MOUTHS OF BABIES! I have installed THREE tiny micro switches, one for each set of LEDs. For general shooting, and also to keep my sanity (I KNOW I JUST HIT THAT DARN RED TARGET, DANG IT!!!), I just have the RED LED switched to the on position, other times either one or both of the other two. I have definitely verified that you really have to HIT the RED target for the LED to light. For some reason, the SHOCK of the pellet hitting elsewhere does NOT turn the LED on, and now I LOVE this thing. I'm gonna contact 'GAMO' to suggest that maybe they should have another version where just the ONE RED LED lights up, or install separate LED switches for the lights. Seriously, this would lend itself very well for shooting at WAY over 10 meters or more, because you are basically REALLY wanting to get your aim very accurate for small game hunting. So, when that ONE RED LED lights up, you KNOW you are doing something right with your shots... RIGHT? And for THIS one, make a LARGER LED!

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:2.0

Value for money:2.0

By Ralph from USA on 2017-06-01 20:49:58

Things I liked: Good concept; however, see below.

Things I would have changed: Shipping this item is a huge embarrassment for Gamo: no instructions are included; the switch was in pieces and could not be reassembled (substituted my own); one nut holding LED's was rattling around and the other was loose; accessing the battery compartment requires disassembly; target rings required lubrication to swing freely.

What others should know: Save your money and buy a different target.

Sort by:
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Don from USA on 2018-03-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It's a fun target for indoor shooting. It lights up for the color you hit. It's fun to shoot at

    Things I would have changed: I would give it a little more space between colors. As you shoot at it sometimes a piece of lead or something gets caught between the colors and it will light up more than one at a time.

    What others should know: for those of us lazy people this is the target to have. You just stay in one place and shoot. The lights tell you what color you hit.

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Ralph from USA on 2017-06-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Good concept; however, see below.

    Things I would have changed: Shipping this item is a huge embarrassment for Gamo: no instructions are included; the switch was in pieces and could not be reassembled (substituted my own); one nut holding LED's was rattling around and the other was loose; accessing the battery compartment requires disassembly; target rings required lubrication to swing freely.

    What others should know: Save your money and buy a different target.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By micheljgaudet from USA on 2016-01-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: I hope SOMEHOW 'PA' can incorporate yesterdays AND this updated review, because this IS an UPDATE to the review of this item I just did YESTERDAY! Because I took the advice of a SEVEN YEAR OLD earlier today, I now LOVE this thing... LMSBO! Read below for more.

    Things I would have changed: Well, I do not know if the FIRST review will get out there to read, but my MAIN complaint was how, even when hitting the red, and JUST the red target, the darn yellow, and sometimes BOTH yellow & white lights come on, and sometimes the red won't even light... grrrr. I mentioned how I was THINKING about how I might try and somehow DESENSITIZE the thing, as I THINK the SHOCK of the pellets is causing the lights coming on even when I do NOT hit the yellow and white rings. Earlier today (about 10am) I am yakkin' to a friend of mine about my earlier review, telling how slow-mo-cam shows that I just hit the RED LED TARGET, but other lights come on, with much elaboration about how I THINK the other lights are just TOO sensitive or such. Her seven year old girl is intently paying attention, and little girl says, "Excuse me, but if you want JUST the red light to come on, why not just turn off the yellow and white light? Can you switch them off?" READ BELOW!

    What others should know: FROM THE MOUTHS OF BABIES! I have installed THREE tiny micro switches, one for each set of LEDs. For general shooting, and also to keep my sanity (I KNOW I JUST HIT THAT DARN RED TARGET, DANG IT!!!), I just have the RED LED switched to the on position, other times either one or both of the other two. I have definitely verified that you really have to HIT the RED target for the LED to light. For some reason, the SHOCK of the pellet hitting elsewhere does NOT turn the LED on, and now I LOVE this thing. I'm gonna contact 'GAMO' to suggest that maybe they should have another version where just the ONE RED LED lights up, or install separate LED switches for the lights. Seriously, this would lend itself very well for shooting at WAY over 10 meters or more, because you are basically REALLY wanting to get your aim very accurate for small game hunting. So, when that ONE RED LED lights up, you KNOW you are doing something right with your shots... RIGHT? And for THIS one, make a LARGER LED!

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    4.0 4.0

    By micheljgaudet from USA on 2016-01-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Hi-ho again, y'all. The BIGGEST thing I LOVE about this purchase is the way PA helped this customer. THANKS, PA!!! I do not like giving 'bad' reviews, but sometimes the truth sort of hurts. So, the only thing I LIKE about this thing is the fact that it USUALLY does light-up when you hit one or more of the rings... HOWEVER - see below.

    Things I would have changed: Pyramyd Air was really good to this customer in how we did the 'refund' thing. Now, let me tell you WHY the refund. I thought I was ALWAYS hitting both the RED CENTER and the YELLOW ring, causing both the red light and yellow lights to come on, but I KNOW I group dime-sized groups with what I was using. So, out comes the high-speed cam. I now KNOW that, even when JUST the red is hit, both the red AND white, and SOMETIMES just the white AND yellow, will come on_ sigh. I believe that the SWING MECHANISMS are just a bit too sensitive, and the SHOCKS of the hits vibrate a false reading. What I would like done for this thing, and might look into doing my self, would be to somehow DAMPEN the movement of the YELLOW & WHITE targets. Nothing needs to be done regarding the RED target. I will be contacting 'GAMO' with my thought on their little target; maybe THEY can suggest something to get the end-result I feel is needed. Oh, for all I KNOW, this might work GREAT for AIR-SOFT guns!

    What others should know: You folks really should KNOW that this IS a fine indoor target for pellets, ONLY PELLETS_ NO BBs!!! It can STING to have a BB fly back at your cheek. Any who, it really does a great job trapping the pellets. I would not use this for any guns over around, say, 600 FPS power, even though the targets are of a decent quality steel. It's not the metal so much as how the targets are ATTACHED up-top. If you hit at the very top-edge with a high-enough FPS, it might break off where the metal is attached. I would recommend this to a buddy for indoor shooting, BUT with the mention that he MIGHT be disappointed that, when JUST hitting the middle target, more than just the single red LED might light, or as in MY case, usually happens. You would think that this would be ideal for outside shooting during the DARK-THIRTY times, but not-so-much, as the tiny LED lights are SO SMALL. Maybe out to about 10 meters, but further than that at night would be not-so-good, I.M.H.O. But I may be WAY wrong.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Jonpaul from USA on 2015-03-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Looks pretty neat. The target performs as expected (corresponding light turns on when paddle is hit. It's not so much "auto reset" as it's a flapper target. It would be like calling a spinner "auto reset". The paddle flips up when hit, then swings back down under gravity immediately.

    Things I would have changed: Inserting batteries requires damn near complete disassemble of the back of the trap. Don't understand why there can't be a simple battery door (with a screw if needed) like there is on the hundreds of kid toys I've assembled for my children. I shot it with a Daisy 953 (450 fps with midweight .177 pellets) and it chipped the paint, right down to the metal. I can see the paint being missing on the paddles in well under a tin of pellets. I had wondered if the paint would hold up (as field targets tend to be stripped of paint in 4 or 5 shots, but that's 20~ish FPE at my club) to low powered pellets. No.

    What others should know: No instructions on assembly. It's not all that hard, but it's "figure it out yourself".

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Meggadeath from USA on 2015-02-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Instant visual for shot placement with auto-reset.

    Things I would have changed: Perhaps a slightly improved backstop, as I believe it can be penetrated over time.

    What others should know: I would probably consider the addition of either duct plug or gluing a piece of carpet or rubber to the backstop to further increase longevity. Pyramyd Air was extremely helpful and expedited replacement when the original proved to have a defective switch. Assembly is straight-forward and target works well.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Meggadeath from USA on 2015-02-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Unique interactive target that allows visual confirmation of "hits" from a distance.

    Things I would have changed: Quality could be a little better, especially in the area of the backstop. Battery access is a bit annoying as it requires disassembly of almost the entire unit. Defective items were replaced almost instantly by Pyramyd Air without hassle!

    What others should know: Testing for longevity will require some degree of time, but it seems it will be a fine INDOOR target.

     
Navigation