Date: 19/9/2018 2:5
0

Hawke Sport Optics Vantage 3-9x40 AO Rifle Scope, Ill. Mil-Dot Center Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 1" Mono-Tube reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (20 reviews)
2 star1 star
Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

By Steve from USA on 2013-12-14 11:42:51

Things I liked: Clear, sharp optics. Precise, repeatable adjustments. This scope has held up well after several hundred shots through my Diana Model 56 TH and Walther LGV Competition Ultra. I own several Hawke scopes and have not had any problems. These scopes are built to survive the double recoil of high power spring guns.

Things I would have changed: I would like threaded scope caps like those found on other brands of scope.

What others should know: Hawke provides excellent customer support. A Hawke representative answered all my questions about their products.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:3.0

Value for money:3.0

By Roy from USA on 2014-08-22 08:41:53

Things I liked: The optics are very good, and it holds its zero once it's set. The mil-dot reticle is very useful for hold-over or hold-under shots.

Things I would have changed: Offer the scope without the illuminated reticle. I don't like paying for something I will never use. The scope also needs a resettable "zero", and more positive "clicks".

What others should know: It takes a lot of shots to "zero" this scope because the reticle tends to stick on both windage and elevation. Since I don't make my scope rings "Farmer Tight", this shouldn't happen. This scope is probably a fair value for the money if you can live with its shortcomings.

Sort by:
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Scott from USA on 2018-08-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: clear view, mil dot rec.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Terry from USA on 2018-05-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Mildots work great for holdover. Elevation and windage adjustments without requiring a coin or screwdriver is nice.

    What others should know: I don't really think I needed the illuminated reticles although it's not bad to have the option. It might be handy in shadows or low light conditions. It just barely fit behind the rear peep on the Weihrauch HW30S rifle I purchased but I did not have to remove the iron sights to mount it. There is a ghost image of the front sight hood in the lower part of the scope field of view but this does not affect shooting for me. I am using the Mildots for holdover at very close ranges and this seems to work well. I intend to test multiple target distances and develop a holdover card using the mildots.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By m. paul from USA on 2017-05-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Decent glass, mil dots for fast holdover without adjusting any turrets, adjustable parallax.

    Things I would have changed: Instead of a lit reticle, they should just use fine crosshairs with the mil dots.

    What others should know: I used on a 22 LR firearm. Have been very happy with that application. The lit reticle works in low light, but just shows black in bright light.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mike21976 from USA on 2017-04-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Very clear optics even at maximum magnification. Well built with excellent fit and finish.

    Things I would have changed: Have a separate on/off switch for the illuminated rectical. You have to cycle through the various brightness settings to turn the illumination off.

    What others should know: Outstanding scope for the money. Rock solid and holds zero point. I mounted it on a 22 cal Benjamin Discovery and could not be happier. Don't know how much I'll use the illuminated cross hairs but it's there if I needn't want it.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Brad from USA on 2016-11-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: Great scope. I like the etched glass recticle. My Beeman R1 is a wire recticle scope eater.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jeffery from USA on 2016-09-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: They way it was boxed and how clear the scope is and the way the only the x hair light up

    Things I would have changed: Nothing very nice scope for the money

    What others should know: It was very easy to sight it in only took about 8 to 10 shoots And i will always buy my stuff from pyramyd air very good people there very helpfull

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By carl from USA on 2015-12-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: A VERY GOOD SCOPE

    Things I would have changed: A LITTLE THICKER CROSS HAIRS

    What others should know: YOU WILL BE BUYING BATTERYS IN THE NEAR FUTURE NOTHING IS PERFECT EXCEPT GOD

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By carl from USA on 2015-12-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Things I liked: A VERY GOOD SCOPE

    Things I would have changed: A LITTLE THICKER CROSS HAIRS

    What others should know: YOU WILL BE BUYING BATTERYS IN THE NEAR FUTURE

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Richard from USA on 2015-11-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I am new to airgunning, but based upon my firearm experience, I believe this scope will more than fill my needs.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Steven from USA on 2015-10-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: Originally had the standard version of this scope on my Umarex Fuel .22 and bought this after getting a Hawke Vantage 4-12x50 AO IR scope for my Hatsan Mod 95 and falling in love with the IR. I wear reading glasses (I'm 52) but can't use them when I'm shooting or I can't see anything far away. This has an adjustable ocular so you can focus the crosshairs exactly the way you want them, the 3-9 magnification adjusts smoothly and the AO is right on the money and easy to adjust and sighting in took me all of about 20 minutes (I shoot groups of 5 to let the reticle settle after adjusting).

    Things I would have changed: Not a thing, Hawke makes great scopes, I don't use anything else!

    What others should know: The IR has 5 green and 5 red settings. I haven't used the red much but the green is perfect for shaded spots and tree lines where your black crosshairs start to blend in and you have a hard time seeing them. Problem solved with the green settings, they light up great and make lining up your shot way easier. I also like my scopes to sit a little farther back on my rifles, so I went to Hawke Optics and got a set of their Reach Forward 2-piece Match Mounts and just reversed them. If you want a great scope, get this one, a set of your favorite mounts and get shooting, you'll love this scope!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gary from USA on 2014-10-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: So far so good.Great clarity and hold zero very well. I Like it. I mounted it on a new Benjamin NP2 trail, which is a kicked, and it does well.

    Things I would have changed: Add flip open lens covers

    What others should know: Easy AO adjustment.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kevin from USA on 2014-09-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I am using this scope in combination with my HW97K and it seems to be a "winning" ticket! I have use many scopes in the past, some more expensive and some not so much... This is a GREAT scope for the dollar, as good as any.

    Things I would have changed: I don't care much for the elastic band lens cover, they don't seem to last long but this is knit picking.

    What others should know: The lighted reticle, I have found, is a very nice option when shooting in the low light conditions I get in the woods from time to time.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Lyle from USA on 2014-09-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I have owned many scopes in my lifetime. The Hawke Sport HD AO IR is as good a scope as any I have ever owned. Very well made, etched glass cross hair. Great finish and extremely well built. You can pay a lot more but not necessarily get more. Great scope for any rifle. Perfect for the Discovery.

    Things I would have changed: Hawke does not make a sun shade for this scope and they should.

    What others should know: Personally I like this scope mounted on the Benjamin Discovery with Medium rings. The Medium rings keep the scope at the perfect height for the stock comb. Due to low scope the loading takes some practice but can be done easily with some practice.

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Roy from USA on 2014-08-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The optics are very good, and it holds its zero once it's set. The mil-dot reticle is very useful for hold-over or hold-under shots.

    Things I would have changed: Offer the scope without the illuminated reticle. I don't like paying for something I will never use. The scope also needs a resettable "zero", and more positive "clicks".

    What others should know: It takes a lot of shots to "zero" this scope because the reticle tends to stick on both windage and elevation. Since I don't make my scope rings "Farmer Tight", this shouldn't happen. This scope is probably a fair value for the money if you can live with its shortcomings.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Stephan from USA on 2014-07-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Glass etched reticle. Feels solid. Plenty of help from P.A. staffers to answer my questions regarding product.(MOA adjustment ranges) it's OK for the price compared to other A.R. scopes I.e. BSA "Essental" line

    Things I would have changed: Probably should have purchased the 4-12X40 version, but Mil dot reticle helps in aiming lit up for night ratting. Also, sports match high rings I will buy for this scope. Current rings are barely acceptable. Remember* you get the quality you pay for

    What others should know: P.A. staff was helpful in setting scope zero @ 10 yds. Over the web.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Michael from USA on 2014-04-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This scope is extremely clear to see through; great optics. I also love the thin cross-hairs for shooting at small bulls on paper targets

    Things I would have changed: I would rather have bikini lens covers than the flip-up type. The rubber on my front flip-up split the first day I had it.

    What others should know: I have had other brands of scopes, but the Hawkes are the best of the lower priced scopes. I own three different models of Hawke scopes, and they all work great. If you want thin cross-hairs for shooting at paper targets (small objects), look no further. If you want to hit the pink elephant, buy one of the other brands with the thick cross-hairs.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By tristen from USA on 2014-04-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: pros: Illuminated mil-dot reticle makes target acquisition phenomenally easy in lower light conditions. windage and elevation knobs are DEAD accurate. AO is a must have on an air rifle scope for small game hunting such as what I do. I am not normally a fan of turret caps, but since i do not think they lock (the manual doesn't give much info) it is nice so you don't knock your zero off came with battery pre installed terrific magnification up to about 8, then 9 is fuzzy easy and fast to sight in at 25-40 yards for small game hunting.

    Things I would have changed: Lens covers need to be changed. I hate the bikini style caps. I would like the zero to be able to lock, just incase. increase magnification while keeping the objective lens size and mil-dot reticle, but 9 is good for close range shooting, but not for long distance target shooting.

    What others should know: This scope is an absolute tack driver. After sighting in at 30 yards for small game hunting come this October, I set up an old ellet tin lid on top of a box. with the gun rested, I could shoot right on the edge of the lid (needless to say it went through. 13 foot pounds puts a whoopin on just about anything less than 10 pounds) I had a Leapers scope with identical features as this Hawke scope, but the leapers broke in about a year of normal use. turrets just stopped moving all together. so i ordered this one, and it is just amazing. it it the most expansive scope i bought so far, and i think it is going to last a while, and if not, it has a 10 year warranty. can't wait to hunt with this thing.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By pedro from Canada on 2014-04-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Nicely clear view, well built, easy to use. So far couple hundred shots through my RWS 350 Magnum and no problems. Great value.

    Things I would have changed: Not much.

    What others should know: Great scope for plinking and hunting. If you target shoot, spend more and get a Hawke Sidewinder, much finer reticle for precise placement.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Brian from USA on 2014-03-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Easy to adjust very accurate. Stays adjusted.

    Things I would have changed: Not a thing

    What others should know: Buy it. Has lifetime warranty I think

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Steve from USA on 2013-12-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Clear, sharp optics. Precise, repeatable adjustments. This scope has held up well after several hundred shots through my Diana Model 56 TH and Walther LGV Competition Ultra. I own several Hawke scopes and have not had any problems. These scopes are built to survive the double recoil of high power spring guns.

    Things I would have changed: I would like threaded scope caps like those found on other brands of scope.

    What others should know: Hawke provides excellent customer support. A Hawke representative answered all my questions about their products.

     
Navigation