Date: 15/8/2020 7:28
0

Customer Reviews for Air Venturi TR5

Average Customer Review

4.5 (15 reviews)
2 star1 star

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:4.0

Accuracy:4.0

By Brian from USA on 2019-05-06 22:49:55

Things I liked: My 10 year old grandkid can operate it. Easily adjustable stock works for all family members. Fun, fun, fun!

Things I would have changed: Pellets will fall out of the mag if not careful.

What others should know: Iron sights and bifocals don't mix.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:3.0

Value for money:3.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Rob Cardona from USA on 2020-05-11 08:24:21

Things I liked: I got this gun mainly for my kids since the level on the side makes it easier to cock and since is a multi shot is better fro my kiddos. Over all it is a nice gun , not as powerful but it does the job and the kids enjoy it a lot. It feel sturdy enough and it does have a nice weight. It very accurate the sights work good and very easy to set and fully adjustable.

Things I would have changed: The side level is some loose some times when you shoot it can be little annoying and they could done better with the barrel feels little cheap not as nice for the price point.

What others should know: You get what you pay for, its a nice little gun , my kids love it , but I was expecting more for the price point, but over all is ok .

Sort by:
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Sean from USA on 2020-06-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Good value at $100 for the green version. Would make a great first rifle for a child starting out, being compact and easy to cock. Have read reviews where accuracy issues have come up but the example I got has been fine out to 30 feet with the stock sights.

    Things I would have changed: Cocking handle interferes with the bolt release, making it a little difficult to open the bolt after the last shot to extract the magazine. It can be done if you're careful not to pull the handle too far, but this is something that could have been dealt with when designing the thing. Wish it had a Picatinny rail instead of the M-Lok under it. Stock is pretty flimsy when fully extended.

    What others should know: For $100 I consider the green version a good buy, but the extra cost for the black makes the cost v.s. value a little questionable. At the higher price there are what I consider better guns out there, but you also have to consider how kid friendly those other options are. I really don't need a scope since I wouldn't count on using this at much more than 50 feet, but I put cheap Winchester air gun scope on mine and it's holding up so far. Initially I was bracing the but plate against myself when cocking it, but after seeing how much the stock would flex this changed to holding the side of it against my waist.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Rob Cardona from USA on 2020-05-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I got this gun mainly for my kids since the level on the side makes it easier to cock and since is a multi shot is better fro my kiddos. Over all it is a nice gun , not as powerful but it does the job and the kids enjoy it a lot. It feel sturdy enough and it does have a nice weight. It very accurate the sights work good and very easy to set and fully adjustable.

    Things I would have changed: The side level is some loose some times when you shoot it can be little annoying and they could done better with the barrel feels little cheap not as nice for the price point.

    What others should know: You get what you pay for, its a nice little gun , my kids love it , but I was expecting more for the price point, but over all is ok .

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Val from USA on 2020-05-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Works great for me. Operating lever got some getting used to, but not an issue.

    Things I would have changed: I wish pellets could be tight fit into the magazine, they fall out if you accidentally flip the magazine before inserting it into the rifle breach.

    What others should know: Very accurate - 3/8" groups at 10 yards (ctc - 5 shot/1 clip). Tons of fun with reactive targets, and even punching paper. Only accurate guns are interesting? Was that the quote, or something?

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Val from USA on 2020-04-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Easy to use, love that it's a repeater.

    Things I would have changed: Keep pellets in the mag tighter somehow so they don't fall out if I turn the mag when inserting it into the rifle.

    What others should know: Darn accurate. 3/8" 5-shot groups at 10 yards with RWS Diabolo Basics.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Jim from USA on 2019-11-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Weight, TRIGGER!, overall build quality at this price point.

    Things I would have changed: As others have said, tighten up the rear stock fitment.

    What others should know: I've owned more than a few IZH60/61 rifles. This is NOT the same, but a decent second. The gun will benefit from a substantial run-in period, think 2-3 full pellet tins. After that, the trigger becomes easily adjustable, down to near match quality. If you try to adjust the trigger without proper run-in, you'll chase your tail. I removed the plastic factory front sight and found a pair of dovetails. I mounted a hooded tapered-post front sight, and a Hungarian polymer 10M match sight on the rear. I also dressed the crown with a round-head brass screw and some white rouge with my cordless drill. Accuracy in my basement at 7.5 yds is single-hole for a full 5 shot clip. I did modify the gun slightly to allow me to release the clip without cocking the rifle. Easy to do with a dremel, and no disassembly. Contact me if you're interested in details. I LOVE this gun as a basement shooter. It's not meant for distance work, but is perfect for its niche. Good value.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Jeb from USA on 2019-11-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Light weight, sturdy plastic shell, easy to run if you know what you're doing. It's a good value for a plinker compared to other single-stroke pnuematics.

    Things I would have changed: Discovered through hard experience that it's not Scout-proof. We bought six of these and by the end of one day, two of them had operator-induced broken components. The "shuttle" piece that connects to the bolt bent/sheared under force when shooters tried to force the cocking handle forward while the bolt was blocked. In one case, the kid had inserted the magazine upside down (which took some doing on its own). In the other case, I don't know how it happened but I'm assuming something similar. Hoping these shuttle slider pieces are replaceable. The other fluke was the tendency of pellets to pop out of the magazines. We had a third gun that had a separate defect (cocking lever is obstructed from locking forward) but it came out of the box that way; I consider that a factory defect vs. operator-induced failure and will pursue a warranty claim.

    What others should know: So far, it's been hard to find anything about disassembly and repair. Four of our six guns were literally opened for the first time at the range and set to work shooting at spinners, so I couldn't say how well they were patterning. Once we realized that it was easier for us range minders to load and cock the guns for the kids, things went more smoothly.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By David from USA on 2019-11-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Light weight, easy to cock. The magazines feed smoothly. Nice built in adjustment features, and a very nice trigger, which is adjustable for angle and pull as well. Very usable open sights, that adjust nicely. Accuracy has steadily improved with the number of pellets shot through it, easily grouping le 1/2 to 3/4 inch at my max range of 20 yds with the open sights.

    Things I would have changed: There needs to be a way to keep the pellets from falling out of the magazines. I ordered 2 extra magazines because I liked the idea of being able to load 4 and have them ready to shoot. However, there is not a ring or other way to keep the pellets in the magazines, so if they are turned over after loading, the pellets fall right back out, negating any advantage of having extra magazines.

    What others should know: Other than the problems with the pellets falling out of the magazines, this is a great little rifle for the money. Great built in features, should fit a wide range of shooter sizes and ages.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Vladimir from USA on 2019-08-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Funny rifle. Nice to work with her. Fairly accurate, lightweight and easy to operate. The assembly is not German, but well done

    Things I would have changed: The shutter cocking lever bounces from its place when fired. It needs a more reliable fixation

    What others should know: Inexpensive rifle

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Kurt from USA on 2019-08-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It's a fun little gun. Adjustable stock is nice feature; good for inexpensive pellet gun, janky if on real rifle. Side cocking better facilitates prone shooting (not as good as bolt or semi). 11mm / 3/8 mount on top for scope, rail underneath for bipod.

    Things I would have changed: A way to remove magazine after last shot without having to cock, remove mag, dry fire. I use cleaning pellet rather than dry fire.

    What others should know: READ MANUAL. Check out parts and screws; give functions check and a few dabs of oil before shooting. Not match-grade accuracy. IZH 61 extra mags work fine in it. Use wadcutters (Crossman premium match) with Air Venturi pellet pen; I did NOT have any pellets fall out of any of the 4 mags I have, as experienced by other purchasers.

  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By ict815 from USA on 2019-07-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I like the design and side lever action. Stock is good and the sights are ok. Fun to have five shots.

    Things I would have changed: Make scope rail metal. I worry that I will damage the polymer rail. Green color is kinda yellowish. Brighter green? Neon? LOL! And I would pay more for a version that was more accurate. This is a good plinker.

    What others should know: The one I got is a nice plinker.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Brian from USA on 2019-05-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: My 10 year old grandkid can operate it. Easily adjustable stock works for all family members. Fun, fun, fun!

    Things I would have changed: Pellets will fall out of the mag if not careful.

    What others should know: Iron sights and bifocals don't mix.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Ed from USA on 2019-05-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Easy to operate, especially for young people. Super easy to take apart to get at the internals. Piston seal was perfect, and it looked like the parts that would normally damage them during assembly we're deburred. The trigger is good. Breaks clean and is repeatable. Getting 4.5 fpe on average, and shots are really consistent fps-wise.

    Things I would have changed: It's not accurate, 2-3" at 20 yards. I've tried everything I can think of, but with each 5 shots I can get two groups that nearly touch each other, but an inch apart and a flyer. At this point I have about 300 shots through it, have cleaned the barrel with kroil and JB paste, polished the internals, applied krytox lube, and added a bit of preload to the spring. Every step of that tightened things up a bit, but not there yet. The stock is a bit wobbly, and it could be longer.

    What others should know: I was able to find a sling stud that fit the rail very cheap, then a bipod fit fine. The offset mount for a bugbuster fir just fine.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Vance from USA on 2019-04-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The adult-sized hand grip and adjustable length-of-pull (12.4 to 14.6 inches). The easy cocking force of 15 lbs. The mounting rails for bipod / accessories and scope. And the generally sturdy feel.

    Things I would have changed: Clean the barrel better; make the adjustable stock less wiggly when in the extended position. And improve the trigger action some.

    What others should know: I got energy from 2.9 to 4.2 ft-lbs, depending on ammo. The rifle's accuracy depends a lot on how consistently you can hold it; my average 5-shot group is about 3/4 inch at 10 yards, others can probably do better. The TR5 won't win many benchrest competitions, but it's a lot of fun hitting targets of appropriate size.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Debbie from USA on 2019-04-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like it all, The rifle and the concept... Especially like the Exceptional trigger, the Multi-shot capability and ease of cocking. Price is really quite right.

    Things I would have changed: Sturdier connection on the stock length adjustment. It wobbles and moves a bit and is sometimes annoying to hear it move. If anyone has a fix, let me know. Also, would have additional cartridges for sale at order to avoid additional shipping costs on a small order. Would love to see a good video review too.

    What others should know: Once I got through the initial period of personally getting use to the rifle and best working practices, and the initial break-in of the rifle itself (a good tin full) I am very impressed. Can't wait to see what others have to say and what kinds of add ons they consider worthy.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kelly A from USA on 2019-04-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.52 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like the looks , the feel , shoulder like an AR-15 CAR. but way lighter , meaty hand/pistol grip , meaty forearm , easy to cock , EXCELLENT TRIGGER ! No twang or grinding noises , 11mm rail on receiver , 10 M slot under firearm , nice touch . Very adjustable stock . I like it , allot :-)

    Things I would have changed: One full inch of length longer in adjustment on stock . Not much to complain about on this Rifle :-)

    What others should know: I personally do not feel a young child will do well with this stock , as the pistol grip handle is Full Size Adult and so is the Forearm .

Navigation