Date: 21/10/2019 2:23
0

Beeman P17. 2004. Customer Reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (371 reviews)
Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By A Reasonable Person from USA on 2012-12-18 02:43:29

Things I liked: The Beeman P17 is an excellent value for someone interested in a 4.5 mm (.177 cal) target air pistol. Before you buy, think about what it is that you intend to use an airgun for. If you wish to shoot 10 meter air pistol targets and stay in the black at very low cost, this pistol is definitely worth three times what it is sold for. If you want rapidly to make many tiny dents in a barn door from 5 meters or otherwise blast away promiscuously, then skip the P17 and buy the CO2 BB gun which will do that job for you. If you want to hunt, skip pistols and go to a pellet rifle with enough power and accuracy to allow you reliably to achieve first round kills; then make yourself some rat, rabbit or pigeon stew, or at least supplement your cat's diet with your take. Is this an Olympic 10 meter target pistol? No, but it is surprisingly accurate for 10% of the cost of a basic match target pistol such as the Baikal 46. It has good balance, points very naturally and has a splendidly light trigger and servicable open sights. The P17 is a Beeman-licensed Chinese manufactured copy of the Beeman P3/Weihrauch HW40 manufactured in Germany. Except for the post and vee sights (very satisfactory for target shooting, the rear being adjustable for both elevation and windage,) it follows the P3/HW40 design very faithfully for less than 20% of the cost. I have found that Beeman model 1235 7.7 grain coated wadcutters work very well for target shooting in my P17, and are very economical.

Things I would have changed: Loading seems awkward at first, but will soon become easier, especially if you start with pointed pellets, then switch to wads when you are used to the loading. Beeman Model 1239 8.5 grain coated pointed pellets will serve that purpose. With these products, you can find out whether you enjoy the sport without having to spend serious money on it. While the design is very good, the level of quality assurance in assembly seems, from the sample of user reviews I have read elsewhere, sometimes to fall below that standard. Most are assembled well, but some are less well assembled. While the manufacturer should improve quality control, the P17 is warranted for a year, and is not difficult to work on when the warranty has expired. There is plenty of help for diagnosing and fixing problems on the Web. After about 2,000 rounds, I started to have trouble with pressure loss. Since the pistol was then still under warranty, I spent $12 on sending it to Beeman for repairs. After a month, it came back in good order. Now that it is out of warranty, I work on it myself. A Google search for P17 overhaul led me to a number of useful sources of information, including Derrick's overhaul part 1 and finale, which are step by step guides with very good color photo illustrations (Thank you, Derrick.)

What others should know: Cocking this device is too difficult for a child, but within the abilities of most mid-late teens and adults. Anyway, it is not a toy and is not suitable for children. The safe handling considerations for firearms apply to pellet guns. The top of the receiver incorporates dove tail grooves between the front and rear iron sights for mounting accessory sights. Some offers of P17s bundle them with an open style red dot sight. If you are, or think that you may be, interested in target shooting, then the P17 is worth your consideration. If you do not enter formal competition, it may be all that you need. In any event, it is a fine pistol for developing pistol marksmanship and maintaining proficiency economically and at home, rather than driving to a firearms range and firing ball ammunition frequently. I know of no other target as good for so llittle money.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Charles from USA on 2019-08-19 11:00:07

Things I liked: Very accurate when it works.

Things I would have changed: Better quality needed. Won't hold pressure after only 40 pellets. Hoping to get it replaced.

Sort by:
  • 123 ... 1819 Next
  • Showitems
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Mike from USA on 2019-10-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: For the money, overall a good informal practice pistol or use to teach basic marksmanship to my grandkids. Trigger pull is better than some of my higher priced guns, Accuracy was fair, only about 50 rounds put through it at this reading. Recoil almost nil. As always Pyramyd Air rocks with their orders and shipping staff. That's why they are my go to for anything that shoots a pellet or BB.

    Things I would have changed: Cocking could be easier. I used a glove to hold the top while cocking so not to destroy my hand! Not thrilled with day glo sights, would rather prefer black with a white outline (personal preference). Grips are big for kids/grownups with small hands. Wish the back end was open enough to get a loading pen in there. This would help loading dramatically!

    What others should know: While testing for the best pellet found some interesting things. It liked the following: Beeman 7.9 gr coated wadcutter, copper coated 10.6 gr domed, crosman premier 7.9 hp. Tried about 10 other pellets but it didn't like them. I had a few Gamo gold raptors. Loaded one in the breech, it would not shoot at all! Tried a couple of times to shoot, but this gun does not like them at all! Took a cleaning rod to get it out. has anyone else noticed a threaded hole at the left rear of the air chamber? Could not see anything in it. Will call Pyramyd in a day or so to see if anything is missing!

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Lionel from USA on 2019-10-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The feel of the gun, looks like a true gun

    Things I would have changed: Could use a bit more power

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Deborah from USA on 2019-09-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Accuracy is perfect out of the box. Pain in the butt to load, and takes some serious cocking effort. Almost zero recoil. I just hope it lasts....

    Things I would have changed: Make it easier to load. They couldn't come up with a better way to load this thing? And the cocking effort could have been a little easier.

    What others should know: For $30 you can't go wrong. Just don't try using wadcutters - you'll never get them to load!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Matt from USA on 2019-09-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I felt that I needed to clear the air from these negative reviews on this pellet pistol. Although I didnt buy mine from Pyramyd Air, I wish I did and have bought Numerous other guns and products from here. Ok now the Pistol. This pistol Is one sweet shooter. I love It and Its really spectacular. I shoot mine a few times a week and have had It about a year. The fiber optic sights are a real plus, are great In low light and make for quick target acquisition. Ive tried a few cheaper reflex sights but always went back to the fiber optic open sights. Just recently I purchased the Hatsan optima red dot sight because that particular one has a small dot. The accuracy Is great. At 15 yrds, Im getting 1" groups with the Hatsan red dot sight and Daisy precision max pointed pellets! I did try the crosman premier hollow points but got sporadic results. I Intend On buying some good ammo for it. It feels soo good In your hand and Is easy to cock. The rear sight Is adjustable for elevation,windage.

    Things I would have changed: The only Thing Ive noticed that can get annoying sometimes, Is there Isnt a whole lot of space to load the pellet In with your finger. I use pellgun oil with mine and will clean the barrel with a little ballistol once In a while and Im telling you, This thing will put a smile On your face! I still cant believe I paid $34 for mine. It looks, feels and shoots like a $100-$150 airgun! SERIOUSLY! The cocking Is easy and smooth, the safety doesnt feel 100% In the right position and mine lacks a real positive/tight detent but Its ok and You get used to It. The gun does have a compensator or vented shroud to reduce muzzle flip but I do sortve wish It had some baffles. Suprisingly, Its pretty powerful, hits harder than any co2 pistol Ive ever owned. At 10-15 yards My pellets are sticking In a piece of half Inch thick particle board about to a depth of just about the length of the pellet. I do wish It had the ability to mount a accesory rail or something but that would probably add more weight

    What others should know: Its not that loud, like popping a bubble wrap bubble packaging, the bigger ones. When you first get It, Clean the barrel, and lube it with some pellgun oil. Also the pivot points, the contact with hammer, the breech "o"ring, The piston chamber, Then shoot It and you will smile and tell me I told ya so!

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James from USA on 2019-09-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is a great gun for a great price. Very accurate. The red and green sights almost look illuminated.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: It takes a little effort to cock, but manageable.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Steve from USA on 2019-09-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Quite, Single pump, accurate

    Things I would have changed: pelt load method: when you open the gun you load it by putting the pellet into the barrow directly. Kind of wish they use a top loader link most other guns so that you could use one of those multi shot magazines. rubber O ring quality; tends to degrade pretty fast better trigger (it doesn't feel solid, has play from side to side) When you cock and close the gun it makes a pretty loud snap, this can be fixed with some electrical tape to dampen the sound when it clamps down.

    What others should know: Love this gun, right out of the box I loaded it; stepped into the back yard, saw a squirrel in a tree about 30 yards out. took aim at the space between its eyes and pull the trigger. OMG first shot out of the box no adjustments and it was square on target. one shot; one kill. After a few months later the seal started to leak, i replaced the rubber gasket but it only lasted a few months too. Buy a case of O-rings and you'll be just fine. Love this gun, its really quite and accurate. It has the power to bring down a squirrel at 30 yards. I added a laser sight on mine and its golden; If i had a 10 year old son I would definitely get him one of these but spray paint it orange or yellow. Great for plinking and vermin.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Tom from USA on 2019-08-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very accurate.

    Things I would have changed: None.

    What others should know: Slight bit of a cocking effort.

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Charles from USA on 2019-08-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very accurate when it works.

    Things I would have changed: Better quality needed. Won't hold pressure after only 40 pellets. Hoping to get it replaced.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James from USA on 2019-08-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Got it for my baby girl. It is a very good pellet pistol for the price. Shoots right on target. Has a good feel to it.

    What others should know: It is a little hard to load but you can get used to it. The pointed pellets are the best

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kenneth from USA on 2019-07-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Cheap accurate heft

    Things I would have changed: Nothing hard to chock but doable

    What others should know: No

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gary from USA on 2019-07-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: feels well balanced in my hand..feels solid....very comfortable to hold...looks great and I like it a lot.Trigger is Great!

    Things I would have changed: heard lot of talk about the difficulty to cock this pistol.. it does take a good amount of pressure. Loading this with a pellet can be challenging at times.. other times I just slide it right in..no problem.

    What others should know: for this price.. ha... you will get 30 dollars of fun the first hour you have it.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2019-06-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Light trigger, adjustable sights, quick break in and accuracy, incredible value for the money, customer service.

    Things I would have changed: Have the manufacturer provide clearance to allow for use of a pellet pen for loading. You can easily DIY this with a Dremel tool and I plan to do so soon. It is a little bit awkward loading the small pellet in the space available at the breech.

    What others should know: The first one I received fired about 5 times then failed to make any air pressure after that. Pyramyd was quick to get me a replacement, and that one has been fine ever since. Some day I plan to take the first one apart and see if I can figure out what went wrong.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jed from USA on 2019-06-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The weight and balance is good. The accuracy is quite good - 1" groups at 30 feet, free standing, using Crosman 7.4 gr wadcutters. Took a few shots to adjust the rear sight, but once that was done I was hitting bulls eyes regularly. Overall quality seems fine to me. The fiber optic sights, front & rear, are truly a pleasure to aim in any light (a big benefit for such a moderately priced unit). Great that you can get so much power in a pump pistol with just a single pump. Amazing quality and accuracy for a pellet pistol at this low, low price!...and it's a good looking pistol too.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: The cocking mechanism works well and is a bit hard to close the barrel after cocking - takes some muscle, so it's not for kids. One reviewer tipped me off about putting the gun on a towel on a table and pressing down to close. Although I am able to close it without the technique, this makes it much easier to close. Some reviewers have difficulty loading the pellet. Personally, I haven't found this troubling.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By David from USA on 2019-06-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Simply amazing for the price.Hitting small pill bottles at 20 yards is no problem.Plus I love the sound it makes..

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: Be ready to buy lots of pellets.

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Danilo from USA on 2019-06-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Feel, and easy to operate.

    Things I would have changed: Better quality? After 9 shots, the air pump quit working. Ohhhhh...I was so excited with the first 9 shots. Pretty accurate at 10 yards, then the last shot went poof, pop. The 10th pellet went in the chamber, went to close the gun, and no resistance on the pump. DOA

    What others should know: Do not buy.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2019-05-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: So far I'm very happy with the P17. Have not had time to shoot it as much as I want but in the 100 or so rounds I've put through it I can tell it shoots very accurate! A few times I've put 3 shot groups into 1 ragged hole or just slightly spread out covering less than 1/2 inch at 8 yards. Other's have been more like 1 to 1.5 inch groups but I'm sure that's a combination of me, of finding the right pellets and having a barrel that still needs some break in. I'm sure with practice, seasoning of the barrel and finding the right pellets will be able to do good groups consistently. Haven't touched a thing on it and like the trigger feel.

    Things I would have changed: Can't think of anything...

    What others should know: I read lot's of reviews about the P17 before purchase and a few things I saw several people complain about were too hard to cock and too hard to load pellets. I'm almost 60 years old with some arthritis in both hands so was worried that I might have a hard time with it. WRONG! I have NO PROBLEM cocking or loading it. I can't imagine anyone other than little kids or teenage girls having a hard time cocking it, yeah it has some resistance but nothing too hard like I imagined reading some comments. As far as loading it, again with my broken down old hands I do not find it difficult at all...

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    4.0 4.0

    By SPQR from USA on 2019-05-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: 12 shots to zero, another 20 or so shots perfect

    Things I would have changed: Put it away for 2 weeks, went to fire again - hissing air out of exit port as i'm cocking did full disassemble, valve stem o-ring at far end shredded broken in 3 places

    What others should know: prepare to replace o-rings right after you purchase this

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Joseph from USA on 2019-04-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great Pistol! It looks and feels like an authentic .45 and the sights are great. I highly recommend it and the price is great.

    Things I would have changed: If you have big fingers it can be slightly challenging to load and for my wife it is tough to pump,

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jerry on 2019-04-16
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Excellent and inexpensive starter pistol

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Herminio from USA on 2019-04-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very nice gun, has a nice weight to it and very comfortable to hold. I shot a couple of pellets off as soon as I unwrapped it and astonishly it's very accurate. Love it

    Things I would have changed: So far I wouldn't change anything, it's great.

    What others should know: I'll let you guys know as soon as I stumble on something if any lol.

     
  • 123 ... 1819 Next
Navigation