Date: 4/8/2020 3:8
0

Customer Reviews for Beeman P3

Average Customer Review

4.5 (50 reviews)
1 star
Beeman P3
Pre-order

Out of Stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:4.0

Accuracy:5.0

By itsok2beme from USA on 2008-11-08 15:23:47

Things I liked: This is a great air pistol. For those of you that are firearms users I recommend you get one of these to help with your technique with shooting. Great accuracy

Things I would have changed: Has an odd way of loading the pellet and for right handers the safety isn't very convenient. It is on the left side of the frame.

The most helpful critical review

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:2.0

Value for money:2.0

Accuracy:4.0

By Mark from USA on 2009-01-12 17:13:58

Things I liked: Sights, accuracy and "feel". Trigger is very good and the metal construction should provide good durability.

Things I would have changed: Used it for a few days then gave it away. Not easy to load, not very powerful. The same "rant" I have concerning the P1. With Beeman's eagerness to make an air gun look like a firearm there are just too many compromises. Hard to cock, difficult to load, all as a result of trying to make an airgun look like something it is not. My Beeman Tempest is a much better design. Easy to cock, easy to load and it looks like what it is... an air pistol. I don't expect this to be published, as my review of the P1 was not, for the same reasons. Replicas should be limited to C02, this would not degrade the function. If you must have a Beeman, I'd buy the P1. Easier to load and more powerful, even if it looks like a Colt 1911 with some kind of serious bloating of the receiver.

What others should know: I would pass on the P1 and P3 and buy the RWS P5. Great sights and trigger, more power and very easy to cock and load. There will be complaints that it looks like an air pistol....fine by me. Form should follow function. If I want a firearm I'll buy one, rather than a "replica" that looks like a mutant copy. One downside... the RWS P5 does not provide a rail to mount a scope. Hopefully, RWS will come out with a scope mountable version. I would buy it at once.

Sort by:
  • 123 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James from USA on 2020-05-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Very consistent with accuracy, excellent practice pistol for training of trigger control and front sight focus. The long life of the o-rings with no care at all.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing, learn to adapt the firearm in your hand, make it work.

    What others should know: I have had this pistol for 15 plus years. It was getting very hard to cock. The issue was, that it has had over 22,000 pellets down the barrel and no lubing of o-rings. When I rebuilt it, the chamber o-ring was just dry. I did replace this seal, since it was apart. When rebuilding, I soaked the o-ring with Slick 50 ONE LUBE. It has never cocked so easy. It did take about 25-50 pellets to settle back in. Other air pistols I own, Beeman 65, Beeman 102, Beeman 103, IZH46 the trigger is just as consistent as all of these.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James from USA on 2020-04-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Trigger is amazing! Very accurite.

    Things I would have changed: Can be a little tricky to load pellet.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Chris from USA on 2020-04-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very accurate and easy to get on target

    Things I would have changed: The pistol is very cheap feeling because of the plastic handel and fake slide

    What others should know: This pistol shoots best with 7 grain pellet not a hole lot of power at 400 ft. per second

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James from USA on 2019-12-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It's a very accurate, well-balanced pistol. It is also much better made than the cheap P17.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing. I'm used to the hard-cocking Beeman P1 and this is no worse.

    What others should know: I bought a tin of Crosman Ultra Magnum, 10.5 gr. pellets because they were the only Crosman domed pellets I found. I wanted domed pellets because of the pellet traps I am using indoors. Unfortunately, these pellets will not reliably chamber in the P3. If you try to force them completely into the chamber they will be distorted or jam in the chamber. I'm betting that these pellets are 4.52 mm in diameter and the P3 wants 4.5 to 4.51 diameter pellets

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Michael from USA on 2019-06-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Trigger, weight, balance, accuracy

    Things I would have changed: Loading

    What others should know: Cant add a scope and still cock the weapon

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Donald from USA on 2019-04-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: shoots a bit better than the p17 (beemans under 40 dollar Chinese clone). Only time will tell if its worth the 5x price tag. Super accurate, fully adjustable rear sight with a super adjustable trigger.

    Things I would have changed: The pistol grip could be a bit beefier,I find it a bit small for my hand.

    What others should know: In the beginning cocking and loading this gun will give you a bit of trouble, but within a few weeks of use you will not believe you had such a hard time of it.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Steve from USA on 2019-04-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great sight picture. Excellent two stage trigger. Overall a real keeper.

    Things I would have changed: ?

    What others should know: Perfect economical practice gun!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Thomas from USA on 2018-08-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The gun is very accurate!

    Things I would have changed: It is difficult to load until you get use to it.

    What others should know: It takes some effort to cock it. I have a pad on my bench and I put the gun on it and press the shroud down. Watch your fingers and hands it will pinch you if careless,

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Chuck from USA on 2018-06-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Things I liked: Great shooting pistol. Accurate, easy to shoot and just plain fun... Even the 12 year old grandson likes shooting this pistol!!

    Things I would have changed: A way to do multiple pellets??

    What others should know: Lots of power..

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Herb from USA on 2018-05-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Things I liked: I have owned/shot many airguns over the years - including this one. Now that I'm past the every other week buy/trade/sell/tinker phase or whatever it is....I find myself re-arming my 'airsenal' with guns I really liked a lot. The "real deal" HW40/P3 is one of them! Bang for the buck paper punching and plinking air pistol ready to go out of the box - other than check it out, clean bbl and/or some slight sight/trigger adjustments - this one is it IMO. With a 3 MOA red-dot sight on top from seated/rested position I can keep 'em dime sized 5 shot groups at 45 feet.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing really to change for me - others may add a longer bbl, do some grip mods, etc. and that's ok too.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2018-02-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Things I liked: Top quality air pistol! Have always liked Beeman imports and this pistol is no exception. It's accuracy is great and the trigger is excellent! Weirauch is legendary for top shelf guns. Also a great value. As always, Pyramyd Air is what's going on!

    Things I would have changed: nuthin!

    What others should know: Can't go wrong with this pistol!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Athanasios from USA on 2017-11-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Things I liked: Its the Trigger,after owning many Pistols this has it all ! Great Balance with Match Trigger and Match accuracy for around $200.00 ! Bought mine Refurb. w/Fiber Optic sights and will never need to scope this Great Shooting Pistol ! Thanks Again to PA !

    Things I would have changed: Nothing !

    What others should know: Holding against your knee to cock will make it much easier !

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Theophile from USA on 2017-11-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: After much consideration, decided to step up from the Beeman P17 (MIC) to the Beeman P3 (MIG by Weihrauch). The P3 overall has a better build, a better finish and a more solid feel in the hand. Components are machined stainless steel (sears, springs, pins, hammer, cams, valve parts) and the external trigger, safety and over lever lock parts are aluminum. Hammer, sears and cams have very squared and trued contact surface areas that provide smooth interactions and increase reliability. Out-of-the-box, the excellent precision 2-stage trigger has a 1st stage 6oz-1\2" adjustable pull, with a crisp break-like-glass 2nd stage set at 15oz...Nice! The P3 and P17 shoot about the same velocity and have similar accuracy (possibly P3 a slight hair better). Both have 15oz triggers (P3 2-stage, my P17 single stage-after mod), both sears break like glass, both handle almost identically, both have excellent accuracy and both load pellets - compress pneumatics (over lever pump) equally!

    Things I would have changed: The P3 safety selector "on my unit" is very stiff and requires a lot of effort to take off safety...gotten use to it now, but could be made easier.

    What others should know: When I don't pull a round, with the iron sights I was able to quickly zero in my POA and readily shoot 10 yard 5-shot cloverleaf groupings within a .250 spread (RWS Hobby 7.0g WCs)! The exterior texture finish is rugged and tactile and grip ergonomics is near perfect. Overall weight is well balanced and the pistol has a solid feel in the hand. When I don't pull a round, with the iron sights I was able to quickly zero in my POA and readily shoot 10 yard 5-shot cloverleaf groupings within a .250 spread (RWS Hobby 7.0g WCs)! IMHO, if your wanting\needing the extra durability the P3 offers, or possibly the reliability\longevity it may bring, even though it appears at this time to be a relative equal in the accuracy department, then 7X the investment certainly could be worth it! However, if you want\need to be frugal with your air gun investment, willing to put in the time and effort to tinker-repair-upgrade-mod a P17 (if\when needed), then this option is certainly also woth it!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Q from USA on 2017-04-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: ACCURATE! Fun to shoot, trigger is phenomenal

    Things I would have changed: No need for a fake slide release or magazine ejector

    What others should know: Loading a pellet takes some getting used to but it's a breeze after a day or two, I can load wadcutters without looking or fumbling around. The trick is setting the edge of the pellet's head in the bore and tipping it into place. I'm shooting RWS Meisters and at 10 yards with the open sights I can usually make a nice clover. I have no regrets about spending the extra money on this as opposed to the Chinese version

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By jasonmorgan from USA on 2017-01-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: I gave away my P3 a few years back because my P 17 seemed every bit as good, which in most ways it is. It seemed like a good idea at the time. But I still missed that extra edge of accuracy and feel I get from a P3. I have an HW 75 and several beautiful custom Crosman CO2 pistols for target shooting, and a CP 88 and a Beretta XX Treme for fun. It was gnawing at me to get another P 3. Really glad I did. For fun, skill and accuracy it falls right in between my higher end skill guns and the replica repeaters. It is simply one the best non-competition competition-grade airguns ever created.

    Things I would have changed: I have always had an issue with the extreme smoothness of the grip. Although it feels good in the hand, I could never really get firm and stable purchase. I bought some grip tape and took some time to apply it on those areas where the key parts of my hand need to feel stable and firm. Worked wonders. Grip tape costs about $4. Cocking the gun is still somewhere between not too, too bad and ridiculous. Because of the awkwardness when trying to get leverage, I don't think it would be hard to dislodge the night sights plastic. But if that is the price for such simplicity, accuracy, and no CO2, I can live with that, easily.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ray from USA on 2016-02-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Very pleased with this pellet pistol. The quality and construction is far superior to the P-17. The accuracy and performance is well worth the money. If you didn' t know this was a pellet gun you would swear it was a real gun because of the quality and weight.

    Things I would have changed: Had a little issue with the screw and nut holding the rear site to the gun, as it vibrated off after about 25 shots. I secured the nut with super glue and no problems since.

    What others should know: Don't waste you money on the cheaper pistols, they really are not worth it... If you want a pellet gun, paying the little extra is well worth the investment.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Steve from USA on 2016-01-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Things I liked: Sweet pistol. Hard hitting, accurate, solid pistol. A great value. Clean design, great sights. I really enjoy plinking around in the back yard with it. I like the safety feature after cocking.

    Things I would have changed: For the price...nothing

    What others should know: If you are just getting into air gunning, get this pistol. You can't go wrong.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By James from USA on 2015-10-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Things I liked: My wife and I are Bullseye competitors and were looking for practice using air pistol. Finally, effective in July 2015, rifled air guns were removed from Michigan's definition of a firearm. We purchased a Beeman P3 (HW 40) fabricated in Germany and, in spite of difficulty cocking it, found it to have a great fit (most important for accurate shooting) and a set of wonderful fiber-optic sights. Accuracy is sufficient for practice. We purchased a second P3. The Chinese copy (P17) is a knock off. To facilitate cocking, my wife built a fixture using hardwood we had on hand. The fixture has a groove 135 mm long, 13 mm high (more would be better, but that is the thickness of the wood) and with a gap of 18.8 mm. One places the loaded P3 upside down on the groove and one can then press downward to cock - easier than the alternatives. I also crafted a cocking fixture from a stack of old mouse pads with a cutout portion for the rear sight.

    Things I would have changed: It would have been nice to have a Picatinny (1913) rail to facilitate mounting red-dot sights. Loading is not easy because of too little space near breach. Provide a way to submit pictures.

    What others should know: One should pay the extra fee to have the pistol tested so that you and Pyramyd know it works, and is what you ordered. PCP might be next, but not without a way to evaluate the actual fit of the choices. I have three .jpg pictures showing cocking fixture and its use, but site does not provide a means to attach pictures.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Darryl from USA on 2015-09-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: I was wanting an accurate and quiet pistol for whacking troublesome varmints in the yard and got more than I was hoping for with this pistol. I've found Crow Magnum pellets to shoot most excellent through it (1/2" or less at 10m) and regardless of the "3-Medium" loudness rating I can't imagine a gun being much quieter. Too me it sounds remarkably comparable to what you get when you crack open a can of your favorite carbonated beverage.

    Things I would have changed: I'm not a fan of automatic safeties, nor dummy features attempting to make an airgun look like a firearm - such as the dummy slide lock, ejection ports, and compensator. This is still a pretty nice looking pistol though.

    What others should know: If you have big, fat, sausage-fingers you may have trouble loading pellets in this thing. Otherwise it's pretty easy once you figure out how to hold the pellet before inserting.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By trapshooter from USA on 2015-08-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Very accurate. 11mm dovetail for red dot. Excellent trigger

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: I bought two P13 Chinese knockoffs that lasted less than 200 rounds. Sent back to Crossman. Paid shipping. Lasted less than 100 shots. Finally broke down and bought the real thing. So far so good. Pricey but if it holds up I will be more than satisfied. Don't listen to those that tell you you can get the same quality for under $50. Not true. I spent over $100 on two duds. Hope this on last a long time then it will be worth it

     
  • 123 Next
Navigation