Date: 19/10/2017 10:0
0

Beeman RS2 Dual-Caliber Air Rifle Combo reviews - page 1

Add to Cart

Only 2 left in stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Frances from USA on 2012-05-29 11:07:52

Things I liked: I like to be able to shoot .17 or .22 pellets with the same rifle. It states that if you change barrels you will have to resight it. I have switched barrels half a dozen times and did not have to resight it. Have not had a barrel loosen up while shooting. It hits really hard. Penatrates a half inch pine board at thirty feet plus. I am using the open sights. I just don't care for scopes. Packaged very well. Like the carrying case. I have not had any problems with the rifle like I have read.

Things I would have changed: Somehow make it easier to cock. I am 75 years old and do not have the strength that I had in the good ole days. I have to bring the barrel down to where it is ready to cock then give it another pull with the help of my other hand. Oh well, I need the exercise anyway.

What others should know: When you tighten the set screw that holds the barrel in don't be a woose and put some man into it. You will not strip the screw unless you are a gorilla. My name is Bill. Frances is my wife and I use her PayPal account. That's why her name is on the review.

The most helpful critical review

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:1.0

By Andrew from USA on 2013-03-25 19:06:17

Things I liked: Barrels and scope are easy to mount and change.

Things I would have changed: Terrible accuracy. At 25 yards, the .177 barrel averaged 6.5" with 5-shot groups. The .22 barrel average 3.25" with 5-shot groups.... and I'm subtracting 1/4" for approximate aiming error, which I think is the maximum possible for the worst shot I made while testing. The .177 muzzle velocity averaged about 870 FPS w/ 8.2 grain pellets, standard deviation of 25-30 FPS. The .22 muzzle velocity averaged about 650 FPS with 15.4 grain pellets, standard deviation of about 15 FPS. Dieseling was so bad that the rifle is smokier than a .22 long rifle. Point of impact shift between barrels was 6 inches horizontally and not much vertically.

What others should know: While this rifle functions, it is so inconsistent that I consider it defective. Typical Made in China junk. Don't waste your time with it.

Sort by:
  • 123 ... 78 Next
  • Showitems
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Wayne from USA on 2017-10-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The look and feel of the rifle is nice. It is fairly easy to cock, but a ten yr old kid would need help. But that's not a bad thing. Its way too powerful for a child anyway. Changing the barrels is a easy swap, just need the provided Allen wrench. The stock of the gun is a nice stained piece of wood. The cheek wield is fair. Accuracy is moderate, has a nice pop hitting steel targets with .22 cal bullets. The safety is automatically set to safe every time you break the barrel down to full cock. The plastic sights have day glow neon looking dots, that are easy to see. The scope was easy to install. For the money i was satisfied. I wasn't expecting a match grade target rifle. I just wanted a hard hitting pellet rifle. It will pass through rabbit size game at 40 yrds no problem.

    Things I would have changed: Throw away the scope, it's junk. The plastic sights are almost junk. The stock is thick and bulky in places that make it heavy and off balance. The barrel screw will come loose. I used lock Tite and solved that problem. It is loud, doesn't break the sound barrier, but has a noticeable report. The spring twang can be felt in your hands and recoil is low but noticed. I would definitely have pictured it having better scope/sight. The trigger creep and feel sucks. It's around 8lbs pull...that's a guess but I shoot alot and bet I'm within a pound.

    What others should know: This rifle will group well out to 40yards or so.. Mine likes heavy pellets, premier shoot the best of any I have tried so far. Diesels untill around 400 shots and calms down and groups tighter. It it start out grouping well then starts having flyers. The barrel lock screw has came loose and your barrel Is moving around Everytime you re-cock it. Had the same problem. Thread lock will fix that. Good shooting

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Anthony from USA on 2017-01-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: easy to cock and powerful. Although this air gun is made in china, it is a decent entry-level breakbarrel and is pretty accurate for a $150 rifle. Great for small to medium game hunting or just shooting cans. This rifle has great value for its price.

    Things I would have changed: make the rear sight all metal, and put a better spring in it. Mine is starting to get spring twang, and I haven't had it for all that long. The bar joint has a bit of play to it also(at least mine does). Otherwise, I can't think of anything else to change.

    What others should know: This rifle is pretty loud in .177 cal, especially if you are using low-weight hypervelocity pellets, like gamo raptors or PBA platinums, so if you are shooting in an urban area, heavier pellets are better to keep cops from knocking.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By John from USA on 2017-01-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The stock is very comfortable. Moderately accurate with easy to find ammo. Would not hunt any further than 35 yards with this rifle.

    Things I would have changed: The safety needs to be a little more positive. Does have a little bit of travel when shooting at an upward angle at game.

    What others should know: Test your ammo. This rifle does not perform well with run of the mill ammo. Buy quality and not by the quantity.

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Elijah from USA on 2016-12-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Dual caliber is nice, the scope was OK, but I'm not big on scopes. The scope is 4-by-32, with nice crosshairs, but if you're wanting to shoot long range, I'd go with something more powerful like a 9-by-40.

    Things I would have changed: Make the scope a little more powerful, and change the way you switch barrels, for heaven's sake! The barrel came loose every 3 shots, so I had to carry an Allen wrench any where I was shooting. Also, I could not sight it in. It would shoot a group of 2 or so, and then shoot 4 inches off or something like that.

    What others should know: Don't waste your money, for this price you can get something longer lasting, and better quality. Not that the gun itself is poor quality, it is very solid, it is that barrel changing mechanism is terrible. Go with a one caliber gun in the caliber that fits your needs.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Tracy from USA on 2016-11-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like open sights.I have not used the scope yet and don't think I ever will. Accuracy is awesome in both cal.177 and 22 .. Barrels are simple and easy to switch. This is a far supearrear air rifle than the one I had as a kid. Very pleased.

    Things I would have changed: I would change the plastic sights to steel. Make your customer buy after market plastic sights if thay want them , not the other way around.

    What others should know: The gun I received is very accurate and fun to shoot . I'm very pleased with it . But I constantly have to be aware of how I handle the rifle for fear of breaking the plastic sights.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Abdullah from USA on 2015-11-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: great value for the money, exceptional accuracy, not too heavy;

    Things I would have changed: for a gun this good you should buy a better scope;

    What others should know: This gun is a sleeper, I already own a Beeman Mach 12.5, which is a superb gun, but I watched a video on you tube about this dual caliber gun, and in that video the guy was just bragging how great this gun was and how he had shot over 1,000 shots out of it and it was still going strong. So for the price of it , I bought one too, and OH BOY.... this gun is really all that .It's extreamly accurate. easy to hold all day, fun to shoot, very powerful, the recoil isn't too bad at all, and once you shoot it you won't put it down. GREAT GUN,,,,,,,,Do yourself a favor, especially for the money, and go get one!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Mike from USA on 2015-10-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I bought this mainly to set it up as a 22 cal. rifle. Out of the box the trigger pull was good and accuracy was acceptable after a few hundred shots. Good value for the money. Nice little rifle for small game and plinking.

    Things I would have changed: I have agree with the other reviews, the scope is not very good quality. I had trouble adjusting the focus on it. I like a scope so will save up my money and buy a better quality scope

    What others should know: When you seat the barrel setscrew use some Loctite or as I did, some Teflon thread tape. This insures that the barrel will not come loose.

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    By kyle from USA on 2015-09-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I liked the option of changing the barrels from.177 to .22. The wood stock is very attractive and the rifle in general is good looking. I bought for small game hunting, I wanted something quieter than my 22, but also wanted something that could offer the same accuracy and function. It's very quiet and delivers a decent punch.

    Things I would have changed: I would not recommend this rifle for someone who really wants to use both calibers. It shoots accurate out of the box. But when the barrel is changed it has to be sighted in which is a pain in the ass. Also the sights are junk. There cheap plastic and easily come off balance, so you really have to use the scope, which is decent and what I expected it to be for the price. Also if your shooting downhill it doesn't shot strait. But if shooting level of higher it's dead on.

    What others should know: Overall, as in anything else you get what you pay for. If your a serious hunter or want something that will last for decades I would recommend spending a little more for something that will last.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Daniel from USA on 2015-07-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: THE included scope on this thing is total junk, pure and simple. I put on a centerpoint 4x32 from a crosman vantage combo and it was dialed in quickly. near as i can tell its the same scope, but for some reason the beeman labled one is just junk. nuff said

    Things I would have changed: just dont include a scope at all if that is the quality you are sending. I would have happily paid the same price for this rifle with out it.

    What others should know: this review is not on the rifle at all, for the rifle is a dimer at 30 yds with open sights. cant even stress in text how badass this rifle is. but that scope included is just absolute junk. i give it a 1 star in accuracy only because beeman decided to put this joke of a scope in the box. open sights are wonderful and totally capable.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Daniel from USA on 2015-07-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The wood finish on this on this rifle is very well done, as is the bluing.love the ability to quickly change barrels as desired. The included case is a nice addition and off quite reasonable quality.

    Things I would have changed: Other than the barrel screw loosening up, which really isn't that big of a deal. Pretty much nothing!

    What others should know: I have only put 200 or so pellets through the.22 barrel so far, but it's already settling in and grouping very nicely @ 25-30 yds with just the iron sights. It's shooting so well not even sure ill bother with the included scope. Perhaps ill try it with higher end scope at some point. Have not fired the .177 barrel yet but I've every reason to believe it will perform as it should. The barrel screw does loosen up after 50-75 shots it seems, but it's really no big deal and easy to quickly tighten. All in all very impressed with the rifle, especially considering the price. And as always, pyramydair is the best!

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James from USA on 2015-06-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I love this airgun. I found it to be well made with beautiful wood, not just plastic and it feels nice when hefted to my shoulder. With the dual barrel configuration I can choose .177 or.22 caliber ammo and that's a big plus. I chose the .22 to start. It is also very accurate after I sighted in the scope. I also added the 10 test shot garranty performed by Christy, it was well worth it.

    Things I would have changed: I changed out the original Beeman 4x30 scope for a Leapers 4x30 with AO adjustment and better scope mounts since spring air guns have more kick. Wish it had an adjustable 2 stage trigger but hay, I'm getting used to it. Also there isn't any place to easily mount a sling. Allen makes a swivel set but it needs an offset chain link to attach it to the front cocking arm. For a little more money I would have ordered it with these attachments added. (something to think about).

    What others should know: You can't beat the quality, versatility and craftmenship of this rifle for this price any where. Even though it was out of stock when I ordered it everyone at Pyramid Air has been very supportive with great customer service all around. You are my 'go-to guys for product and accessories.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Scott from USA on 2015-03-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Excellent accuracy. Awesome power. Being able to switch between .22 and .177 easily. Beautiful wood stock. Great safety placement (in front of trigger). Included scope works well.

    Things I would have changed: After a few dozen shots, the cocking force starts to wear on my arm. Typical springer recoil.

    What others should know: I've had this gun about a year and a half and have easily put well over 1K rounds through it. It's one of my favorite air rifles. Like most springers, it did require a "wear in" period, and I did run through a few different pellets to see which ones it liked more (the RWS Superdomes, in my case). But now, it is one sweet shooter. Just earlier today, I was shooting some Coke cans from about 30 yards away. My neighbor would call out an area on the can, and I had no problem hitting it. My neighbor was amazed that this little airgun was that accurate. And that's with enough power to send a pellet straight through a 1/2" wood target (next to the Coke cans), too. When I want to do some distance shooting in the backyard, this is the gun I grab. Power + Accuracy + Beeman = Great Gun!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Carlton from USA on 2015-01-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Likes. . . .wood stock, dual cal, nice solid feel & weight, cocking effort, decent trigger, overall performance.

    Things I would have changed: Less recoil and a bit more quiet.

    What others should know: Decent rifle with unique dual caliber feature. Pretty accurate once the right pellet(s) are chosen. May decide a scope upgrade for enhanced performance. My second air rifle purchased a year ago 2013 and still enjoying shooting. Limited use in backyard certain times of day due to loudness factor however does not affect the rating. . .knew this when purchased.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Dale from USA on 2014-12-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: As a new air gunner I don't have much to compare with. This gun feels as solid as my Henry rimfire .22 but I feel safe practicing in the basement.

    Things I would have changed: The crown of the barrel is recessed, making it much harder to check or work on. The trigger mechanism will get a polish job as soon as I decide the new is worn off.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jason from USA on 2014-11-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Value,power,stock configuration

    Things I would have changed: A more secure front site,better scope

    What others should know: Front site had to be super glued in place,scope broke (internal glass),but with a "Jerry" Springer,you have to jerry -rig these things from a powerful piston power plant

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Jason from USA on 2014-10-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The wood stock is nice. I prefer this over composite stocks of other models. The scope is decent seems to be holding zero well even after over 600 shots. The trigger is nice only a very minor adjustment of tension to get it to my likings.

    Things I would have changed: The barrel site is a in view with the included scope. doesn't interfere with targeting but does draw attention to it.

    What others should know: give this air rifle a chance. mine was all over when I first got it. it takes around 300-500 shots to break it in and for it to stop dieseling from the factory grease.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Orlando from USA on 2014-05-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Power, dual caliber, nice wood stock. Deadly accurate within 40 yards.

    Things I would have changed: Trigger is mushy and heavy, Scope is not built to last or survive heavy use with this recoil heavy gun. Note: I bought mine several years ago and doubt I have the RS2 trigger. Otherwise a good gun.

    What others should know: Careful not to lean the front sight onto anything. After several hours/months/years of leaning this gun against the wall the fiber optic sights on BOTH barrels broke. The Beeman scope provided also does not hold zero after 5ish years of ownership. Now, I must buy a new barrel from archer airguns dot com. BUT I will gladly buy new barrels to keep running this powerful airgun with open sights.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Robert from USA on 2014-05-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Nice for the money. quite powerful, decent scope, solid wood stock. so far the .22 is accurate out to 35 yards, shoots flat out that far and hits 8" steel every time.

    Things I would have changed: make it lighter! e-gad its a heavy rifle. Install the real RS-2 trigger. The trigger is NOT as advertised, it does NOT have the adjustments that make the RS-2 well known.

    What others should know: There are a couple threads o the interwebs about the awesome RS-2 trigger, this rifle does not have that awesome trigger. Its long, creepy, mushy with lots of pre and over travel and no adjustments can be made. There is one adjustment screw on the trigger itself, that is supposed to adjust the pre-travel. It does very little. There is a second "adjustment" for a second return spring, behind the trigger, and adjusting it also does very little. I may just try to find the old trigger group and install it.

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By BOB from USA on 2014-04-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: GOOD VALUE

    Things I would have changed: BETTER WORKMANSHIP

    What others should know: SCOPE MOUNTED TOO FAR TO THE LEFT, WOULD NOT ZERO IN.... HAD TO RETURN

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By William from USA on 2014-04-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Price and overall quality appears good. Accuracy seems to be decent if you can get past the trigger. It will easilly take out garden and orchard pests ad 35 yards or so. Again the trigger seems to be the only real negative point.

    Things I would have changed: The trigger. I found the trigger very poor.

     
  • 123 ... 78 Next
Navigation