Date: 5/6/2020 3:50
0

Customer Reviews for Benjamin Trail NP - Page 17

Average Customer Review

4.5 (344 reviews)

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:4.0

By espn1990 from USA on 2010-04-23 21:39:46

Things I liked: Powerful and quiet! Love the scope and the scope rail.

Things I would have changed: The trigger! It's horrible. I just installed a GRTIII, made an incredible difference! I have seen a lot of complaints about the trigger on all of the comments. You guys need to order this trigger from charliedatuna.com. $32, shipping included. Money well spent. Also, they need to offer a composite/synthetic stock in the XL series.

What others should know: Not for kids. This is a heavy gun that is hard to cock. I like the weight, seems to help me steady the shot.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:1.0

By Mark from USA on 2019-06-05 19:30:20

Things I liked: Powerful, really really powerful. Went right through 1/2 in fence boards

Things I would have changed: Barrel drop, no way to shoot straight

What others should know: I got this, went out back and tried to sight it in for over an hour, even with the elevation cranked all the way up, shots were over 8in low from 11 yrds out. Returning it, going to get something else.

Sort by:
  • Previous 12 ... 161718 Next
  • Showitems
  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Gary from USA on 2010-03-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings

    Things I liked: It also must be stated that the rifle comes as a complete package, with a decent scope, good sling and sling swivels; ready to go once you mount the scope, install the sling, complete the break in period and sight it in. This is a nice feature that must not be excluded from reviews.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Greg from USA on 2010-03-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Things I liked: Weaver rail scope mount is smart, the whole airgun industry needs to go that way. Shrouded barrel makes the gun very quiet. Thumbhole stock helps the ergonomics. And finally, the power...its got a lot for a springer, and that's easy to like, but its nowhere near the advertized power ratings...see "change" section.

    Things I would have changed: Clearly #1 is the trigger...its horrible. Trigger pull is very gritty, it breaks unpredictably and therefore makes the gun less safe. The poor trigger behavior also hinders accuracy. The #2 change needs to be offering the gun in .20 caliber. Fit and finish is a bit weak at this price point, examples - the plastic trigger guard is too cheap for this gun, and the ebony cap on the pistol grip is finished very poorly. Crosman also needs to get responsible and start rating and advertizing power accurately. I've tested it with a Chrony, and this gun should be rated at 24.5 ft/lbs or 870 FPS with intermediate weight domes like Crosman Premiers or H&N Field Target Trophy. My gun is .22 caliber by the way. Also, the length of reach in your hand to the trigger blade is a bit long, and that's from the perspective of a full grown adult.

    What others should know: This is an adult sized gun by every measure. It is very hard to cock, heavy to hold, and jumps when you pull the trigger. It takes pracitce to develop a cocking technique that won't kill your shoulder, and to hold it properly during the firing cycle. You absolutely need to be a strong, grown, healthy adult to work this gun, or you'll be dissatisfied with it. Also, be aware its made in China.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Yuriy from USA on 2010-03-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: Nice rifle for the small hunting game !

    Things I would have changed: I would put a sight on the barrel

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Patrick from USA on 2010-03-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Beautiful gun ,I Realy liked the thumbhole stock and it came with a sling and scope with weaver scope rails built on the rifle.

    Things I would have changed: Put open sights on it!

    What others should know: So far I have shot about 100 pellets through it and at 120 feet it shoots all over the place ,2-3 " Groups! or greater! I'm buying heavier pellets to see if it helps.The CP 14.3 grains I'm useing now may be tumbleing on it's way to the target at 1100 fps. I will try the H & N Baracuda match ,21.14 grains and get back to you on the results. My RWS 52 ,22 Shoots dead on at this range and I hope I can get the Benjamine to do the same.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Joseph from USA on 2010-03-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.52 ratings

    Things I liked: Accurate, very quiet, seems to be well made. well balanced, powerful, scope is ok

    Things I would have changed: too heavy, stock could be nicer, trigger sucks even when adjusted

    What others should know: Great knockdown power. Very accurate with crossman pointed hunting pellets and super h pointed pellets both around 14.5 grains. I can hit pennys at 25 yards consistantly. at 75-80 yards groups are still 1.5 inches. good small game gun. not really a plinker. this rifle requires some effort to cock and hold for long periods of time. I have the .22 and its about broken in now and has gotten a little easier to cock. The trigger pull could be smoother it just feels a little stiff even after break in. overall I like it and it is well worth the money. As for anything new to the market we will see how she holds up.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By don from USA on 2010-03-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.52 ratings

    Things I liked: MAGNUM POWER!!! This is a legitamite .22 hunter.Great value!

    Things I would have changed: GIVE ME A BREAK...Magnum power,rifled bull XL barrel,great stock,quality optics,gas piston,and very well made.Besides the enormous trigger pull whats there to cry about?.......HOWEVER.......DONT SLING THIS RIFLE!!! Look where the front sling mount connects to a pivot point where the barrel breaks on the underside of the rifle and imagine the stress put on it when slung over the shoulder.

    What others should know: YOU CAN SHOOT THIS BEAST WITH ACCURACY!!!...This is a very challengeing rifle as are all magnum power piston rifles(spring or gas).However the gas piston hype(for the most part) is true.So if you have any experience with what it takes to shoot a springer correctly,you will love this rifle.It still needs an artillery hold but because of the faster lock time,(and it IS faster) it is more forgiveing.Still a little loud and very heavy,but I like that,reminds me its not a plinker.I hunt with a monopod and soldier my rifle.I shoot 21 grain barracuda match for anything beyond 50yrds and JSB 25.4 grain monsters for anything under.This gun ain't no punk!!!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By dave from USA on 2010-03-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.03 ratings

    Things I liked: Has the look and feel of a high quality air rifle and is just that. The included Center Point scope is very nice and works very well. Very accurate. I have put about 300 shots through it so far using a bench rst. I used Crosman Destroyer pellets .177cal , several of these went through the same hole. I also used Gamo PBA Armor and H & N Barracuda hollow point .177 . They all grouped very well at 25 yards. As soon as all the snow is gone I will go for 50 yards and see how that goes and I'll come back with another review. This rifle has "PLENTY" of power so don't be afraid to shoot a heavy pellet.

    Things I would have changed: Absolutely nothing.

    What others should know: Take the time to fine tune the trigger and be sure of your back stop. This rifle has lot's of power. I have a hard time putting it down.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Tom from USA on 2010-03-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Things I liked: Good looking rifle. Thumbhole stock is nice and comfortable. The look of the bull barrel. The scope rail and scope work excellent. The included sling is awesome because it is on the heavy side. The rifle is easy to shoot. Not too loud and not much recoil.

    Things I would have changed: The trigger is very mushy and a little hard to get used to. The rifle is heavy and a little hard to cock, but i was expecting that from a powerful springer rifle. But its not for the kids for sure. Other than that i love this thing.

    What others should know: My rifle is in 22 cal and is very accurate once you get used to shooting it correctly. Mine likes to be held lightly and if bench resting put it on something soft or lay it on your palm. I shot several pellets over the chrony and got anywhere from 21 FPE to 26 FPE. (NOT 30!!!) But close. CPHP did 900FPS and Kodiaks did a 700FPS.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Ron from USA on 2010-03-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Things I liked: I have had this gun for 2 weeks and have put 450 rounds throught it. This gun is a "Tank", weighing 10+ lbs with the scope. Im 6ft/2 and 225 lbs and its all I can handle without a rest. The barrell is s "super" bull and all in all it is rock solid. I,m using Baracude 22 gr. with 35 yard groups in the size of a quarter. Wad cutters even better but not sutable for Hunting. The Nytro Piston is a wonder to behold. With the 1st round you know your going to love it and it only gets better. Smooth but strong cocking, no more sound than my little .177 and the power of a 22 rimfire rifle. You need to really consider your premade targets as it will tear them to pieces. Go to the woods. I was also surprised at the quality of the scope. Myfirst thought was to swithch it out for one of my good scopes but it is real quality and fits the gun to a T- My next mission will be with Preditor Poly tip- They are lighter and may close in my groups. The adjustable trigger(Not mentioned in the product sheet show by Pyramyd) is also solid. Easy to adjust exactly to your feel.

    Things I would have changed: The barrell is so large and heavy that the spring holding the barrel release pin is not strong enough. With only slight pressure the barrel opens slightly, preventing a shot. Just walking in the woods, a slight bump or jar will cause a release. I am advising Crosman by separte letter, as this will could be a problem for Hunters. When you close the barrel it should stay shut.

    What others should know: Spen a lot of time on the bench and shoot/shoot/shoot. I finally selected a zero at 25 yards, 1 in. low at 35 yards, and 1 in. high at 10 yards. Covers a quarter every time.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Joseph from USA on 2010-03-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Very Accurate, Nice Power, Smooth, Quiet after about 30 rounds, Overall nice weapon. I do recomend it to serious hunters, not a plinker gun

    Things I would have changed: Seems to be very bulky and heavy, The stock could be a little more attractive

    What others should know: I just got the .22 today and I only have about 50 rounds down it. So far its a decent weapon. It is definately not a plinker. This gun is a bear to cock and it has alot of weight to it. I wish I could say More but I dont have much time into this weapon yet. When I get more time with it I will add more.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Ryan from USA on 2010-03-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: 1) Quiet. A metallic "ping" noise is its sound signature so far. 2) Relatively powerful/accurate with Crosman Premier Pellets. 3) Well constructed with decent wood. 4) Okay sling. 5) Optic seems well suited to the effective range of the platform. 6) PA.com did a great job of packaging it for shipping.

    Things I would have changed: 1) Knock 5 ft/lb's off the official number. 2) Diesels every shot (haven't hit 100 trigger pulls yet). 3) Incredibly strenuous action (A No Go for: Kids, Seniors, Arthritis). 4) Very large/heavy rifle. 5) Made in China . . .one of the main selling points of the Crosman NPSS was that they actually produced it in the US. . .Benjamins were once produced in St. Louis, MO. Sad day to see the premiere Benjamin being made in China. Actually a major letdown.

    What others should know: I bought this rifle in .22. Good overall value and package. For those considering it, quote me on the action being strenuous, it is. This wasn't the total package I had imagined in my head, and the rifle that Crosman's stat sheets indicate, but it is still a lot of air rifle in a complete package for less than any other competitor.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Eugene from USA on 2010-03-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: The power, it kicks out the pellet with speed. I like the wood stock. The scope is not too bad. I like the Nitro Piston, it does not kick with a twang like my other spring guns do. This gun is fairly quiet

    Things I would have changed: I would like a better trigger and safety arrangement, and make the safety engage each time you cock the gun! Also make the gun so you can decock it with out having to fire it. The over all weight could be a little lighter.

    What others should know: I chose the .22, for the heaver knockdown power. I tried the lead free RWS pellets first and it shoots 1025 fps. Then with RWS Meisterkuglen 14gr it averaged 960 fps. I like the power it has, and its quiet. The wood stock is nice, but the over all weight of the gun is heavy. I like the Nitro Piston it does not kick with a twang like a coil spring does in my other guns. The scope is good for the money. I have not gotten a super good group at 50 yards yet, still trying different pellets. I do not care for the safety, it will not engage when you cock the gun. Also the gun in made in China, I though Benjamin was made in the USA. But over all for a cheep gun with a nice scope its not too bad. I will know more after I brake it in.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By edward from USA on 2010-03-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: I have the 177 and its fast smooth and quieter than my extreams from gamo. The scope is ove good value. they realy are on to something here. The stock is of a faire grade and finish. wood to steel is clean the gun has a nice streamline feel to it. The gun after a good cleaning with jb bore cleaner it went from 1/4" groups to a ragged hole.This is also a very good smallgame gun. it seems to favor jsb heavy target the most h&n barracudas will work for shots out to 50yds but not the most accurate.

    Things I would have changed: The gun needs to be alot lighter now they are npss. this gun has way to much weight for a fun day in the woods. Trigger needs a little work not to bad but a little QC on the line would sell this gun without trying very hard. a diamond in the buff. lets put some close on it . Dress it up a bit ( from the inside)

    What others should know: Give this gun a try. It will not let you down. It dosent like any of the lite pellets. 8.9gr. pellets ok but anything at or above 10.2 gr. its a killer.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Ernest from USA on 2010-03-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings

    Things I liked: IS THE LOOK AND FEEL OF THE RIFLE AND A GREAT SCOPE AND THE SCOPE RAIL MAKES THE SCOPE REAL STABLE, GREAT JOB.

    Things I would have changed: PUT RIFLING IN THE BARREL TO MAKE IT MORE ACCURATE OTHER THEN THAT A GREAT RIFLE.

    What others should know: MORE FEET PER SECOND TO HUNT LARGER GAME.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By eugene from USA on 2010-03-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.02 ratings

    Things I liked: i like the way this rifle feels and shoots knock down power for those masked critters plenty to spare,thanks PYRAMYD AIR !

    Things I would have changed: the trigger is a bit stiff

    What others should know: for the money i think its a very good buy and teamed up with preditor pelets well need i say more............

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Traven from USA on 2010-03-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Things I liked: Gun looks awesome, and fills good in hands. the scope is very nice for a air gun. Wood work on the stock looks super cool, and the bluing is deep and even on the entire gun. It is true this gun is really quiet.

    Things I would have changed: The trigger is not as good as it could be. And is a little on the hefty side. It would be nice to have the option to shoot open site.

    What others should know: All the power you could want. All in all the gun is very nice.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By JOHN from USA on 2010-03-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: This air rifle is well made, accurate, and easy to shoot. It was rather loud the first ten shots, but became much quieter and smoother within twenty to thirty shots. It is more powerful than my .22 Gamo Whisper, my B26 and my B40 air rifles. Shoots RWS 14.3 grain HP pellets accurately. At 10 yards, it will put one pellet on top of the last pellet fired. This rifle shoots a 14.3 grain pellet at about 900 fps and so produces around 25 foot pounds of energy. It does not produce 30 foot pounds of energy as advertised, but is still a powerful air rifle since my Gamo Whisper produces about 18 foot pounds of energy. The Center Point scope is bright and clear and was easy to mount. This rifle requires about 40 pounds of force to cock . The thumbhole stock fits the hand well and this rifle shoulders naturally and well.

    Things I would have changed: The trigger pull is long, creepy , and about five pounds to pull. Charliedatuna sells a replacement trigger called the GRT III which will transform this rifle into a tack driver. This GRT III produces a smooth, short, 1.5 pound trigger pull that will amaze you, and make every shot you take count.

    What others should know: I have not tried other pellets yet, but from other reviews I have read the JSB Jumbo Exacts are very accurate also. Read Jim Chapman's article at The American Airgun Hunter.com in which he reviews this air rifle.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By don from USA on 2010-03-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.03 ratings

    Things I liked: ok....first 100 rounds are through and this thing is still a beast.Love it.Sight it in at 25yds,easier to aquire your target in this nice scope.Has power to kill at 50yds,definetly for hunting.

    Things I would have changed: The economy.

    What others should know: This gun is serious.NOT for back yard play.Make sure your pellet trap is heavy duty if you decide to risk it.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Raymond from USA on 2010-03-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Things I liked: First of all, fit and finish is great.Comes with a sling which was not advertised.I like the thumb hole stock has a good feel with the weight of this rifle. Overall looks are nice. After firing serveral hundred round of crosmans 22cal pointed premium pellets I get dime size groups at 15 yards and alot of one on one holes.

    Things I would have changed: It's a large rifle and has alot of weight to it .With the scoped mounted its even heavier.I would like a lighter stock with this model NP XL. The scope, well lets say it works. I cant get it to keep its zero. The rifle does it part an groups great but, the scope will not stay zeroed.Just when you think you have it dialed in, the next day its off its zero again.I am just tired of playing with it. I am going to order a scope this rifles deserves.

    What others should know: The rifle takes effort to cock but it is a high powered rifle and this should be expected.If anyone has any luck with the scope let me know please. This is a great rifle with alot going for it. This more a hunting rifle than a plinker.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By don from USA on 2010-03-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This things a beast.I wanted a powerful accuarte 22, and i got it.Fired about 20 rounds then went and had it put on a bore collimator to line up the crosshairs to the barrell.After that it took about 6 shots to sight this gun in at 25yds.Shooting 21 grain heavy barracuda match pellets and broke the sound barrier with one.Love the scope.

    Things I would have changed: Would not fit the benjerman deluxe case.

    What others should know: 38lbs of force needed to break and cock.A little tough but i new that before i bought it.

  • Previous 12 ... 161718 Next
Navigation