Date: 19/8/2018 17:5
0

Crosman Legacy 1000 Air Rifle reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.0 (12 reviews)
3 star2 star
Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Sean from USA on 2016-07-30 16:04:00

Things I liked: This thing is an absolute beast! It. It basically seems like an upgraded 2100 which has been the benchmark of pump air guns for about 70 years, so calling it a Legacy is appropriate. And it's warranted, first thing I noticed was how hefty it is, has good weight to it, feels so solidly constructed, a very stable platform. When I began to pump it I could feel the power it stored, by about 6 or 7 pumps it began to be not so easy, and the pump stock it very sturdy. It came with a 4x12mm Crosman scope which is nice, I upgraded the a 4x32mm which is awesome as it gives you a much better field and the ability to see in low light situations. The BB loader is a cap in the butt that clicks completely off which I don't like so much, I remember some of my friends lost the cap and had duct tape on the butt. It has a spring loaded BB magazine as well, but personally I'm going to forget about BB's with this gun, I have a Pumpmaster for BB's. With it's rifled barrell, great and variable power and tuned in scope I will only be shooting pellets with this puppy. For the price this gun is a tremendous value, sturdy, accurate, variable, and durable as hell, will last forever, you're grand kids could shoot this gun with minimal maintenence. The Classic 2100 upgrade 2.0, in black. Nice gun.

Things I would have changed: Not much, maybe the BB load point if you're shooting BB's

What others should know: Durable as hell, you can beat this thing to a pulp and it will still work, and work well. The 4x12 scope it comes with is like and empty toilet paper roll, for a few bucks more get a decent scope. This is no repeater, multiple pumps take time and are loud, loading the breach with the pellet arranged properly can be difficult, but with a pen loader it became very quick and easy. But if you're good and sneaky one shot, one kill is all it takes, and this gun will deliver.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:3.0

By Airgun Papa from USA on 2017-07-30 15:49:38

Things I liked: The power rating is only slightly more than the 2100 classic, but I still like the increase. I would like the cost savings if this were a quality rifle. However, the bosses on the right side of the rifle where the receiver screws are supposed to hold the halves together, were found to be split or broken off as it came from the factory box and the joint between the two haves was noticeably too wide from the start.

Things I would have changed: Well, if you eliminate the plastic receiver and go with metal you pretty much have a return to the 2100 Classic. So if I were Crosman I would dump this product and simply put the improvements (aluminum one piece pump rod, and new valve) into the 2100 Classic. Then you would have all the improvements in a rifle that will last. I would also bring back the 2200 Magnum .22 caliber version.

What others should know: I bought both this Legacy 1000 and a new 2100 Classic to compare them. The new receivers on the 2100 classic are far better than the former ones as they do not have the crude mould seams that the older ones had. The new ones are totally smooth and very attractive. Save the frustration and put the extra $10 to $12 into the model 2100 and leave this plastic offering alone. I am not returning my Legacy 1000 but instead putting its parts into a metal receiver from a 2100. Everything fits and is interchangeable. I had to give it an accuracy rating to submit the review so I just gave the Legacy 1000 a 3 star rating in this category even though it never was able to be used.

Sort by:
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By joseph coelho on 2018-06-11
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: love this rifle I put a leapers accushot mount + good scope an this thing shoots way better than expected

    Things I would have changed: too soon hav to shoot it more

    What others should know: being something new hav to see how long it last without a problem

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Randy Deville on 2018-02-11
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The gun is very accurate mine loves the 7.9 CROSMAN PELLETS I use this gun for small game hunting I no longer shoot a 22 rifle I love this gun I also have 2 break barrel rifles the advantage of this gun is there is no reverse recoil {easy on scopes}

    Things I would have changed: I had the same problem a lot of people have The supports between the receiver halves break I fixed mine by drilling through with a small bit and installing small screws with washers and lock nuts PROBLEM SOLVED. I think a few small things could be done to this gun as far as build quality of course price would go up - and it would be the perfect air gun for small game hunting

    What others should know: I love this gun-cant be beat for the price I have worked with guns and done maintenance work all my life this is a great gun for the price if u are able to fix a few minor issues on it

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Airgun Papa from USA on 2017-07-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.02 ratings

    Things I liked: The power rating is only slightly more than the 2100 classic, but I still like the increase. I would like the cost savings if this were a quality rifle. However, the bosses on the right side of the rifle where the receiver screws are supposed to hold the halves together, were found to be split or broken off as it came from the factory box and the joint between the two haves was noticeably too wide from the start.

    Things I would have changed: Well, if you eliminate the plastic receiver and go with metal you pretty much have a return to the 2100 Classic. So if I were Crosman I would dump this product and simply put the improvements (aluminum one piece pump rod, and new valve) into the 2100 Classic. Then you would have all the improvements in a rifle that will last. I would also bring back the 2200 Magnum .22 caliber version.

    What others should know: I bought both this Legacy 1000 and a new 2100 Classic to compare them. The new receivers on the 2100 classic are far better than the former ones as they do not have the crude mould seams that the older ones had. The new ones are totally smooth and very attractive. Save the frustration and put the extra $10 to $12 into the model 2100 and leave this plastic offering alone. I am not returning my Legacy 1000 but instead putting its parts into a metal receiver from a 2100. Everything fits and is interchangeable. I had to give it an accuracy rating to submit the review so I just gave the Legacy 1000 a 3 star rating in this category even though it never was able to be used.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By STEPHEN from USA on 2017-05-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Accuracy. Price. Variable power. Looks good. Seems well made and solid enough for a mostly plastic rifle. I wanted a rifle with virtually no recoil, but I cannot afford a high end (or even low end) PCP, filling equipment, etc. So I decided to look at pump guns. Initially I was going to get a Crosman 2100b - until this rifle came out. I read as many reviews as I could find (not many, as this gun is still relatively new to the market). But the reviews I found were favorable, and since this rifle is based on the legendary 2100b, which gets very good reviews, I figured I would try it. I am glad I did. It is now my primary air gun, replacing my Beeman break barrel.

    Things I would have changed: I wish they did not even bother with support for BBs in this rifle. In my opinion it cheapens the appeal a little. This is a pellet gun, pure and simple. I will not be putting any BBs through it.

    What others should know: The trigger on this rifle is not nearly as nice as the one on my Beeman. It is long and creepy. Hoping it will smooth out over time. But I did not expect much at this price point and I am getting used to it. I do not feel that it inhibits my ability to shoot this rifle well. Just something to note. This rifle is not nearly as powerful as my Beeman break barrel, even at a full 10 pumps. But that's ok. I purchased this rifle specifically for target shooting and plinking in the back yard. My neighbors are very close and I have a small backyard (15 yards across max) so I needed something a bit less powerful and more quiet than my Beeman. This fits the bill perfectly. Currently, I can hit a bottle cap (basically a 1-inch target) at 13 yards with open sights from a sitting position (no rest). That's pretty good for me, and hoping to improve on that.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ed from USA on 2017-04-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: This review is based entirely on my own opinions and personal experiences with the Crosman Legacy 1000 multi-pump. The Legacy 1000 is a very impressive rifle for its price, surprisingly so. Upon initial inspection, the 'composite' (plastic) all over the gun is seemingly a big let down compared with the claims of power and durability from manufacturer. However, as soon as you begin to pump (you'll feel it) and then fire the rifle, you will quickly dismiss your trepidations of the low cost materials affecting overall quality and shoot on. The Legacy is truly a beast, and it delivers a noticeable amount of power thru very smooth operation- it just feels good to fire this rifle. Lastly, the accuracy and consistency of this rifle is also very surprising. The Legacy 1000 certainly out performs my 2100 and my Daisy 880 in all aspects of power and accuracy. You will feel a difference when you fire this rifle at 12 pumps. In my opinion, its very worth the low price to own this model of Crosman!

    Things I would have changed: It would be nice indeed to have this rifle offered with a metal receiver, and maybe a wood grain stock or chrome barrel (or all three!). Once you actually use the Legacy, all the plastic doesn't really make it feel cheap so much as it makes it lightweight and sleek. It is a very smooth operating rifle. Again, I do not believe that either plastic or metal construction affects the performance or longevity of this (or any?) rifle, its just an issue of perceived or assumed quality and aesthetics. That vanity is the only reason for the 4 star overall rating. Id gladly pay a bit more for this rifle if it had the metal receiver like the RAM 77 or the 2100. (Oh, and get rid of the bb's!! This is a PELLET gun!!)

    What others should know: I actually swapped the metal receiver from a Crosman 2100 with the Legacy's (the 2100 is a lesser rifle) . If you choose to go that route, with a bit of patience and youtube, it CAN be done! Just know that any modifications will void warranties and mistakes or lost pieces could leave you with nothing more then an inoperable pile of junk!! I have read conflicting reports that the Crosman/Remington Airmaster 77 supposedly has the same internals (a TON of power) as the Legacy but with the metal receiver-and the Remington name-however it costs about 20 bucks more (I cant verify if that is actually true!). In my opinion, with that one modification (a swapped metal receiver), combined with the already present tremendous power and accuracy, the Crosman Legacy 1000 is absolutely the best pump up air gun I own. I would even go so far as to say the Legacy 1000 is the best air gun available that cost less then 150 bucks- modifications or not! Read the manual, have fun and be safe!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By David from USA on 2016-12-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Just received it today, and only about 100 shots so far, though: Good accurate .177 cal Multi Pump rifle. Decent power, better than expected it exceeds my Daisy 880's (first .177 pumper to do that for me), PA's 10 for 10 shows 706FPS average of 3 shots at 8 pumps with 7 grain pellets, and this rifle goes to 12 pumps which would probably be around 760 to 770FPS range with 7 grain pellets. This kind of pumper tends to shoot a little hotter when it breaks in a bit, so it may end up being even better than this. This rifle is also shooting more precisely than I expected out of box. THE CROSMAN LEGACY 1000 IS LIKELY TO BECOME MY PRIMARY AIR RIFLE.

    Things I would have changed: At this price? I would remove support for BB's, this has a rifled barrels so it is PELLETS ONLY for me.

    What others should know: Loading pellets is easy, just place the pellet at the bottom of the ramp that leads into the loading channel, and roll it into place with your thumb, perfect load every time. This Rifle is a Rifle, it has a rifled barrel, so it is best to stick with lead pellets, NOT BB's (even Crosman published an article about why BB's are bad for rifled barrels).

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Carlton from USA on 2016-12-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.52 ratings

    Things I liked: Light weight and easy to handle size, good looking rifle. Very accurate, 3-10 pumps for different shooting purposes. Can add a scope to the dovetail base. Decent sights and trigger. Shoots a variety of pellets. Quite, no co2 fuss.

    Things I would have changed: Pellet loading system. Make a repeater style magazine system available. Engineer a multi shot repeater that requires much fewer pumps and higher fps.

    What others should know: Overall excellent pump rifle. Basically a more powerful Crossman 2100b in an all black finish. Add an inexpensive scope and this rifle makes a good shooter for targets including short range small pests.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jeff from USA on 2016-12-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I like the power and accuracy of this gun. It feels and looks like a 2100B on steroids. I have not chronographed it yet, but I will after I put 200+ shots through it to allow for break in. I will also run a comparison with my 2100B. The all black finish looks great and the price makes this one of the best deals on the market. It is definitely not a kid gun. . .

    Things I would have changed: The stock is hollow plastic and the sound of 200 BBs inside really give it a cheap feel. Pick up the gun and you can hear the BBs rolling around like in a baby rattle. Also the pump stock is plastic and makes a cheap noise when the gun is pumped and I added a little piece of rubber to the rear edge of the stock when it hits the piston barrel. I also added a piece at the far end when the stock hits when opened all the way. These two small mods quieted down the gun significantly and give it a much higher quality feel.

    What others should know: I would definitely add rubber or a piece of 1/8" insulation to the edge of the pump stock. That makes a huge difference in noise. Weather permitting I plan to spray the stock with automotive sound absorbing truck bed liner spray to help quiet the sound of rolling BBs in the stock. Out of the box my scope would not tighten to the rail. With the screws turned in all the way in, the distance from opposite side of the mounts to the screw head were 0.853" and 0.849". That was too wide. I squeezed them both with my vice grips down to 0.810" and could mount the scope perfectly.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Charles from USA on 2016-09-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: I bought this for plinking with pellets as I use an old Daisy for BB's. I like it. Pretty accurate, very light and easy enough to pump it up.

    Things I would have changed: Leave out the 'scope' and just add some pellets to the box.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2016-08-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Rifle is light and I can shoot regular size tin cans at 38 yards and it still has enough energy to make the cans dance. Closer shots have more energy and I tryed several different style pellets before picking a longer, heavier pellet.

    Things I would have changed: I think I'd go with a teflon, self sealing piston.. Rifle works good as is though.

    What others should know: I bought two and usually shoot 20 rounds when practicing. If your going to shoot more than 20 rounds better eat your wheaties..

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Sean from USA on 2016-07-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: This thing is an absolute beast! It. It basically seems like an upgraded 2100 which has been the benchmark of pump air guns for about 70 years, so calling it a Legacy is appropriate. And it's warranted, first thing I noticed was how hefty it is, has good weight to it, feels so solidly constructed, a very stable platform. When I began to pump it I could feel the power it stored, by about 6 or 7 pumps it began to be not so easy, and the pump stock it very sturdy. It came with a 4x12mm Crosman scope which is nice, I upgraded the a 4x32mm which is awesome as it gives you a much better field and the ability to see in low light situations. The BB loader is a cap in the butt that clicks completely off which I don't like so much, I remember some of my friends lost the cap and had duct tape on the butt. It has a spring loaded BB magazine as well, but personally I'm going to forget about BB's with this gun, I have a Pumpmaster for BB's. With it's rifled barrell, great and variable power and tuned in scope I will only be shooting pellets with this puppy. For the price this gun is a tremendous value, sturdy, accurate, variable, and durable as hell, will last forever, you're grand kids could shoot this gun with minimal maintenence. The Classic 2100 upgrade 2.0, in black. Nice gun.

    Things I would have changed: Not much, maybe the BB load point if you're shooting BB's

    What others should know: Durable as hell, you can beat this thing to a pulp and it will still work, and work well. The 4x12 scope it comes with is like and empty toilet paper roll, for a few bucks more get a decent scope. This is no repeater, multiple pumps take time and are loud, loading the breach with the pellet arranged properly can be difficult, but with a pen loader it became very quick and easy. But if you're good and sneaky one shot, one kill is all it takes, and this gun will deliver.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By joseph from USA on 2016-07-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.04 ratings

    Things I liked: Looks and the power love the spring loaded bb magazine as well as the side loading port for the pellets

    Things I would have changed: The accuracy was about 2" at 8yds With crosman premiers from a rest. Very disappointed as I bought 2 of them for my brother in law and I to plink and shoot pests with. Accuracy was such that I had to return them as they could not be used for intidid purpose.

    What others should know: I have been an avid air gunner for almost 17 years with 10's of thousands of pellets down range. I do not feel like I was wanting to much from these rifles at there price point. I had a daisy 880 that would do less than 3/8 in at the same 8yds that I paid $40 for. We literally had trouble hitting cans off hand and 15 yds

Navigation