Date: 19/12/2018 12:2
0

Daisy Model 25. Customer Reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (95 reviews)
Pre-order

Out of Stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:3.0

By Rick from USA on 2010-11-13 17:32:05

Things I liked: I opened the box and wrapped my fingers around this gun. When I did it took me back to when I was 12-years old; that was 49-years ago. I never owned one but I met a kid living nearby that owned one, and I shot his. It was a great experience. That all came back to me as I proudly held my own. I took the advice of another reviewer and put some oil on the threads of the screw-in barrel loader. I also oiled the other vital areas before shooting. It worked great.

Things I would have changed: Nothing.

What others should know: When you unscrew the loading port from the barrel be sure to oil the threads before puting it back in. The sights are off somewhat but with some adjustments they will be fine.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:3.0

By Arthur from USA on 2018-07-20 13:21:38

Things I liked: Fun to shoot

What others should know: It was fun to shoot for about 90 shots then the trigger broke and it fires every time u pump the gun without using the trigger

Sort by:
  • 12345 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Ronald from USA on 2018-09-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I had this in the late 40's this took me back to when zI was a kid

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Great price and for me it was a hard to find BB rifle

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mark from USA on 2018-08-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great long size rifle

    Things I would have changed: The rear sight is a little weak

    What others should know: Can't beat this deal. Too bad pyramid air has no incentive for customers that sell guns to their friends.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By John Sheridan from USA on 2018-08-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: Great reproduction of the original 25! Good finish, good as and often better than all other BB guns on the market currently. Accuracy compares to other unrifled BB guns.

    Things I would have changed: Plastic trigger with current Daisy safety (thank the lawyers). Prefer the original folded metal trigger on my original 25.

    What others should know: If this gun had been available when I bought my rusty, beater Model 25 (which I repainted, rebuilt, replacing the damaged plastic butt-stock with a walnut one I made with adult length of pull) I'd have passed on my worn out classic, and bought this one. As is, I may just buy one anyway!

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Arthur from USA on 2018-07-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Fun to shoot

    What others should know: It was fun to shoot for about 90 shots then the trigger broke and it fires every time u pump the gun without using the trigger

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Herb from USA on 2018-07-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: A classic design, 104 years old and still going strong. It's so basic and so easy to operate, just wonderfully simple. The pump action is slick and smooth and, unlike a Daisy lever action, it can be held to your shoulder with your eyes on the target and the rifle can be shucked rapidly without losing sight of the target. In this world, there are some things that just "feel right' and the size, weight, and its ability to be rapidly cocked and fired makes the Model 25 "feel right" ergonomically for an old timer such as I. ( IMO, Ralphie should have asked for a Model 25 instead of a Red Ryder in "A Christmas Story" but, I digress.) I'm almost 69 now and never had one of these and just got mine a few weeks ago and use it regularly to perforate aluminum cans in the back yard; when I'm shooting my Model 25, I'm a kid again. Fun with a capital "F."

    Things I would have changed: Well, the rear sight seems a bit cheesy and I've done a lot of fiddling and diddling with adjustments to correct the windage as it seems to shoot to the right and needs periodic adjustment to correct. Also, the aperture seems to flip back after a few shots but at backyard distances, this is not a big deal. And, as others have mentioned, the fact that the trigger is plastic is somewhat underwhelming. How much more would it add to the price to have a stamped metal trigger? Well, since many have expressed the same sentiment, I would think that some enterprising individual would design and build one to make a good rifle into something even better. Accuracy? At backyard distances, it's fine and when I finally get the back sight adjusted to my satisfaction, it will be even better. And, I only wish that it had a larger magazine capacity but this is something with which I can live.

    What others should know: Checking online, there seems to be an endless list of variations of this rifle in its production history but, again, I never owned one until recently so my comments are based solely on my Model 25. I'd really like to give it 5 stars across the board but the rear sight and its affect on accuracy make it a 4 for "overall" and "accuracy." But, value for the money is excellent if for nothing else but the sheer fun factor of this gun. I have several Daisy rifles and pistols I've picked up over the years and this is probably the most enjoyable. The only thing I regret is not getting one sooner.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Plinkerton Det from USA on 2018-05-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I like the slide action. Plastic safety is a little flaky. It will generally keep tin cans moving,,,,,,but, the times it lets go a left side flyer(off by a foot) is rather unsettling. I would like to use these on a range, but so far there is no way to get it to shoot consistant

    Things I would have changed: I would put on a shoulder strap, neon front sight, vented rib, anything to make it more presentable as a presentation piece and more accurate. I really want to use this in a race course.

    What others should know: Expect fliers to the left about 10% of the time.

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Randall from USA on 2018-03-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Looks good, plenty of power for the small jobs appropriate, not noisy, feels good, sights okay for close up. Seems a quality item. Until...!

    Things I would have changed: Daisy/Gamo NOT use plastic parts in trigger assembly and area. Good grief! What a terrible decision, making these parts of plastic! I had my 25 for about a month and it was a fun gadget but suddenly the trigger assy locked up and suddenly small plastic bits fell out! As the gun was now junk, I took a look inside and more showed broken condition. It couldn't be more a surprise or disappointing. Decades ago this model was a solid reliable piece. We used to shoot ants with it from 25 ft. away, hundreds of rounds. What next, Daisy? Rubber barrel and springs?

    What others should know: Hope for better luck and maybe a 25 you buy will have better plastic parts; or just buy another model or brand; or wait awhile and perhaps the next generation of 25s will be superior IF enough complaints reach the company and they fix the design/materials.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Daniel on 2018-02-26
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: This gun is a good reproduction of the original slide-action Daisy BB gun, although it doesn't work in exactly the same way. The feed system is quite a bit different. It has a feed device that is unscrewed from the muzzle and holds about thirty BBs. The original held hundreds of BBs, but didn't always feed a BB when the action was cycled. This new system feeds a BB every time. The proportions of the gun are good, although a little long for a short-statured person. Accuracy is acceptable, not great.

    Things I would have changed: I think this gun has been designed for safety more than the original gun. The power has been stepped down and the magazine capacity reduced. There is a somewhat clumsy, but perfectly functional trigger safety catch. In this day of lawsuits, all these changes make sense. Some will complain about the power and the limited BB capacity, but in my humble opinion, the gun is perfectly satisfactory for a backyard plinker.

    What others should know: It's a nice fun plinker. Good value for money. Nice looking. Always wear eye protection. BBs ricochet and may come back and hit you. I was a professional firearms instructor for many years. Once I made the mistake of bringing a BB gun to the range. Nobody wanted to shoot real guns, they were fighting over the BB gun like a bunch of kids.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ed from USA on 2018-02-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: always wanted one when younger, then lost out to "real guns"; now at 71 i have one. will spend more time shootin! "whata blast!!!!

    Things I would have changed: please an adult version: longer length of pull, a little more weight for stability, a bit higher comb, larger peep opening, & possible sling mountability!!!

    What others should know: if you don't have one of these... you're missing a ton of fum

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By SF from USA on 2018-02-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I have bought many guns over the years and many right here from P.A.. This "Model 25" is the greatest gun in so many ways. It's accurate out at about 50 yards (good enough for by back yard), it's extremely quiet. The bb hitting the target makes more noise than the gun. Aims and shoots well right out of the box. Smooth pump action. It's a psudo replica of the 1937 no. 25 but it shoot's much better than the Michigan/Arkansas made models (I have a 1919, 1938, 2014 and a few others). I did not know what a functional gun this was blowing it off as a kids toy. I later find the no. 25 was used to train military and law enforcement. The ability to use steel bb's is a big plus and cuts down on the amount of lead laying around on the ground. No other guns carries the on going history of the Daisy no. 25. I was so enthralled by the no. 25 I quickly began researching and collecting them. I even started a blog and YT channel inspired by the no. 25 called the AIR Show. - "CaliAir"

    Things I would have changed: Nothing... but since we can dream... more intricate scrolling all the way down the front of the trigger, ribbed butt stock, six grooves on the handle instead of five, blued barrel instead of the black painted barrel...AND A METAL TRIGGER... you know like the actual 1937 variation #6... but really, I'm not complaining.

    What others should know: The only thing on this that isn't metal is the plastic trigger. The trigger action itself is pristine... but it's plastic. The rest of the gun is wood and metal. I'm an old guy with less than perfect eye sight but the iron sights on this gun work fine for me. Especially after applying a little white paint to the front sight. Rear sight is adjustable but mine have been good out of the box. I've bought every form of air gun imaginable from PCP's, multi-pumps, nitro-pistons, break barrels etc... This gun has changed my whole perception of "bb guns". Nothing has quadrupled my trigger time more than this Chinese made $40 re-issue "Model" no. 25. Check out my review of the new no. 25 on YT on The AIR Show with CaliAir!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Randall from USA on 2018-01-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: On a human scale, one might say. Solid piece of equipment surprisingly inexpensive. Power & noise okay even here in this quiet area (if plinker is cautious). Those BBs penetrate like arrows or something, by the way but still you've got to worry about bouncing BBs. Glasses/goggles always needed everywhere--but "return fire" adds excitement and interest. Accuracy decent at 15' (tested range) tho the long trigger pull makes pest control questionable--am still awaiting a proper pest for a test. A no-worry gun. Simple, apparently reliable for years. No worry if gets scratched.

    Things I would have changed: Shorter trigger throw. Better finger-grip on the middle of the cocking arm(s); as of now, it's tricky to get a purchase on that part, and the hint of a ridge there is not enough.

    What others should know: At this price and quality, I'd say just get one just IN CASE you think you might like one. Really a deal.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Matthew from USA on 2018-01-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: Its plain old awesome. Dont know how I have lived without it.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Fun to shoot

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By RODGER from USA on 2017-11-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The pump action this is why I bought the gun . It is amazingly accurate for the price. The real wood stock and forearm and the metal body of the gun. Great fun.

    Things I would have changed: Trigger should be made of metal. Add a scope mount rail.

    What others should know: Drilled out peep sight to .099 to make it work better.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Colonel from USA on 2017-11-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The traditional finish and materials are true to the original Model 25. It operates just like the old timers. The adjustable rear sights are an improvement over the old design. Powerful and accurate to minute of popcan. First trials test shot a 1-1/2" group at 10 meters--entirely up to expectations.

    Things I would have changed: Make the windage setting click-adjustable, rather than just loosening the screw and guessing. It would be worth the extra cost. Although I know that the original had the embossed fake "engraving", it would look better without it. Make the loading port a bit larger--I rate the ease of loading somewhere between "tedious" and "aggravating."

    What others should know: This is a fun plinker and the price couldn't be better. Good shooter, even if not a powerhouse. A lot for the money.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Walter from USA on 2017-11-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: quick ship, good packing., good service. nice little bb gun, albeit, doesn't shoot as hard as the old ones, trigger is awful. gives me an excuse to take it apart, stretch the spring, and simplify the trig. overall, I would recommend. heck, what do you want for chump change the basic machine functions as originally designed., definitely recommend, heck the wood is worth it..there is fun here.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Azael from USA on 2017-10-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Weight and cocking method. Mostly metal. Sturdy.lacks a feeling of cheapness.

    Things I would have changed: Inaccurate beyond 5 yards. Change the trigger to metal. Allow the sights to be more precise. Made in China, ehh... USA please?

    What others should know: The daisy no.25 is a nice gun. Although beyond 15 feet the bbs just curve to the sides. My red Ryder does not experience this when fired.i check the barrel if it's tight enough and it is. But then again, I have only put 100 bbs through it. It'll probably straighten up as it sets in. I shot both copperhead and daisy zinc plated bbs with the same thing going on. It does seem a bit stronger than the red Ryder, though. The open sights are quite odd to be frank. Front sight post is very odd with it being a strip of metal welded flat on the barrel with a tiny hole on top. Really messes with my eye sometimes.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Willard from USA on 2016-12-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: All wood and metal makes for a solid bb rifle! Long enough for this 6' 2" guy to hold comfortably and weighty enough to hold steady for accuracy. Really like the classic look overall. And is powerful for a plinker.

    Things I would have changed: None. Got what I had hoped for. Already have a 225, but wanted the classic 25 with the wood and original shot tube loading.

    What others should know: Fun to shoot and shoots strong. Something about a Daisy that brings back memories of my youth for this 66 year old. Thanks!!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Randal from USA on 2016-11-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: An absolute hoot to shoot! I had one when I was a kid and I can say it is even more fun to shoot now. I'm impressed with the accuracy and power. Both seem odd to mention for an inexpensive BB gun. At 7 yards I can hit the bottom of a cat food can (about 3 inches) as fast as I can cock and shoot-every shot. Also, about half of the shots easily penetrate the bottom of the can. That seems pretty good as these cans are stout. I have a 1377 and an MK-177 that I really like, but I find that this is the air gun I tend to reach for first. Seems very solidly built.

    Things I would have changed: For the price, absolutely nothing.

    What others should know: Pyramyd Air service is great. Whatever you do, purchase the 10 for 10 service. It eliminates getting the rare defective unit and tells you how fast your gun is shooting versus what is claimed by the manufacturer.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By STEPHEN from USA on 2016-08-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Accuracy. I can't believe how accurate this model 25 is. It exceeded my expectations. I can easily hit a soda can from across my back yard just about every time (between 35 - 60 feet depending on where I stand). The materials (wood and metal) as well as the pump action are what intrigued me the most about this bb gun initially. But the wonderful accuracy makes this model extremely fun. For the price, I am very happy. The fit and finish is pretty good, not perfect, but again for the price my expectations were not extremely high. I find both the notch and the peep sights usable. The pump action works well and is fun. It's a little stiff out of the box but my feeling is that it will loosen up with time and use. I also really like the 50 round spring load magazine. No annoying rattling sound from the ammunition inside the gun. I also like that this gun has some heft to it due to being almost completely wood and metal (the trigger is plastic). This gun is also extremely quiet.

    Things I would have changed: The quality of the wood stock seems a little cheap. I wish the wood stock felt a little more sturdy or robust, but I won't be throwing this thing around, just plinking in my back yard. Should hold up fine. I'll take wood over plastic any day!

    What others should know: This gun is a bit large for younger shooters and the action probably too difficult. I takes a little muscle to cycle it. Would recommend for ages 12 and up. As a 5 foot 8 inch tall adult, I find the action easy to cycle and the size of the gun is not too small. If your expectations are reasonable I think you'll be satisfied with this cool little back yard plinker. This is not a $200 adult air rifle, and as such is not manufactured to the same specs. But it seems to be made fairly well, is made of real wood and metal, and most important it is accurate and FUN!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Randy from USA on 2016-06-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Back in the 50's my cousin had one and I would look forward to visiting him to shoot his model 25. The new ones are just as I remember that old gun. Still easy to cock and really quite accurate. Love the 50 round capacity, shoot until your arm gets tried pumping, LOL. The wooden pump handle and stock are great, so much better than plastic. As far as I can see this gun is all metal and wood, even the trigger that I thought was plastic is metal! Fun, Fun, Fun, gun to shoot.

    Things I would have changed: The rear sight needs attention. The peep site, is way too small a hole. Maybe it's my old eyes, but I had to enlarge the hole to 5/64 so I could see anything through it. Now I can keep all my shots within 3" at 25 '. The "vee" notch sight is too shallow a "vee". It should have been a notch. I like the peep site better now anyway.

    What others should know: This is a solid fun to shoot gun that will bring you lots of pleasure plinking or target shooting. Keep the barrel clean! I run a few Q-Tips down the barrel pushed by a bamboo Bar-B-Q skewer. You'd be surprised what dirt comes out. I think a dry barrel works best. Just oil the gun in the "Oil Here" hole on top of the barrel. I've tried the "Match Grade" BB's and regular BB's. I don't see a lot of difference in my shooting. Maybe it just me. I really like this gun.

     
  • 12345 Next
Navigation