Date: 12/8/2020 17:41
0

Customer Reviews for Diana 240 Classic

Average Customer Review

4.5 (32 reviews)

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By SteelSteed from USA on 2018-01-28 09:00:15

Things I liked: I was amazed at how great a product the Germans put out for $150. I have 55 airguns so I have many guns to compare it to. Flat shooting out to 20 yds. with iron sights. Probably further but that is the extent of my yard. I have faster guns but this is a joy to handle. I love the safety to the rear.

Things I would have changed: Not a thing.

What others should know: Not many guns that I find no fault with.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:1.0

By Mrs. Bunny from USA on 2019-07-22 18:03:49

Things I liked: I especialy like that P.A. took it back! :)

Things I would have changed: On the gun? Sorry folks at this price range, the Chinese are out-classing everyone! (I wish we could change that).

What others should know: Rough! Very Rough! 2017 model. we knew this wasn't going to be perfect, But, what we received looked like everyone 1/2 baked it through the assembly line! The barrel seal was gouged out, and there was a large 1/2 moon burr that was gouging that seal on the piston side of the lock-up. My husband, and gunsmith, said he COULD fix it, but he couldn't find the appropriate parts. And no guarantees on the outcome. So after only 2 rds shot. I opted to return it. Thanks P.A! Conclusion- Spend more-Get more! ?? (maybe)??

Sort by:
  • 12 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By christopher from USA on 2020-06-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This gun is delightful. I use it for indoor shooting. I'm getting 485 fps with an 8.2 grain wadcutter - perfect for indoors. I had the RWS 34 at nearly twice the price and the quality of this gun is almost indiscernible. I'm getting better groupings than with my TR5 and the trigger is smoother as well. I put a 4x scope this gun but the iron sights were quite good for making consistent shots too. While its big brother needed a slanted scope mount to account for barrel droop, this one did not. It's easy to cock and a joy to shoot. It's much less work to shoot than a multi-pump pneumatic, which is what I like about break barrels, and much easier to load pellets into than the Daisy 880 class of multi pumps. Also, at the relatively low power level it does not smack you so hard as the big break barrels do when it shoots.

    Things I would have changed: I'm not a big guy and I find, like with the RWS 34, the distance from the pistol grip to the trigger is pretty far for small hands. It works for me but it's may not for some youth. The Air Venturi TR5 would be better for a small person, but I do find that gun quite a bit more difficult to operate.

    What others should know: So far this gun likes the Meisterkugeln 8.2 grain wadcutters.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Hosea from USA on 2020-05-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Easy, easy cocking; accurate to a fare-the-well; lightweight; beautiful fit and finish; not picky about pellets; lots of power; in short, the ideal air gun.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Michael from USA on 2020-04-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is a quality air rifle. However, after receiving it I decided I wanted to put a scope on it to I went back to your website and took advantage of the chat option. The person seemed very knowledgeable so I took his recommendation for the scope and mount to make sure I had a secure fit. I took the air rifle, scope and mount to the most reputable gun shop in the county where I always do business to have it mounted properly. They advised me that the mount would not fit (wrong size) and they used the mount that came with the scope. So much for your expert. It wasn't a lot of money but I was not happy after making a sizable investment in the air rifle and scope, plus the cost of having it mounted professionally.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Glenn from USA on 2020-03-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I am absolutely impressed with the Diana 240 classic. I bought a reconditioned model and it is superb. Within about 15 shots or so I had it zeroed in with a scope. The trigger pull is really light. I don't know if it came like that originally or it had been adjusted before I bought it, but either way, it is very easy to shoot.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Dustin from USA on 2019-12-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Cocking effort is none existant

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Nice little plinking break barrel fairly accurate benefits greatly from a good cleaning and relub

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By aom22 from USA on 2019-12-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I already owned a tuned/reduced velocity Diana 240 (https://www.rimfirecentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=431071) that John-in-PA has set-up for his wife. However, John's wife preferred another rifle. Her loss became my gain. And I must say, I was very happy with my first 240. But, I wanted to try-out a full-velocity 240. My prior experiance with this little Diana has been nothing but positive.

    Things I would have changed: A shorter-stock commensurate-with its intended user - young shooters. I'm a small-man with proportionately short arms. My ideal length-of-pull is 13-3/8 inches. The LOP of the 240 is a bit longer at 13-1/2 inches. Anyway, the OEM LOP works OK for me. However, for youthful shooters ... the LOP is too long.

    What others should know: The 240 Diana is an adult-sized air rifle ... albeit, not a big gun at all. But, it ain't no little-rifle either. At its price-point, the Diana T05 trigger is very-much-better than one would expect from an entry-level air rifle. It is a very easy to cock and handle. It is a pleasant all-day plinker and informal target shooter.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By David S. from USA on 2019-10-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Just about the best value going in a high quality youth air rifle, for an individual serious about making air gunning a hobby. If you want an accurate springer look no further. Beautiful wood stock. Spot on adjustable sights. 11 dovetail for mounting that optic of your choice. Adjustable T5 two stage trigger. Under 20lbs cocking effort. I am getting dime size groups at 20 yards with a 3-9X40 basic scope. Recoil is almost non existent, quiet and well protected fiber optic sight. At under $150 this is a little gem for backyard or indoor target practice. Oh and Canadian shooters at 585 fps, under that 600 fps so legal to own anyone of age.

    Things I would have changed: Not a darn thing at the price!!

    What others should know: Can be a little pellet picky with skirt width. I find Crosman 7.4gr pointed pellets work great. Not for hunting maybe ratting or mice only.

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Mrs. Bunny from USA on 2019-07-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I especialy like that P.A. took it back! :)

    Things I would have changed: On the gun? Sorry folks at this price range, the Chinese are out-classing everyone! (I wish we could change that).

    What others should know: Rough! Very Rough! 2017 model. we knew this wasn't going to be perfect, But, what we received looked like everyone 1/2 baked it through the assembly line! The barrel seal was gouged out, and there was a large 1/2 moon burr that was gouging that seal on the piston side of the lock-up. My husband, and gunsmith, said he COULD fix it, but he couldn't find the appropriate parts. And no guarantees on the outcome. So after only 2 rds shot. I opted to return it. Thanks P.A! Conclusion- Spend more-Get more! ?? (maybe)??

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Todd from USA on 2019-07-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Bought this for my 10 year old daughter. Great gun. Size and weight is appropriate, with plenty of growing room. A little small for a large adult but very useable nonetheless. The cocking mechanism is light enough for her. I am very impressed with the accuracy right out of the box. At shorter ranges it can give my Dian 350 a run for it's money. Most important, she enjoys it,

    Things I would have changed: Nothing. Even the fiber optic sites work well and are fun to use.

    What others should know: Great gun. Don't hesitate.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jeff_290 from USA on 2019-04-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The Diana 240 is a fantastic German-crafted airgun at an awesome price. It feels like I am holding one of my .22 rimfires - wood and steel! I love the T05 trigger as well - very light. Definitely a step up from my pump/pneumatic airgun triggers. I did not rate the accuracy in terms of stars since this is my first springer and I am still working on the artillery hold as Tom Gaylord recommends. I CAN tell you that the pop can I shot at 10 meters was pretty much destroyed with my first 50 shots. I am excited to continue breaking in the barrel and working on my accuracy - I have a great feeling that it will be a an accurate shooter. Also, Kudos to Tom (B. B. Pelletier) for the great 5 part review of the Diana 240 on the Airgun Academy blog. When I am interested in a particular airgun, I first look to see if B. B. has reviewed it. Once again, he convinced me that this would be my "next airgun". I feel it is the perfect size and power for my backyard plinking and target shoot

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: If this is your first spring piston airgun, you may experience sharp percussive sound in your ear - on the side where your cheek is rested on the buttstock, as I did. I just use an ear plug on that side and all is good. Just an FYI...

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By James from USA on 2019-04-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Fits my 11 year old granddaughter like a glove, she really likes the Diana's firing cycle, one quick snap and very little vibration. Nice finish on the metal work and stock, trigger perfect right out of the box.

    Things I would have changed: There is nothing I would change at the moment.

    What others should know: This is a very nice rifle for a young person or for an adult of small stature and yet a full size adult would have no difficulty shouldering it. Kills soda cans at 20 yards with ease, have yet to try for accuracy but with it's mild disposition I expect it to perform well.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Rich from USA on 2019-02-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It's a nice little break barrel for $149, fairly accurate, light , looks nice.Worked out great for my basement shooting

    Things I would have changed: Mine came without a trigger adjustment screw, PA got me one within a week and it works fine

    What others should know: This is a lightweight lower power gun, for the money it is a quality piece.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Joseph from USA on 2018-12-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The 240 Classes is very accurate, easy to handle, and absolutely reliable. I'm using it primarily to train my grandson and it is perfect!

    Things I would have changed: Basically nothing. Some texturing on the stock grip and forearm would make for better handling.

    What others should know: You will be pleased with this rifle.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By monty from USA on 2018-12-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: This is a fun,easy to cock and shoot air rifle. Nice quality.can shoot all day long as can your wife or kids. Accurate with excellent trigger

    Things I would have changed: Metal sights and trigger.would pay a little extra.

    What others should know: This gun is just as pleasing almost as my my HW 30

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2018-12-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Easy to shoot, well made, great sites, low recoil and nice stock.

    Things I would have changed: nothing

    What others should know: A good first airgun.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Tom from USA on 2018-09-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This little gun has turned out go be tied as my favorite airgun. I have mine mounted with a Truglo red dot. For my uses it has all of the accuracy I can use. The T05 trigger is one of the high points.

    Things I would have changed: The one and major gripe I have with the 240 is the stock. It is definitely designed for scope use. It does not have enough drop at comb for me to use open sights. I have tried several combinations of iron sights. None work for me. I would really like the 240 to come set up to use the standard HW front sight.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Margaret from USA on 2018-08-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: Very accurate. The forward site needs to be metal not cheap plastic, it broke just by falling over once from leaning on wall.

    Things I would have changed: Ftontvsite needs to be metal

    What others should know: Bought two based on Pyramyd Air phone consultants advise for 7 and 9 YO kids. My concern was they couldnt cock it. Sure enough they can not.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ronald from USA on 2018-07-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: excellent quality for the cost

    Things I would have changed: nothing

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Frank A from USA on 2018-06-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.03 ratings

    Things I liked: The price at $149.00 is amazing for a German rifle. Keeping in mind I've only run about 150 shots through mine, the accuracy is good.. Groups of 1/2" at ten meters off hand are starting to come around. I'm hoping that it becomes excellent later. the metal work and fit of stock to action is nice. The trigger is not quite as nice as the rekord on the weihrauchs but it is a pleasure to be able to get a clean crisp let-off. The trigger is why I rated overall at 4 stars instead of three. It's a decent rifle.

    Things I would have changed: I would drop the fiber optics...just my preference, I target shoot and the blazing spectrum of colors is more than a little distracting. Simple, adjustable, iron not plastic sights, with less frill would help accuracy and not increase cost. I would include a manual that was more specific to this rifle. The one that came with mine was generic. The finish on the stock is pretty but the stock was stained and finished over some rather large dents and the final shaping was done in what must have been a serious rush.

    What others should know: The cheek piece is much too high.When you try and rest your cheek on the stock the first thing you notice is a sharp pain as your face slams into the cheekpiece. I have many guns of all types and the only other one that has a cheek piece this high is my Umarex Octane. This makes the gun almost unusable without a scope. I have to twist my neck and raise the butt of the stock halfway out of my arm to try and get my head tilted enough for a decent sight picture. If I decide to keep it and work the stock down about 3/4" I think the accuracy will be outstanding. Also be ready to tighten every single screw. My sights were very loose, and the three stock bolts were only finger tight.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Sebastien from USA on 2018-03-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Very light, very accurate

    Things I would have changed: The plastic rear sight is not fantastic. Does the job, but would be good to have more elevation and some clicks to keep the setup.

    What others should know: Overall great gun for the money.

     
  • 12 Next
Navigation