Date: 10/12/2018 7:9
0

Diana 240 Classic. 24090201. Customer Reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (17 reviews)
1 star

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By SteelSteed from USA on 2018-01-28 09:00:15

Things I liked: I was amazed at how great a product the Germans put out for $150. I have 55 airguns so I have many guns to compare it to. Flat shooting out to 20 yds. with iron sights. Probably further but that is the extent of my yard. I have faster guns but this is a joy to handle. I love the safety to the rear.

Things I would have changed: Not a thing.

What others should know: Not many guns that I find no fault with.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:2.0

Value for money:2.0

Accuracy:1.0

By wayne from USA on 2017-05-27 14:35:19

Things I liked: Everything seemed perfect until I started shooting it. I couldn't get better than 1" at 10 meters and couldn't do better than 2" at 20. It also wouldn't hold the same point of impact for the groups I shot. One group would be normal then out of no where it would shoot 2" lower. I tightened the stock screws and cleaned the barrel but accuracy didn't improve. So I sent it back and purchased a weihrauch hw30s. The HW30 shoot sub 1" at 20m and 1/4" groups at 10m.

Things I would have changed: All the pellets I had fit very loose in the breech

Sort by:
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Tom from USA on 2018-09-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This little gun has turned out go be tied as my favorite airgun. I have mine mounted with a Truglo red dot. For my uses it has all of the accuracy I can use. The T05 trigger is one of the high points.

    Things I would have changed: The one and major gripe I have with the 240 is the stock. It is definitely designed for scope use. It does not have enough drop at comb for me to use open sights. I have tried several combinations of iron sights. None work for me. I would really like the 240 to come set up to use the standard HW front sight.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Margaret from USA on 2018-08-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very accurate. The forward site needs to be metal not cheap plastic, it broke just by falling over once from leaning on wall.

    Things I would have changed: Ftontvsite needs to be metal

    What others should know: Bought two based on Pyramyd Air phone consultants advise for 7 and 9 YO kids. My concern was they couldnt cock it. Sure enough they can not.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ronald from USA on 2018-07-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: excellent quality for the cost

    Things I would have changed: nothing

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Frank A from USA on 2018-06-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The price at $149.00 is amazing for a German rifle. Keeping in mind I've only run about 150 shots through mine, the accuracy is good.. Groups of 1/2" at ten meters off hand are starting to come around. I'm hoping that it becomes excellent later. the metal work and fit of stock to action is nice. The trigger is not quite as nice as the rekord on the weihrauchs but it is a pleasure to be able to get a clean crisp let-off. The trigger is why I rated overall at 4 stars instead of three. It's a decent rifle.

    Things I would have changed: I would drop the fiber optics...just my preference, I target shoot and the blazing spectrum of colors is more than a little distracting. Simple, adjustable, iron not plastic sights, with less frill would help accuracy and not increase cost. I would include a manual that was more specific to this rifle. The one that came with mine was generic. The finish on the stock is pretty but the stock was stained and finished over some rather large dents and the final shaping was done in what must have been a serious rush.

    What others should know: The cheek piece is much too high.When you try and rest your cheek on the stock the first thing you notice is a sharp pain as your face slams into the cheekpiece. I have many guns of all types and the only other one that has a cheek piece this high is my Umarex Octane. This makes the gun almost unusable without a scope. I have to twist my neck and raise the butt of the stock halfway out of my arm to try and get my head tilted enough for a decent sight picture. If I decide to keep it and work the stock down about 3/4" I think the accuracy will be outstanding. Also be ready to tighten every single screw. My sights were very loose, and the three stock bolts were only finger tight.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Sebastien from USA on 2018-03-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very light, very accurate

    Things I would have changed: The plastic rear sight is not fantastic. Does the job, but would be good to have more elevation and some clicks to keep the setup.

    What others should know: Overall great gun for the money.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Terry from USA on 2018-03-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Things I liked: The Diana 240 Classic is my first Diana airgun. I find it to be a quality product and very accurate. It is quite easy to cock and the open sights are satisfyingly good. The trigger is very smooth, breaks cleanly and the 240 is surprisingly quite and backyard friendly. Most of my other airguns are scoped but I have decided to use this 240 with open sights and it doesn't disappoint. The wood stock is beautiful and fits the metalwork quite well. I'm impressed...especially for the price of $150 (however the new catalog Pyramid sent with the gun has the price raised to $199.) If you're looking for a low-to-medium power springer that has a reasonable price, I can highly recommend the Diana 240.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing. It's almost perfect the way it is now. The quality is outstanding.

    What others should know: Enjoy.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By SteelSteed from USA on 2018-01-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I was amazed at how great a product the Germans put out for $150. I have 55 airguns so I have many guns to compare it to. Flat shooting out to 20 yds. with iron sights. Probably further but that is the extent of my yard. I have faster guns but this is a joy to handle. I love the safety to the rear.

    Things I would have changed: Not a thing.

    What others should know: Not many guns that I find no fault with.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Steven from USA on 2018-01-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: Easy to cock, lightweight, accurate with a mild shot cycle.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing, its a perfect plinker and a nice rifle for a youth to learn on.

    What others should know: You get what you pay for; a nicely finished rifle that is not overly hold sensitive with outstanding accuracy. I have about 800 shots through this rifle and it is not pellet picky. I purchased this rifle for basement target practice at 10 meters. The whole family enjoys shooting this rifle.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Rony from USA on 2018-01-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Bought mine from Pyramyd- The quality is Diana. Mine is just pretty all over. It shoots just fine for its intended purpose , that is mostly plinking with open sights. I have no doubt that with a small scope it can group very well at distances beyond 10 or 15 yards. As for shooting offhand at cans at 10 to 20 yards with open sights you will see that missing is not part of the game. I have a collection of Diana magnums that can only be shot from sort of rest because of their weight, ergo the tripods and shooting sticks. The 240 is a baby Diana 34 , it has the same excellent German craftsmanship , the great TO5 trigger but its a lightweight. The deal I got on mine with two high quality metal targets included made my Christmas this past year. German quality at this price is very seldom seen. No if or buts its a DIANA!

    Things I would have changed: Expect it to diesel a lot because of the oil they put on the piston and spring to keep it lubricated foot shipment and storage. This smoking takes a while to cease maybe 50 or more shots. If you know how to work with RWS / Diana rifles its a walk in the park to correct the dieseling and lubricate it properly. The factory Breech seal I find that its to low and maybe the problem that causes bent skirts noticed by Tom Gaylord. I chose to change the one on mine.

    What others should know: The Diana 240 classic is a wonderful rifle for plinkers. Expect 500 feet per second velocities with 7 grain pellets, that should be about close to 5 foot pounds of muzzle energy. Cocking effort is just right for kids 12 and up. Kids as well as adults can shoot this gun for long periods because of the ease of cocking. This is not a gun for hunting, its designed for shooting fun, always with the proper precautions. I have no doubts it is a rifle I can recommend for pleasure shooting.i

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    2.0 2.0

    By SG from USA on 2018-01-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: Nice size, weight, balance, fit and finish. It's a very handy rifle. It's not too small for an adult, but it's also kid-friendly. It's Made in Germany. No barrel droop.

    Things I would have changed: I don't care for the fiber optic sights. That's a fad that needs to go away. I bought three of these rifles, because the price/value is very high. Like others, I've had some issues with accuracy/consistency too. At 20 yds, I'd get a few shots in a tight group, then they'd seem to drift and become inconsistent. I "think" I've found the cause, or part of the cause. When I remove the front sight and push a pellet through the bore from the breech to muzzle there is a definite burr or rough spot at the very end of the muzzle. When the pellet is flush w/ the end of the rifling, that's when I feel the bump or resistance. It is not the barrel choke, but more like a manufacturing glitch. Chucking a pencil into a cordless drill and applying JB Bore Paste to the point, then polishing the muzzle end for a few minutes removes the rough spot. Due to weather, I haven't been able to re-test the gun at 20 yds, but I'm hopeful.

    What others should know: One of my 240s would detonate badly when firing. I had to tear it down to remove the grease/oil from the chamber and properly re-lube the spring and piston. The other rifles sound very dry and mechanical when cocking and firing. I suspect they are dry inside. This gun has potential to be an R7 or HW30 competitor, but seems like Diana made mistake(s) with the barrel. If the burr at the muzzle is the primary issue, then the fix is fairly easy making this rifle an excellent value. Out of the box, I can understand people being disappointed w/ the gun's accuracy. I'll add to the review and revise ratings after I have a chance to shoot again at 20 yds

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Robert from USA on 2017-12-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: I own about 35 air guns, so have several to choose from. Up to this time one of my favorite guns to take out plinking was my Bronco. Now it and the 240 sit side by side. They are both all day shooters and a lot of fun. I like to shoot both of them with open sights.

    Things I would have changed: Not a thing, it's great the way it is.

    What others should know: Not a hunting gun, just a fun gun.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By John from USA on 2017-12-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This is a first impression review on the 240. Opening the box the first thing you notice is the beautiful wooden stock. It is plain but very well done. Also the great bluing on all metal parts. Although this gun is designed for youth I purchased it for my wife and the siz and ease of cocking make it perfect. Ive only put a few RWS pellets through it but the feel of the trigger is precise and crisp. It has the T05 adjustable.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing so far.

    What others should know: The main reason for me choosing this gun was the Diana reputation and very positive reviews. Also the price is excellent and very competitive. More on this gun later.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By polaris from USA on 2017-08-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Looks great, yummy trigger feel, perfect safety placement and action, easy cocking. Light recoil and reasonable back yard power level. Might be accurate. If you're going to scope it you'll probably be happy.

    Things I would have changed: Sights didn't work for me at all. Rear sight design is floppy, front sight is a glow-worm with no obvious way to replace it.The fiber-optics did not match up with the iron sights (if they were leveled the front post stuck up above the rear sight line). The fiber spots would behave differently as the light changed, requiring further adaptation. The final fix was to tape over them, but the floppy rear sight was still too inaccurate. Two or three shots would hold tight, then the group would shift on some random vector. Tapping the sight before firing helped a little. Spring was crunchy but that might have settled out in time, or maybe it just needed some goo.

    What others should know: I really wanted to like this gun. I think the trigger is exceptional, but the first stage was long and transition was indistinct so I went to adjust it and there was no screw. Oops. The shot grouplet pattern made me think the gun might be pretty accurate, but I was never able to confirm that. There was a chip in the metal inside the breech seal and rough machining on the dovetail. So I returned it. But I gave it four stars because I think it might be good with a scope. I saw it as an iron sight gun, and if they ever get rid of the current sights (or even just make the front sight replaceable) I might try again. I doubt they all have the defects (other than the sights) and the design is otherwise quite nice.

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    1.0 1.0

    By wayne from USA on 2017-05-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: Everything seemed perfect until I started shooting it. I couldn't get better than 1" at 10 meters and couldn't do better than 2" at 20. It also wouldn't hold the same point of impact for the groups I shot. One group would be normal then out of no where it would shoot 2" lower. I tightened the stock screws and cleaned the barrel but accuracy didn't improve. So I sent it back and purchased a weihrauch hw30s. The HW30 shoot sub 1" at 20m and 1/4" groups at 10m.

    Things I would have changed: All the pellets I had fit very loose in the breech

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Everett from USA on 2017-02-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Things I liked: The Build quality is very nice. The trigger is excellent. I like plain iron sights but the ones here are useable. I bought this rifle for a ten year old and it is just right. The cocking effort is light, the rifle itself is not too heavy. Excellent youth rifle or an all day plinker for an adult.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: The one I got was very inaccurate. I'm used to an air rifle taking some time to break in but after 2000 pellets more or less the accuracy not getting any better. I tried every pellet in my collection, cleaned the barrel, checked the screws nothing helped. I changed the scope to see if that was an issue but it wasn't At ten yards rested the best groups were around 2" with some wild flyers with the best pellet. At twenty yards it was hard to hit soda cans consistently. Pyramyd is an excellent vendor and glad that I bought it there.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Phillip from USA on 2017-01-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.52 ratings

    Things I liked: This is an excellent plinking rifle, it's lite and and very accurate. The trigger is great and the sights are quite nice.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing I would change. It's just a great shooting little rifle.

    What others should know: The build quality is very decent, not as nice as my HW30 but it's $130 cheaper. This is a great rifle for a youth or it's nice to put away the high powered break barrels somtimes and shoot a accurate light weight little rifle.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gary from USA on 2017-01-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.52 ratings

    Things I liked: I also own a RWS Diana 24C (Carbine) T03 purchased in 2001. The 240 Classic is similar to the discontinued Model 24 but has the better T05 trigger, is much easier to cock, has a rear stock butt pad and an integrated dovetail rather than a mini riser on my 24C. I cannot comment on the sights as on both models I removed the stock sights for Action Arms Pro 5 Red Dot sights. Both the 24C and 240 Classic weigh about 5lbs 4 oz with stock sights and 6 lbs 2 oz with my dovetail rings and red dot sights. However, on the downside, my stock 24C has a max velocity of 700 fps while the 240 Classic has a max velocity of 580 fps gleaned from the 10 for $10 tests using RWS Diablo Basic .177, 7g. For me, the 240 Classic is a worthy successor to the Model 24 and a bit more accurate mostly due to the T05 Trigger.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

Navigation