Date: 25/10/2020 9:56
0

Customer Reviews for Evanix Rainstorm II

Average Customer Review

4.5 (54 reviews)

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By ecgarin from USA on 2013-11-08 14:13:14

Things I liked: the power it has and the accuracy you can do groups of a quarter size at 80 yards, the stock is great and very light weight great hunting rifle you can easily kill a rabbit at 100+ yards

Things I would have changed: nothing

What others should know: these gun is worth the money trust me you won't be disappointed it has everything power accuracy and lightweight, i think evanix is one of the best air rifles in the market, and trust me i have cricket,condor, air ranger, marauder, fx indy and the one that takes the trophy is the evanix.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 8 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:1.0

By RICHARD from USA on 2016-02-08 20:51:12

Things I liked: It's a pretty gun the end.

Things I would have changed: The barrel. The ammo clip. The safety. The air tank. The baffling.

What others should know: This is the most inaccurate pellet gun I have ever shot. Their is no twist in the barrel. The ammo clip never ever works right. Guys, I can not think of anything I like about this gun other than it's good looks. I am a honest guy just sharing my own experience with this gun..

Sort by:
  • 123 Next
  • Showitems
  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By ERIC from USA on 2020-04-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The looks and the power, accuracy

    Things I would have changed: Offer a synthetic stock. Regulate the thing! Add a better quality rotary mag.

    What others should know: This review is after having the .22 cal gun for around 4 years. Still shoots great and I haven't done one single thing to it except grab it once in a while and shoot it. Surprisingly reliable..I added a Altaros reg and lapped the barrel and polished up the internals upon purchase. It likes around 40 Foot pounds.These guns are set up smoking fast out of the box. They need to be calmed down a bit. No problem at all killing squirrels at 70 yards with it. I saw my son knock one out of a tree farther than that. I love mine. I also have a Blizzard. It's set up the same way and shoots great too.Just don't expect them to perform like mine out of the box. They're still not an FX, AirArms or Airforce, but all in all they're pretty dang good guns "If you like tinkering " The rotary mags aren't the greatest . I've had some trouble with them jumping past pellets and they're too narrow to accept the newer style slugs. But hey, for a sub $700 gun I'd buy one again...

  • 1.0 1.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Lorraine from USA on 2018-10-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very nice rifle......BUT !!!!!!

    Things I would have changed: The bolt to barrel fit is way off!!! the .22 .25 .30 .357 ALL have this flaw. with the bolt closed and no mag in shine a light at the bolt/barrel interface and the look down muzzle end of gun and you will see a large gap of light around bolt fit !!!. It is NOT o-ring fit problem. There is NO parts here stateside to fix these . I had to make New oversized bolts to fix ALL my 6 rifles . PA does not have the machines to fix this problem as We do. Stay away for awhile untill this problem has been fixed at factory. Don't say you were not warned..

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kevin from USA on 2018-08-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Awesome gun! I bought this in .357/9mm (.35 cal). What a Hoss. Shoots straight and level. I zeroed my scope at 25 yes. Only up 1 mil dot to 50 yds. I haven't gone to 75 or 100 yet, but I have no doubt it will perform equally as well. As always, Pyramid did what they said they would do.

    Things I would have changed: I would change the safety. It's a bit cumbersome to get on & off.

    What others should know: Buy this gun, you won't be sorry!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Brian from USA on 2018-08-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: My .30 cal is a beast. It is shoiting 86 ft lbs with 50gr jsbs. Mine is accurate at 35 and 50 yards. At 35, a dime covers it. At 50 its under an inch. Crony starts at 881 shot one to about 798 shot 7.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: Jsb 50 gr are a little more accurate than the 44.75 gr. The gun balances great. Not back yard friendly.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Daniel from USA on 2018-07-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Everything! This is not my first pcp air rifle but has fast become a favorite. I ask Pyramyd to pick a nice stock and they picked a beautiful one. Butter smooth side lever, magazine is metal and indexes just as smooth. Bluing on the gun is flawless and this gun is solid. Im 5 feet eight 190,..this gun is a perfect fit ergonomically and while solid, does not feel heavy. This gun is designed with the hunter in mind. I had jsb 44.75 and jsb 50 grain on hand. First shot with 50 grain,957. First shot with 44.76, 991!! Wow!!...sighted in at 50 yards and this gun will stack both pellets. Evanix has a winner in the .30 cal rainstorm. Thank you Pyramyd, for great service and a great gun.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing!

    What others should know: This gun is loud! Not backyard friendly, though its not meant for that. There are plenty of aftermarket options for that if you choose. Buy it, you wont regret the gun or the service from Pyramyd!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2018-06-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Everything about it.

    Things I would have changed: None

    What others should know: Very light weight and smooth side lever action.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mike Lovett from USA on 2018-04-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Have had the Rainstorm II a couple of months now, and the accuracy continues to empress. At first, the .25 JSB's were the most accurate. coming n at 996 fps from the factory. The 34 Gr were accurate, but not nearly as accuate. Now two months in, I have adjusted the speed, and polished the bore. What was a 1/2" gun at 30 yards, is now a tight one hole ag. 50 yards, under 1/2", an 76 yards many groups 1/2 to only slightly more. Odd thin is, this is all with the now more accurate 34 Gr JSB's. In the Texas wind, they perform vastly better than the 25 gr, as would be expected with the Higher BC. Gun is light, handy, and the fit and finish is far beyond the price range. You could not give me an FX Royan for this gun. It is that good. Period. It was very loud out of the box. I put a very well made DonnyFl Shogun LDC on it, and wow! very quiet indeed. Hammer slap is louder than the report. I kid you not! New style mag. is very reliable. Much like a DayState mag from the Airwolf

    Things I would have changed: Make the thumb hole stock more available again.

    What others should know: Got in a Hatsan Nova in .25 first. Not even in the same universe in fit finish, precision, and power and accuracy as the Rainstorm II. One a very rough action, one unbelievably silky smooth. One is more like a 400. usd airgun, the other more like a 1500 usd airgun. LOL!!! No comparison what so ever! Pyramyd air was very helpful. The Air Venturi department there was outstanding.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dwayne on 2018-03-22
    Was this review helpful?
    4.343 ratings

    Things I liked: The gun is accurate. I mean it *is* accurate. I scoped mine with a high power scope. 100 yard shots are a breeze. Side Cock is nice.

    Things I would have changed: A little more consistency in FPS. I bought the 25Cal. Also, a better way to know how many pellets you have left in your round clip. Yeah, it is a 10 round "Round" clip, but you can't see the last 3 or so shots. . they are hidden. I would also like to have some kind of sling too. The gun has no sling, and it is almost a must when carrying this rifle.

    What others should know: Scope it with a GOOD powerful scope. I would suggest over scoping it. As silly as it sounds, this gun is nice and accurate. There is absolutely no Kick at all. Loudness. . .Folks. . .this gun is LOUDER than my Remington 22. . . and I mean it is loud. I highly suggest purchasing a spinning target with a reset. Without the reset, you will be walking 75 yards many times to reset your targets. I get about 30 shots per fill in the green zone. (I haven't counted it, but I go through about 3 round clips before pumping the pressure back up. I also noticed on mine, when the pressure was at the top (200), my accuracy was not as good. But as soon as it dropped to about 180 to 190, everything was dead on. I have had it for about 1 year now.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Don from USA on 2018-02-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Power and accuracy. Lever action is smooth and the trigger is perfect right out of the box. Mine is a 30 cal and it will stack pellets in the same hole at 35 yards

    Things I would have changed: Just wished it had a little more meat on the stock for swivel stud to mount a bipod

    What others should know: They do come from the factory shooting hot. Mine was shooting 989 fps with a steady drop between 10 to 15 fps. I down tuned it now have 9 good shots from 914 up to 924 back to 914 fps that gives me about 82 to almost 85 fpe.

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By David from USA on 2018-02-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: This was a beautiful gun that shot accurately, but did not reach the expected power levels that caused me to purchase it. Although it was a .25 caliber, it only showed power of 38 foot pounds, and even then for only 2 or 3 shots, at which time the velocities dropped with each successive shot, with the accuracy dropping after about 12 shots. I reluctantly returned it to Pyramyd after talking with the service department and bought a Walther Maximathor .25.

    Things I would have changed: The gun was defective and should have had better quality control.

    What others should know: Even if a purchaser gets the 10 for 10 service, that will not guarantee a non defective gun.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jim from USA on 2017-11-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I have 3 of these Rainstorm rifles in .30, .25., and .22. They all shoot as accurate as pellet guns costing twice the price. Excellent side lever cocking and magazine functions. The .30 has a very nice sporter stock and the .22 and .25 have very nice thumb hole stocks. I highly recommend this series of Rainstorm pellet rifles. These are great sporter rifles and a very good value.

    Things I would have changed: These rifles come from the factory shooting very fast. To be able to adjust the power, I shortened the hammer springs by 2 coils on all 3 guns letting me adjust the hammer spring screw in or out to optimize the power for the pellet I use. I used a chronograph to check pellet speed. This also gave an increase in shot count and more consistent pellet speed. I use (H&N 21.14 gr Baracuda Match in .22)(H&N Baracuda 31.02 in .25) and (JSB Exact 44.75 in .30) all shooting at 900 fps.

    What others should know: These guns are all loud as sold from the factory. But in my opinion they are intended as hunting rifles and not as loud as a .22 rim-fire rifle. This makes them usable without ear protection in the field and less likely to scare of potential game to be taken. Because they fill to 2900 psi max pressure they can be filled with a quality high pressure hand pump.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Thomas from USA on 2017-06-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.264 ratings

    Things I liked: This is an excellent hunting rifle with great accuracy in .30 caliber. The breach lever is very smooth. My .30 came with a beautiful thumbhole stock which I really like. This is a fairly light weight, high quality gun with amazing power. Filling the air chamber with a tank using the Evanix fill probe takes no time at all and the pressure gauge located under the stock is well located. Trigger is very nice and adjustable. You can de-cock this rifle.

    Things I would have changed: Quiet this baby down. It is very loud.

    What others should know: This is not a backyard plinker. It is a seriously powered beast and loud. I can shoot a few rounds in my backyard with the neighbors at work on lawn mower/leaf blower day. I just got back from the indoor range sighting in my scope. 5 shots through a dime sized hole at 25 yds with big guns going off around me and being showered with expended casings. I do not at all doubt of any of the 50 and 100 yard groups that I have read about. See Dave Cole's review on youtube. I have a 4-16 Hawke scope. Consider a more powerful one if hunting 100 yds. My magazines hold 7 rounds each not 8. Polymags do not readily fit into the magazines. They are just a tad long. I shave off just a bit off the tips and they will work. Manually loading single pellets into the breach without the magazine is no problem. I never thought I would love a rifle as much as my .22 Marauder, but this is close. I use the super quiet/super accurate marauder for my house pest gun and this one for hunting or special occasions.

  • 5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jaxworks from USA on 2017-06-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.264 ratings

    Things I liked: Absolutely the most accurate PCP I have ever owned. I have the 30 cal....which specifically ordered because I did NOT want the thumb hole stock offered on the .357...but I received a thumb hole stock anyway (when I called to ask for an exchange I was told that if they took a conventional stock off another rifle to exchange with my new stock...that their rifle would magically become "used' and they could not sell it for new) So much for so called 'customer service"....oh, BTW no problem...they will sell me a new conventional stock for $180....

    Things I would have changed: People buy based on the photo shown...keep the photos updated ..or be prepared to fix the issue without some lame excuse...

    What others should know: Call and ask and get a commitment about any question you have...once it's shipped you are SOL....

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jeff from USA on 2017-02-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: I received my Rainstorm .30 in December of 2017. It came in a small package like I would expect with a bullpup, with the stock and rest of the rifle separate. To my surprise and delight it came with a thumb-hole stock... fantastic stock for an air rifle at this price point. Others on the GTA forum have done reviews on this rifle at .30 and so far they are all positive. I'm really impressed so far.

    Things I would have changed: I wouldn't change anything on the airgun except maybe loose the probe and replace with a quick disconnect... but that is just my preference. Going from .25 to .30 is kind of a shock when it comes to the price of pellets, but I'll use this airgun for hunting and don't go through too many pellets, so it's not too big of a deal for me.

    What others should know: If you are a hand-pumper like me, I think this is really a good choice because of the fairly low fill pressure. For the .30 I like to use one mag and re-pump to keep pumping effort to a minimum. I wouldn't want to use a .30 for target practice unless I had a tank setup. Check out the GTA and in particular "Mannys Corner" if you are considering this rifle.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Robert from USA on 2017-01-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: My Rainstorm is the .30. It has a great looking stock, seems to handle well. Accuracy was pretty good as far as I'm concerned for this caliber. My shooting was done with Polymag pellets (which needed to be shortened a bit to function in the mag). It has a lot more power as compared to my Marauder .25. I only gave it 4 stars for accuracy but as I get more use out of it that could change.

    Things I would have changed: I wish it had a spot for a front sling stud in a proper place. I've seen where some guys put a stud a ways back from the forend where the wood gets a little thicker, but in my mind the balance will be off for carrying with this placement. The muzzle has a tendency to swing down (if you sling it muzzle-up that is).

    What others should know: It's louder that I thought. I knew going in that it would be quite a bit louder that my .25 but was still surprised just how much louder it is.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By ERIC from USA on 2016-06-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.54 ratings

    Things I liked: Beautiful gun. Absolutely a tack driver.

    Things I would have changed: Get away from the very porous and brittle Sepatia wood. Improve the baffling, the thing is LOUD

    What others should know: Received my .22 cal RS2 with the stock completely broke into at the wrist, after getting a new stock, Before ever shooting it. I installed a Altaros regulator, set it too 160 bar, roughly 2300 psi. removed the barrel, polished the leads and gave it a thorough cleaning with JB compound. Chronied the gun and with 21g Kodiak pellets, it is producing right at 43 fps of energy, 965 fps. I then shot a 5 shot group at 30 yds off of my lead sled rest. ALL 5 shots went through the same hole! Moved back to 50 yds and shot a 10 shot string and you could cover the group with a thumbtack. Shot several different types of pellets through it, all were 19g or heavier and ALL shot very accurate tight groups, not pellet finicky at all. These guns in .22 cal have a very positive response to being regulated down a bit from their HOT factory settings. I have shot guns that cost 3 times what I have in this RS and this gun will out shoot nearly all of them. I'll put it up against any FX of Daystate any time.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Micah from USA on 2016-05-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.52 ratings

    Things I liked: Well made , powerful and accurate

    Things I would have changed: Stock is kind of bulky around the receiver making it difficult to get at the saftey for leftys

    What others should know: After site in put 5 in about the same hole at 25 yrd , moved to 50 yrd, 5 more in the same hole , can't wait to see how far out this rifle will reach

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By RICHARD from USA on 2016-02-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.08 ratings

    Things I liked: It's a pretty gun the end.

    Things I would have changed: The barrel. The ammo clip. The safety. The air tank. The baffling.

    What others should know: This is the most inaccurate pellet gun I have ever shot. Their is no twist in the barrel. The ammo clip never ever works right. Guys, I can not think of anything I like about this gun other than it's good looks. I am a honest guy just sharing my own experience with this gun..

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dwight from USA on 2015-12-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: I bought a refurbished rifle (.25 cal) and without a doubt it is the most accurate air rifle I have ever shot (it is also the first PCP rifle I have ever bought). It will primarily be used for hunting. The wood on the stock, while not spectacular is very nice and the stock design is excellent. The trigger was gritty and at 3.5 lbs when I got the rifle, I stoned and polished the sear surface and bobbed one spring and now I have a glass smooth trigger that breaks at 2.0 lbs. The 50 yd 5 shot groups average around 1/2" using JSB Heavy kings. I have also ordered a (Hume) regulator to reduce the shot to shot variation. All in all, an excellent rifle, lots of power and shoots one hole groups at 30 yds. I give it a thumbs up. I have already taken two raccoons (30 yard head shots) and a musk rat (63 yard head shot) with it.

    Things I would have changed: I would suggest better trigger refinement referring to pull and smoothness. Better baffles in the shroud and or a silencer and a regulator. Also the magazine will not function with Beeman/H&N Silver Bears or Silver Arrows and that too needs to be addressed.

    What others should know: If you don't want to tinker with the trigger or add a regulator than pay the extra money and get a German (HW) or English(Daystate or Air Arms) made rifle, it will just cost you a lot more and you may not end up with the same power level.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By deerflyguy from USA on 2015-09-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.52 ratings

    Things I liked: I just received my Evanix Rainstorm II in 9mm/.357cal., and so far, I couldn't be happier with the purchase. Well packaged by PA, and although the outer box showed signs of having survived rough treatment in it's journey, no apparent damage was done to the gun or other misc. contents of my purchase. In my order, I asked some favors of PA which weren't any obligation on it's part, but which were done to my satisfaction. Thank you PA! I paid for the 10 for $10 check, and a record of the service was included within the inner gun box. Every aspect of fit and finish is as perfect as that of other guns that I own, which include FX, Daystate, Weirauch, Beeman, and others. I attached my Omega compressor directly to the gun, and it pumped up flawlessly, and continues to hold the charge. I attached the probe that came with the gun, to a male adaptor which allows my foster fittings to directly attach to that male adaptor. 2 solid mags, made of metal, come with the gun, and that is all you need.

    Things I would have changed: There isn't much ammunition available yet for 9mm/.357cal. guns, with JSB having a virtual monopoly on most of the sales happening today, which IMHO has resulted in overpricing, but other sources of supply, such as "Hunter's Supply", in NM, are out there if you look hard for them on line. H & N puts out a 82 grain pellet (bullet) but the JSB works best so they say. As soon as more guns in this caliber hit the market, hopefully ammunition prices will come down.

    What others should know: I haven't had time to shoot the gun yet, but the 10 for $10 service results using 9mm/.357cal., 81.02 grain JSB Exact pellets, and a starting pressure of 200 bar, shows a range of 667.71 fps to 806.40 fps spread; 13.87 fps std. deviation. the first 5 shots averaged 6.48 fps std. deviation, while shots 6 thru 10 averaged 24.17 fps std. deviation. I intend to send this gun off to Will Piatt at Saddle Mountain Gunsmith, for some tuning, but that won't be for quite a spell, as their work load is backed up for nearly a year. He should be able to smooth out the trigger, lengthen and better the shroud by several decibels, and increase the power by up to 100 more psi. The Evanix is worth the effort, I think? I put off buying it, as I did not have faith in the Korean manufacturing process, but if this gun shoots as good as it looks, my procrastination was in vane. Oh yes! The sepatia stock is absolutely beautiful, and so is the bluing! Buy it! You'll like it too!

  • 123 Next
Navigation