Date: 1/6/2020 19:49
0

Customer Reviews for Gamo Swarm Maxxim

Average Customer Review

4.5 (187 reviews)

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By micheljgaudet from USA on 2017-03-13 03:42:43

Things I liked: EXACTLY as Rick Eutsler presented in his video review! At thirty yards, and using the CORRECT pellet(s), I get quarter-sized groups - CONSISTENTLY. I am REALLY looking forward to having the little squirrels and bunnies say HELLO to my new Gamo friend... hee hee hee. Oh, and the loading mechanism is working VERY smoothly. But as I am a bit 'rough' with my handling... not too much... and as it is a VERY simple procedure to switch-out the loading mechanism in the field, I think I will go ahead and just get me another_ for JUST IN CASE. Yes-sir-ree, so far I REALLY like this SWARM MAXIM.

Things I would have changed: Make the cocking effort a bit less, IF possible. For those of you who have the Benjamin Trail NP2, you will find that the Gamo takes a bit more OOMPH to cock. I was really surprised, as the Gamo has a bit less FPE using the same weight pellet. But other than the SURPRISE regarding the cocking effort, there is NOTHING else negative for me.

What others should know: People, you have all heard that term regarding this rifle... A GAME CHANGER. Well, in my honest opinion, I believe this to be absolutely true. So now the game becomes WHO WILL ADOPT THIS NEXT? I am hoping that a ton of the major manufacturers will at least consider adopting the system.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:2.0

By Kyle on 2018-12-28 01:39:58

Things I liked: It felt very well made and the butt plate was good.

Things I would have changed: I really tried to like this gun. I wanted something with a scope, mult-shot, and a break barrel. When I found this I was hyped up. It met every requirement I had but when I got it I was so mad. It had a horrible scope, the scope was so inaccurate no matter what I did. I shot it and the gun kept jamming. I was incredibly gentle but still after 30 shots exactly the spring broke and the gun wouldn't shoot. The magazine was cheap and terrible. The numbers on it never were correct and always would drop the pellets out of the holes. I'm so angry and I already sent it back. This is the worst experience I've ever had with an air gun.

What others should know: Just don't buy it.

Sort by:
  • 123 ... 910 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dallas from USA on 2020-04-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Berry well built. Price point good. All the feathers make it nice to shoot

    Things I would have changed: The scope.it works till you get a good one

    What others should know: Grate for praying planking and pest removal. The mag is a grate ad on if you are having trouble with hitting Ware uaim use heavy pellets takes down squarls and rabbits no problem I have the .177

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By James from USA on 2020-04-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This thing felt great it was lightweight came up quick, clean and shouldered really well. the magazines are relatively easy to load and their user-friendly can't put it in any way but one.

    Things I would have changed: Everything about the brand! I'm a loyal Turkish fan now at 6, yes six Spanish failures! I've given those guys over $1,200 for their weapons that are now in the trash! I've got the receipts to back it up and I've got the pictures of beautiful fully functioning hatsan weapons to prove I'm not a clown or an idiot! I don't think it's humanly possible that I could get 6 lemons and if anything now that I've grown more in the sport I'm even rougher on my hatsans then I was on my beginning Gamos.

    What others should know: Be careful with the red 22 magazines they tend to leak pellets out and not really work very well. Some when their new, some when they get older every single one I've encountered ended up in the dumpster! However the blue one, my 177 is my only surviving functioning Gamo weapon out of 6 purchased!! Be careful with this brand, read the reviews, look for older reviews, look for updated reviews.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Michael from USA on 2020-04-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: 10 shot

    Things I would have changed: Better scope and different magazine location

    What others should know: Love this gun for the quick reloads

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Edward from USA on 2020-02-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Things I liked: The feel, the 10 shot magazine, ease of cocking.

    Things I would have changed: For Heavens sake! If youre going to include a scope.... at least make it serviceable! Break in... it should NOT take 500+ rounds!

    What others should know: I purchased this gun for head to head comparison with the swarm Whisper. This gun took far longer/more shots to break in... like around 500... and is far less accurate than the Whisper. The Whisper was shooting good groups (1inch @ 20 yards) about 100 rounds. After 500+ rounds, the best the Maxxim can do is 2-3 inches, with ALWAYS 2-3 flyers out of each 10 round mag. THE ONLY THING better on the Maxxim is the trigger. That being said you can get close if you modify the 2.5mm trigger screw on the Whisper. Overall the Maxxim IS NOT WORTH THE EXTRA $$ you pay for it. Buy the Whisper, change the 2.5mm trigger screw to a 10mm long one, and CAREFULLY adjust it. Could it be a fluke? Maybe, but for $50 more, the Maxxim should be significantly better than the Whisper..... and in my experience, it is not.

  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Cameron from USA on 2020-02-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.663 ratings

    Things I liked: I liked the clip but found out it is more trouble than it is worth.

    Things I would have changed: I would have put some open sight on the gun and taken off the clip and the mussel brake.

    What others should know: I had more problems with the gun then any other airgun I have bought and I got a couple.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Bobby from USA on 2020-01-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Overall fit and finish very good. Should provide years of enjoyment.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Bobby from USA on 2020-01-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great power, accuracy and function.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ralph from USA on 2019-12-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Good light weight rifle, the magazine is excellent, 10 easy shots in quick order, Most accurate .22 I have at 20 and 30 yards. I like the fact that the Gamo scope that came with the gun was not an AO scope. Most of the AO scopes I have that came as a combination did not function well. I love this gun.

    Things I would have changed: I would add iron sights to this gun. Also include 2 magazines instead of one.

    What others should know: My Swarm likes Crosman premier domed ultra magnum 14.3gr pellets.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jim on 2019-12-17
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I have this gun for over a year I have both the .22 and .177 shot well over 1000 rounds each gun .flawless haven't have a jam yet.thinking of getting the new swarm fox.just because of gen2 .and magazine.

    Things I would have changed: Could give a better scope.but I put new scope on all my guns any ways .

    What others should know: For the price you are getting the best bang for your buck .at to me it is. I be getting the new fox soon.everyting else out there is not quite as good.proxima cost alot more synagis the mag falls off .crosman magfire after cocking have to bolt action to load .for people that cry about this gun.go get yourself a better one.but there isn't any at the price .to me this is the closest to a PCP. I have move freedom too.

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Fernando on 2019-12-06
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Nice trigger, smooth recoil

    Things I would have changed: Its not accurate.

    What others should know: Not very accurate, switch scope to utg bug buster, 4 different types of pellets, cant group it.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Bruce from USA on 2019-12-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Gotta love the 10 shot clip

    Things I would have changed: Add iron sights

    What others should know: This gun is terribly inaccurate, so far have tried 12 different pellet weights and configerations. I should have listened to other reviews and videos. Above all I should have returned it, mechanism works great but what is a gun worth that can't hit a saucer at 20 yards

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Richard from USA on 2019-10-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very accurate. Sighted in quickly.

    Things I would have changed: Loader is cheap and flimsy. Broke within 100 shots. Called GAMO customer service and they are sending a new one with installation instructions. See below for why this happens.

    What others should know: Do not, under any circumstances, pause or hesitate or partially cock the gun. If you partially cock it, and and then re-Vick it you will load two rounds which will cause the loader springs to break free from the gun. No fixing it. Have to get a new loader from GAMO They are good for it. Do not let someone who is not strong enough to cock it in one fluid motion cock it.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Coyote Predator from USA on 2019-10-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: The price is so affordable for any hunter it's the best Rifle on the market all around The Power is Deadly the thing is very easy to carry but well Balanced for long shots in short Power Price And Quality Makes it the Ultimate Squirrel I never shot a Gas piston Airgun that's as Accurate and Quite and as Fun as this

    Things I would have changed: Nothing it's Perfect

    What others should know: If you are looking for a hunting Airgun for Squirrel hunting this Is It it's So Affordable and it's Better than a Single Shot It is made to Drop and Sling around in the woods It's For Hunters By Hunters GAMO KNOWS THERE STUFF

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Darren from USA on 2019-10-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: The price ... got it for less than $150.00 ... Looks nice

    Things I would have changed: scope not accurate...but as we all know .........

    What others should know: Issues with pellets falling out of the magazine while cocking it.... very dicouraging while trying to kill a running squirrel!

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Joe on 2019-10-11
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: 10 rounds, accurate. Easy to use, handles well. Good looking, too.

    Things I would have changed: Scope! What I would change is having the option of iron sights as the scope is the worst optic I have ever used, unless I got a lemon? I wound up using a BSA and the true accuracy of this gun now shines through.

    What others should know: This is a great gun in and of itself. Dump the scope or you just be frustrated.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Lawrence from USA on 2019-07-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This gun has been great! Its lightweight, accurate and has plenty of velocity! The 10 shot magazine has worked flawless so far! Really fun gun to shoot

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: I have found the crossman destroyer pointed dome pellets to be extremely accurate at 20- 40 yards

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Louis from USA on 2019-06-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.663 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: 10 shot clip.

    Things I would have changed: Not sure yet

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Marc on 2019-04-28
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: Great pellet gun. I love the 10 shot feature and so far it has worked perfectly.

    Things I would have changed: The safety is a little annoying, but I will get used to it.

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Matthew from USA on 2019-04-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Just the power I didn't buy this one from pyramid air. Sorry pyramid after my last rifle purchase I wanted to buy from some one I could return it to if it had problems.

    Things I would have changed: Work on the accuracy of this rifle there is no reason why a game made rifle should have such a spread with even there own pellets. Also even long pellets fall out when breaking the barrel the ones. I get about 3 out of 10 that fall out of the mag. And almost 100% of the pellets that do load without falling out get there skirts squished. Your never going to have accuracy with squashed skirts.

    What others should know: Keep in mind this is gonna shoot like a crossman if you have bought any of there recent rifles starting to wander if crossman is making gamos rifles now. Go with a hatsan those guys are on point when it comes to accuracy.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Reg from USA on 2019-04-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very light weight, easy to aim and load!

    Things I would have changed: Could really use a better scope, but I realize at this price it's good.

     
  • 123 ... 910 Next
Navigation