Date: 7/6/2020 3:42
0

Customer Reviews for Gamo Varmint Air

Average Customer Review

4.0 (5 reviews)
3 star2 star1 star
Gamo Varmint Air
Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Stephen from USA on 2017-08-29 14:05:38

Things I liked: very accurate for a spring powered rifle. Very moderate cocking effort for the achieved velocity. My Gamo Varmint is pushing 8.18 grain H&N wad cutter lead pellets at a consistent 910 feet per second. EXCELENT results.

Things I would have changed: nothing

What others should know: This rifle just keeps getting better with use. I have now shot close to 1,000 pellets thru it. Several styles of pellets that it shot just O.K. when new, it now shoots them very, very good. I have a large quantity of daisy wad cutters that I bought for less than 1/2 cents each on clearance at local farm supply stores. None of my other 177 cal. guns, rifles or pistols shoot them worth a darn. Now that the Gamo Varmint is broken in, it now shoots the Daisy pellets almost as well as the high quality H&N match rifle pellets. This makes for very economical plinking. I have found a pellet that this rifle has fallen in love with. H&N Match Rifle wad cutter pellets, 8.18 grain. H&N Match Rifle, .177 Cal, 4.49mm, 8.18 Grains, Wadcutter, 500ct This pellet makes this rifle think it is a PCP. It just puts them exactly where you point the gun. This target was shot at 10 meters from a bag rest by a 68 year old guy who doesn't see all that well. Shots #1 and #2 Were scope adjustment shots dialing in the point of impact for the new pellets. This is great performance from such a moderately priced gun with a non AO scope. This rifle shoots many pellets moderately well. It has a very nice trigger, making it easy to shoot accurately. The safety that does not reset itself is a feature I really like especially when target shooting. I like this almost as much as my gas piston Benjamin Prowler. This is probably the easiest to shoot spring powered rifle that I own. The recoil and torque are very moderate.

The most helpful critical review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:4.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:4.0

By deffenda from USA on 2020-04-20 16:02:44

Things I liked: The things I like? It's light. I like the synthetic stock. It fairly accurate out to 30 yards. I can consistently hit a 3 inch round piece of steel at 30 yards with the cheap scope and Crossman destroyers. It's pretty powerful too for a low end Springer. There's some noise and vibration from the spring when it fires, but as long as I have something to lean against when shooting I've learned how to hold the rifle so that it shoots consistently.

Things I would have changed: It should probably come with open sights, although the scope does its job.

What others should know: There are tune kits for this rifle. There's a guy in Europe selling a "double" spring kit. I suppose if the Sprint in mine broke, which it will at some point, I *might* consider ordering the double spring kit. Then again, I think I might invest in whatever the latest low end Springer is. I got a smoking deal on this rifle. If you can pick it up with a bit of discount, like using a PA coupon, I would not hesitate pickup this rifle.

Sort by:
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By deffenda from USA on 2020-04-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: The things I like? It's light. I like the synthetic stock. It fairly accurate out to 30 yards. I can consistently hit a 3 inch round piece of steel at 30 yards with the cheap scope and Crossman destroyers. It's pretty powerful too for a low end Springer. There's some noise and vibration from the spring when it fires, but as long as I have something to lean against when shooting I've learned how to hold the rifle so that it shoots consistently.

    Things I would have changed: It should probably come with open sights, although the scope does its job.

    What others should know: There are tune kits for this rifle. There's a guy in Europe selling a "double" spring kit. I suppose if the Sprint in mine broke, which it will at some point, I *might* consider ordering the double spring kit. Then again, I think I might invest in whatever the latest low end Springer is. I got a smoking deal on this rifle. If you can pick it up with a bit of discount, like using a PA coupon, I would not hesitate pickup this rifle.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By David S. from USA on 2019-08-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Best break barrel air rifle hands down for the money. Light weight, under six pounds. Great trigger. Not as long and cumbersome as some of the fancier models. Its a spring piston which is not offered in most of the other gas piston Gamo's. All the power you need for small game like rabbits, squirrels, and pests. Scope is good enough for the rifles capabilities. Nice stock with ambidextrous cheek piece. Great no frills get the job done rifle. Only 30 lbs of cocking effort so no sore arms. Accurate as any other expensive models. Under $100 bucks! No brainer get this gun you won't be disappointed!

    Things I would have changed: Sling mounts on all rifles please!

    What others should know: I own many break barrels including magnums and larger calibers. One thing I have noticed is most of them focus so much on "FPS" and silent technology. They end up being long, heavy and hard to cock. If you are shooting over 1100 FPS you are not going to achieve much accuracy once the pressure of the sound wave catches up with the pellet and causes it to wobble in it's flight. Yes I have a .25 spring piston and it is a beast. If one truly wants a good survival rifle, you want something light, synthetic stock to resist poor weather, and something that isn't as long as a musket when going through brush. I would grab this gun before my magnums or large calibers. Most quarry does not require more than the 17 + foot pounds this rifle produces. It is simple and throw on a Gamo Buddy sling or a para cord and you could carry this one all day. Use a 10 grain pellet and you can easily drop anything you would need to feed yourself in a day after or hunting scenario.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Allen from USA on 2018-06-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: For the money-Great shooter right out of box.At 10 yards grouped all shots together was very happy. Easy cocking.Did clean barrel first. When attaching scope removed the rear rings only.Did not remove front rings.After attaching shot one inch high and vertically dead on. Trigger is good.Been collecting and shooting air guns for 40 years. As have said for the money good rifle.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing to date.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Stephen from USA on 2017-08-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.03 ratings

    Things I liked: very accurate for a spring powered rifle. Very moderate cocking effort for the achieved velocity. My Gamo Varmint is pushing 8.18 grain H&N wad cutter lead pellets at a consistent 910 feet per second. EXCELENT results.

    Things I would have changed: nothing

    What others should know: This rifle just keeps getting better with use. I have now shot close to 1,000 pellets thru it. Several styles of pellets that it shot just O.K. when new, it now shoots them very, very good. I have a large quantity of daisy wad cutters that I bought for less than 1/2 cents each on clearance at local farm supply stores. None of my other 177 cal. guns, rifles or pistols shoot them worth a darn. Now that the Gamo Varmint is broken in, it now shoots the Daisy pellets almost as well as the high quality H&N match rifle pellets. This makes for very economical plinking. I have found a pellet that this rifle has fallen in love with. H&N Match Rifle wad cutter pellets, 8.18 grain. H&N Match Rifle, .177 Cal, 4.49mm, 8.18 Grains, Wadcutter, 500ct This pellet makes this rifle think it is a PCP. It just puts them exactly where you point the gun. This target was shot at 10 meters from a bag rest by a 68 year old guy who doesn't see all that well. Shots #1 and #2 Were scope adjustment shots dialing in the point of impact for the new pellets. This is great performance from such a moderately priced gun with a non AO scope. This rifle shoots many pellets moderately well. It has a very nice trigger, making it easy to shoot accurately. The safety that does not reset itself is a feature I really like especially when target shooting. I like this almost as much as my gas piston Benjamin Prowler. This is probably the easiest to shoot spring powered rifle that I own. The recoil and torque are very moderate.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Richard from USA on 2017-02-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Things I liked: Got this today as a replacement rifle , im glade I did out, of the box accuracy, good quality finish, good blueing, decient scoop, put the scoope on and at 15 meters got a dime sized group , wow this rifle is not even broken in yet. gun is also very light, now that ive tried one of there lower cost guns , im definetly going to get the new gamo swarm

    Things I would have changed: maybe some open sights would be good but other than that, nothing!

    What others should know: very good entry level kit, easy to cock , not too loud,

     
Navigation