Date: 25/10/2020 9:55
0

Customer Reviews for Gamo Whisper Fusion

Average Customer Review

4.5 (19 reviews)
1 star

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Nick from USA on 2016-07-05 09:01:56

Things I liked: Bold body design and overall look. Powerful as advertised. Easily dispatches critters up to raccoon size. Solid scope mount and excellent scope for the money. great gun for hunter and plinker. Quiet shooting..Hardly noticeable in backyard.

Things I would have changed: A little hard to cock but manageable.

What others should know: This gun is not light as most break barrel airguns. Built solid and hard to hold in firing position for extended times,.

The most helpful critical review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:2.0

Value for money:3.0

Accuracy:2.0

By Zeek from USA on 2018-08-04 00:04:07

Things I liked: The design, the smoothness of cocking, the trigger, the way the stock fits.

Things I would have changed: Corn cob rough barrel leaded up in just a few rounds. Rather than send it back to Pyramid, I did 200+ rounds of fire lapping with fine-grit valve grinding compound. As the lapping proceeded, the accuracy improved and the leading tendency diminished. I'll leave it alone, now, as I can get around sixty shots before having to give it a cleaning (small lead strips evident on patch). Gamo needs to improve a LOT to make even half-ass OK barrels.

Sort by:
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Stanley K. from USA on 2020-05-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Power and low noise level. Accuracy is really great.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Christian from USA on 2020-05-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I purchased a refurbished model. The stock ergonomics are excellent: perfect stippling texture, correct comb height for scope use and an area on the bottom of the stock in front of the trigger guard perfectly designed for off hand palm placement. The CAT trigger can be adjusted to perfection, but you will need to go to a longer M2.5 screw to get the full range of second stage adjustment. The barrel lock up is positive, with no stringing noticed after approximately 500 pellets through the rifle. Power and accuracy are excellent. 60 yard shots are only limited by my ability to hold the rifle steady. The one piece scope mount is excellent.

    Things I would have changed: My main complaint is that it is not as quiet as I thought it would be based on the reviews. I believe mine is loud enough to damage my hearing and I am shooting heavy pellets. I put a foam ear plug in my right ear (I am a right handed shooter), as that ear seems to get more of the report than my left. Minor gripes: The included scope is serviceable, barely, as every Gamo owner knows. Mine loses sharpness at 9X. While not a light rifle, carrying it for a few hours in the field is manageable. Sling studs would be handy for climbing and shooting positions. My green rubber stock band rubber off/fell off somewhere - no big deal. I found the comb to be too high for me to use the iron sights easily. I wish the suppressor/moderator was removable for inspection and cleaning of the barrel.

    What others should know: I use a pellet pen to load. I prefer this method to the Swarm system on my son's rifle. Seating pellets properly is easy with nice breech chamfering. This rifle is as long as my .30-'06 hunting rifle with a 24" barrel, so it requires my longest soft and hard cases. I am having good results with Crosman Premier Domed Ultra Heavy 19 grain pellets. Finding a good way to clean the barrel was challenging. Patch Worm flex rods get hung up in the suppressor. I tried straws, but could not get them to stop the rod from hanging up. I eventually used monofilament fishing line about four barrel lengths long and small split shot. I tie on three patches on at a time a little over one barrel length apart using overhand knost. I put small split shot on the lead end of the line and let gravity to pull the line through the muzzle. Cheap, effective and easy on the barrel.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Stanley from USA on 2020-04-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The overall weight and balance is great. It shoots very hard and is pretty accurate. The trigger has good feel. I prefer the break barrel gas rifle to the PCP guns (due to expense and hassle of charging). I bought it online and the price was reasonable (wasn't in stock at Pyramid Air). It is really a quiet gun compared to most, it makes a clunk sound when shooting. Overall I think it is a really good gun for the money.

    Things I would have changed: There is a lot of plastic (trigger, trigger guard, sights, suppressor) on this gun. It makes it more affordable just hope it lasts (it does come with a 5 year guarantee). I would also have liked for it to have a swivel on the butt stock for adding a sling (for people that hunt and carry it long distances.

    What others should know: I have an older Diana 34 springer (177 caliber). The advantages of the Gamo Whisper fusion over this gun is that it is 22 caliber and shoots a lot harder. It is quieter and lighter weight and comes with a fairly decent scope. Overall I like this Gamo Whisper fusion a lot.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    2.0 2.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James from USA on 2020-04-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Power vs weight is ridiculous!

    Things I would have changed: I'd make the breech seal a little more tough. Mine blew out after about 1,500 rounds. Still shoots, it's just loud as hell.

    What others should know: This is a thumper of an airgun it's got a monster piston in it. Don't put the garbage optic on it, it'll beat it to death! I've had horrible luck with Gamos overall, horrible, 6 out of 8 are in the dumpster! And mine of this very model is broken with a breech seal in the closet. Yet I would still recommend this weapon hit is a good gun I think I just wore mine out.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Brian from USA on 2019-06-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: The weight and balance .the adjustable trigger was crazy at one point I adjusted it and as I went to aim my finger barely brushed the trigger and the gun went off.and the power at first

    Things I would have changed: Well considering that I had to return two of them because of diminished power after a general break the first one the more pellets I shot (3-400)the more wild and weaker the results.the 2nd one just lost power after 300 or so shots .both were bought at big 5 (different stores ) so maybe that has something to do with it

    What others should know: If the gun would have kept its power and accuracy it would have been a keeper .I was seriously bummed out I had to return them not to mentio the time and money and hassle ( my room mate hates air guns and bitches when she sees me shooting .so I put up a camera in the driveway so I would know when she pulls up so I can stop shooting ) spent breaking the rifles all for nothing was irritating .

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Timothy from USA on 2019-01-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very comfortable to hold for extended periods left or right handed. I'm learning how to to shoot lefty and I'm surprised how easy and comfortable it is. Still working on accuracy and which pellet to use but Crosman premier hollow points seem to work best. Trigger is smooth and easily adjustable.

    Things I would have changed: So far, nothing.

    What others should know: I got the refurbished model, after a month still shooting well.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kurtis from USA on 2019-01-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: good quality.once i got a good feel of the gun i was hitting a quarter size metal spinner at 35 yards on the average 9 out of 10 shots with the crossman premier .22 cal. hollow point 14.3gr. pellets.Very happy!

    Things I would have changed: nothing

    What others should know: great that i learned the artilery hold. made my shooting experience great

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Steven from USA on 2018-11-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: At 67 years of age and a lifetime of shooting this is my first air rifle. I love it. Set up a 10 yard range in my basement. Mounted the scope and right out of the box I was getting sub 1/2" groups. Lot of fun.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: This is a real rifle, not a toy.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Scott from USA on 2018-09-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Everything about this gun is great

    Things I would have changed: Nothing at all

    What others should know: Scope in pin correctly and a little tlc and it's spot on

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Doug from USA on 2018-08-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: The Gamo Whisper was given to my by brother for my 79th birthday, so I have been shooting a long time, both of us would be considered as expert pistol shots. Understanding how to shoot this rifle had a bit of learning curve as the mechanics are different than the standard 'firearm' but once knowing about the internals, I was able to shoot some pretty tight groups and 100+ ft. I would say for the money and for all around general 'rodent reduction' you could not go wrong. An excellent choice

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: I would suggest as part of the instructions, you might consider how one would hold and shoot the rifle. I stumbled upon the 'artillery' method and made all the difference in the world, several "bird seed thieves" kills more than 30 yards.

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Zeek from USA on 2018-08-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: The design, the smoothness of cocking, the trigger, the way the stock fits.

    Things I would have changed: Corn cob rough barrel leaded up in just a few rounds. Rather than send it back to Pyramid, I did 200+ rounds of fire lapping with fine-grit valve grinding compound. As the lapping proceeded, the accuracy improved and the leading tendency diminished. I'll leave it alone, now, as I can get around sixty shots before having to give it a cleaning (small lead strips evident on patch). Gamo needs to improve a LOT to make even half-ass OK barrels.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mike from USA on 2018-06-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: Great rifle for the price. Accurate as heck at 30 yards and powerful. I put an assortment of pellets through and found the JSB 22 grain Jumbo Diabolos to work the best for quiet backyard pest removal and small game. The Gammo 14.4 grain Bullet PBAs I found to be the best for target practice. Well made product and a pleasure to shoot.

    Things I would have changed: The trigger safety is a little hokey and the trigger is a bit of a hard pull, but I quickly acclimated to it without having to adjust it.

    What others should know: For the power of this gun, it's extremely quiet, which is great. Also if you Google search this rifle you may find videos that advise you and show you how to remove the baffles in the muzzle. They claim it makes the rifle more accurate. DO NOT do that. The gun is accurate as is and the baffles are why it's so quiet. Those videos were probably made by people who are just poor shots.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Thomas from USA on 2017-03-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.25 ratings

    Things I liked: Power. The .177 shoots Crosman Premier Hollow Points 7.9grn at 1,130 fps. Lighter pellets such as H&N Barracudas 5.56grn go supersonic resulting in a loud crack similar to a .22lr. The synthetic stock is excellent, nicer than the one on my .270 rifle. Accuracy, you won't get "target gun" results but it is very "hunting/plinking accurate. Dime sized groups up to 25 yards. I can hit a quarter out to 37 yards. I am getting 4in groups out to 50 yards+. So it can hit a soda can at 50 yards without to much trouble. This is after 800 pellets & with a UTG 3x9x50 scope, shooting from a bench rest, using H&N 10.56grn Barracudas.

    Things I would have changed: The included scope. This gun deserves a nicer scope with an adjustable objective. A UTG/Leapers 3x9x40 AO or 4x16x44 AO True Hunter rated will do well.

    What others should know: The scope mount on this gun is excellent. I wish I could buy it for my other guns. Initially for me 60yrs old it was hard to cock. It is easier now. To get this kind of power a break barrel will be somewhat hard to cock. The gas piston keeps things smooth, the recoil is a hard thump & not objectionable at all. The gun is very quite & back yard friendly.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2016-11-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.03 ratings

    Things I liked: Amazing rifle. Very powerful. Nice feel and a pleasure to shoot. Extremely accurate after sighting in the scope. Very well constructed. Very durable. The report is muffled down to near that of a silencer.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: The cocking effort is a bit extreme at first, but eases a bit after about a 100 times. Be careful your hand doesn't slip up the barrel when cocking or you'll hit the rear of the front shielded sight making a nasty gash on the side of your hand. I'd recommend using a glove until you get the hang of it. I'd also use predator poly mags to sight in your scope for I found these to be deadly accurate. The 3 rubber plugs in the recoil pad will slip out. I recommend a small drop of crazy glue on each side of the plug to hold them in permanently.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By brian from USA on 2016-11-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.52 ratings

    Things I liked: Very accurate, light weight! The Chip monks HATE it.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing!

    What others should know: It's worth the money to have the company to sight the scope in!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Lee from USA on 2016-10-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Things I liked: Dime size accuracy at 25 yards so far and I have the targets and witnesses prove it. .177 caliber Crossman 7.9 grain premier in tin of 500 hollow points work BEST. ALL Gamo ammo was all over the place with fliers as was an assortment of RWS I tried. have shot 500 rounds of all kinds of ammo and the cheap Crossman pellets dialed in to a micro group of 5 shots consistently over and over. It is dead on, spot on, deadly and I love it. When shooting the RWS hollow points it sounds like a .22 short. when using the Crossman hollow points, it quiets down a lot and goes back to dime sized groups. The scope isn't bad, its cheap and not a 2000$ Swarovski but on a 250$ rifle what would you expect but as I said, very consistent DIME sized groups at 25 yards. Its a Great looking gun. Feels good in MY hands. Great value for the price. Shoots better and more accurate than many airguns at a higher price point. Love the gas piston, the power, the feel, the look and the brand.

    Things I would have changed: Sling Mounts needed for long hikes in woods. The scope works fine, but a better one would improve the gun 1000%. The trigger is dialed in on mine but it could be improved upon, but for the price I'm not going to cry over it due to the groups I am achieving. Could use better instructions on adjusting the scope focus as there are no markings on scope, nor instructions in manual. Mine was very tight and had to really had to put some effort to break the back of the scope loose to adjust the crosshair clarity. (mine was blurry)

    What others should know: Its a BEAST to cock for 200 shots.... the 3 rubber inserts in the butt stock can fall out easily. Its POWERFUL and FAST and EXTREMELY accurate.. The recoil pad is loose on one corner of my particular gun, haven't looked at it yet and the red rubber O-ring on the back of the stock came off by rubbing it on my pant legs.(easy fixes) Tighten all scope mounts before sighting in, very tight. My second Gamo and both are fantastic for the price point air rifles. BUY IT you wont regret it. My friend bought the Benjamin Steel Eagle.. Don't buy it. He will be taking it back tomorrow to exchange for the Mach 1 Gamo after seeing and shooting the Gamo.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Thomas J. (Buddy) from USA on 2016-08-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Things I liked: I like this rifle.. the synthetic stock has a great design and is ergonomic, feels good to hold and has a very nice balance to it.. the checkering gives a good nonslip hold. Very good Accuracy, pretty darn quiet and good knockdown power in 22 caliber. I like the gas piston, prefer them over springers. Gun is quiet for a magnum. Once cocked and loaded I like the ease and smoothness of return to breach and solid snapping or setting into place for firing. I like gamo's saftey.

    Things I would have changed: Would like to see a little deeper blueing.

    What others should know: Takes a good bit more to cock than other air rifles but gets easier after a bit... Mounted the scope with blue locktite on all screws except the mount set screw into the rail... it felt snug enough to the sides of threading as I screwed it down so I decided not to locktite it... Wrong after 25-40 shoots it had completely backed out and scope had slid back on rail 2 inches, I noticed it when eye relief started changing... Put locktite on it and so far so good. Overall scope is just ok may put a better one on down the road.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Nick from USA on 2016-07-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.764 ratings

    Things I liked: Bold body design and overall look. Powerful as advertised. Easily dispatches critters up to raccoon size. Solid scope mount and excellent scope for the money. great gun for hunter and plinker. Quiet shooting..Hardly noticeable in backyard.

    Things I would have changed: A little hard to cock but manageable.

    What others should know: This gun is not light as most break barrel airguns. Built solid and hard to hold in firing position for extended times,.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Michael from USA on 2016-07-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Things I liked: This is a very well made air rifle which is accurate, has a nice design and like the dull black finish and the synthetic stock. Has two trigger adjustments and I did not have to adjust it.This is my first powerful air rifle and this rifle will last for quite awhile I am sure.

    Things I would have changed: Maybe lighten it up a bit and would like the break barrel pull to be a bit easier to pull down.

    What others should know: I never used a scope on rifles so this scope took a while to adjust but after adjustment it seems to be ok. I am very satisfied with this air rifle.

     
Navigation