Date: 23/11/2020 22:1
0

Customer Reviews for Hatsan 125 Sniper - Page 4

Average Customer Review

4.0 (69 reviews)

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Mark from USA on 2019-11-09 08:48:34

Things I liked: I bought my Hatsan 125 rifle in 25 caliber over 5 years ago. After the initial break in period (250 rounds), it has been sighted in at 10 meters (33 feet). It is very accurate. No issues with operation. It is a little loud but with the air cylinder installed instead of a spring piston and larger caliber it is expected. I use it to shoot Ferrell hogs. I used the H&N pellets and the Gamo armor piercing pellets for hog hunting. My biggest hog was a 125 pounds. It is a great rifle.

Things I would have changed: A little heavy. I have a tripod mounted on it

What others should know: It fun to shoot. It has caught the attention of local law enforcement due to it size. They could not believe it was 25 cal air rifle.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 9 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:2.0

By Steven from USA on 2015-01-06 19:18:37

Things I liked: Mind blowing looks, when I first opened the case I thought they had sent me a 30.06 high powered rifle by mistake. This thing looks SERIOUS. The plastic silencer is the only exception.

Things I would have changed: Its HEAVY, with the scope attached its like holding a log, I'm NOT a small guy, at 300 lbs plus ....I have no trouble holding the rifle but hold it dead still for an accurate shot ..good luck. The plastic silencer looks like something off a toy gun, looks out of place, needs a metal one. The cocking effort is substancial, better hit the gym if you plan on shooting many rounds.

What others should know: I've shot at 3 squirrels, missed all 3 ...I purchased a more expensive rifle case so pyramydair would mount my scope. Salesman talked me out of the 10 for 10, the 20.00 sighting your scope was NOT offered on my combination ....pretty disappointing. I still haven't spent time sighting in the scope, so I can't really say the rifle is or is NOT accurate. I did NOT receive the extra back spacers or the hatsan rifle strap, called pyramydair about the strap, said they would send one. They have NOT.....I saw some reviews saying it was pretty much junk, so I haven't asked again

Sort by:
  • Previous 1234
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By William from USA on 2013-10-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This is a Very Big rifle. & heavy. But I think that's the norm for break barrel's. Trigger is good everything seems to be good quality. I received very fast shipping and it was all properly packed.

    Things I would have changed: Hatsan needs to junk the bi-pod. You will need a better scope too, the one in the package is ok..just not anything special. If you go into the feild you'll like the sling. Other than that the rifle is great for a break barrel. Lots of punch-the Vortex air seems to be very powerful. I'm a archer and I have a broad-head target made of really dense foam and at 25yards I was punching through that.

    What others should know: Afarid of the Vortex? Don't be. It's designed by Hatsan for the rifle and it's suppose to be rebuildable, and that's a + over a nitro piston. The Nitro Piston version.. it's a crossman NP installed by Pyrmid air, designed for crossman products and they told ME that preformance wouldn't be as good with the NP. Besides, coming from the FACTORY with a Vortex power plant... it's cheaper. Like all break barrel's you have to break it in and learn to hold it properly. Mine is getting better every day and better with every shot. I'm by far no expert or have any great expierence, but for a break barrel rifle this is a beast. My next purchase will be a PCP most likely a Airforce rifle. For now I'll be break barrel shooting.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By jeffrey from USA on 2013-10-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Great design. Such a great looking air rifle. Plenty of power. Love the adjustable trigger and adjustable cheek rest. This is a large heavy air rifle, not recommended for smaller shooters. I am 6'1" and its the perfect size for me.

    Things I would have changed: Everything on the rifle is well made. With exception of the safety. It wiggles when the rifle is not cocked. It feels cheap. When the rifle is cocked it is not a positive disengagement. You cant really tell if its on or off. Sometimes I try to pull the trigger and the safety is still on, but if you pull the safety off and then on then back off it functions normally. I dont know if this is normal or just how my rifle is.

    What others should know: Good for the price but I wish the safety was made better. Then it would be perfect.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Stephen from USA on 2013-09-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This gun is well made and functions very smooth. nice quality.

    Things I would have changed: quit giving the scope and bipod with the package and either drop the price and not package a scope, or charge a little more and package a better scope. also would like to see them use 1" sling mounts so that any sling can be used. also make the open sights a little more accurate. there is too much play in the sights and they are to big.

    What others should know: this is a high quality gun, and very accurate. I know my things I would change paragraph is very lengthy but that is absolutely everything I would change. this gun is awesome. you should know it is very long and heavy aspecially with a large scope. also there is a little slop in the trigger when it is not cocked, also a little slop in the safety, when it is cocked they are both nice and functional.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Todd from USA on 2013-09-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The looks and the power. The gun looks pretty menacing, and is huge. Bigger than I expected. It's very powerful! I was sighting in on a short piece of 2x10, and about 1 of every 5 shots would pass through it. Pretty amazing for any small-bore pellet rifle! I'm 6'3", in the 260lb range, so I can comfortably cock this gun for much of the day, but if you are slighter build than me, it will be quite a feat to break that barrel over without tiring out quickly. For the power, it's also VERY quiet. Overall, an excellent close-range small game hunter!

    Things I would have changed: Ok....Let me preface by stating that I have been a precision archer and marksman for most of my 39 years, and typically either buy (or custom build) only the best. This may play a part in my heightened expectations of this air rifle, so if I sound too harsh, I dont really mean to be, but this is MY experience with THIS rifle, and may vary from yours. I bought this rifle just as an inexpensive plinker, so that I dont have to always break out my centerfire or even rimfire rifles to keep up my trigger time. Trigger adjustment - I just could not get a crisp "glass-break" type trigger pull out of the gun. I understand the need for safety, expecially on a gun this powerful, there is a lot of lateral slop in the trigger, and even at the Quattro trigger's lightest setting, my trigger finger would actually start to ache while squeezing off the shot. (Yes, I adjusted it properly.) For the price, I'm not expecting a match grade trigger by any means, but its a pretty darn tough trigger pull. Safety mechanism - The safety is plastic, and like the trigger, has a lot of side-to-side slop in it. Also, once the gun is cocked, I have to repeatedly toggle the safety back and forth before it will fully release to fire. Now, nothing I've stated so far in the "Things I would change" section would be grounds for me to return the rifle. It's $299....not an Olympic contender! However, this last part under the "Anything else....." section IS the reason I am going to ask to return this rifle.

    What others should know: As a precision shooter, I've always been wary of the concept of a break-barrel air rifle, i.e, the muzzle not being fixed in relation to the rifle's scope, but I read and researched enough to give me confidence to buy this air rifle. Here is what is happening. I noticed that approx 4 to 5 out of 10 shots, when I set the gun upright to cock it again, there is a "thud" felt in the gun somewhere. I kept checking the scope and tapping the gun to see what was loose, and I determined it must just be the Vortex piston reseating. But then, I noticed after a shot that the breach was not fully sealed, and then closed itself back when I set the gun upright. That was the "thud" I was feeling in the gun! It's like the power of the gun is actually blowing the breach open a bit, tilting the end of the barrel downward. This is my first break-barrel air rifle, but I dont think it's normal behavior. I would be ok with it if I knew it would not effect consistency, but it almost has to be. I thought perhaps the pellet might be gone before it could be affected, but my groups spread vertically. Ive read other reviews, and Pyramid seems to have treated others well. I'm not sure what else is available in the same price range with same power level, that is not a break barrel, so I have some research to do...again. ;-)

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By mark from USA on 2013-09-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Big and Beautiful. Very powerful. Good Trigger.Well made

    Things I would have changed: More Power, I am always looking for more

    What others should know: Comparing FPS with the Benjamin Nitro Trail in .22 this gun gives 200 to 300 more FPS, depending on Pellet according to my chronograph. As a result the Hatsan is more difficult to cock. Best FPS I have recorded is 950 with standard weight pellets. To get to the advertised 1000FPS you have to use lighter pellets.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By JY from USA on 2013-08-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: My previous rifle was a Gamo CFX springer in .22. I purchased the .22 version of this rifle. It has great power, quiet, nice trigger and seems to be a good quality build.

    Things I would have changed: I would not include a scope or bipod because it is a shame to include junk with such a good rifle. I would make it lighter and add some small rails on the side to add a side mount bipod. I will add the rails myself, but a quality rifle should come with them installed. I would also add quick release push button sling mounts like most newer assault rifles have on both sides and rear of the stock.

    What others should know: You should know up front it is very hard to cock, I was using two hands in the beginning and now I only use one. It is very heavy. Also if you shoot any of the Gamo gold pellet, this thing will be as loud as a real .22 long rifle. Keep them heavy and quiet

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By chip from USA on 2013-08-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I have the.25 cal.very accurate using excite coppa-spitzkugel and I tried six different types.Very quiet.Vortex system smooth and consistent power.

    Things I would have changed: The sling is plenty strong but it would look better and more versatile if it had conventional sling loops. The scope mounts are the only real problem with this rifle,they don't hold and are not centered.I put weaver high strap type mounts on with the original scope, 600+ shots later still right on.

    What others should know: Great gun very happy compared to same gun in a springer.Out to 50 yards chucks,crows,rabbits no problem. Customer service and people at pyramid air six stars.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Rooster_Cogburn from USA on 2013-08-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Thanks to BirdUp for a spot on review! I would agree with everything he said except for the quality of the sling clips. Maybe Hatsan has changed them since BirdUp got his rifle, but they seem decent enough to me. I switched the scope out for a Leapers UTG 4-16x50 AO Rifle Scope and use JSB Match Diabolo Exact Jumbo Heavy .22 Cal, 18.13 grn. pellets and it is a great combination. Every once in a while I’ll have a pellet stray off target but for the most part I can consistently group 5 at 30 yards within the size of a quarter.

    Things I would have changed: This rifle needs to go on a diet! After mounting a decent scope, it weighs in at almost 10lbs. The bipod needs a serious upgrade! Most of the time it won’t even hold gun upright! I don't use it.

    What others should know: I really like the way Vortex gas systems works compared to spring systems. It is powerful, feels solid and smoother shooting.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By BirdUp from USA on 2013-07-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: This is about as powerful a piston powered air rifle gets. I bought this intending to use it mostly as a bench rest gun. It's powerful, heavy, and accurate; all good qualities when shooting from a sandbag rest. It kicks hard, but a good rest plus the excellent rubber butt pad help a lot. It's reasonably quiet. Airgunweb did a review of a Hatsan 125 sniper, but with spring piston. Their decibel test put it at 98 db (much quieter than some rifles with *cough* whisper in their names).

    Things I would have changed: The bipod is for display purposes only. I never gave the included scope a chance (loving the BSA Stealth Tactical 3-9x40 AO Rifle Scope). The included scope rings are poor. I want to like the sling, it is leather and is very nice... but has poor clips on it. I wouldn't trust those clips to carry this rifle. Hatsan could have hit a home run with sling, but screwed up the clips. (The sling mounts on the rifle itself are awesome though). Four stars out of five because ALL the included extras are ultimately garbage. (Five stars easy for rifle alone).

    What others should know: This gun is hard to cock. I knew that going in. I did manage to cock it one handed once, but have since switched to a more secure two handed cocking method. I'm a small guy at 150 lbs, but cocking effort for me is fine (with two hands). The more I shoot it, the easier cocking gets; just spray a little ballistol on the cocking joints as part of maintenance. My gun is in .22 cal and loves JSB Match Diabolo Exact Jumbo Heavy pellets (the 18 grain ones). It doesn't like Crosman premiers.

  • Previous 1234
Navigation