Date: 5/8/2020 10:16
0

Customer Reviews for John Wayne 1911

Average Customer Review

5.0 (24 reviews)
3 star2 star1 star
John Wayne 1911
Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By nonewjerseymike from USA on 2017-01-31 13:48:31

Things I liked: I just received it and I will add it to my collection I really didn't buy to shoot I frame them in glass pistol boxes. I loved the used battle worn look I collect all the John Wayne I can find. A real American" not like the disloyal phony lefty loons that are in our face daily.

Things I would have changed: Nothing, It's a nice collectable

What others should know: I would get one now in case they stop making them.

The most helpful critical review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:4.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Jordan from USA on 2019-09-04 00:37:15

Things I liked: I purchased this pistol because 1) I am a fan of replica WWII airguns; 2) I prefer a weathered look; 3) I want the best quality possible within a product line. On those criteria, I decided this was the best 1911 model on the market. As best I can tell, it is identical to the Tangfolio Witness - which is currently the nicest you can get - and that was the other gun I considered. With authentic blowback, the ability to fieldstrip, and better machined parts, this is the gun to get if you can afford a little extra cost. It is worth it. The gun was even better in person, both in feel and performance. The one I received has impressive accuracy. Better than I expected for a smoothbore pistol. I am shooting Umarex BB's. With such good results, I haven't been tempted to try another BB. Feel in the hand is excellent. Nice heft. The body will feel slightly thin to some. It is historically accurate to the firearm and most will find it quite comfortable to shoot/handle.

Things I would have changed: I would prefer not to have the "John Wayne" badging. The block lettering is probably the worst. Thus the 4 stars. It would look better with just the signature, if it had to stay. (With all respect to The Duke, I didn't really grow up with his movies or have any particular draw to this gun because of him). If I added badging, I'd far prefer some more historic markings such as "Colt" or "US Government". There was such a model available a few years ago but it is no longer in production: https://www.pyramydair.com/s/m/Colt_1911_WWII_Commemorative_CO2_BB_Pistol/3366 The grips are a little "bright". Would appreciate a slightly more convincing wood look. But this is a wish list item and does not detract from the experience/shooting.

What others should know: I initially ordered a refurbished gun. I returned it. It was missing the manual and the demo set of BB's that come with the "new" model. I was a little surprised to see the original packaging so worn, too. There was nothing wrong with the gun. It was more of a personal choice - and one I probably should have made the first time. I would still encourage ordering refurb if you don't care about the packaging/extras. PA customer service was great about the exchange... I will always buy from them. Like all CO2 airguns, an extra mag is going to be the right choice for most people. It was for me. It simply makes the experience more enjoyable by loading up in advance and shooting longer. And that can be enough to let you have some competitive plinking/target shooting with a friend, that you can't when you have few shots. I recommend some of the targets you can buy hat are "games" or reactive. My kids especially like things that move when they hit them... soda cans are always popular

Sort by:
  • 12 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ron from USA on 2020-05-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Everything!!!! I ordered the new in box version. Box is a nice collector's piece. The pistol is unbelievable! It's basically a 1911! Amazing weight, and feel are exactly spot on. Firing the pistol is simple, and VERY fun. All metal construction. Even the handles (being made of plastic) are so realistic to wood! I've showed this pistol to my family and friends and there all jaw dropped amazed. Love there reactions. I took the pistol apart, and to my surprise it IS exact to the 1911 take down! So order yours and don't hesitate. If your familar with the 1911 take it apart, you'll be shocked as I was that it's basically a 1911 with a barrel insert. The clip is the running mechanism of the pistol. Gas cylinder, gas despensing system are all in the clip. My goodness if your even remotely considering this pistol.. don't!!! Just buy it!!! You won't be dissatisfied at ALL!

    Things I would have changed: Things I would change... Seriously.. not regarding this pistol!!! I would change NOTHING!

    What others should know: If your a 1911 fan, The Duke fan, or just into exact replicas. Don't hesitate ORDER YOURS NOW you will be as amazed as me. Stay safe everyone, and God bless!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James from USA on 2020-04-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I owned a Umarex 1911 Combat vet for a number of years,it has quit working so when I saw the J.Wayne Commemorative I just jumped on this,I did buy the refurb,because of finances,the mag for my old Umarex works fine in this and I was happy to receive it,was getting bored with this lockdown of our state.It works very well.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing...is fine for a previously owned product.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Joseph from USA on 2020-04-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Outstanding price, very good accuracy out to 10 yards. Blowback action makes this an excellent trainer.

    What others should know: I bought this for use as a blue gun/trainer for dry fire practice. The weight, feel, and blowback action work very well for this. Make sure to purchase extra magazines, you will want them.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By John Page from USA on 2020-01-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The real feel of the gun is nice. The blow-back feels real also. Easy to load Co2 and BB's. The accuracy is fine for target shooting and cans at 20 plus feet away. Loads of fun.

    Things I would have changed: Get rid of the white writing all over the gun.

    What others should know: Have fun plinking with this one. If you are a John Wayne fan, then this is a great one for your collection also.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Rusty on 2020-01-03
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is an amazing air pistol, looks identical to my 1922 Argentine made Colt 1911. The replication appearance, details, and functionality is excellent. Accuracy is outstanding.. Blowback, weight, size mimic the real 1911. I especially like the quietness as it is backyard friendly from the noise perspective. Used Daisy Premium Match Steel BBS. Does eat CO2 but got 3 18 round magazines down range from one 12 gm CO2 cartridge. Excellent value and my refurb functioned AOK with box and all items included. Finally, slide remains open after last shot is a really nice design feature. So impressed, ordered another 1911.

    Things I would have changed: A little less weathering.

    What others should know: Eats CO2 but pays back with accuracy and function.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Larry from USA on 2019-11-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I really am extremely happy with my John Wayne 1911. My only complaint would be; I ordered a refurbished model and the box that it came in looked like it had been through WWII by itself. I really can't use the box to display it as it is badly torn and is damaged beyond usage.

    Things I would have changed: I will only buy new now, no refurbished items at all...

    What others should know: If you plan on using the original box, only buy new.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Colonel from USA on 2019-10-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very accurate. As an owner of several actual M1911A1s, I find it extremely authentic as to detailing, handling, weight, and operable features. The functions are very realistic and true to the original. Like the recoil effect from the blowback slide. Also like the "weathered" finish and woodlike grips.

    Things I would have changed: Difficult and tedious to load BBs. This is design fault--the mag follower should have a more positive lockback, so that BBs can easily be more easily loaded from the front of the mag into the slot above the follower

    What others should know: Very reasonable price. Due to the amount of gas used by the blowback mechanism, does not get a lot of shots from each CO2 capsule. I would recommend the use of Daisy zinc plated BBs, and find the copper plated ones tend to rust in their containers before use. Short delivery time from PA.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jordan from USA on 2019-09-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I purchased this pistol because 1) I am a fan of replica WWII airguns; 2) I prefer a weathered look; 3) I want the best quality possible within a product line. On those criteria, I decided this was the best 1911 model on the market. As best I can tell, it is identical to the Tangfolio Witness - which is currently the nicest you can get - and that was the other gun I considered. With authentic blowback, the ability to fieldstrip, and better machined parts, this is the gun to get if you can afford a little extra cost. It is worth it. The gun was even better in person, both in feel and performance. The one I received has impressive accuracy. Better than I expected for a smoothbore pistol. I am shooting Umarex BB's. With such good results, I haven't been tempted to try another BB. Feel in the hand is excellent. Nice heft. The body will feel slightly thin to some. It is historically accurate to the firearm and most will find it quite comfortable to shoot/handle.

    Things I would have changed: I would prefer not to have the "John Wayne" badging. The block lettering is probably the worst. Thus the 4 stars. It would look better with just the signature, if it had to stay. (With all respect to The Duke, I didn't really grow up with his movies or have any particular draw to this gun because of him). If I added badging, I'd far prefer some more historic markings such as "Colt" or "US Government". There was such a model available a few years ago but it is no longer in production: https://www.pyramydair.com/s/m/Colt_1911_WWII_Commemorative_CO2_BB_Pistol/3366 The grips are a little "bright". Would appreciate a slightly more convincing wood look. But this is a wish list item and does not detract from the experience/shooting.

    What others should know: I initially ordered a refurbished gun. I returned it. It was missing the manual and the demo set of BB's that come with the "new" model. I was a little surprised to see the original packaging so worn, too. There was nothing wrong with the gun. It was more of a personal choice - and one I probably should have made the first time. I would still encourage ordering refurb if you don't care about the packaging/extras. PA customer service was great about the exchange... I will always buy from them. Like all CO2 airguns, an extra mag is going to be the right choice for most people. It was for me. It simply makes the experience more enjoyable by loading up in advance and shooting longer. And that can be enough to let you have some competitive plinking/target shooting with a friend, that you can't when you have few shots. I recommend some of the targets you can buy hat are "games" or reactive. My kids especially like things that move when they hit them... soda cans are always popular

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Norman from USA on 2019-08-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I love the realism and weight of this gun. The overall mechanics are smooth, the trigger is light and after about 250 rounds I have had no problems. The value was also excellent. This gun was sold as Refurbished. There was not a sign of any damage or wear and was shipped in a very cool original box with the Allen key and all appropriate paperwork. If you like 1911 style guns this a great choice. All this and a John Wayne commemorative.

    Things I would have changed: Wish the sites could be adjusted. Gun shoots about 1 to 1.5 inches low. But these are the correct sites for the gun.

    What others should know: My goal is to build a collection of all the handguns used by the US Army from the end of the Civil War to present in CO2 BB or Pellet. This gun is a great fit for that collection. I just don't know what I'm going to do about the 2 Colt Double Action revolvers (38 and 45) from late 1890s to 1910. I have completed this collection minus these two guns for about $400. What a great hobby and I can shoot them all in my basement.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Norman from USA on 2019-08-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I love the realism and weight of this gun. The overall mechanics are smooth, the trigger is light and after about 250 rounds I have had no problems. The value was also excellent. This gun was sold as Refurbished. There was a sign of any damage or wear and was shipped in a very cool original box with the Allen key and all appropriate paperwork. If you like 1911 style guns this a great choice. All this and a John Wayne commemorative.

    Things I would have changed: Wish the sites could be adjusted. Gun shoots about 1 to 1.5 inches low. But these are the correct sites for the gun.

    What others should know: My goal is to build a collection of all the handguns used by the US Army from the end of the Civil War to present in CO2 BB or Pellet. This gun is a great fit for that collection. I just don't know what I'm going to do about the 2 Colt Double Action revolvers (38 and 45) from late 1890s to 1910. I have completed this collection minus these two guns for about $400. What a great hobby and I can shoot them all in my basement.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Airgun Papa from USA on 2019-07-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Primaraly, the large discount for buying "Open box/refurbished" guns. I have had 3 to formulate this review. These are "aged" to begin with so there hardly can be a reason not to take up on the pricing advantage. Only the first gun had a returnable fault with the part that fits against the barrel seal when the gun is in battery having been broken and not giving an adequate seal leading to a velocity loss. Accuracy was still great and it shot right to the point of aim as all three of the ones I have handled do. But there is a factor affecting this which I will discus below. Recoil is fairly robust, especially at the start of a powerlet. Velocity is at or very near the rated figure stated. Accuracy is variable with the ammunition but darn good most of the time with 5 shots usually falling into about an inch at 6 yards standing in the Weaver stance free style. All functions are reliable and the trigger is not bad having a long but moderate pull with a good let off.

    Things I would have changed: The first gun was not only aged but beat up pretty badly with a chip off of the rear sight blades upper right corner. The other two guns were not damaged and showed only the general "wear" of the finish. In my opinion, even this is over-done and should be toned down to a less severe degree of scuffs and scratches; thus the 4-star rating. Also, the pristine grips are nice but out of place on the pistol since they look new while the rest of the gun is harshly worn. I chose to put a dark brown polymer griip on one gun and a set of black rubber grips with the "ranpant colt" emblem molded into each panel on the other. Standard aftermarket Colt grips will fit but require some inletting of the underside to fit properly over the raised portion of the frame on the lower half of the grip. The rubber grips also had to be inletted for the left side detent housing at the top edge of the panel.

    What others should know: With the two pistols I kept, (one was a display model the other refurbished) I extensively tested them for accuracy and velocity with about a dozen different BB offerings and in that time found that the magazine itself has a very large influence on point of impact and velocity. While shooting one of the pistols I took one empty mag from the gun and installed the mag from the second gun using the exact same ammunition and suddenly found the gun shooting left whereas it was spot on target with the other mag. I kept using it and went back and re-tested several BB's I had previously shot in it and found the second magazine indeed shot them all left. When I went back to the first magazine, it was once again spot on. This second magazine shot to point of aim in the other gun, and the magazine from the first gun shot to point of aim in both guns! Go figure. I then marked each mag with the last 3 digits of the serial number of the gun they shot well in. This may help someone get on target.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By R Dean from USA on 2019-06-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I make holster and gun belts. Since I can't have my customers send me their firearms to custom fit their rigs, I've been using Pyramid Air. This 1911 matches the weight and feel of my GI 45. It's fun to shoot and has actually improved my grouping with the real thing. The detailing, machining, blowback and accuracy on this rugged, well-worn makes it an absolutely fun fun fun pistol to shoot. And my last client was pleased at the accuracy of the fit to his WWII era Singer 1911 holster I made using this Little beauty. A great piece for every collection.

    Things I would have changed: Not buying it sooner.

    What others should know: You won't win any precision matches, but for sheer plinking satisfaction, you can never go wrong with a 1911. It looks and feels like the real deal. And any homage to The Duke is just straight up American!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Isken from USA on 2019-05-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I love the replica 911, well done and I used it on Coke cans so far so good. And really don't care if it doesn't shoot perfect, if it doesn't.

    Things I would have changed: I wish the maker would make 22 caliber.

    What others should know: Just great, thank you

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By BronzeBurn99 from USA on 2019-04-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Every about this M1911 is perfect! I bought it refurbished and it still feels brand new! love the weathered look it feels like the real deal. It's almost too real! Like I feel like if I was shooting in my back yard and went to get the mail, I would be in danger of being mistaken for having a real m1911. When I'm not using it, it goes straight in a display box I made for it.

    Things I would have changed: Literally the only thing I would change is making all the warnings and white lettering on the slide stickers so you could peel them off. I wish it just had John Wayne's signature on it.

    What others should know: Don't even think about it! Just buy it on impulse, you will not regret it!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Stephen from USA on 2019-04-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Love the feel and weight of the pistol. It fits the original 45 shoulder holster perfectly as it should.

    Things I would have changed: Maybe a little less antiquing would make it look more authentic.

    What others should know: Buy It!!!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Michael from USA on 2019-03-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: quality

    Things I would have changed: Should include a manual for cleaning and maintanence

    What others should know: Manual needed

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Red Deer from USA on 2019-02-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Just as many before me have written, it has the feel of the real thing. From pulling the slide back to the feel of the grip safety, it is a pleasure to shoot.

    Things I would have changed: None

    What others should know: Save yourself some time and purchase extra mags. You will want them.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Joey from USA on 2019-02-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This thing feels like the real deal, and is pretty accurate to boot! They did an amazing job on the weathered look!

    Things I would have changed: I can't think of anything i'd change on mine, Everything just works like it should.

    What others should know: If you are looking for a 1911 Blowback CO2 Pistol you can't go wrong with this one!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Edward from USA on 2018-06-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: I am totally amazed at how realistic it is from the looks to the action.

    What others should know: Very powerful

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ken from USA on 2018-01-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Everything! I have an original 1911 .45, and I cannot believe how authentic the air pistol is to the real thing! The look, feel, working mechanism, blow-back action, how it breaks down -- wow! I liked it so much that I ordered another one. Picture Bruce Willis in "Last Man Standing", in which he uses twin .45's.

    Things I would have changed: Do not change a thing. I cannot believe the manufacturer can produce this fine pistol for $120. I would have been happy to pay twice the asking price. Yeah, the grips are chintzy, but I'm gonna try to order original wooden grips for the real .45. I'm sure they'll fit.

    What others should know: Buy one before they're sold out - you won't be sorry.

     
  • 12 Next
Navigation